(2008/03) March 2008

cupcakes i love them!!!
i got them for my wedding from cupcake momma....got pink, lilac ones with me and DH's initials. she also made doggy cupcakes for me where the cupcake has a doggy face with coco crunch as doggy ears! very very cute!

1739515.jpg

Mummyboy,
Just try not to be late but it's definitely OK if you are late, my ds2 only took his last jab at 8 months :p

Kate,
I can't lose anymore weight now, now so boney, nothing left to shed anymore. My weight has gone down, way before pre-preg weight.

Another method to lose weight, deliver more bbs and be a sahm with no maid, sure lose weight! hahaha

babypink,
All those sinful food! hahaha!! I just made my son his overdue mango mousse cake yesterday as I've got an expiring whipping cream. First time making mousse cake but glad the kids like it =)

babyheng,
Yes, cupcake momma's cupcakes are very pretty. Actually there's another person I know selling nice cupcakes too, check out her blog here:

http://cupcake-fantasies-catwalk.blogspot.com/

wow, look yummy

<font color="0000ff">Teething rusks to avoid</font>
talking abt food, now tat out baby are teething, do not buy Baby Bites (found in NTUC) and Empro rusks (found in Carrfour &amp; Giant)..realise tat these two have milk content and come from China !

my #1 did consume them, still a lot at home..
will probably have them for breakfast myself

btw, realise tat even those Wan Wan mini balls come fr Yili, the problem company in China . I had them for supper last nite

yasmin, my girl oso having constipation too... i added pear puree to her cereal, she get better..

how to cook porridge? must cook for how long?

reena -
thanks for the website. wow, now i feel like sinking my teeth into one of those cupcakes NOW!!! hehehe!!

mummies, have something to ask. my DS's caregiver has asked me to buy some "biscuits" for him as snacks but i'm apprehensive about introducing these processed food too soon. understand that my caregiver's intention is to let him learn to hold some finger food and try to eat on his own but i think 6 mths might be a tad too young for that?

any good advice, please?

Cherish
Last time when I take care of my DS #1 &amp; #2, I will cook porridge for them...

I will buy the 'bak kut' or the bones from the pork seller, den I will boil it over low fire for about an hour tgt with the dried scallop. Den I will add a little ikan bilis and let it boil for another 15 mins before taking everything out... Den add in the rice and let it cook till soft... about 6 mths, I will add fish.. small portion of fish every meal.. Roughly about 7 plus mth, den I will add minced meat... Only after 1 yo den will intro chicken...

normally, if i'm letting him eat at 12.30pm... I gotta start preparing at 9.30am and cook at 10am.. Will finish cooking by 12pm.. Let it cool a while for 15mins or so, den can feed le..

babyheng
i gave all organic rusks to cheryl. soft and hard ones. recently she just tried the bellamy toothiepegs. she likes it but she cant finish. haha too much i guess. next time i will give her half so not so wasteful.

Finger food
I give rusk to my baby too... But he very naughty, he wants u to soften it with milk den feed him... He dun wanna hold it himself..

Teething biscuits,
If you have an oven at home, you can always bake your own. Preheat oven to 160C and bake your bread (slice it to desired size) for 50 mins - 1 hour, depending on how crispy you want. Cool and store in airtight container.

Products from China,
I still have 2 boxes of Walls mini cornetto in my freezer. Bought it last month for my kids but they developed cough so I stopped giving. I'm not throwing the ice cream away but just gonna eat them up (not giving the kids though). I think it's still ok to eat since we are not eating alot. The Melamine content is very low since we're not eating like the whole box a day and eating every day. To quote AVA, "Consumers have to consume contaminated products over a prolonged period of time to have any potential ill effects on health." Of course, I'm not saying you should continue to buy these products, but for me, since I still have 2 packs at home, I'm just gonna finish them up instead of throwing them away.

poshies,
my Tricia oso took a while before she takes a liking to solids. i can tell she still prefer to latch latch and latch haha. rice cereal makes her poo easily leh, not constipated. wonder why the contradiction here.

yasmin,
thanks for sharing! very useful especially coming from Singhealth! our polyclinic at Woodlands is from NHG. this sunday got open house. lots of freebies and $2 checkup. hehe.

Reena,
i agree with abc, apples can cause gastric to some. i'm prone to gastric so i don't think that tummy trim diet is suitable for me. *sigh*

products from china,
i just threw away my Honeydew-flavored Dutch Lady milk. really regret lor. but if i don't throw, my terror two might see it and will want it.

Melissa
i love Honeydew Dutch Milk..sigh* ..can consume 1 litre myself in 2 days !
dun noe drank how much liao

Reena
same here, i dun think i will throw too..hehe
but but eat sneakily, cos my #2 will make a fuss if she sees me eating her biscuits and not giving her any

reena,

So envy! My elder sis in law also the same. Hv 3 kids and she's even slimmer and lighter than her pre pregnancy times. I think more kids, lesser time to snack as well.

Me with only one sticky kid, I can snack all the time. haha! No wonder getting heavier.

afternoon everyone...

suffering the pain from the extraction of wisdom tooth...

babypink: you winner.. pple say throw away but you ate everything... hahaha

melissa -
tristan also poos more and has much softer stools when he takes solids....my caregiver says it's a case of "吃多便多" (eat more shit more) but i'm not too sure about this though....

i just make fun of my son everytime and say he "懒人屎尿多" (lazy people have more pee and poo)!

babyheng,
hehehe yeah sama sama. Tricia will poo more if she eats more!! In fact, after a full bowl of rice cereal, she can still take in EBM! wah lao, she doesn't know how to stop. but of course not long after that she will poo.

but she's not lazy ley she's an active crawler now and trying to stand against furniture as well.

dreamlife

ouch * it is painful ..alto i din gone thru, but see how my sis suffer fr extracting 4..she did hers at NUH and i waited outside

PS: hehe, my pal liyun was asking how i get to noe u after seeing u in my multiply ..she said u r the belle in jjc

cherish
I guess there's a lot of ways to do it. I usually put cooked rice in a pot and stir it with water untl it gets into gruel. My mum shared that some type of grains are easier to cook and you just have to boil the grains with water and it becomes porridge like.

Anyway, went to see doc for my boy's constipation. My PD said rice cereals are ok. Papaya and prunes are essential to prevent constipation. He recommended green vegetables for fiber.

Yasmin B

too bad we dun stay near each other :p i gave some to my neighbours cos got the standard size is 1.3kg

Dreamlife

haha, this is the kind of things people dun say in front of u lah..
just like we dun go and tell the shuai ge in our school date..u r the shuai ge

yasmin B -
did your PD recommmend which age should green vegetables be introduced? at 6mths, veg/fruit puree should still be strained/sieved to remove the fibre...so i assume green leafy vegs should only be given at a later date?

care to share more? :D

Hi abcdisney,

Payment transferred:

To POSB Savings
Amount= $6.50 x 3 = S$19.50
Transaction Reference 3322
Date: 24/09/2008; 17:37

Collection probably at Bishan. Thanks!

clover -
the peas can use frozen peas rite? my auntie wants to start some "heng3 cai3" for tristan...and she was going to just steam/boil it till soft soft then mash it up for him.....so i'm just wondering if it's ok....or do i still have to blend it and strain cos i read that till 7 mths, it's better to strain all food and exclude the fibre.

shaz
my PD advised what clover said. he just told me to blend the green veges and add to the rice cereal. Although I tried to blend my boiled spinach today and really sucked at it. Couldn't sieve also. So I just mash with fork until really soft and just add lor. But was careful not to give the big bits. Guess I got long way to go in getting the hang of these things.

yah, frozen peas but minus the jacket. it's one of the frozen veg tt retains vit c well.

erh dunno wats the heng cai u mentioned. i m terrible with identifying veg. until they can chew hv to strain off the fibre. alternatively can make veg stock to add in their porridge.

Poshies,
I only just started solids on Sunday, my bb doesn't quite like it even after adding ebm. She keeps pushing away and refuses to open her mouth.

abc,
No, won't burnt as the temp is quite low. Of course, you need to monitor it closely when the time is ending, to prevent from burning.

Apples,
When I'm hungry and I don't want to snack, I always eat an apple to sustain my hunger :p

jerejoy,
Not true leh... I snack at late hours like now, munching chips :p Very unhealthy. I think it's because I need to do everything (almost all) by myself. Take for eg I'm cooking halfway, bb wakes up for milk, dd1 want to poo, ds2 also want to poo, then the stupid dog has to pee and stepped on the urine. Oh well, you can imagine that. Everyday is "fire fighting", always rushing for time and pray hard all don't ask for me at the same time. I always tell my kids, there's only ONE mummy so they will have to take turns and wait.

wisdom tooth,
I extracted my first wisdom tooth and suffered from an infection. I didn't know it was an infection, just wondering why the post-extraction is more painful than the extraction. It lasted for almost 2 weeks. Had phobia extracting 2nd wisdom tooth but luckily no infection. Recovered in a few days time.

Secret Recipe cakes
I love their cakes! I still rem whenever I go to Msia, I always buy lots of cakes bcos they are 50% off Spore price! But the unrationale thing is, I buy and blanjah my co-workers so actually it's not that cheap afterall :p

babyheng,
Can give frozen peas, I usu steam it and remove the jacket/"skin".

Abt "heng cai" also known as spinach (the ang moh spinach is puay leng), I also gave to dd1 when she was 6 months old (she started solids at 5 months then).

Yasmin,
I use this Pigeon bowl that comes with a "grinder", it has got rough/spikes at the base of the bowl, and I just grind the steamed veg/fish/meat with the back of the spoon. I don't like to use big gadgets for small portions. I find it a hassle to bring out the big gadgets like blender so I always do it manually. Also, I don't like to freeze so I always prepare individual portion. Sometimes I do (not so easily prepared food like pumpkin) but most of the time I don't (esp for green leafy vegs).

Yasmin,
No need to buy the Pigeon bowl if you don't have. Buy it from Daiso, they have the bowl with the grinder thingy too, and it's so much cheaper! I almost bought one, seeing that it's so cheap :p

Reena,

aiyo, so envy leh.. can snack and can't grow fat. think u might hv burnt lots of yr energy in the day time looking after 3 kids. It's not an easy job. salute to u! =)

High chair

I'm thinking if a high chair is really necessary. Wht are yr opinions, mummies? Wht brand do u suggest? thanks!

dreamlife
hmmm wah i really you yan bu shi tai san. same sch same yr with u duno u at all. hahaha... nvm at least shows my qing jia is very pretty. hahaa... how's my Andrae's gf? show her updated pic ley..