(2008/03) March 2008

Clover,

Yeah,maybe we cud set up a time one day for little gathering to keep our boredom at bay..? well what do u think of Marigold fresh milk too ?

Reena,

How much is the 2-in-1 jab for the MMR & Chicken Pox then ? Hv yr son fever subsided already ? Btw, how long it takes him to react to the vaccine with the fever....? Care to share more with me cos my son will be on this next wk. Thanks. - RAR

Yt,

I had got "bounced" mail when i tried sending to your 2nd email add.... will try resend again... let me know if u have got it now ? Hr from u soon. God bless & fab care !!! rdgs - RAR

hey hey is the topic today about milk?

my Tricia eats all day and drink little and her last checkup at 15 mth in polyclinic, she's at 5 percentile underweight! asked me what i feed her. i said i feed her everything. if she's not interested in FM, i gave her fresh milk. the doctor warned me not to give fresh milk, better stick to FM. so now i'm trying to give her lots of FM in small doses.

Reena,
how heavy is your DD now? my DD has not passed 8kg yet
super lightweight. i have recently stopped breastfeeding her since she doesn't quite seem interested to be breastfed anymore
so sad. my supply dwindled a lot.

Wanna share this info…

Marigold is powder milk. If u mixed any other brand of power milk and chilled it, you will get the same taste as Marigold milk.

Go for Magnolia Fresh Milk if you want Fresh Milk. The taste is almost like Meiji Fresh Milk. ;)

Seems like the Playgym is huge. Only now that I know that got babies area. :p

Hm.. Phoebe growth also a bit stagnant. Grew slighty taller but weigh abt the same as at 12mths. The nurse asked me to switch her to Pediasure.

rar, sure fix a time when my boy is ok.

Fl, u mean marigold comes in powder milk? I let him try the mac kids meal once. He drank a bit of that milk. Think that's marigold?

My boy suddenly has running nose n slight cough after he's awake this morn. I'm wondering if he's allergic to the organic milk i gave yesterday cozy its the only new thing i introduced. Possible?

RAR,

is it? Sorry for the slow in reply. But I received it twice leh. Thats y its call IT = Idiot Technology! Hahhahahah!

anyone intend to go Singapore Parent Congress organised by Mediacorp? I bot the tickets liao but my hubby suddenly tell me that he needs to travel. Sigh...

Anyone wanna take over the tickets?

Here is the details:

English Sessions
Saturday 11 July 2009, 9.30am
Part 1 - A Gift to my Children: A Father’s Lessons for Life and Investing (by Mr Jim Rogers)
Part 2 - FUNtastic® Parenting:Developing Achieving and Happy Children (by Mr Alan Yip)

<font color="ff0000">A Gift to my Children: A Father’s Lessons for Life and Investing (11 July, 9.30am)</font>
Children are growing up in a different environment from the one their parents experienced. In this seminar, Mr Jim Rogers will be sharing how he nurtures his children for the future and the lessons that he will pass on to his children. Use these lessons to direct your children as these guiding principles may just be the best gifts that they can refer to for life.
With tales of adventures to share, Rogers will be drawing examples of his own experience and offering heartfelt advises for anyone who is seeking success in parenting.
Learn from his triumphs and mistakes in order to achieve a prosperous and well-lived life. And hear how he helps his children adapt to a different society, face challenges and even take up Mandarin lessons!
Mr Jim Rogers is an investor, financial commentator and creator of the Rogers International Commodities Index. Together with George Soros, he co-founded the Quantum Fund, a global-investment partnership.
Rogers is an author of several books on investment and more recently, A Gift to My Children – A Father’s Lessons for Life and Investing. In it he shares a wealth of anecdotes, encouraging passion to chase the dream.
In 2007 Rogers moved himself and his family from New York to Singapore because he believes this is a ground-breaking time for investment in Asia. He is preparing his children to leverage on this by immersing them in Mandarin.
He also shares his strategy as he tutors his children in world experiences to prepare them for the future.

<font color="ff0000">FUNtastic® Parenting:Developing Achieving and Happy Children (11 July, 9.30am)</font>

In this FUN-filled, action-packed, and result-oriented seminar, Mr Alan Yip will take parents on a journey of self-discovery and active involvement to boost their communication and relationship with their children to a whole new level.
Discover the various communication strategies to build loving and lasting relationships with your child and the family conditions which are necessary for enhancing your child’s self-esteem.
Find out the psychology of motivating your child and the art of empowering your child to achieve academic excellence and beyond. You will also learn:
§ 3 vital steps to maximising your children’s success potential
§ 4 proven ways to help your child become people-smart: how to make friends and become likeable
§ 6 secrets to studying smart

FL,
Funny u mentioned it, i have never tasted any of my kid's powdered milk before.. hehee...

clover,
not sure if those are allergy signs after taking organic milk. how about other types of milk? the only way to test it out is to repeat it on a different day and see if the reaction is the same, else it's allergy lor.

Yo! Clover,

Macdonald ones are Magnolia Fresh Milk.
Marigold has no fresh Milk only HL Milk.
A lot of ppl always mixed up these two brands lah…

Melissa,
Try to chilled any adult power milk and you can make milk tat taste like Marigold. I am not sure about using baby milk power. Haha…

aly
thanks for the info on royce playgym but the $50 registration fee is expensive! The l'Ozone at Orchid Country Club is only $8 per hour with a nice safe area for 4 years and under. Tommy boy loved it and he loved climbing the more challenging areas too....i've been to go go bambini too, can't remember how much that is but i think it's more expensive....also much less space and more crowded

Kell
we play at the park too
in fact just came back from Yishun Park....the problem with outdoors vs indoors playarea is the weather! so hot but actually those big parks have a lot of shaded area and just now we saw monkeys and v. beautiful butterflies and totally free!! hehe really should do this more often even if it's in the middle of the day...now both kids are worn out and napping nicely

Milk
In the US, kids switch to drinking fresh milk right after 1 year old so my MIL is surprised that my kids r still on formula

i prefer formula though cos it's fortified with tons of added vitamins, DHA, folic acid blah blah...fresh milk here doesn't seem to have added nutrients although if u let your kid take a multivitamin, you get the same stuff

i went to gogo bambini but din like it as there was too many older kids running about and limited things for melody to explore. she just walked here n there and picked the balls on the floor to throw back into the ball pool. like the ball picker. :p will be more fun for kids above 3 yrs old. I will bring her there when she can climb up on her own. more things to explore on the upper level of the gym. it is $5 for kids under 2 yrs. but the good part is they have a cafe. if your kid does not need supervision, u can chit chat and eat there.

Kell,
the area behind the reception is for older kids but the inner area for babies. many toys. have to go in den can see. the toys are mainly vtec and leapfrog. branded toys. so can go try all the toys there and see which ur kid like before buying elsewhere. hehe.. but my hubby dislikes the parking at liang court. he says almost gave him a heart attack. the winding slope was too narrow!

RAR,
I only went there once. cos after that, H1N1 became quite rampant, din dare to go there as there are many tourists around that area. maybe we can arrange to meet there one of these days.

Park
I have been pestering my hubby to go for picnic at park. but he says tat he cannot stand the heat. actually I oso don like the heat lah. (I cannot tahan going to the zoo. too hot and tiring) But just never have picnic before. We went to Bishan Park twice. Went to Jacob Ballas twice. But already bored with the two places. Will try Hort Park, Bottle Tree Park and the goat farm after the H1N1 thingy has blown over.

Siblings
i think a child entertains another child easily =p
just now even drinking water, they find it funny looking at each other
2646248.jpg
2646249.jpg

hehe, some pics of kyzac
2646250.jpg
2646251.jpg
2646252.jpg

do share some pics of ur kiddos..long time since we all post pics ;)

Wow bbpink!
Envy manz! My bb dun drink plain water from bottles! He used to like drinking from his Nuby non-spill straw water bottle for a short period of time then now stop liao.
Sigh... my mum says its becos when he was less than a yr old that time i din give water to him lor. Now very headache leh. Partly due to his shortage of water intake, I dun give him snacks.
Mummies, can I ask how much does your bb drink water a day? How many ml? Mine sometimes none unless spoon feed. Is it abnormal not to give snacks? My bb jus take 4 times milk ( each 8 oz) n 2 solid meals. No snack or water in between.

YT
i can understand ur prob very well..i hav been facing this problem since 2 plus years ago..both kids dun like to drink water..

but..they like to play with water :p

like u, i also dun give snacks, i dun think it is necessary unless i m dining outside &amp; want to keep them occupied :p

PS: i used to think tat because when i bf kelicia, i din give water tat's y she dun like water as i introduce too late ..but kyzac whom i start very early on water also dun like water tat much

PSS: hb said his pal's son dun like to take milk, only water..tat sounds worse ;)

To answer ur qn, mine drinks milk 2 hrsly..i make 2 scoop with 150ml of water to increase his intake of water =)

my boy drinks water frequently. his water bottle is with him all the time. so anytime on cue he'll drink.
he drinks milk abt 4hrly. he snacks alot inbetween. basically whenever adults eat, he'll share.

i seldom bring him to playgyms already. due to the H1N1. i try to limited our outings to weekdays shopping ctr or wkend parks.
if wkends i bring him to malls, i dun let him walk outside.

ryan drinks fresh milk. HL milk is low-fat which is not suitable for babies/toddlers below 2yo.
i do not remember which brand - magnolia or marigold though.
i bought full cream milk. he do not like the taste.

Hi Yt &amp; Mummies,

Ryan is a natural drinker and he drinks non-stop from his straw-mag or from his "cartoon" mini-cup except he wud sometimes ended drenched ... he loves water immensely and drinks so much that i probably lost count and doc agreed that is alot for a boy of his age to drink up to 400ml water a day but yet i cant stop his drinking. when he behaves well, i will promise him wholemeal biscuits &amp; home-made pancakes as snacks for him that also help to encourage a little chewing for him since he is on 2meals soft-porridge and 1 breakfast fruits cereal and two milk feeding. He cud drink up to 280 ml of milk each feeding, thus overall at least ttl 550-600 ml milk a day which my Pd had recommended. U cud encourage him to drink by demostrating to him by drinking from yr cup or straw and he may just love to follow suit cos baby like ryan is quite a imitator... hope it helps.. rdgs - RAR

As my kids are on total breastfeeding, I don't give water until they started solids. DD1 was first introduced to water at 5 months old, she is not a particularly keen drinker, she only drinks when necessary. For DS2, he was only introduced to water at 9 months old but he loves water. DD3 also introduced water at around 8 months, she loves water too. So the saying of intro water late = don't like water is not true in my case.

Clover,

Is yr boy ok ...? hope all is fine. sure, we cud fix a date one day ... rdgs - RAR

Aly,

Yeah, i had been out of this place past 2wks due to the swine flu as well. There are indeed quite a handful of angmos... expatriates... hope to meet then. tc ! So now is pretty bored staying home after the outbreak with little activities as than before... any good place u cud suggest besides the picnics ?? cos is indeed hot for my "freckles"..hahah Poor Ryan had just stopped his last 2sessions of kindermusik too due to the H1N1... Bored now.

rar, he's having running nose n cough. Maybe its teething redated. I just saw 2 more teeth this week. btw how u find kindermusik? I'm interested to send alex for a trial.

ALY:
I took some photos of my Isaac in the new Huggies Jeans pull-up. So heart pain when he POO within 30mins of wearing it. DARM>...... L size have 12 pics in a pack which cost $8.30 under the Vivo promotion.
2648662.jpg

2648663.jpg

liyun,
i was eager for the launch of Huggies jeans but was thinking a bit wasted when most of the time Tricia is always wearing shorts underneath the blouse. My mom hates to see toddlers running around in diapers so in the end never get it. Quite ex leh.

babypink,
your kids have similar sunshine smiles! so cute. yeah siblings entertains each other so easily. and to think that i felt sooo guilty when I got pregnant with Tricia too soon. now i wouldn't give up that experience for anything in the world! although now Tricia and my elder DD have very different personalities, they're best friends and always laughing at each other's nonsense. really make my day, everyday.

Have been using the Mamy Poko Open diapers all along. Until recently she learnt how to take off her diaper by peeling off the tab. so must wear a skirt or pants over it. a bit warm in my mil's place where she does not like pple to use the fan. therefore was looking out for pullup pants.

Huggies pullups: gives her rashes.
Mamy poko girl pullups: good but expensive
Mamy poko value pullups: cheap but leak if too full. the cutting is very weird. can see her butt cheeks. like the sumo wrestlers design.

any cheap and good pullups to recommend?

Clover,

That cud be good news too with new teeth-sprouts. Wish him recovery soon. U tc2!
Ryan had since attended kindermusik at Tanglin at 11mths old... he is initially crowd-shy and not participative but after few lessons he had learnt to make expressions along with music like clapping hands, stampping feets, waving, twinkle fingers, peek-a-poo... with teacher and friends. Also more socialble and remembers most songs now when played for him which he wud go along with the motions.. in short, he does benefit from that.

Melissa:
I honestly also find it abit weird to have design print pull ups... we all usually let them wear shorts over their diapers. Unless at home and weather is hot, I let him wear diapers only.

aly,
have u tried Drypers? not bad too. Huggies pull-ups give rashes only to my DD1 and not DD2. I guess different skins does react differently.

babypink,
ha.. thanks for the testimony on NTUC pull-ups, been wanting to try but scared not good.

Just been to botanic gardens with hubby &amp; son wkend... it is sure a nice place to indulge a little instead in enclosed area now.... with the nature of pigeons, kois, so many swans swimming around ... is indeed a breathtaking off the hectic life... nice place to go alternatively.

Melissa
i am using both ntuc diapers &amp; pull up =)
NTUC diapers since last year cos my fav E brand ..can't remember the name now, cos long time never used increases in price.

my sil keeps telling me ntuc diapers will leak, but it din hapen for my kids even after poo..

i think adelineL also using ntuc diapers ;)

regarding ntuc pullup, there is now a promo going at $19.95 for 2 packs till end of the month..i stock up liao..btw, kyzac i used L (he is 10kg) my #1 who is 12kg can use XL)

jts =)

RAR
thanks for the compliments

Just came back from Splash Park at SSC and the kids had a lot of fun there despite Tommy missing his first nap but of cos he's conked out now haha

bbpink
kyzac and kelicia r so cute together! do they get along well? mine r often fighting over toys and tommy is always messing up Chelsea's stuff...when they do play nicely with each other, they r so fun to watch

Water
my kids both love to drink water....I didn't introduce water to Chelsea till well after 1yo but she likes to drink water...for baby tommy, I think cos the weather here is so hot and my parents think water is important so first thing when he wakes up in the morning or after nap is to drink from his straw cup. After playing outside or if he seems hot, we give him water too or he will ask for water himself

Yutong
I think it's fine not to give snacks if he's not hungry or if he's growing well

Aly
I agree with you on the Mamy Poko Value Pullups, such a strange cutting and leaks v. easily :p

bbpink
last time i used NTUC diapers on Chelsea and it worked great...never leaked....but with bb tommy it leaks v. easily! maybe I bought the wrong size cos I got the XL...he's over 12 kg so I thought should be XL...maybe I should try the L on him

RAR
botanical gardens sound nice....i think we'll go there soon too

adelineL
Your boy is growing up to be a fine looking boy esp with those big shining eyes
, like yours

Diapers
i swear by NTUC diapers as well as PetPet. My 3 girls adapt very well with these 2 brands. NTUC diapers also see them through the night. 9pm - 7am.

Water
we sneak water into their milk feeds. For a 150ml milk feed we top up with water to 210ml. So far GEM are not complaining.. whew! really save us on milk powder.. was giving them 210ml milk feeds 4 times a day n we use up a carton a month.. pure madness. SO glad to know i've been giving too much milk to them and now can cut down.

AdelineL
ur children really takes after ur good looks !
Chelsea is growing up to be a very pretty young lady and tommy is so handsome, his eyes r very captivating !

regarding siblings, yeah, mine would fight over toys too sometimes..being children..hehe
hope they grow out of this phase

i totally agree that when they play nicely and laugh happily together, they are fun to watch =)

Water
i think it is really impt..i love to drink water myself, can't leave the hse without carrying a bottle of water with me , dun understand y i hate water when i am expecting

Snacks
Yutong, come to think of it, actually i do give snacks like fruits, bread and gerber snacks to kyzac..
i will remove the seed of a cherry and then let him bite..he loves it..when it comes to bigger fruits like apple , pear or banana , i will just hold it in my hands and let both kids share and bite ( like tat also can while away some time)..as for blueberries, i think it is also a healthy snacks when the children r older..i dun dare to let kyzac self feed on blueberries in case he chokes on it

Spending time with kids
can share what do u all do indoors ? ") want to engage them in more mentally stimulating activities cos i realise we spend too much time lazing on mattresses :p also too much of dvd..spend quite a lot of time eating cos the kids are bored

Milk
i think my two kids r super milk addict, even after a full meal, they will still ask for milk
when it comes to nightptime, they can drink 150ml every hr until thet really fell asleep

i also use NTUC diapers on Ryan. XL for nights from 9pm-8am &amp; L for day use.
I use MP value pack for outings.

Ryan also peel off his diapers since dunno when. so he wears rompers at home.

adeL: tommy really looks like a big boy! very charming boy...

my boy also milk addict. drink milk even after eating full meal.

hey hey my friend just msg me from work asking if it's normal for one to spot red blood? she's 36 weeks already and under KKH. is there a number to call to ask? she's blur liao. me oso haha b'cos i never delivered in KKH before. any pointers?

huh wow.. lol... *speechless*

wey.. i was asking for a different thing leh.. anyone knows KKH hotline? red spotting at 36 weeks means delivery is eminent soon right? i wouldn't know, i was induced at both occasions. never get to experience any spotting before delivery, except losing my mucus plugs.

haha Melissa, erm I don't think red spotting definitely means delivery but I might be wrong....best is to call her gynae ASAP...at 36 weeks must be vigilant!!

AdelineL,
that's what i told her but since she's a KKH subsidized patient, she can't "anyhow call the gynae". i believe a subsidized patient will be looked after by a Medical Officer? so how ah? private gynaes should be the easist to contact.