(2008/03) March 2008

petrina - which is the new nail salon you going to?? $8 for new customer is super cheap!!! saturday cannot make it leh...you enjoy ur pamper session and tell me how it goes!

clover - glad alex's condition is nothing serious!
how did you find dr. lee? tristan saw dr. lee until...... :X

YT - for gastric reflux, the PD will probably diagnose it based on symptoms (excess vomiting, crankiness, screaming when waking up, arching back when feeding etc...). my boy had all these symptoms when he was young and i thought he was just a cranky and unhappy baby until my PD prescribed medication to control his symptoms. after medication, he is a very very different baby and is much much happier. now at 6 mths, he has outgrown the condition and does not need meds anymore!

PD can also do various tests like x-ray (barium meal), scope or biopsies. tristan had to go thro a barium meal and i tell you, it's not fun at all!!

babyheng, until wat? she's so-so lah. i prefer dr tan over than her. a good thing i saw her today though coz her specialty is in dermatology. alex has dermatitis on his tummy.

clover -
ohhh....i read wrongly! i thought u meant dr. lim.....can i publicly diss a PD here? HAHA! dr. lee i only saw her one time for tristan's 2nd vax....agree she's so-so. i prefer dr. tan too!! gonna see him for last jab this week!

ooohhh so dr lim not tt good huh? share yr experience leh so we know what to expect. actually can tell by the patronage. most ppl see dr tan, follow by dr lee n then dr lim. hahaha.

dr tan today not in so we saw dr lee. good thing then I know the steriod cream he prescribed for alex the last time was strong for bb! :x well given tt dr lee specialty is in dermatology, I will take dr lee's advice on skin care anytime. :x

v. busy these few days, sorry to read that so many babies r sick...sending more well-wishes to all babies

just celebrated zhong qiu jie, my first time in 8 years...sad to see that it is sooo quiet compared to my childhood dayz
we still have some fun playing with fire haha with some neighboring kids and parents but so few leh

bb tommy's weight gain has really really slowed down, at 5 mths 3 weeks, he's 7.9kg, a weight gain of about 300g...i'm not really worried since the doctor isn't but Chelsea has always been off the charts for height and weight is always at 97 percentile...at least bb tommy's height at 73cm is at 97th percentile...cannot help compare my 2 kids lah hehe

anyway here's pic to share
1716313.jpg

Clover,
I see... i think i will try to smell my son vomit then. I wanna attend the parentcraft. Let me check wif my hubby n come back to you ok?

Babyheng,
Dr Vas from Kinderclinic did say my son has reflux. But she give him medicine like forever. I kinda fed up and decided to stop it lor cos I believe can be outgrown. Is reflux serious? My son regurgitate alot. He stil regurgitate at this age. He has rythmetic movement sleep disorder n one of the reason can be due to reflux lor.

clover -
ok this is gonna be a lengthy post so bear with me.

yah....tristan has some neonatal pimples and was prescribed 2 diff kinds of cream (one of which had steroid) by dr. lim.. another PD i went to at woodlands gave me EVERYTHING from antibiotic wash to antibiotic cream to fungal cream!!! dr. lee just told me "wait it out" and sure enough, the pimples are lesser and lesser now even without doing anything. so yah, i trust her on skin issues!

ok what i didn't like about dr. lim is that he just do blanket therapy...like everything also want to test and give meds for even though there is no reason to. with that gastric reflux episode....we had a scare because he said tristan might have pyloric stenosis and might need surgery.....in the end, tristan stayed in hospital for 2 nights (cannot drink milk at all for 12 hours, only drip....because had to do barium meal)...then did all sorts of tests, put on IV drip....and he was only 2-3 weeks' old! he screamed the entire night when he couldn't feed and we had to hold a pacifier in his mouth the entire time so his sucking urges are at least satisfied.

that was still alright with me cos we didnt want to take risk, so we thought all the diagnostic tests were neccessary. then a couple of weeks after tristan was on the reflux meds, he suddenly said OH tristan might also have a urinary tract infection. i was like WTF?! when i asked him why, his conclusion was spitting up and vomiting MAY BE caused by UTI too!

we were treating tristan for reflux and now suddenly UTI comes out from nowhere?!

i agreed to let him culture tristan's pee but i have enough medical knowledge to know that the sample they collect can never be sterile becos it is a free catch! the sample came back positive 2 times (1 time tristan pooed prior to that so his pte area is definitely not 100% clean even though they cleaned it with antiseptic wash) and he kept insisting we put tristan on antibiotics just to play safe!

i was peeved because i do know antibiotics should only be used when neccesary to prevent antibiotic resistance and no sane dr. should go around prescribing antibiotics for nothing! he made tristan go for another round of unneccessary kidney ultrasound scans (the ultrasound ppl literally PINNED tristan down and got pissed off cos tristan couldn't keep still! DUH!) which i knew would yield nothing. but being the jittery first time parents, we just went with it when i should have just trusted my own medical knowledge and instincts.

last straw was when he was examining tristan....he touched his pte parts...then went on to touch tristan's FACE with the same hand that was prodding tristan's kuku!!!! ARGH!

when i recounted this to dr. tan, he admitted (albeit sheepishly) that the kidney ultrasounds and antibiotics were unneccessary because vomiting isn't the main symptom for UTI and there would be more symptoms (fever, pain when peeing etc.) if tristan really had UTI.

now i only go to dr. tan if i can help it....if not, dr. lee. will never go back to dr. lim! and yes, i should have noticed who the least popular PD is hahah!

Long awaiting Happybellies pre-order

I have liased with supernature. He is still liasing with his boss to give us a better discount. However max charge is $12.55 per tin. However as stock are coming only in 2 weeks time he suggest we pre-order and reserve the stock with him now as the demand is getting higher. He knows that i am the one who started off with this BP thingy and hence will give me more discount than other ppl and also priority to us.

Happybellies cereal comes in brown rice, oatmeal and mult-grain.
http://www.happybabyfood.com/Oatmeal.html
http://www.happybabyfood.com/BrownRice.html
http://www.happybabyfood.com/MultiGrain.html

Please cut and paste the following for yr order. $12.55 per tin.

================================================
BROWN RICE
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. katechow - 1 tin
3. lingyee - 1 tin
3. Mikael Kresentia - 1 tin
4. verre - 1 tin
5. Esther Zhang - 1 tin
6. babyheng - 2 tin
7.zentan-1tin
8. angelin - 1 tin
9. Chris Ng - 1 tin

Total: 11 tins

=================================================
OATMEAL
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. adelinesia - 5 tin
3. lingyee - 1 tin
3. verre - 1 tin
4. crystal - 1 tin
5. babyheng - 1 tin
6. CP&YT - 1 tin
7. aly - 1 tin
8. mummyboy - 1 tin
9. Chris Ng - 1 tin

Total : 14 tins

MULTIGRAIN RICE
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. Kresentia Mikael - 1 tin
3. lingyee - 1 tin
4. verre - 1 tin
5. crystal - 2 tins
6. CP&YT - 1 tin
7. aly - 1 tin
8. celia - 1 tin
9. angelin - 1 tin
10. Chris Ng - 1 tin

Total : 11 tins

YT, up to u lah coz u already start yr boy on solid. i tot my mil can attend the course with me... coz intend to ask her to take care of bb more. :p

babyheng, wah that's quite an ordeal. glad u share your story here with me. coz those are EXACTLY the things i will avoid in the PD.
being 1st time parent, we trust the pd coz they are the expert but shld listen to our instinct too, hor?! a pd tt's not concern with hygiene and hard handed with infants (sending for tests), which a pd shld never be in the first place!!

i also find administrating whole suite of med unnecessarily (the pd at woodlands). waste money, n not likely to complete the whole course too.

poor tristan, those must have been his darkest times at his tender young age... but glad to see he's such a healthy n happy bb now!

thanks girl. i will never see dr lim even if he's my last choice. :p

babyheng
is the PD at woodlands from Angelin's baby clinic? or the teddy bear clinic?

Kinderclinic
so far i hv seen only Dr Tan and Dr Lee. I love Dr Tan. Very frenly and kind but very ex! Dr Lee i saw her for Andrae's ecezma. That is oso where i learn the usefulness and importance of probiotics.

babyheng
it must have been such a scare....

my bb' birth pd is dr tan too until her lazy mommy decided to switch to dr lee cos waiting time's shorter as she's always at the clinic earlier :p i like dr lee too cos she's very motherly and i feel that she genuinely loves children..

m going to start apple puree for my boy. Do I blend it or mash it after steaming ah? Tot can mash but someone told me mus blend it. Any mummy can help answer me? tnx

YT - yah tristan was on medication for his reflux for forever haha! (a few months actually)....dr. tan said i can stop if his condition improves and put him back again if i notice the condition reoccuring again....now he's completely off meds for about 2-3 months already!

i think reflux can be serious if they aspirate the contents of the vomit/regurgitation into their lungs....so when tristan was much younger, i'll keep him upright after his milk for at least 20mins....also, he sleeps on an "elevated" mattress (we put a rolled up towel below the mattress where the bb's head will lie), so that when he sleeps, his head is always higher than the rest of his body. we also make him lie sideways and put a rolled cloth nappy to support his back....all these are to avoid him vomiting/regurgitating when he's sleeping, so as to avoid aspiration pneumonia.

i was told the bb will outgrow the condition from 6-12mths and true enough, it did.

dr. tan told me all (or 2?) of his kids had reflux too and he knows how cranky a bb will be becos of the painful condition. he said if he wasn't a PD and didn't know about reflux or its treatment, he would have stopped at his first kid cos the condition will drive any parent nuts! haha!!

clover -
yahhhh...i don't want you and alex to go through what we did, so yes, pls avoid him! the kidney ultrasound really broke my heart because those idiots were so rough with a bb and he was screaming his lungs out(they really pinned him down and like kena crucified u know!). it wasn't dr. lim that did it but still....i blame him for putting tristan through it. how do they expect a 3 week old bb to lie still for an ultrasound?!! i suggested carrying tristan while they did the procedure but they didn't allow it. c'mon, it's common sense to me lor....

in the end, this experienced ultrasonographer came along to do the ultrasound and she just carried tristan, gave him his pacifier so he stopped crying, and did the scan...JUST LIKE WHAT I SUGGESTED. ARGH!

abcmummy-
it's the babybear one....somehow i just find him a bit dodgy i dunno.....like things i ask him (things that me and my hubby already know the answer to but purposely just ask) he will anyhow "smoke" me? like really really anyhow smoke one!!!! we went there twice and decided it's still best to bring tristan back to kinderclinic even though it's far and more ex!

twinklestar and petrina-
yah man...it was an insane period for the whole family! i hope your PDs are good and you never have to go through what i did!!

babyheng,
wow! you scaring me leh. My boy's PD is also Dr Tan. Told him a few times about my boy regurgitate but he din say anything leh. Under wat signs then will Dr Tan check your bb for reflux?

babyheng
can share more abt reflux? can lead to pneumonia? so serious? Gosh.. my 2nd daughter has very very bad reflux.. she regurgitate alot but putting on weight fine.. drink well..
the 1st time she started solid (i gave carrot puree) after an hour, she vomitted all carrot out.. 2nd time (cereal) half hr later.. she vomitted all cereal..
now my aunty add into milk and seems better. how to overcome?

adeline
told u to see dr liao lor.

YT
u seeing Dr TErrence Tan oso? We all r refering to Dr terrence Tan from Kinderclinic at Mt A.

Teddy Bear
he is an old man right? Heard last time he was much better. Now is LOUSY!

Apple puree
Steam for 15 min without skin and blend it. I din mash it as i dun wan risk him taking big lump. ANyway i freeze so blend is easier and faster.

abc,
Yup, I know you are referrring to Dr Terrence Tan. My son PD is Dr Terrence Tan at Mt A as well. Y do you ask?

babyheng, ya.. so scary to have a horrible PD.. prob we need to use more of our instinct instead.. i abit more garang.. if take jabs, or any other things, i'll rather insist on holding my son. i dun care wat the PD or nurse say.. if i dun hold, then i dun do test there.

adeline, cause if merlion too much, then the vomit may enter the lungs.. so may end up in pneumonia. not all though. still, it's better to see a doc for more appropriate advice.

mummies:
u all carry ur bb when they having injections?

me must be a bad mummy, didn't know must carry bb...carry bb bcos bb will not be afraid?

abc,
ya... but I find that Mt A is nearer to my house lor. I usually would drive to the clinic to register before 11 n drive back. Then wait for the clinic to call me then will make my way to see Dr Tan. In this way, save alotsa time. & its only less than 15 mins drive away.

IF & IF I get pregnant again, Dr Lawrence Ang will be my gyane n Dr Terrence Tan as my child's birth PD & I will deliver in Mt A. Hahahhahah! Early morning think of another pregnancy liao!

I found pimples on my son's ku ku jiao today. Last time I found pimples on his testicles. Is it ok to use destitin cream on it?

YT - Dr. Tan wasn't the one who diagnosed my bb for reflux...but i saw him for the follow-ups. i think the babies are only put on medications if the condition is very very bad. my boy was regurgitating/vomiting (projectile kind really like merlion BWEAAAAGHHH kind haha!)...couldn't nap well and was screaming everytime he wakes up and during feeding as well. i think abit of regurgitation in bbs are normal but if it's excessive and causing bb alot of discomfort, then no choice but to put on meds.

Adeline - yeah....like the others pointed out...usually with large volumes then easier to aspirate into lungs...because our trachea (windpipe) and oesophagus (foodpipe) is sorta connected....so sometimes the contents of the regurgitation can go the wrong way and enter the lungs when the bb regurgitates/vomits. this can potentially cause an infection in the lungs....

reflux usually diagnosed in younger bbs and at this age (6 mths)...they usually outgrow it but i know it can take up to 1 year. my bb was eating well and putting on weight then also...but it was just that he was perpetually uncomfortable and in pain. i hated getting heartburn when i was pregnant so i know he must be feeling much much worse!

abcmummy - yah old man.....he is LOUSY!!!! ARGH!

petrina and cloudme - i usually don't carry the baby for jabs because i think the anxiety will travel and the bb will feel worse but that's just me la! (people who have dogs say that the human's emotion travels down the leash and i believe it's the same for babies hahaha!) he's usually good with jabs...the doctor poke him he screams but the next moment the doctor take out some rattle to shake shake he laugh again! :D

but yah...for other procedures like blood collection and that stupid ultrasound, i insisted on holding but the ultrasound ppl were just adamant. i nearly wanted to slap one of the girls but decided i wasn't gonna teach my boy violence hahahah! thats why in the end i requested for an experienced ultrasonographer...if not i wasn't gonna let them torture tristan anymore. ARGH ARGH double ARGH!

Adeline -
oh yah...i know a lot of the older folks advocate putting cereal into milk bottle for reflux problem but i don't advise this leh.

1) i think babies can potentially choke if given cereal in milk bottle.
2) then it defeats the purpose of feeding cereal because we are trying to teach the baby how to feed with a spoon. if put cereal in milk bottle then bb won't learn rite? hehe!

just my 2 cents' worth but i think if ur bb's condition worsens and seems uncomfy, better to see a doctor for advice!

i have given up on catching up with the past archives liao =p so shall start afresh fr this page

HappyMummy
usu i do this for apple puree, slice the apple into many little pieces, as small as u can so tat the steaming time is shorter.

steam for abt 20minutes or longer, depending on how soft the apple has become.

Then use a spoon to mash it. for the babies who turn 6 months only, i think can use the munchin grinder, cost less than $15 at kidsmall or kiddy palace

The excess can eat up ourselves, very nice

Healthybb

hehe, playpen is indeed the safest
but my Kyzac hates it too..wail until we lift him up

babyheng,
then my son should be ok la. I trust Dr Tan's diagnosis.

Tollyjoy Nappy Liner,
I have a box of opened liners. Any mummies stil using that I can pass it to you. I think stil got left 80% of it. Sayang to throw.

cloudme

yupz, me carry during injections too..but me not steady one..sometimes the bb's leg will still move :p

Celia, Erny, Kate, Zen
r the kids better now ? hope they have a speedy recovery

Sorethroat
started since last evening, but served me rite..have been addicted to the sugared reddish cuttlefish since 2 weeks ago, have a packet almost nightly

yday noon saw this packet of Arnott Tim Tam honeycomb called CRUSH , behind the words said the crush tat will end in love..very apt cos after having 1 piece, i end up finishing the whole packet of 8 pieces of chocolate honeycomb

last nite gave up on myself was thinking since getting sick anyway, so "commit suicide" with a packet of seaweed calbee chips

now having a headache and sorethroat liao

Babypink : Hmm..that means for puree, everything must steam. Like for example, banana puree? Aso must steam the banana? The apple without steaming cant let bb eat mah?

banana dun have to steam
papaya also no..apple must steam lah

unsteamed version i will personally wait till 1 year old..actually, my 1st gal only eat unsteamed one after 18th months

Long awaiting Happybellies pre-order

I have liased with supernature. He is still liasing with his boss to give us a better discount. However max charge is $12.55 per tin. However as stock are coming only in 2 weeks time he suggest we pre-order and reserve the stock with him now as the demand is getting higher. He knows that i am the one who started off with this BP thingy and hence will give me more discount than other ppl and also priority to us.

Happybellies cereal comes in brown rice, oatmeal and mult-grain.
http://www.happybabyfood.com/Oatmeal.html
http://www.happybabyfood.com/BrownRice.html
http://www.happybabyfood.com/MultiGrain.html

Please cut and paste the following for yr order. $12.55 per tin.

BROWN RICE
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. katechow - 1 tin
3. lingyee - 1 tin
3. Mikael Kresentia - 1 tin
4. verre - 1 tin
5. Esther Zhang - 1 tin
6. babyheng - 2 tin
7.zentan-1tin
8. angelin - 1 tin
9. Chris Ng - 1 tin

Total: 11 tins

=================================================
OATMEAL
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. adelinesia - 5 tin
3. lingyee - 1 tin
3. verre - 1 tin
4. crystal - 1 tin
5. babyheng - 1 tin
6. CP&YT - 1 tin
7. aly - 1 tin
8. mummyboy - 1 tin
9. Chris Ng - 1 tin
10. closetdoor - 1 tin

Total : 15 tins

MULTIGRAIN RICE
1. abcdisney - 1 tin
2. Kresentia Mikael - 1 tin
3. lingyee - 1 tin
4. verre - 1 tin
5. crystal - 2 tins
6. CP&YT - 1 tin
7. aly - 1 tin
8. celia - 1 tin
9. angelin - 1 tin
10. Chris Ng - 1 tin

Total : 11 tins

babypink:
thanks for ur concern..my gal is getting better now..at least she did not wake up last nite..but tis morning her running nose came back..haiz...dunno is it i have running nose and pass to her..but she's the one who pass the running nose to me..now i'm passing back to her..haiz..hopefully this virus thingy will go away soon and stop haunting all babies here..

Hi bbpink and happymummy, I let my gal take a few spoon of apple puree, but I never steam leh... Will it be ok? Fed her a few times liao. :p

regarding bb food:
my bb likes to eat brown rice...and ONLY brown rice interest her..dunno is it becoz i myself have been eating brown rice for years(credits to my mum who forces me to eat)..but she'll constipate if she eat brown rice only.so i tend to mix papaya with brown rice to balance her bowel movement.anyone here finds ur bb's food liking related to urs?

BBpink,
U beat us down, sick still can eat deadly stuff. Can't help laughing

Puree
Yes i was abt to ask why even fruits must be steamed for bb. Isnt some of the nutrients in the fruit be lost if we steam? Was thinking of just using spoon to scrape to feed bb.

Rice cereal
Yesterday i tried giving my ger white rice cereal for testing even though her 6m is next fri hahahah. She seems to luv it, i used only 1 ts and she finished them. In the end also cried becoz not enough for her. I din boil or cook the heninz instant rice cereal, just use cooled boiled water to mix. Is that ok or shd i heat it up ot boil it for her.

Any mummy doing her own grinding of brown rice herself? Can teach me hpw to go abt it

I think apple not necc need to be steamed. as long as its of a fine consistency to reducing the possibility of choking.

I m sick. hubb passed the virus to me. his reservist virus is strong manz. started to hv a low grade fever since last nite. now my bb dun wan to sleep when he's supp to. haizzz.

Simp : that what im thinking also. How come cannot scrape the fresh ones lei? heehee..I really dunno must steam apple de lei.

fresh apples will turn brown cos oxidise. When apple turn brown, vitamins are lost. Brown apple tend to cause constipation to bb as well. Thus better to steam. Steam apple does not turn brown.

simp:
i always use hot water to stir the cereal first b4 adding abit of cooled boiled water...
i prefer to let my ger have something warm...

Thanks for all concern and wishes!

Mikael had discharged from hospital since last night. He is very small now, the weight drop around 200gm. The eyes are also sunken..so sad to look at him!

He is kind of tired..so lots of sleep. The appetite already come back but i still give him smaller portion to ease the stomach.

Francis also is getting better and active as usual.
Now my Hubby got the diarrhoea...ahhhhhh. Geee this diarrhoea virus seems likes to stay with us!