(2008/03) March 2008

MOzzie Bites:
Happens to me too. If I scratch it, there will be like a blister and water mark. If I continue again, will become broken skin and scar. I also noticed Phoebe got mozzie bites. Get the anti mozzie bracelet/patch (from pharmacy) and it works like magic. Its cos of the citronella smell. Tried keeping the plant, but whithered as I dunno how to care for it.

JTS a funny quote:
A little child went up to his father and asked :
' Dad, where did all of my intelligence come from ? '
His father replied : ' Well, son, you must have gotten it from your mother, because I still have mine. '

kais wat's clomid huh?

ladies, do u know any natural remedy for coughing? alex just started coughing, like a few times in an hr. I hv cough med in fridge but wonder wat else I can do for him?

Clomid a very common drug used to induce ovulation in women with ovulation problem. It is one of the cheapest fertility drug around. $10 for a course. Apparently during the drug trial test, about 7% of the patients gave birth to twins, mostly fraternal and less than 1% gave birth to triplets and more. So i say it worked miracle for me...lol... never see myself win any jackpot before... hahahha

Do you have any recomendations for brands of hard soled shoes?
Looking to buy one soon.

Encouragement to Walk
I bought the squeaky sandals and Phoebe loves to wear that while pushing her push walker. She usu wear and walk w walker at home.

I found that she dpds a lot on the walker. No walker = Refused to walk.

kell
my elder boy zac also started off with pushing my suitcase to learn walking. some how or rather, one fine day he finally let go and walk on his own. think they have a biological clock inside them to dictate when to do certain things. toilet training is also the same, at first refuse to sit, just one fine day finally agree. they really have a mind of their own.

Shirley: Totally agree. Children are so amazing.

Updates on Charmaine:
Would like to highlight that I will be transferring the total amount from all of us on Mon 15 Jun instead. I still have some chq and inter-bank transfers that will only be cleared by Mon.

The good news is - we will surpass $1.5k. Yeah!

Kell
wow, fantastic ! =)

Mozzie attack
thanks to all ") din noe nowsadays it is quite common for blister to appear on top of mosquito bites ..i never have this for the past 3 decades, neither does my hb

SGH
i must said that the Houseman Canteen is very impressive, so much better than the kopitiam inside in terms of ambience & price & variety of food..
2557653.jpg
2557654.jpg

a lot of $2 => $2.30 food
2557655.jpg
2557656.jpg

the Murtabak is presented very nicely too

<font color="0000ff">Btw, heard my SIL said Mount A offers the most affordable and no long queue A &amp; E, $25 only! compared to the awful long q at kkh </font>

Kais,

The fact that you're even Thinking that there is a chance that it could be multiple..... hahaa! I wouldn't! But oh the joy of feeling many little ppl kicking inside... That I would never forget.

For the beach - based on my previous "successful beach outing": we arrived at 9ish and pack up by 11. But the beach is a gamble - they either love it or hate it; or lovin it for 10 mins then hate it ++++ hehehee.... Maybe not ideal to meet there... you got a better place to meet? We've got the whole Monday free.

Kathy,
Like most babies here, my first, 2nd and 3rd babes are 15 months old.

Good Morning!

Babypink: re blisters on mozzie bites only happens if you're "unlucky" like me with sensitive skin. but children skin are more delicate so might explain

Feel like gng southern ridges tml early morning. Am wondering if there's any food outlets around that area?

thks for the advice on the walking, my boi can stagger a bit la, nevertheless still worried cos coming 15.5mths...

Jeangal &amp; Kathy

there is this free assessment under polyclinic, u can schedule urs at 63553000 ")

PS: Dun worry, my mum said i start to walk at 18th months..
now i walk very fast esp when i m shopping :p

Babypink,

thanks for the #, but dun like pple to comment that hes a bit slow etc...we aso worried mah, its not ez, keep worrying here and there..tink thats the stress of having children.

kathy, Im as worried as u. Aso dunno wat to do. Plus Im workg. Can oni spend time w him on weekends. Im planning to bring him shopg. Hold his hands to walk. Aso buy him shoes tt has sounds to encourage him. Tts all we can do. Sigh...

this is wat i'm doing nw..i bring him to the playground and let him hold on to the railings but he's too lazy to walk, keep sitting on the floor..sigh

but did he try to walk, is he holding on to any furniture to walk?

i think walking wise all toddlers need to take their time.
if they can hold furniture n walk, their limbs shld be developing fine.
my mil say babies who start walking later seems to have a better life. hehs..

i am more worried abt late talkers. i have been stressing to my boy a few simple words. but seems that he refuse to speak. he sticks to his usual (neh neh, papa, bao bao).

i am worried abt autism as i let my boy watch quite a lot of tv.

recently he screams alot. whenever he doesn't get his way. whacking him doesn't work. i'll leave him alone when i run out of ideas how to handle him.

Kathy, mine the same lei. Dun wana walk. I try to hold him to walk aso dun wa. I just bought him the shoes with sounds. He aso dun wana walk. Wat shld we do?

Petrina, dun worry. I thk u shld stop letting him watch tv as I read somewhere tt watching tv can delay their language.

Mine wil aso scream to get his way. Even my cousic bb who's a feb bb does tt. I guess this is the way the bb communicates to us. Testing our limit.

jeangal: bobian then i let him watch tv. he's gd in expressions. when i sing, he dances correct movements to the correct song.
he fully understands whatever we ask of him. i juz wonder why he won't speak. only babbles.
haiz...

Petrina, so he understands lah... Then dun thk he's autistic. Bcos PD tells me austistic bb understg skills slower isit? Wil lag in some of the milestones?

Mummies, ned some helps here. Wana check on the MMR jabs. I heard it is linked to austism. Isit true? Is there different variation of the MMR jabs? Pls share your knowledge w me. Thx

little charmaine

THE NEW PAPER carried little charmaine's story today. hopefully it will generate more awareness as well as funds for her.

Pet
my sentiments too..i m more worried abt late talkers than late walkers ..
hehe, heard abt wat ur MIL said..
being a late walk-er, my life is so far so good :p

Kais
yupz, hope so too !btw, i omit baking powder..hehe, taste ok

Reena
used 2 of ur recipes, made blueberry muffins &amp; pancakes ( replace lemon with orange =)
dun noe y my pancake look more like roti prata ;)

2563004.jpg
2563005.jpg

bbpink

I think your batter was too thin and the distribution of heat to cook the pancake caused it to turn out like roti prata..hehe.. my fil passed me his Indian flat pan, those used by indian prata/thosai sellers and our pancakes turn out restaurant standard, thick and fluffy.. batter wise i use Aunt Jemima brand, the best so far i find in the market.

Bluesky Bread Machine
The offer @ $39.90 has ended. I bought mine at $59.90 less 10% discount when the retail price was $99. Now, the retail price is $129 so if you can get it at $59.90, it's still a steal.

Kathy,
My dd1 only started walking unaided at 15.5months, my nephew (a few days younger) didn't walk until 17 months. Not that he can't walk, he's just afraid of falling down.

QooSan
Best if you can buy the yogurt starter from Mustafa (this will give you a thicker and creamier consistency) but if you can't (like me), you can just use any plain yogurt. Also, if you do not add any milk powder, your yogurt will be quite watery (somewhat like low-fat yogurt consistency).

YT,
Very funny captions!

Lefty,
I brought dd3 for her chicken pox jab too. Asked for pneumococcal vaccine too but doc asked me to go back when she's slightly older.

BBpink,
Which pancake recipe did you use? Buttermilk or Peanut Pancake? Besides thin batter, try to use small flame when you cook this.

i'm glad we've managed more than $1200 for little charmaine. but that's just only 0.24%..
we've tried our best. i've sent out mass emails to my friends and colleagues and also on my FB applications, hopefully will garner more support.

Reena
i used the buttermilk recipe, i just gone thru ur blog again to see where I went wrong, i think i need to buy a ring mould so that the batter dun spread ..where do i buy one ? ")

after tasting the pancake, the maid comments tat my rotipraty-pancake is rather dry, but i add so much milk already

Kias
hehe, thanks..i m going to google open aunt Jemima
ok, long time since i gone little india &amp; mustafa :p

PS : anyway, i think next time i can make roti prata liao after this experience ..just use more salt without sugar *beam*, should b less sinful than those sold outside bah

bbpink

i go there once in a while. Will ask my fil too and keep a lookout for you. I use it to make chapati, which is the healthiest version of all flatbreads. Super easy to make chapati too. Just chapati flour (hehhe little india again or you can ask your neighbourhood mama shop) and water.

i dont think it is a matter of ring mould.its the thin batter that is not holding the pancake together. For cheap moulds, we can trust DAISO to have all these cute cute stuff.. hehhe.. i came across a BP on cartoon moulds

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2557146.html?1244645692

http://www.cakediy.com/producta.htm

suitable for older toddlers
.. cant wait for GEM to reach that stage

kais
thanks for sharing =) and hehe, thanks for helping me look out in Little India

Reena's blog is very addictive as there are a number of quick &amp; easy recipes, when i see her salmon mayo , i really wanna eat it :p
tried it today and it taste as good as it looks in her blog!
my picture not that nice buy still yummy ;) have to resist very hard to leave half for hubby, think it is abt 350g

2565763.jpg

bbpink

i use TECNO but it's built in. My mil swears by her trusted electrolux. I like Ariston but cannot afford it.

Personally, i went for what was in my budget, must have built in fan to cool the oven and at least 3 levels. Those with light inside allows you to see your cake as it bakes.

You must start making space in your kitchen for the oven.

saw this thread with people who really knows their ovens

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/340415.html?1241928650

Wow, see all these talk abt food made me v hungry at this hr. :p

Mustafa: I recommend you to go at wee hrs. eg aft 12mn or 7am. Dunno hows the crowd during normal hrs, but evening peak hrs, 6 to 12, is very chaotic. :p

Oven: A convectional oven is good enough. But try not to get those convection cum microwave cos the heat is not good enough to bake nicely. I dunno if the technology improved cos I got one which is a few years old liao.

mustafa

yes i totally agree with kell. i always go to mustafa after 10pm and boy is it still crowded. Went after midnight also crowded... but parking was better after midnight and less people to knock down on the roads... it's terrible.. the pedestrains there think they are still in India

bbpink,
I'm using Tecno 3400 table top oven, 42 litres. Prior to this, I was using a Sharp 3-in-1 MW oven, but the baking function died on me. It's not recommended for frequent baking and the bakes don't brown evenly.

Hihi! Its a boring Mon. :p

Yeah, agree with Reena on those all in one oven. Now I'm envisioning my dream kitchen - w built in everything, except MW, plus a maid to wash up everything. Wahahaha.

I really dislike MW, maybe it alys makes nice food not nice, altho its convi.

let's hope they will walk soon...i ever heard those late walkers will have a good life but does it apply to boys as well?

As for talking, he aso likes to babble and scream a lot..and if we did not give the attention he wants, he will hit his head (my another concern)..my boi got a v bad temper..sigh

conventional oven
i'm using cornell.

microwave oven
yes, agree.. convenient but makes food yucky if u nv stand there and view carefully. i always count the no. of turns needed juz for reheat. sometimes i overheat, then food end up yucky.

when is father's day? some ppl say yesterday.. i tot is tmr?

Fathers' Day - third sun of Jun.

Everyday also fathers day and mothers day mah. Its daily, after the birth of baby. LOL. And both days comprises of cleaning Poo and Pee, cook, feed and more cleaning. Not glamourous at all. ~peng~

Kathy, Yes I aso hear tt... But no matter good or bad life. Just hope they walk... Rem to update me hor.

Mine aso scream a lot but nvr hit his head. How &amp; where he hit his head against? Or he uses his hand to hit his own head? My boss boi does tt to according to him. He uses his own hand to hit his head. Sometimes uses his head to hit their heads.

just went to ps carrefour during my lunchtime. want to take a look at e bluesky breadmaker, but only saw e display unit. no price stated. asked a staff there and he told me this model may become obsolete as many complained that it gets rusty. so there goes e cheapest breadmaker i want to buy.

Ah! I have been a SAHM for the last 1 week because my maid's mother passed away and she wanted to go home. I had to take urgent leave and get a new maid, now teaching her everything from scratch... got to be very patient.

Looking after my boy full-time is also very xiong. I think I lost something like 2+kg already. Running after him in the playground and at home, rushing about to do as many things as I can when he's taking a nap... Wah... it's definitely more hectic than an office job!

Reena, you must be a supermum to handle all your kids without a maid!
How do you ever manage it??!

blueskies,
I'm no supermom, I'm just mother of 3 and that explains the main difference. When you only have #1, you struggle and juggle. With #2, you prob need some help. But when you have #3, everything can be compromised.

I used to do lots ie household chores but not anymore now. My house is in a mess and I don't welcome visitors for that reason :p

Between a supermom and a happy mom, I choose the latter

blue-skies
not easy ! esp without a maid..when i SAHM for a week with my mum overseas, having a maid to help me cook the meals &amp; wash the dishes really help

Reena
well said ! =) hehe, condition of a non living thing like a house is def less impt than being happy and having more time for the kids.

happygal
thanks for sharing ! i think i will just focus on cake making then ;)

last nite, i combine Reena's recipe &amp; Kais' recipe, so there comes the carrot muffins :p
btw i add the milk after flour, then add oil, then egg..got all the steps wrong, so was quite happy when the muffins turn out fine "p

2571916.jpg
2571917.jpg

Oven
ladies, thanks for sharing ! i never know that microwave &amp; oven combined is not that good..still tot can combine both and has more space for the kitchen
a built in oven will be def ideal, saw this family that win a free kitchen makeover by Straits time ..wow, look good =p
i m using imarflex brand myself, ulu brand and hand me down fr an aunt ;) but i like the name of the oven {little lovin oven ;)
2571918.jpg