(2008/03) March 2008

I get my maid to cook her mee sua/spaghetti/bee hoon/alphabet pasta with stock. sometimes add eggs. will throw in fish or minced meat, potato or carrot or pumpkin.

RAR
for my girls they have a variety in terms of different kind of grains - white / mixed / brown / cous cous / pasta / bee hoon / etc

another base you can try is mashed silken tofu

in that way they have a different base so not so boring in terms of solids.

i avoid giving outside food due to the sugar and salt content. But depends on personal preference.

hehe, looks like 3rd July Bishan Park is out. No worries

kais
5pm is a bit tough cos clash with both kiddos' nap time. It's no big deal for Chelsea to miss her nap but I just insisted she naps since that gives me free time haha but Tommy boy usually gets v. cranky by dinner time if he misses his afternoon nap...usually morning time is best or early afternoon the latest
hard to coordinate group outing due to these naps *haiz*

RAR,
thanks for asking... m coping wif things now.

I din receive any email from you leh. I juz sent you one though.

my dd got fever since last sat afternoon. Until this morning still abit feverish. Decided to bring her to see the PD. Visited PD and was told is normal for bb who took their MMR vaccine to get fever within the two weeks from date of vaccine. Also for chicken pox vaccine, is normal to get fever within the three weeks from date of vaccine. My dd took MMR and chicken pox vaccine together on 19/6. PD checked everything and there is no infection found. He told us the fever should come down today since it is the fourth day today.

btw mummies, my dd is not drinking milk...give 5 oz, drink 2 oz only. Whole day, did not even complete 10oz. How? Any advice? Try to change milk powder but still the same. Basically, she does not want to suck, keep on bitting the teats. I am really at a lost what to do to make her drink milk.

kias/ck

i m fine with the idea of a picnic at bishan park , but unfortunately this fri timing 5 pm i need to fetch my #2 as hb got something on that evening.

how abt we guys organise this on a sunday..i.e 2nd aug ?

the july sundays i am occupied liao ")

<font color="0000ff">Picnic @ Bishan Park on Sunday 2 August 2009</font>
PS: i dun noe abt park 1 park 2 leh..u guys decide
Interested:
bbpink &amp; family

happygal
hope rayne's fever goes down soon ..regarding milk, mayb can try using mag mag ? ")

Yutong
hope everything will be fine soon, cya soon ")

happygal, bb will hv a bad appetite when they are sick but once they recover they will have good appetite.

Ladies, my alex finally can walk since tues. He walks with his hand in the air n like a drunken penguin. So cute lor. =)

clover
congrats

happygal
sometimes they may just dont feel like drinking, i call it milk strike and usually happens when they are sick. maybe can give more frequent meals? this happens to lele a few days after her stomach flu, was quite worries like you but after that she is back to normal and eating with a vengence now.

Happygal: For the part on biting teats, might be due to teething? Phoebe did that few weeks back then her molar surfaced.

Clover: Congrats. Now Alex is offc a toddler. I'm still waiting leh, Phoebe still prefer to walk holding something/anything. LOL.

Btw, found her to be super cranky these few days. If you dun hold her hand and walk, she scream. If you dun let her touch things (hp, credit cards etc), she also scream. Now her voice a bit sexy (coarse) from screaming.

tks ladies. =) i hv yet to take a good video of my drunken penguin. Trying everyday lol. Oh i made a mistake. He started on mon. =)

Hi Reena, Kais, Aly,Kell...

Thanks for sharing... well i didnt introduce rice &amp; table food as yet cos ryan tends to choke easily on grains if is not porridge... u know why? coz he doesnt like to chew his food but swallow all times...HOW ? I am wondering cud that points down to the fact that he has only 8tooths at 15mths now... Is that considered slow or normal ? as it had been more than 3mths since his last tooth erupted till now. Btw, how many tooths do yr kids of same have now ?? I am just curious. thanks for all - RAR

Hi Happygal &amp; mummies....

Is sth new to me that Chicken Pox and MMR vaccine can be taken tog at the same time ?? cos my Pd had only last advised to take separately at 13mths onwards and the latter at 15mths to 2yrs period. Btw, hope yr bb is getting fine now... My Ryan is due for both. In anyway, i shd be bringing him for the MMR jab first in 1-2 wks time... is there any knowledge or advices that u gals cud shower me with on that ?

Hi Yt,

Great that things are on the move for you now. I have gotten yr email... will re-forward the email i last sent to you again at this new email add instead. Take fab care too ! rdgs - RAR

RAR,
For toddlers, they don't have full set of teeth and they chew with their gums, not their molars. There is a window period for them to learn how to chew and that is between 9 and 12 months. Which is the reason why most books/sites recommends you give coarser food during this period.

Hi Clover,

I share yr joy that your boy can finally take independent steps now coz this is what i have been praying for Ryan. Cheers to U Mummy ! Btw, how old are your boy now ? Is he the cautious type like my son ...? - RAR

Hi Mummies who are .....

Hi all, i have a pretty new playmat which i last bought for abt $80 and a safety-first bathtub i got at $50 which Ryan used when he was a tiny bb then... Is not new afterall but in very good condition. I thought of donanting to the Salvation Army near my place as have no one in mind to pass to... Is there anyone who needs these items ?? I will be glad to pass it to the needy who want to self-collect. Do let me know by this fri should it be useful to any mummies-in-need before i cleared it. rdgs - RAR

HI Reena,

If that is the case... how to encourage him to chew now... ? He has only 8 tooths, i am a little tense over is that too few for his age now ? how abt yr child...do you brush or clean his milk teeth now? what brands do you use then. rdgs - RAR

rar, alexander was born on 27 mar. He started walking on 15m2d. =) He's the cautious type alright. Each kid has his own internal milestone, so for the mums with kid who hasn't walk worry not. He has 11 teeth now. I brush his teeth with soft cloth or finger toothbrush.

Save your stuff for no. 2!? Lolz

RAR,
You just have to try giving coarser food. My niece unfortunately had porridge till she was 2 yo and she can't chew. When she eat noodle/rice, she will choke and vomit. She only learned how to chew and swallow at 6yo.

aly,
That sure looks weird!

bbpink, 2aug Sunday is good, forgot 3jul is fri.
park 1 is also to bishan, opp the stadium.
park 2 is nearer to thomson area, near the golf range and the temples.

adelineL/Rar
how abt we meet up this friday morning for breakfast :p

lets meet at mcafe united square, then we can shop a bit as well..

CK
great..let's see the responses 1st ")

RAR
chewing i will give small piece of bread initially to kyzac, then chew myself in big actions and show him ")maybe can do a demo hehe..if we gals can meet up on fri

clover
congrats ") sound cute !

aly
weird but ex as well bah..

bbpink
wow breakfast and shopping sounds so appealing but in the morning i actually have Parents-Teachers mtg so earliest time i can make it to United Square is 11 oredi....somemore it's impossible to shop leisurely with my 2 kids in tow...they can get v. whiny....is there some place where they can play instead?? and do lunch?? maybe Paragon?? there's a playground upstairs.

Good Morning!

Yeah, jeans diapers is really weird. They still gotta wear pants/shorts/skirts over diapers, so its a poor selling point. Anyways, huggies pants give Phoebe a damp bum, so its out.

I finally caught Transformers. Soo happy.

I'll KIV 3 Aug.
Mummies enjoy the outing tml!

Reena,
Wow, that worried me a little now... good thing i had begun to give him biscuits and bread to chew 2mths ago... though slow but practising... will try to improvise coaser food

babypink,

wud like to meet u gals to chat esp if we cud have shop-free time but with ryan around seems difficult... cud try to meet another cos had an unexpected appt tomor too. thnx - rar

clover,

no 2 is out for me lah... hahah. will donate to charity instead. btw, ryan is behing alexander abt 1 week in age. btw, how big is your older child ?

rar, alex is my first born. =)

Anyone give yr bb organic fresh milk i finally found a brand of milk that alex likes but it's quite ex at $18 for abt 2l. The brand is organic valley

look like we probaly can only catch up at another date ")

do reserve 2 aug if u can =)

Adeline
Paragon is a good idea, just tat i need to attend to something after 2..so lets kiv the venue for another weekday outing soon ")

Clover,

So, we are both first-time mummy to our first-born son....Is the organic valley taste good &amp; similiar to the ordinary fresh milk &amp; how much do you give alex ? I remember u last shared u r SAHM too, do you enjoy being full time to alex now ?? I am kind of bored staying full time...

rar, i'm bored too. Alex is stimulated enough but not the mummy. Hur hur.

I like the milk taste. It's whole milk and richer than meiji fresh milk. Alex took abt 60, 70ml during his breakfast whereas he has never took to fresh milk or fm so i think this is good for a first try.

reena/ rar

i do agree to give coarser food to encourage chewing. i only started to intro rice to my son when he is 2 and at initial stage, took a long time to finish as he is quite lazy to chew. so now i already intro rice to lele so that she can exercise her jaw haha

clover
hmm $18 for 2litre really very expensive and i think short expiry period right as it is fresh milk. zac is on meiji milk and i give it to him chilled, immediately out of the fridge. i heard it is better to let it cool down a bit before letting the child drink but in the morning i simply have no time to do that. so far so good, no complains from zac too. try to get lele to drink meiji but she took one sip and keep shaking her head hard. i think she still prefers her gain iq.

joelle, i let the milk stand for abt 10mins. Alex doesn't like cold milk.

Shirley, sigh. Wat to do? Alex only take meiji milk with cereal n fruits. He wont drink it plain. He wont take fm also.

AdeL,
There is a nice place to bring our toddlers. It is called Royce playgym. It is at Liang Court, lvl 2. it is very safe for toddlers.
many toys for 0 to 3 years old. there are slides, swings, ball pools, see saws, play kitchen, trolley, mini scooters.

parents can sit around and chit chat while the babies roam around safely in the enclosed area.
all babies and adults must wear socks. they will ask u to use the disinfectant before going in and when you leave.
They also wipe the toys with disinfectant every hourly. They have a few air purifiers around each corner.

however, the registration fee of $50 is the thing that make parents hesistate. can check out the place first before signup.
I signed up on the spot cos i liked the place at first sight and will bring my gal there often.
Aside from the $50 registration fee, u need to pay $10 per hour. nt sure if it is considered exp.

aly, i went to fidget n go go bambini which doesn't require any registration fee n the entrance fee is cheaper. Oh i registered n paid for explorerkidz at downtown east, but that place is more suitable for older kids.

Good Morning all!

I passed by Liang Court and saw the playgym. Look like older kiddos playgym to me cos I don't see those not steady ones walking around. :p

I prefer to let them play in gardens/park. LOL. I feel its more "natural" even though there's dirt.

Aly &amp; all,

Hi, i hv brought ryan pretty often to the Royce at Liang Court . He had been there since abt 10mths old. Yeh, i do agree with u that i like the place at first moment too thus had since signed as a member which we were there practically twice weekly till of late due to swine.... who knows ? I may have seen you there before, yah... Is a nice place with good space and nice new toys &amp; books too... i wud personally recommend this place too.