(2008/03) March 2008

Kell, good to share the stories

i feel like taking the vaccination, esp after reading ur post..

anyway, 1 more women issue to share

have any1 gone for pap smear after delivery ?

i forget all abt it until i read kell's post so scheduling mine this monday

Cervical Cancer
Think there is this vaccination effective for girls b4 they turn sexually active. Think i wan my bb to go for this.

When is e suitable age to go for this jab? I think super exp. That time i wanted to do but i think very pricey n i think too late to do since im married, alreadi exposed to dangers?
Only can do regular pap smear now n detect early.

simp, I felt something in Alex's upper gum. He's v clingy today, must be feeling not well.

blue_skies, I blended his food for dinner. he used to like chunky food. must take tips from you. your james is so big. alex is 8.8kg only.

simp
i called kkh, they said for adult women is (haven add GST) $450 ( 3 doses)
1st month - 1st jab
2nd month - 2nd jab
6th Month - last jab

clover
tat time i suai suai got my menses for post delivery checkup ..so gynae said cannot do..
he asks me to go polyclinic

Poor alex, is it a new tooth coming out ?

Babypink
I have never go for my pap smear before. Did once, but phobia.... So uncomfortable... So I always conveniently forget making an appt.

Cervical cancer
My mum told me this.. It would be a little awkward to share here. But I think I should still share it despite the awkwardness. All mummies here knows how a penis look like. Those with foreskin, the guy will have to clean it thoroughly before the intercourse. And I mean have to penetrate immediately after the clean or the germs and stuff will start to accumulate. As the area there is very humid, it's a good place for germs/bacteria to grow. If u actually pull it down, u can see a layer of white thing there.. Those are the dirts. So have to clean properly to avoid accumulation of dirt that will lead us to cervical/womb cancer/tumour.

I know many ppl will think, 'how to go and wash in the middle of foreplay, it will seems wierd.' So I suggest to persuade hubby to go for circumcision..

I will be bringing my boys for circumcision when they're in primary school. I'm all in for circumcision!!!

clover,

Most important thing is that Alex is healthy. Don't worry about his size
Does he pass motion everyday? I find that James doesn't eat as much if he doesn't poo so we make sure he poos everyday.

I am still blending James's food but now it's in bigger bits. Previously it would be like a "smoothie" sort of texture. Now it's more lumpy. If you blend the veggie with the other food, you can't actually taste the veggie. I normally use about xiao bai cai or cai xin because the taste of those veggies is quite mild.

isabella

i agree it is very painful but boh bian, pap smear is impt or so my gynae said

i hope to die old

oh no ! i think my hb did not do circumcision..
so i m in the high risk group?

ur future dils will be very grateful to u :p

babypink
actually circumcision is very good for guys. You know in phillipines & thailand where there are alot of sex workers. The rate of man contrating AIDS in phillipine is much lower than those in thailand because most guys in phillipines do circumcision. That place at the penis, it's a breeding groud for all germs/bacteria which can harm other ppl as well as the guy himself. So I rather bring my kids for circumcision to avoid all these things. You know, even small thing like infection...

Blueskies
James is really quite a big boy.. My Rhys weighs only about 10.5kg...

Actually pap smear not supposed to be painful. If the gynae / nurse does it properly, it's not supposed to hurt. Then again, they always tell you to relax otherwise they cannot insert that "tool" properly.

Aren't guys always supposed to pull back the foreskin slightly when they bathe so that they can clean it properly everyday? Hmmm....

Isabelli,
i think u r rt. I must go ask hb hahaha n educate him. If i have a son, will circumcise him gd for him n future wife. I must teach my ger also when she is a wife too.

That means we r all in danger gp if hb din go for circumcision? Wd they do it now that they r adults or must do when they r young? How to encourage hb to go for this?

BBpink
Do u know if we can still take e cervical jab? Which age is suitable for girls? Must plan for my ger liao.

i vaguely remember 4 april there is something going on @ HDB hub..anyone has any idea wat it is , also 2pm to 5pm, read in the news i think

found it on tuesday Today, no wonder i get confused..it is also abt cervical cancer, but
that one no vacination on site
Date : 4 April 2009
Time: 2pm- 5pm
Venue: HDB HUB Convention centre
Basement 1 Auditorium
480 Lorong 6 Toa payoh
$5 per person
To register , call 63398687

hmm..both events abt cervical cancer on the same day at the same time..is 4 April World Cervical day

U must sign up before 31 Mar.
Upon approval, she/he can redeem free ice cream sundae every mth till
she reaches 12 yrs old.
2285701.jpg

Happygal29
Rayne is so adorable !

======

anyone familiar with sim lim square, i m helping an aunt to find the best bargain for a nikon coolpix s220 or s230 camera..is Alan Photo Trading the best bargain there ?
my aunt is going there herself and i noe she wun ask shop by shop..but i m just too busy to go wif her

bbpink, thx for compliments, but she gving me headaches at nite. am so phobia of nite time, cos she woke up so so so many times...juz slp awhile and wil wake up and cry. basically cnnt slp bk once she toss and wakes up.
yup, alan photo trading seems to be the best bargain store for camera...both my analogue and digital camera got from there.

Happygal
Ur ger is so cute

Jgal
The info on jab is gd! Think we all cant take rt, since i rem it is for gers b4 21yrs old. More effective if taken young i rem.

About cervical cancer,

I've gone to my gynea once. He said women over 27 are not effective to this vaccine. Meaning cannot do anything after you are 27yrs..hikkk..hikkksss...

But pls correct me if i was misunderstood his words.

Papsmear,
Yeah..i always schedule a papsmear at least once a year. But this year, i haven't make any appointment..hii..hii

I'm totally agree with Babypink on circumcision. Do anyone know how much the cost for circumcision? any group cost maybe..?? hiii..hiii
Because i got 2 boys!!!

i think the leaflet i gotten states cervical jab vaccine is only for ladies abt 27yrs n below. cause last yr i wanted to jab after delivery. can't le.

papsmear, i also do yearly. twice since ryan was born.

i wanna circumsize my boy. but hb refuse. so it's still under negotiation.

cervical cancer

the jab cost ard 600 plus... but it must be done while the girl still virgin... i ask the best age is ard 16 ... but hor how u know if the girl still virgin ...LOL

simp, thx. hehe, but she stil dun cal mama leh. only heard her call papa a few times. is it normal? she is 13mths plus now. i forgotten when my elder son start talking, but like before 1 yr old leh. mummies, any advise? she is also not walking yet, probably bigger frame. she is 10.75kg now. height think about 79cm.

circumcision
I brought my boy to to crescent clinic at eunos for his circumcision when he was 2 mths old. The Dr there has been doing circumcision for ages. All the way back to my hubby and beyond
...the rate there is affordable. You can try him. very seasoned.

not laser, they use anaesthetic and surgery. Since my baby was small, the nurses told us to stay outside. So, I didn't see the full procedure. But it took only 5mins.

Found this in another thread. Might be useful.

Crescent Clinic. Details asf:
Add: Blk 1A, Eunos Crescent #01-2473
Tel: 6745-8624
Price: $80 (not sure if price is stil the same)
- covers consultation, procedure, panadol, care instructions & follow-up consultation (norm 6-8 days later)

If you prefer doing it at the hospital, you can try Dr Aziz Clinic at Kembangan Plaza. Details asf:
Add: Kembangan Plaza, 18 Jalan Masjid #01-08,
Tel: 6842-0220
Price: $200
Consultation must be done at the clinic and if you wish to have the procedure done at a hospital, the clinic can arrange it for you but you would need to book the OT so might take a while.

As I have mentioned in my earlier thread, I'm all for circumcision. THough, we do it for religious reasons, but it is really hygenic.Esp for small kids, who may not know how to pull back foreskin and clean themselves thoroughly. RIsk getting infection.

happygal,
My gal has not talk or walk yet. can't even call papa or mama or anything. I am not worried cos I know every child is different and even if she can walk or talk faster than others, that doesn't mean she is smarter or better developed. But my sil kept saying things to hint that my gal is very slow. Sianz. have to put up with hearing such things.

According to my mum:
My sister walked at 9 mths old is actually not as smart as myself and my brother who walked at 13 mths. Neither is she more well-coordinated than myself and my brother.

So i can safely conclude learning how to walk and speak early is not a indicator of the child's intelligence or atheletic performance.

aly
agreed. diff kids develop differently. no need to be bothered by their comments. MOst probably, just saying for the sake of it. Whatever their stage, we still love them!

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">
2288476.gif

Haven post here for awhile *hee*.

Can I ask if there's any baby not eating porridge or rice yet? My Josiah is still only on cereal. He simply refuse his porridge or rice. I've tried to blend his porridge until like cereal texture but still refuse. Even hv try cooking porridge with milk also e same. How huh? My MIL keep nagging at me like as if I'm ill-treating him. Dam sian lor

Here's his recent pic,

</font></font>
2288477.jpg

Agreed. Phoebe at 12.5 months also hadn't walk yet. She only says "Pa Pa"/"Ba Ba" and "Nen Neh Nen". Other than that, she screams.

Everything is also Pa ba - her terms for toys, me, HB, my mum, whatever she like. She can say nen nen for milk, even if she naps 1hr aft 6oz of milk, she also says nen nen... Wahahahaha! I think she refer to the bottle nipple or pacifer.

Aly,
Then what your SIL expects for a 13mth baby? Superbaby that can run/talk in sentences? Ignore her lah, she can blabber whatever...

For circumcision, its better to do the younger the better right?

Jenifur,
When I bring Phoebe out on weekends, I also only feed her cereal/biscuits. Ask ur MIL to cook and feed him lor. And then clean up the baby, chair and floor if messed up. Talking is free...
Is Josiah taking well to other solids like bread biscuits fruits etc?

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Kell,

Nope.. Josiah is not taking bread/biscuit or fruits too. I'll usually feed him abit when I'm eating but 2 small bites is all he will take.

I dun mind if is messy as long as he eats. But he simply refuse to eat. After a few mouthful, he will try to climb out of e high chair. If u force him, he will cry till very cham. I nv had such problem w my #1 DD leh.

This little boy only likes his milk, cereal &amp; yakult
</font></font>

Jenifur, you wanna see a doc if Josiah is getting enough nutrients? If he's getting enough its ok. If he doesn't like it, don't force him. If not he will have negative feelings for future meal times.
I mean if your MIL keep nagging you ask her to try feeding him.

Aly, then should be melody is much more clever lor. She rather have a "chaffuer". Ahahaha. You can also say she rather not make mummy tire out soon. She's clever and considerate. Such a darling!

Actually not fair to compare boys with girls what... When she starts walking, its gonna get more tiring. No need to sign up for Gym Membership.

My gal when she's over at my mum, is a brat. She will lie flat, face down on floor and cry (tantrum) when she can't get her way. Eg go outside gai gai, playing w fridge magnets, remote ctrl, hse telephone, she gets whatever buy just doing that. You think she wanna walk? Wahahaha.

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Aly,

Actually hor I agree with Kell.. I wish Josiah don't walk so early. It's so tiring now lor. U take yr eyes off him 1 min nia, he's gone. Either heading to e toilet to play water or to e bedroom to play w e cupboards. *sigh*</font></font>

hi aly, thx for sharing. at least i knw that i am nt alone. dun bother abt other comment, k? as long as we knw our kids are ok. understd can be quite sian. juz dun bother her. me also when ppl comment smethng bad, i juz simply ignore tat person...
i juz wori she is still nt talking cos scared autisim... :p my elder son start walking only when he 15mths, probably due to size...haha

Happygal29, aiyoh I haf same worries as u. Scare my boi autism too. Cant walk, talk... Then his crawlg looks v funny... Using oni 1 leg to crawl. I aso hope he's normal. I ask PD he says too early to tell. Must wait for him to b older.