(2008/03) March 2008

Petrina,
alamak if the tummy is big then can only hand carry liao hahaha but with #3, it's interesting how my hubby can help out with #1 and #2 who are also competing for attention.. hmmmmmmmm... i will worry later.. lalalalaa....

Good Morning all!

I passed by Hort Park and saw that it a nice place for kiddos. They got a playground there. But the parking is too few. Same parking problem at Telok Blangah Hill Park where you can visit the cool bridge. :p

Reading about new addition make me feel so tempted. But I still cannot make up my mind. I took 4 years to consider having #1. LOL. My prob is I'm indecisive. :p

Kell,
I quote Nike's JUST DO IT! hahaha.. at least have two so that your #1 can still have a friend. they're cute when they play together. they also learn very fast when they play together. proven and tested. i don't have to teach Tricia lots of things like i did with DD1. she learned a lot by copying from jie jie!

Melissa: I love too have #2. But, I want another girl. LOL. See what happens in these few mths lah. Hehehe

#1 now sticks to Daddy. So I get more "me" time. Whahahaha. But if he works late, then I very jialat. She will wait up for her Daddy...

Melissa
haha, i agree totally..the slogan is very valid

Kell
ur #1 will stick with #2, so u will still get me time when the daddy is working late :p

Babypink: Oh ya. Didnt think of that. Hehehe.

But at this age, how to explain an incoming newborn to them? Then if you're doing confinement, will #1 miss home if you put them over at granny's or get jealous of #2 since you're alys w #2?

Kell

i think Pheobe will understand much better than kelicia who was 9 months old when i conceive =p

i did all that the motherhood mag preach ;)

we keep telling her there is didi in my tummy. keep telling her next time she will have company

and gave her a present, saying it is fr her newly arrived didi at the hosp when she visited on day 1 =)

melissa: haha. i blur lah. tats y i was picturing this preg image then i went ???

#2.. very tempting. but i fear another boy. so i'll procrastinate. anyway, i'm hoping to try for VBAC. so i already selected my ideal gynae if i really am gonna have my #2.

kell: ryan also wait up for daddy. tats y when he works late, i'll not let him have his last evening nap. hoping that he is tired enough to not wait.

melissa: the just do it slogan does not apply to me. because i fear #2 arriving b4 our planned date, i have been abstaining for as long as my hb can tahan.. even with exterior protection..

Petrina,
alamak you're torturing your hubby lei!!! hahaha.. i'm telling u life is funny, sometimes when u want, it's not given to you, when you don't want it, it's given to you for keeps. better be prepared for any possibilities. Hey who's your gynae uh?

Kell,
When i did my confinement, i didn't shift out. Nothing changes. There will be that occasional jealousy and sibling rivalry but you'll learn to overcome that as it goes.

aly,
your gynae delivers where and how much is her consultation charges?

Pet
I'm still co-sleeping with Tommy too...at night he won't sleep without me so I can forget going out at night cos bed time is around 9pm :p....sometimes my friends meet for dinner at 7 plus and then 8 plus I must rush home already :p

Ergo
oic...yup with big belly in front is difficult to use Ergo haha

Melissa
Chelsea is 3.5....she turns 4 in December

Crystal
At first I was worried that baby would wake #1 up too but she slept through the worst screaming lolz....anyway I think kids get used to certain sounds and can tune them out

melissa: dr roy ng. he's my fren's gynae who did VBAC for her. my original gynae is dr chris chong. whom wasn't too keen on natural birth. so i'm definately not gg back to him.

adeL: yeah. i was hoping to have night times out with friends. esp fridays.

Petrina,

I'm using the attachment parenting method. Managed to 'detach' him recently and he can fall asleep without latching on. Even when he wakes up in the night, he will fall back to sleep without latching on but I hv to pat him a bit and sleep by his side. That's a gd start for me cos he used to wake up every 1hr. Now, he will wake up 2 times the most in the night.

Melissa,

Congrats to u! Can I know who is yr gynae? I'm looking for a gd gynae too. Thanks!

regarding gynae, Dr Tan Hak Hoon @ SGH is thumbs up
Go in as a pte patient to choose him.
Most of teh nurses there go to him i heard..

I like to haf no 2 but dun haf the guts to try. Its v tiring to handle them & w work stress. Now I everyday deprive of sleep though Im a weekend mummy.

for those on "gynae shopping"

here's a useful website with reviews. wish there're more reviews though but it's a good start.
http://sggynae.blogspot.com

jerejoy,
are you still in the states? my gynae is Dr Brenda Low. she's good but i must warn you her standard is now very "atas" and she charges very ex! one ultrasound scan can set u back for at least 100 and she did it very fast! her clinic is always full of expats and half of them are ang mohs. sometimes i feel so left out dunno where i am hahaa. so i'm actually gynae-shopping too but i'm more comfortable with female gynae.

jerejoy: wow. i haven't been successful yet. when i want to delatch him, he refuse, then will whine till i relatch him. haiz...

reena: looking for help.. i can't get my bread light... it's soft, bouncy but heavy. any idea y?
i tried doing french loaf.

Melissa,
I don't know what's her weight now but as of 2 month ago, she's around 7.4kg. Just recovered from fever 2 weeks ago so I believe she has lost some weight. But I believe she's heavier then Tricia. Actually I think it's all in the genes. My 3 kids are all petite in size, DD1 just had her jab in Pri 1 and she's also slightly underweight. DS2 is the smallest size boy in class.

Reena
her hair is so cute, standing straight up
She guai guai let her brother tie her hair up...seems like your DD3 has a nice and patient temperament.

Reena,
Too cute hahahaaa. The more the merrier right!! I can never tie Tricia's hair like that, she hates caps and knots! I have two girls and none of them likes to be groomed.. haizzz.. really heart-broken! I thought I could be the kind of mom to tie their hair nicely and plait it, but no luck yet. haizzzz..

Just to share that the Tekan Show "Just for Laughs" had come to SG.

They had set up some "things" at Tanjong Pagar area. I saw it this morning on the way to ofc. So unless you wanna be on TV, do avoid here yah. Its only for today lah. Dunno which place will be next. Its easy to guess if you're kenna sabo-ed, just look around you.

They had set up some huts to hide camera-man and some road signs at the stretch of road next to Tanjong Pagar MRT, around Tras Street to Icon Village/Amara.

Actually I cannot cfm if its just for laughs. I assumed it is since the other time I saw Today rpt that its coming to SG. LOL

So next time if you're stopped by "funny" ppl, please open eyes big big and look around.

But the crew looks so poor thing leh. wait under the hot sun. if you dun mind getting on TV, just play along w them lah. kekeke

Melissa:
Its mobile. Just happened to see this in town.
Btw Phoebe lets me tie her hair, for a while. Then she will remove the clips and rubber bands. My mum is v worried she'll eat the rubber bands, so we seldom doll her up.

Melissa
try bribing your girls haha...#1 likes pink so she might like some cute pink hair accessories...Chelsea used to be v. impatient when I'm tying up her hair...in fact she still is so I often have to tell her she can play with something she wants only after I'm done with her hoho

AdelineL,
everything in my house now is PINK!! if i see another pink, i'm going to puke liao! that didn't work.. the bribing.. haizz..

by the way,
this pregnancy didn't work out. i tested again last night and got a very, very faint positive. it's not a good sign and i'm 101% sure about b'cos i've been through the same shit again. another year, another miscarriage, haizzz.. such tough luck i have.

Thanks mummies for your compliments on James. When he last visited the PD he was abt 14kg but I am not sure whether he's still the same now. I don't carry him anymore. Even if I do, it's max 5 mins. Cannot tahan. Sure muscle ache and back pain! We hardly bring the pram out too coz he prefers to walk and push the pram rather than sit in it! If I bring him to the shopping centre, I just get a trolley and put him in there

PD
My PD was Dr HK Ho at Mt Alvernia. Heard that his charges have gone up. He takes very little risks and is a very careful doctor. Went to see him recently for PAP smear and he asked me when I'm planning for No.2 and even encourage me not to wait too long. Aiyoh... see him again means $$$$

Melissa
Sorry to hear about it, but don't give up

thanks thanks..
i feel a bit tired saying this but allow me to babble a bit..(can't babble at the 2010 thread as it's quite sensitive to some).. this is my 8th miscarriage (i'm pregnant every year). even though it's less painful than before i had any children, it still hurts the same inside. even i couldn't believe that myself. i told the others that it's easy to conceive another baby b'cos the body remembers what it's like to be pregnant, it's true for myself too, but i didn't factor in that for myself, my own body remembers how to miscarry it too. as i grow older, it's going to be harder to conceive and the odds of a successful pregnancy shall go against me.

i know by tomorrow i will feel better but at the moment, i'm feeling a bit down. i had to write somewhere and just need a listener. i appreciate all the kind words even if's just a simple sorry.

now picking up the pieces. my hubby has been such a tremendous support but it hurts to see him hurting when he saw me breaking down yesterday. thank god for a job, at least i could forget the problem for a while and be useful somewhere else. i don't know if there's any good writing this but i hope you don't mind me babbling. don't get me wrong, the last thing i want to be is a drama-mama.. haha..

melissa

sorry to hear that. its good that you can vent your sadness/disappointment here. and i really feel sad for you and the baby. take care of yourself ya!

omg.. melissa, i m sorry to hear abt it. anyway to salvage it? perhaps bedrest for the first trimester?
i feel so guilty when ppl m/c or can't get preg, cause i fear to have more kids. pls take care of urself.

pray for the best. feel free to vent here. afterall, we've been virtual friends for 2yrs already. u can say anything here.

melissa, so sorry to hear what happen to u. they said miscarriage nd to do confinement to allow ur body to rest mre and get bk ur health. do rest mre and eat mre nourish food. u be strong and take care.

Melissa
I din know u went thr this much. It is not easy to cope but i think u have a loving family to support u emotionally. Though u are made weak w such news, u have been made strong to manage them. Thanks for coming to us to share. I share ur sadness as u go through.

Pls tiao ur body as wat happygal says, need to beef up ur health n do proper nourishing for ur body.

Melissa
oh dear
hugz*
do take care ! hope tat u can recover well
of course i hope tat ur gynae will said that all is fine afterall

Are you buying education insurance for your baby?Do you mind sharing with me what kind of insurance program and from which company? I need to buy one for mikael. And dunno to get what kind of insurance and from which company? do you think AIA is still realible?

Good morning and TGIF ladies!!!

Feeling better today!! I think I appear whiny yesterday yucks!! The weekend is coming and I don't have to fill up timesheets anymore.. so happy!!!!! There's also other changes in the office that puts me in the better mood.

Kresentia,
Education insurance or endowment plans? I don't quite take up an insurance for education but I sort of keep a fixed deposit account for their education. That way, I could put in more or less (according to our dynamic economic needs) without incurring unnecessary admin fees. I think last time NTUC has something like this, i forgot the name, but it was revised quite recently and it's not attractive anymore.

Good Morning!

Melissa: Did you try any Chinese sinseh to ask why that will happen? I recall my mum saying there's one who's popular w TTC couples. I also wanted to go, but didnt really get down to it. I'll help to ask for the contact.

Kresentia: I got an endownment plan for Phoebe when she's 1 mth old. Its for 21 yrs and from AIA. LOL.

I assumed you are talking about savings plan for education?

Check around banks and insurers for long term saving plans. Most types are linked to investments and gives so-called "guaranteed" returns. But if the market crash here and there, your returns will be affected ie maybe lesser than policy's projected returns.

I won't reco buying from Banks because the salespeople sometimes don't even know what they are selling. You bombard them w questions and they go "err..." And their I feel their products are more risky.

BUT, what you get will still be more than a savings account + interest, IF its >10 years thing. But banks had all revised their savings and FD interest rate down.

You try contacting Petrina, I think she can help u.

ladies, my alex has cut his 16th teeth. Gosh i'm surprised myself. But my mil will never believe me that alex's running nose n cough is related to teething even though it's nothing but the tooth, i mean truth. Haha

I'm curious abt the no. Of teeth yr kid has. Pls share with me here.

clover
lele has a total 12-14 teetrh, some are still sprouting cos the gum is swollen. the funny part is the way the teeth is growing. it begins with the top and bottom 4 and then the back started to come out. I remembered zac tooth growth is more systematic as it from the front to the back. is alex the same as lele or zac? i am scared there will be little space for more front teeth if her started off this way. by the way, zac has around 18 by lele age and before 2 he has the whole set of teeth except the 2 molar which i heard will only grow after 3.

WAH.. u all kiddos has so much teeth! hahha.. my kat only pathetic 8 front teeth :p
and the 4 only just grew recently but she can eat everything hard or soft. she just push the food to the front to chew.

Kell,
Never thought about chinese sinseh, thanks for suggesting. I tried that before I conceived my DD1, i was made to drink awful-tasting herbs..gross. Do PM me the contact number when u get it

Clover,
My Tricia only has 7 teeth. 4 on top, 3 below. Still look cute like a baby haha.. Your Alex so fast!! Tricia loves solid food and is forever chewing food, so i hope that nature can catch up with her. My DD1 is not 3 yet, but she has a complete set of teeth, including molars. However she doesn't like to eat and is always asking for milk!

James has 8 teeth + the 4 molars are coming out.

Insurance
I don't buy any investment linked insurances, not a big believer of it because my parents bought one for me and 15 yrs later, the return was insignificant because of "market conditions". The premium per year wasn't cheap either. Hubby also had one, bought by his parents. In the end, we both terminated our investment linked insurance and bought term insurance. We rather invest our money elsewhere where the long term returns are better.

I bought James a personal accident and TPD insurance as well as medishield which covers hospitalisation charges.

For savings, I opened a normal kids bank account for James and deposit his chinese new year and birthday ang pows into the account.