(2008/03) March 2008

Mommies..speaking of Maid. Do you gv 13th salary to them on Hari Raya Lebaran or Xmas?

And Do they got salary increase every year? or if they renew their contract with us - after 2yrs- then we increase the salary? How's the practice down here?

Aiyoh poor Alex... Good tt u r recovering.

Babypink, aiyoh ur boi is so cute & smiling face. Mine has nt been smiling since he's sick. I miss his similg face.

mikael
I have good reviews for the Singtel Mobile Livecam. Since CCTV is out of my budget, I think I'll get the mobile livecam...

My auntie up her maid's salary by $10 within that 2 years. I think this is up to individual.. If u think she's doing well and deserve a increment, u can give her one anytime u think it's appropriate..

Isabellali,

You can get baby neck float at Punggol Plaza 2nd floor. I think the price is around $20. But if you go to the independent baby shop at 2nd floor also, they only sell $15.

Or try to look at "Want to buy" section..I think there are several mommies want to let go theirs.

Thx for the review on mobile livecam...got to check it out at singtel.

Shaking of Babies
Poor child. Its news like these that reaffirms my decision to take care of my baby myself. Speaking of shaking, a couple of days ago, I was waiting with Zayed for my hubby to finish his prayers. There was a girl about 9 yrs old who was babysitting her 2 baby siblings (I assume)in prams. I guess she was waiting for her parents to finish prayers la. She was playing with them roughly by pulling their arms forward and pushing them down hard on their forehead and the baby slams down into the pram! I think you can guess wat I mean. So horrifying! When the babies were tired, she forcefully pulls them forward and slams them down. One after another! I guess need to be vigilant as to how the older plays with younger. Cos Kids are innocent and they dun realise wat's dangerous. sighz.

Clover
Hope Alex recovers completely soon.

Babypink
I like the frowning foto! so cute!

YasminB
i agree totally abt older kids being innocent and dun noe the dangers
hehe..thanks

Isabellali & Erny
heard fr colleagues the singtel is good

jerejoy
u r so nice

hehe, hope to meet up then

Liyun
Isaac is so cool ! is tat a massage chair ..how abt thesteering wheel ?

YT
was reading archive & saw ur post..geez, lucky u got the number, can make police report liao

mummies, alex's rashes is still 80% gone. hope he gets totally well tomolo.

I juz went to the F1 qualifier race this evening. anyone went too? quite an experience but I am not a F1 fan like my hubb, so it's less exciting for me. now he says want to go for msia grand prix next apr! I can go shopping while he watch his race.

Highchair,
It's a must for me too. No hanky panky when it comes to meal time. I've been using the Ikea white highchair since 2003, very sturdy, cheap and good.

Fisherprice Highchair from Amazon,
Do note that the US exchange rate has gone up. Also, if you buy from amazon, there's no warranty.

YT,
Baking/cooking - Toaster oven has higher temp and you can't control the temp. As such, your food will chao-da on the outside but uncook on the inside. You may add me to your msn [email protected]

Apples - there's no need to cool till room temp to blend it. Just cool it for 10 - 15 mins so that it's not so hot and you can blend it already. Try not to leave it expose for too long.

Harrassment - I think you should go ahead to make the police report to safeguard yourself, just in case.

jerejoy,
Nice pic! Hope to get a chance to meet up with you when you are back in Sgp.

clover,
Good to know alex's hives are almost gone, hugs =)

Yasmin,
I don't know if Daiso Vivo has the baby bowl as I saw it in IMM.

Stroller,
We shortlisted Graco and Maclaren but ended up with Aprica for it's compact size and lightweight.

Nannies,
Oh.. the poor girl... I really feel so sorry for her parents. When you shake a bb vigorously, you are causing damage to their brain! I think I made a right decision to be a sahm.

Cereal,
Anyone giving their bbs rice cereal in milk bottles? I was talking to dd1's classmate's mother, she's helping to bbsit a 5 mths old bb. We exchanged conversation and I found out she's feeding the bb rice cereal in a bottle! She says so leychey, still must spoonfeed and so messy. OMG! I'll faint if I'm the mother of the bb.

mummyboy,
If you have told the GP you're breastfeeding and he still prescribe antibiotics told you it's safe, then it's ok.

bbpink,
Kyzac looks very cute! And check out his eyebrows!!

boon,
Hope you are feeling better now.

Sat's schedule,
We had a very busy day. Went on an oven hunt as my oven died on me!!! Big headache :-(

mikael,
I don't give 13 months to my previous maid but I buy her gifts on her bday and Hari Raya. Also, I bought her air ticket to go back to Indo for visiting.

Increment is not a must, if you are happy with her performance, you can give increment. If not happy, why give?

Babypink,
your bb is so cute.

Liyun,
Cool seat you have at home! Issac look grown up liao. His hair are long hor. Shows long time we din meet.

Reena,
thanks. Added you.

MIkael,
I think its up to you for increasing her pay lor. IF she is good why not but only after 2 yrs. Usually its the standard cos its when you will wanna renew her contract then you give her pay rise. Its logical that if she is good so you renew contract n hence pay rise.
CCTV? I understand your feelings. Sometime I got mixed feeling as well. If you need to be away most of the time then you may consider it. I think it a comforting device esp for parents who leave their maid at home with the kids. But then again, if really cannot trust the maid, advice is either change a maid or dun leave kids home alone with maid at all lor.

Any mummy using Huggies? Any comment on that? Wanna switch brands for my boy.

A mummy getting a pack of Huggies Dry Comfort for $13 n Pull Ups for $14. I think its consider cheap.

hello mummies
Heard from a mummy last night that Nestle stage 2 cereals(the one with prunes)has been detected by Hk that it contains the thingy which is harmful for babies.i think better to avoid ALL nestle stage 2 for the time being.

morning mummies

early morning i saw my da yi ma leh...hehehe long time nv meet.

Yt

i like huggies for nite especially, got lobang? let me know leh, i also want to buy.

pet pet

hate the tape, yest nite one of the tape kena oil so not sticky enough which cause leaking.

this is from bb center,

Nitrates in Vegetables

Once your baby is eating some solid foods, remember fresh is usually best. However, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics, beets, carrots, collard greens, and turnips contain large amounts of nitrates in some parts of the country. Nitrates can cause a type of anemia in your baby. Even though you can't personally test the vegetables in your area, rest assured that baby-food companies take precautions to avoid using vegetables high in nitrates. So if you want to feed these vegetables to your baby, it is safest to buy commercially prepared jarred foods.

my ang moh no good, can someone explain to me what is beets,collard greens, and turnips?
i gave my boy chai shim, is it ok? carrot i bought organic bb carrot..is it ok?

mikael

u can also check d-link product, tat time i saw they can use broadband, so no need to pay subsription like sing tel, quite cheap also

mikael
my maid is alone at home takign care of my kid. I did not instal any CCTV. Also i get my bro in law or in laws to come back n spot check last time. Now there is no nd to already. But if u dun feel safe u can always do tat but pls dun let yr maid know cos they may feel insulted.

Pay increment
I give her pay increment after one yr with additional $20. Initally when she is here her salary is $300. Then cos she got no off day i gv her additional $20 as compensation. Thus $320 after 6 mth. After one yr i increse her pay to $340 and after 2 years i increase her pay to $360. Now is almost end year le. I didnt gv her any pay increase but gv her air ticket to go home and visit her family for 1 week. Thus SAHM accompany me from 10 Nov till 17 Nov ley.. hahaha...

CCTV
i think u may ask kareen abt it. She has installed one at her home.

turnip is white carrots. However in SIngapore i do not think we need to worried so much abt nitrates as singapore is a KIASU and KIASI country. They would hv done severeal test to make sure it is not harmful to the body. Nitrates are added as fertilisers to grow.

Commercially jarred food
i still think i wun go jarred food unless bo pian. We do not know how long they manufacture the food thus it is preserve by absorbic acid which is vitamins when consume in the body. Thus to me organic is still the best. As far as i can i would go organic till he is abt 18 mth. A hole in pocket but worth it and it taste better. However not all food are grown organically thus there is a constrain there as well. :)

Anyone know where to get fresh apricots?

Hi abc,

Payment transferred:

To POSB Savings
Amount= $6.50 x 2 = S$13.00
Transaction Reference 1904470419
Date: 28/09/2008; 11:48

Collection at Bishan(kate's home). Thanks!

reena -
a friend who's the auntie sort also suggested i give my bb cereal in milk bottle and i politely declined becos:
1) the bb may face the risk of choking
2) letting the bb get used to spoon feeding is the very reason why i'm starting solids so it'll defeat the purpose of the solids if i just add cereal to the bottle!

abcmummy -
agree with u on the commercial jarred food thing. it's always better to prepare your own food. my DH and mum are very supportive regarding this and using organic products even though like u say, burn hole in pocket! we can eat junk la...but the bb should have a good start!

when i was in aussie, i could get fresh apricots, nectarines, plums, peaches and every bloody fruit so cheaply!!!! i go cold storage buy avocado one is like 2 dollar plus!!!! jialat sial.
haven't seen any fresh apricots here before though.

clover -
loud or not at the F1? hahaha my friend said she was quite high up, wore ear plugs but still kena ears ringing like that hehe!!

i "heard" F1 only...we purposely drive down ECP at 10-ish just to hear the sharp screeches hahhaha!

kate, turnip is the white v shaped veg. quite small, wif roots attached below. fat n short size.
beet is purple colour veg. we seldom eat it..
collard greens i dunno.

abc, turnip not white carrot.. white carrot is radish.

babyheng, F1 very noisy. yes.. far away also can hear..

clover, glad alex is better now..

reena
My aunt lor. She give my girl cereal in milk bottle but I nv faint leh. She feed her wanton mee n started eating porridge Liao. So think whoever is my baby jia lat lor cos I very chin Cai one.
Since I had #1 I'm already like this. Since I ask her to look after, I must trust that she tk gd care of them. Moreover she look after me when I was baby also. she also feel ley chey using bowl n spoon.

My kids ke lian hor got such a mom haha but for me is "lup sup chiak, lup sup dua"

kate, collard green is a term to desc broccoli n cauliflower family. I share same view as mummy boy on turnip.

I view commercial food jar as canned food lor. unless I m travelling, I won't give alex food jars.

bayheng, I find the noise v loud but bearable. I was sitting at the marina bay grand stand, middle part. oh must mention I had the worse ever n most expensive hot dog. a big hot dog with some magarine n chilli sauce. not even butter or mustard for $8!! what a rip off!

my alex's rash is gone! think zyrtec is a powerful drug. just a note of precaution, bbs with kidney n liver prob, its best tt they dun take zyrtec. mummies who are breastfeeding, zyrtec is a drug tt will pass on in bm.

Clover
glad tat alex's rashes r gone

..zyrtec sounds very familiar

when kelicia has cough or flu, the GP pass her something tat sound like tat, not sure same thing ornot

YT, Reena

gals

YT just smsed me abt EQ at Giant having a promotion now ! $11.90 if buy at least 30 dollars worth of EQ diapers

I wonder if anyone ever made a list of the mummies here and the b/day of the bbz... I was hinking of consolidating the info and make a list... What do ya gals think??

isabellali -
i asked a few days ago but no one keen leh...maybe cos i'm newbie here and "bu shou" (not ripe haha!) with the regulars here!!

Shaz17
Lolx~ then too bad... Nvm... At least we know that we both are keen... I dun mind doing the job... Just furnish me with the details... =)))

isabella/babyheng
this has been done. The list is with babypink. U jus gv her yr details and she will upate.

zytec
it is used fr allergy and runny nose. easily available at guardian pharmacy.

clover
glad things r well again.

Isabellali,

Very stupid questions: How do you made a transfer within different bank?

It's beyond my bewilderness that i can't make any transfer from my OCBC account to others bank.

Yesterday, I went to the OCBC branch-planning to transfer money to Std chartered or POSB. But the staff said OCBC can't make a transfer to those bank cos' no connection. She suggested me to drop a cheque.

I'm so curious and hardly to believe. I went to the bank again the next day. And got the same answer.

Is it true, or the staff had just mislead me? I believe never encounter such as problem with Jakarta's bank. Usually, I can do transfer from my account to any bank with certain fee.

What's the common practice in here?

YT,
What's your msn? I don't see you leh.

Huggies
I'm using Huggies Dry for day and Comfort for night. I like it because it's using tape and not those scotch tape kind. I think the $13 lobang no more leow.. called up before, price increase so the seller don't want to sell anymore. The cheapest I got is about $14+ from Sheng Siong.

Kate,
Beet root looks like pang-kuang shape but it's dark purple inside. It's one of my favourite dish but I don't like the colour as if you dropped it onto your clothings accidentally, very difficult to wash off the stain.

Don't know what is Collard greens.

And turnip is pang-kuang, the ones used for popiah.

babyheng,
Me too. The purpose to introduce solids is to let the little fellow learn how to eat from spoon and swallow. What's the point of feeding in a milk bottle??

Fruits in Aussie,
Oh yes, they have lots of fruits and so fresh too! Miss Australia!!

Adeline,
I thought I bochap kind, you lagi bochap! hahaha

isabellali,
I think bbpink/petrina has the list.

good evening mummies.... long time no "see"..

YT: ya loh! its so long cos yet to cut since he's born (except the little trim granny did & kana scold then). Been thinking to take him for a haircut BUT as I am worry he'll kana a bad haircut so far I'm still thinking...

made in china food scare:
How ar... means Nestle cereal cannot? sickening... feel like calling up all the companies I bought baby food for Isaac from and start shooting them questions!

Jo:
No....that's not a massage chair. Its daddy's new toy. *man...they can think of anything.... I've seen on U-tube some joker ang mo uncle who is abit too rich that he modified a BMW by puting all the games etc into the car so he can play the game as if he's driving! ya, the BMW cannot use anymore cos the windscreen had been turn into a projector screen.

mikael
I do it thru internet banking.. It can be done but need to take 3 working days...

bbpink
Can i get the list from you as I wanna compile a list myself... Since u already have it, can u give it to me?? So that I can add on from there...

bbpink, haiz due to some miscomm, I shld have gone for the grand prix tonight.

isabella, no point starting another list coz we already have 2 versions. pass yr info to bbpink, coz she has the most comprehensive list.

erny, use internet banking to transfer to other bank. the atm doesn't facilitate this. beats me why.

f1
I shld have been there tonight. I out of respect gave up my tix to my fil. he's not feeling well n last min dun wan to go. then he passed the tix to my youngest bil n forced him to go even though its his exam tomolo.... wah lau, my f1 maciam a cooked duck flew away! quite upset abt the cock up.