(2008/03) March 2008

clover
eye swell usually indicates allergic reaction. is he on bf / ebm? did u eat anything new lately? the fastest n easiest way to counter rashes is a mild steroid cream. some pple don't like using it but if just to settle the hives, can use sparingly n stop once symptoms are gone.

isabella, no leh. the doc also didn't suggest any jab, so I guess there's no need. but I can't give him his solid for his 6mo tomolo as I hv planned n also no 6-in-1 jab till he's well. his butt won't suffer in the meanwhile!

oh no, alex so poor thing
....babies cannot take antihistamines isit?? that usually takes care of allergies...for more serious cases, a little bit of steroid is necessary...but i don't know if bbs can take these anot....hope he gets better soon!

joelle, he's still bm totally. I didn't really eat anything unusual recently. the only new thing in my diet is a plate of char siew/braised chicken wings I had the day the rashes started. he dun hv swollen eyes but coz the hives were bad it makes his eyes look swollen. the doc also didn't give any cream coz she said it will take abt 1 wk to get well... haizzz my poor little boy!!!

clover,
that sounds like allergy alright. then what did the PD give you. no worries about solids, that can wait. give plenty of EBM if u can or latch even better. dun be scared to use steroid if given. PD won't give anything detrimental wan lah.

adeline, he's taking chlormine, an anti-histamine already. doc prescribed zyrtec on top of it. if I got time I post a pic... its really bad looking. my alex has turned into an ugly alien!

Clover
Hmm... Like I mention just now.. If it's too serious, you can try ask the Dr to give him a jab, the thing will clear faster.. But I dunno so young the Dr will give jab or not... Can try lorx.. Better than him itching all over... See le also very heartpain~

isabella, doc said wait a wk. if still not well, then take oral steriod. I m not for steriod on young bb lor.

mel, no cow's milk(!), nuts, fish, shellfish, soy n wheat.

clover -
hope baby alex gets well soon...i think the anti-histamines should do the trick for the hives and swollen eyes....it makes the bbs abit drowsy too so they don't scratch on their itch which is good....i doubt he'll need oral steroids, so don't worry!

we'll all keep him in our prayers!

clover
best to avoid medicine and supplements too. even the most innocent ones like panadol can trigger allergy. take care!

thanks everyone for the concern. he's zzz now after being active and fighting the z monster!

took this pic this morning before going to the PD.
1745961.jpg

clover:poor alex! hope he will recover soon..

Felt so sad for the poor abused BB in the news.. The nanny is so terrible to have harm the bb.. if cannot stand bb crying shd never take up a nanny job.. totally ruin the bb gal's life.. I think the parents will feel so guilty engaging that nanny.. this news is so saddening..

clover -
poor alex!
i feel upset just looking at his pix.

from what i know, i think babies can take the skin allergy (prick test) or RAST test which detects antibodies to allergens....but then because allergies are quite an elusive thing esp in younger kids, test results may not be 100% accurate (from what i know, before 12 mths usually not accurate)...and you'll have to do repeats of the tests to confirm the allergy at different time points....

YT:not scaring u lah. juz better to b safe than sorry. find that nowadays alot of people quite sick in the mind.. the society deteriorating..

tks mummies. my bb's rashes has mostly cleared for now but pd precautioned tt the hives is an on-off thingy, will come back n will subside...

bbheng, then I m glad tt dr lee made the right recommendation coz she actually dun see the need for bb alex to take any tests now. I was quite worried n she cld hv chope my carrot head. glad tt she's so professional.

RAST is the blood test huh?

my friend n her 2 kids took a blood test to test for allergens. it cost her $1.7k!!!!! gosh! I nearly fainted upon hearing tt.

clover -
yah RAST is the blood test and the skin prick one is self explanatory haha! Skin prick test not a very pretty sight and depending on how many allergens ur testing for...you'll have to be pricked that many times or more (sometimes they'll need saline controls as well so u'll get extra pricks!)...

my friend was tested for 50-60 types of allergens! have seen dogs getting it done too....think will be quite stressful to a baby so i'm glad dr. lee didn't ask u to do it...unlike OTHER PDs from Kinder who tok tok tok our cai tao! ACK!

haha... I didn't go to that pd. ;)

hb did a quick calculation. we already spent $1.2k on bb's health bill since his birth n tts excl his jabs! so ex hor. I thank God tt we are able to claim most of it. otherwise how to afford?!

hi mummyboy

there a special kind of antibotics which preggy and bf mum can take is amocla 650mg which is part of amoxycilin family. this antibotics is meant for sore throat where phelgm are yellow and thick

Clover,
glad that Alex is better liao. So poor thing to see him like that. Din he scratch it? You mus be busy stopping him to do it. You take care too.

Boon,
thanks for your advice. The pyscho actually called again in the evening. So stupid of him that he din off his caller display when he calls me. I told him that I can see his no. & will make police report and he called again. Really alotsa sick people around manz!~

Dear Kelly,

NTUC now selling 2 400g similac follow on for 31 something if i rem correctly

Dear Clover, Wah the tests sounds complicated ... my sister in law mentioned cos her daughter has been scratching here and then. didnt know its so extensive. my sister in law mention like its just very simple... hahah

hives - chinese would say the baby 'heaty'

What do you all think of installing camera at home? To monitor the maid when we need to leave baby with her at home.

Can't trust the maid - but no choice sometimes got to leave the baby at home.

Melissa,

Ya, u r right. Mother instinct is an amazing thing! It's just simply wonderful to be a mummy. I love being a mummy! =)

Those pple are really complaining too much. I feel Spore govt has done a lot to help it's own pple. They shld appreciate it and stop asking for rubbish and senseless requests! V patriotic hor. haha!

My PD called to inform me on my ds's blood test result. He doesn't hv anemic and he has Alpha Thalassemia. Need to do blood test again when he's one yr old and also on us too. Really hope the test will show negative when he's one yr old. Cos my PD says it is still not v accurate to do when he's only 6 months old.

Clover,

glad to hear Alex is getting better now. Take care.

Clover
heartpain to see alex's rashes !
but glad he is recovering

Melissa
yupz, my mum showed me the article of the poor bb gal, was very sad when i saw her, somemore she is 6 months plus like my bb

Jerejoy
all the best

u coming back next month ?

Jervis look like a little genius in the making
so cute and steady !

hehe, let me contrast urs with a super ugly pic of Kyzac..any bbies eyebrows' go like this ?

1746793.jpg

oh yah, i went to grab 8 small cans of similac today..two for $31.45

only 3 day promo starting yesterday

PS: if u love post cereals..every $25 purchase at NTUC u can get this banana cereals for $3.85..thanks to my similac purchase, i got 5 of the post cereals

PSS: geez, me sound like an auntie =p

morning mummies! today is such a tiring day. hb fell sick with flu cannot help out. Felicia dun wanna to sleep. i m so sleepy.. bring her out for walk she still not tired.. now "throw" her in bb cot to play while i have my breakfast n alittle sanity back. haha. this is so tiring. but found that being occupied with Felicia brings my mind away from my stupid work. haha

struggle so long to coax Felicia to sleep but actually she juz wanna her YAO LAN. silly me! still tot she's not tired. she fell right asleep after i gave her her pacifier n YAO LAN. but now is i cannot sleep. having insomia for a few continuos nites.. hope i can tahan n not fall sick like poor hb.

got a question. My maid is in Singapore and can fetch her anytime. But m thinking of fetching her after Hari Raya so that she can celebrate it. Quite Poor thing come to Singapore to work n miss her Hari Raya.
Can I have all of your views? Tnx.

yutong
since she is alrdy in sg means she is at the boarding house. at the boarding hse, they oso hv to do hsework and won't get to celebrate at all. mite as well fetch her back n bring her out to celebrate on the day. if she has frens or relatives working here, can give her day off

thanks clover..

Told my mummy i struggling with entertaing Felicia when she called.. so she came down to my place to accompany me!
With her around, toking to me n entertaining my gal together,I felt so much better.

But think no outing for me today lah. only can bring Felicia downstairs for walk. poor hb "quarantine" in our guest room with his face mask on to avoid passing the FLU BUGs to little Felicia!

Hi! Good afternoon everyone..

Went to SK swimming pool for a swim and then to compasspoint this morning.. Am so tired now..

Mummies, do any of you know where to buy the float that we can put on bbz neck??

Clover
Glad to hear that the rash are now mostly gone... Ur bbz must look more handsome now...

bbpink,

I will be coming back early Nov. Can't wait to come back home. Counting down everyday! Kyzac looks curious and seems to be staring v hard in the first photo. No ugly at all. His eyebrows can arch. so cute! He's v 'bah bah' too. How heavy is he now? I like his lotus. =)