(2008/03) March 2008

so happy... ryan's fever seems to have gone...

petrina
monitor and give him panadol. Fever will subside within 72hr from the start of fever. If din subside bring him to c dr.

Aviva IDeal Medical
According to my hb, the prenium is very high.. much higher than normal avaiva plan.. easily $300-400 for annual prenium. Also the claims for PD is not 100%. First $50 of the PD fees is not claimable. I thin there are other terms and conditions as well but he jus briefly told me it is not neccessary and tat is why he din get it for our children.

Clover
i think u can check Luckyvitamin.com. They sell too. If luckyvitamin i am interested in the spree. Btw u wan desitin or canus? I hv canus for sale if u wan. selling at $15.

Homeopathetic
Clover yes yes i am one for this kind of medication. My gf is one who believes in all these too. SHe is more expert than me . She has a fridge specially for her homeopathetic medicastion and supplements. Btw sambucol is also homeopathetic. :)

clover
i am giving both. Think they serve different purpose. However arielene dun like sambucol. But i must say it is good for immunity. Anyway been giving her these for 2 years already so if u nd more info do let me knw.

For andrae i am not giving any supplements for the time being. Prob jus probiotics. Cos i always feel bm has all the essentials they nd.

Morning mummies !!
Petrina : How is your ds? Has his fever gone down?
Mummies : Dunno issit my gal dun have enough milk or what, my dd only weighs ard 5.6kg @ 6mths. I think my dd is the lightest one..Is she considered underweigh? But the pd said ok lei. Mi a bit worried wor.

abc
yeah i also want to ask you abt sambucol and childlife colostrum. want to ask which one to get ? and which probiotics are you giving ?

i want to give cheryl some supplements too. and she is not on bf le, so i tink it's a need for her.

Good morning all!!

Melissa
I have always been excited about my kids birthday.. Even now, when my eldest is already 5yo, I will still plan months before hand for his birthday..

Fever
many babies are having fever now. Is it due to the jabs?? Or other things??? Mummies, did u guys gice barley water to baby regularly or during fever?? For my case, whenever my kidsa re down with fever, I would let them drink 'ling yang' in the day and barley in the night before they sleep. In between will give medicine as well, fever will usually subside in 1-2 days.. Giving baby Barley water regualrly will alo prevent them from being too 'heaty'.

abc, I also think bm prov all essential nutrients n antibodies for bb, so won't start him on supplement so soon. however if next time he attends cc then I will give him. I just glance at the intro abt childlife colostrum n it's actually made from bovine extract. imo, not suitable for young bbs. sabumcol is derived from plant extract hence will be gentler on our bb's internal system. this is worth getting.

i juz finish recharging my "batteries". last night was the first time i felt life was terrible after being a mama... changing towel for small baby the entire night.
morn still have to take care of big baby.
i have to take care of 2 "babies"...
small baby better already... last dose of calpol is given @ 7am. fever is hovering ard 37.5deg after meds.
big baby is still feverish hovering ard 38deg.

both babies cannot put together for fear of cross infection...

crystal/clover
yes i agree tat sambucol is better for youner children. However i would feel a combination of probiotics and sambucol works better. However sambucol has a sweeter and stronger taste due to the elderberry. Thus i am subsituting sambucol with echinachea(GNC - orange flavoured) instead. Echinachea is oso for boosting immunity. Probiotics i get from GNC (Multiphdilius). It is in the fridge in al GNC oputlet.

This mth i hv GNC discount at 30% (bday mth). Anyone wan me to help them get items pls let me know by 21 sep. It is only for 1 time usgae.

Btw cod liver liver all is oso boost immunity but i find it only very mild. However i think not sutiable for young bb as it contains fish. SOme bb may b allergy to it. I tried giving Andrae half teaspoon of cod liver oil 2 days ago. He is allergy to it thus will stop and try again next mth. Perhaps his bopdy system still not fully develop yet.

Btw i hv some sambucol brand new for children. It is no longer in the market. I hv abt 5 bottles i think but would liek to let go 3 bottles. Expire in 2010. DUn nd so much since Arielene is not taking. Keepign it only for Andrae. Anyone wan to try?

clover
What is Bovine Colostrum?
Colostrum is the early milk produced for a few days after delivery. In cows, it's called bovine colostrum. This milk is apparently rich in immunoglobulins which are certain types of protein involved in promoting the immune system and fighting germs. There are other types of compounds within colostrum such as growth factors, nucleosides, etc., that are not found in regular milk.

Here is a write up on bovine colostrum. I think most colostrum are from bovine. http://books.google.com.sg/books?id=q-PgoNm5HBIC&pg=PA31&lpg=PA31&dq=bovine+colostrum&source=web&ots=MjUR6muhsX&sig=NOhvHm9Lfdu4Is-Z6b3qFvE_ARo&hl=en&sa=X&oi=book_result&resnum=4&ct=result#PPA31,M1

Our colostrum are from human.. but the comercial ones are from cows (i think there are some from goat as well). Thus i think still suitable for young children. It is like using cow milk as a subsittute if ppl doesnt wan to go on breastmilk.

did you read the news today? wah lao i dunno why they dun just breastfeed. then problems like this won't happen. pity the babies.

Chinese babies hospitalised after 'drinking milk powder'

More at
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Asia/Story/A1Story20080911-87055.html

BEIJING (AFP) - - Fourteen babies have been hospitalised in China suffering from kidney stones and unable to urinate after drinking a cut-price milk powder, state press reported Wednesday.

The infants, all aged below 11 months, shared symptoms including vomiting and were being treated in the same hospital in northwest China's Gansu province, Xinhua news agency reported.

"It was rare for babies to get kidney stones, let alone so many babies at the same time," the report quoted Zhang Wei, a doctor involved with the treatment, as saying.

The babies were all from remote farming regions and had all been fed the same brand of cheap milk powder, identified as the "Sanlu" brand, manufactured by a leading Chinese dairy products company, the report said.

Melissa : Ya ha..y they dun want to bf ah? hmmm..maybe their gov didnt encourage breastfeeding in the first place or they didnt know the benefits of drinking bm. Cos they cant afford so buy cheap milkpowder for bb, cant blame them aso..Poor bbs..

kate
dun worry jus gv medicine and rest at home. Dun bring him out. if still dun recover go back again. He may nd nebiliser to lossen his phelgm.

crystal
colostrum contains probiotics too but ti si not enough. For arielene who is on FM, when she is 8 mth i gv the following:
1. childlife colostrum
2. probiotics

When she start childcare i then i give the following on top of the above:
1. DHA/cod liver oil
2. sambucol/Echinachea
3. vit C

Yes the probiotics is suitable for infant. All probiotics are suitable for infant and there is no such thing as overdose of probiotics. Excess will be given passed out as stool. U ay increase the dosage of probiotics if they r on medication esp antibiotics.

DHA/cod liver
Dun gv too much DHA/cod liver oil as too much vit A causes damage to liver.

abc
thanks so much for the info. okay i will get childlife colostrum and probiotics for cheryl. as for sambucol, maybe at a later age? or do you tink sambucol can given now too ?

yah i wont give her DHA for now. know that too much vit A is bad for the liver.

by the way, how much is the rafferty's that i shld pay you as well ?

my poor gal hasn't been sleeping the whole nite yest cos she has blocked nose...
brought her to c doc early in the morning..
doc diagnose lungs clear..which means the virus only attack the nose..
in turn causes some cough...
her snort keeps dripping..so poor thing...

zentan,
looks like her cold just started, keep her elevated when sleeping hor. else it could develop to bronchitis. that's what my PD said. if u're still breastfeeding her, try to feed her more often.

Oh dear...How come like so many bb get sick? Mummies : In the midst of looking after your ds/dd, must aso take care of urself k? Maybe weather not very good...

hmm a lot of bb been hving cough, cold and runny nose.

crystal u wan to use my bday discount? Sambucol can be given la but hor u must read the usage properly. Give 2 weeks then stop two weeks.

abc, but wat if the bb is allergic to cow's milk? maybe tts why there is goat's colostrum as u said. I am rather skeptical as cow's milk is meant for cow's consumption in the first place. bf bb dun need to take cow colostrum, coz all bb needs is already found in the bm mah. no matter wat, bm is still the best for our bb.

clover
yes i knw what u mean. But i am answering to crystal who wan to supplement colostrum to her bb since she is not bfing mah. For us our bb are bf thus no nd colostrum. :)

crystal
u can get from luckyvitamins, vitaglo or iherbs.com. GNC oso sells the colostrum too.

abc
is there a huge difference from getting it from GNC and the sites? if the difference is not big, then i just get from GNC liao.

clover
yah i need the colostrum for cheryl since she is not on bf liao.

crystal
wat u mean by huge difference? i think with the 30% u can get 1 bottle first if u urgently nd it cos i think he different not too big. Then subsequently u can get from spree. i got my echinachea from LV at $10. GNC is selling $29.90 before discount. After 30% is $20.93. So is abt $10 diff lor.

Colostrum is USD$17.49 x 1.48 = $25.89. Say plus shippign n everything is abt $35. SGP sellign $77.50. After dioscount is $54.25. A lot of difference lor.

Another way is u can take mine first then when u join spree u then return me one bottle lor.

was thinking i can surf the forum and catch up today but i think no hope liao..so busy ..sigh*

i took a quick glance and saw clover potential good news :p

hope ur headcahe and vommitting has ceased

lefty
hehe, i dun like details myself :p
very bad one, when my supporting staff gives too much details, i said, pls use 1 sentence leh..

btw, housebrand NTUC is pretty good ..hehe, i tried liao, now using the 4th packet..Adeline l also using and find it great

Renna
saw the percentile. Reminds me of sat when i bring kyzac for last 6 in one jab..was told he is in the 90th percentile..i tot it means ht and i was really happy, thinking wow i m getting a tall son..
then turns out it refers to wt, ht is 50th percentile

sambucol
kelicia is taking the 3rd or 4th bottle now..so far okay

Kate
hope Brendon recover fast, can understand how worried u r

Pet
Ryan better now ?

really hope all sick bbies and mummies recover fast..everytime i see my children sick, made me really worried, keep checking at nite

i brought my 2 years old for her infuenza jab on sat, polyclinic is $45 for 2 doses, expire in a year

kate

i bot from abc who did the overseas spree..
b4 kyzac is born

if i dun remember wrongly , abt $13 after shipping

abc, did i remmeber wrongly ?

Taking care of yourself,
yar... alotsa bb are unwell. So mummies mus take care of yourself first cos we are the caregiver.
Sucking out the mucus,
I bot the pigeon mucus sucking device the last time my boy got block nose. The next day after I use it, I fell sick too. Guess was too tired that period of time so immune was down. So now whenever anyone sick ( except bb) at home, will wear mask till they recovers.

Any mummies going for the seminar on "Baby Coming" by Mediacorp?
I called them mummies wif newborn bb can go. I jus registered. My boy is drinking Enfa so wanna go look see got good deal or not.

babypink/kate
This is the sambucol http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?c=1&pid=-2125112713100456631&at=0

FYI it is very very low in stock everywhere. Teh only place that has now is mothernature but it is selling almost 2.5 times more ex. It is abt USD$9 but mothernature is selling at USD$26plus!Even LV is no longer carrying it and iherb stock has been super low since long long time ago. Even vitaglo and vitacost oso no stock.

After shipping is abt $18 per bottle.

babypink
maybe u feedback how is it after K use it? Btw remember u got to stop for 2 weeks hor.. if nt no use.

Personally i think i still hv 4 bottles but prob keep for Andrae. U all may wish to get some herbs or supplemet ready esp when the "winter" season is coming. During nov/dec kids fall sick very easily.

Abc,
transferred. ps check.

POSB Savings
130-54757-5
To Account POSB Savings
126-49101-8 Ling
Amount S$12.92
Transaction Reference 1882790391

clover
count me out for the gap spree. i am ordering from my cousin-in-law who is also a member here. thanks so much!

thats how i gt to know abt SMH forum. hehe

Weather nice,
My boy been sleeping since 10am till now. I had wipe the house, vacuum, mop, wash clothes, wash toilets, bath myself, eat lunch, watch tv, trying to sleep but cannot, n bb stil sleeping... hahhahaha!
My bb is now 7.7kg n 73cm. Maybe his mummy has been telling him in his sleep "乖乖睡,多睡㈠个小畤就多长㈠chun!" So he refused to get up liao. hahahhahha!

the one from LV is totally no stock. Anyway it is ok for the kids to take adult sambucol as the % is the same i think. If not u jus hv to reduce dosage. But as these r homeopathetic medication it will do no harm to the body. All excess will jus pass out from the body.

Anyway i dun think currently u r able to find the one for kids anywhere online now and those r available are super ex!

Even vitakids no longer carry them. IF they do it is a different packaging.

crystal, ok. np!

anyone wants to participate in my ON/GAP spree? Now with 20% disc! (Tks to abc!)

YT, u v good sahm! I hv only done some marketing, bathed bb, myself, did the laundry and cooked lunch. My hb was around for lunch so he did the dishes for me