(2008/03) March 2008

tristan's schedule:

645am-730am: wake up for the day (suits us cos need to send him to his caregiver too)
8am-9pm: shower, play, eat cereal + drink milk
930am-10-ish: morning nap
10-ish-1230pm: play time + drink milk
1pm-2ishpm: nap
2-ishpm -4pm: play time + drink milk
430pm-5-ish: nap
5-ish onwards: wait for mummy to pick him up which is usually about 640pm or so...cat naps in the car sometimes
7-ish: reach home, wipe down
8pm: drink milk
830pm: prepare for bedtime, read book
9pm: bedtime

usually sleeps till 5-ish am for an early morning feed, then goes back to sleep till 645am-730am thereabouts....can wake up 1-2x between 9pm and 530am for pat pat!

Ikea chair
I bought the blue color one.
1690600.jpg

Aidan's sleep pattern recently after solid is introduced..

6.45am - wake up,feed, play & bath
8.45am - sleep
9.45am - wake up, play & feed
12noon - sleep
2.15pm -wake up , feed
4.30pm - sleep
5.00pm - wake up, play, bath & feed
7.20pm - sleep
6.30am - wake up

I hope tonight it's the same too

AdelineL,
For the 7pm nap, she will usu snooze off for prob 30 mins or so, then wakes up to play with daddy for a while (that's when daddy gets home) and she'll be off to bed again at 8+/9+ (usually will konk out by 9.30pm), depending on my 2 elder kids. If they play in my room, bb will sleep later. Her timing is very much like yours except she sleeps earlier. And yes, she still wakes up for her feed in the night, very zun, every 3 - 4 hourly! Unlike my dd1, she slept through when she was 2.5 months old.

Ivy,
Your baby takes alot of nap leh.. envious! My 3 kids all sleep very little.

Petrina,abc,

Same for my boy. Tot he was the most ultimate one initially. Still waking up every 1,.5hr-2 hr in the night. When he wakes up, rocking and patting doesn't help. He will cry and scream till I latch him on.

Sleep schedule

8.30am-9.30am --- wake up
11.30am-2pm --- (only if I sleep with him) 1st nap
4.30pm - 5pm --- 2nd nap (sometimes he dun want to sleep)
8.30pm --- bath time
9pm --- read story book, sing song then sleep
9.30pm - 10pm --- wake up screaming for milk
12am --- wake up again & subsequently for every 1.5 - 2 hrs and every 15 - 30 mins from 7am till he wakes up

Keep encouraging myself that he will outgrown it someday. Cos when I told my frds abt his sleeping time, they sort of giving those kind of looks and told me to give CIO method to him. Hmm dun know how to explain but I dun really like it. Keep telling me my boy is spoilt but I dun think so. This is just his sleeping pattern which is v individual for each child.

jerejoy :

no la . i agree wit u..yr bby is not spolit just because sleeping pattern .. some babies sleep little but they still grow well

my baby sleeping schedule :
6 plus to 7 am - wake up
7 to 930am - shower/play /bathe/feeding
abt 10am to 1230 - nap at least 2 hrs.
1230 to 1330 - latching and solid
1330 to 1530 - playing/latch
1600 to 1800 - 2nd nap
1800 to 2030 - latching/solid/shower/play/
2030 - 2100 = latching / Zzzzzz
45 mins later - woke up and looking for me to latch
after that to 1am - woke up and latching
then 2 to 3 hrs subsquently - woke up and latch till morning

now she woke up to play ...sigh

jerejoy, abc.. ya manz.. my hb kept scolding me for spoiling him.. tats y till now he still a 2hrly drinker..
cause i read in mumcentre, 6mth old baby shld be sleeping through 6-8 hours daily. they din mention if they wake up for feeds though..
then my hb's colly will say that have to train, blah blah.. cause lots of his collys & wives had rat babies too. so timing is abt the same.. then their babies r already slping through..
hb tried the CIO method every nite at the 11.30-12mid waking up screaming n yelling..
meaning, we leave him to scream. half hr, he still screaming, i carried him up, hb scold me. but then, he still closed eye screaming.. until i latch him.. even his fav toy also useless..
haiz...

lots of our babies here r early risers? mine too.. 5-6am wake me up, stare ard in space le.. but i usually bo chap. cause i noe he not due for milk.. juz wan attention. then hb will pat him back to slp. this is the only wake up slot tat i involve hb... the other slots i rather let him slp. otherwise i hate to face a cranky son n cranky hb.. haha

morning mommies,
thanks melissa and Reena. noted. my company got give us free fruits. but the banana is those Long one.

jeangal,
my DS sometime will be angel and sit there and play himself, but sometime will wan us to carry him ard. so i guess it's the same la. haha..

my DS now can sit w/o assist liao. very steady now. hee.. but still scared he will jus fall over. so got to keep an eye on him when he sitting up. but hor he beri lousy lei, now flipping still no good. can flip on tummy and cannot flip back liao. but he can hold longer when he's on tummy liao.

my boy sleep pattern:
hmm.. i don't really knw cos i working. but my nanny said he will sleep after every feed for 1-2hrs after playing for awhile. then at nite we will let him sleep at 9-10pm. he normally will wake up at 6-7am in the morning.

ivy,
where u get the cushion for ur ikea high chair?

REDTEA
can get from ikea too. i got that exactly same chair as ivy just that mine is the white one.
the detachable tray is only $8. very cheap.

that cushion thingy cost $9

it's not really a cushion. you have to pump air into it to make it filled with air.

Good morning mamas!!!

Sleeping pattern
Not quite sure of his usual sleeping pattern. But during weekends when his 2 brothers are around, he only sleep at most 30-45mins.. My mil say that he can sleep a little longer when his brothers are at school.. At night, he usually sleep around 10.30pm after his brothers go to bed... But will sleep through the whole night... Wake up in the morning around 7-7.30am..

Yao Lan - Hammock
My son always like to play in his hammock.. He will look very tired, but when u put him into the hammock, he'll laugh and play.. Sometimes we can sit beside the yao lan for an hour trying to make him sleep, but he will still look very happy and energetic... Then not long after we carry him up, he will look tired and cranky again... Any babies same???

crystal,
got my highchair and tray liao jus this week. RED! hee.. my DH bought one. but din have the cushion only.
btw, u still have lobang for the baby cubes?

Crystal,
can meet you tomolo to collect my baby cubes? Sorry took so long.

Menses,
after 15 months my menses is here again! Sigh...

jerejoy and petrina -
i don't think your bbs is spoilt! don't listen to those nonsense! every baby is different so no use putting other ppl's expectations on your children!

i don't really like the CIO method but that's just my personal opinion. i remember i used to get very scared as a toddler and will scream for my dad sometimes when i get up in the middle of the night. just thinking....what if our bbs feel the fear and helplessness too? CIO will only make them feel more frightened and more abandoned! i don't go to my bb immediately if he cries at night because sometimes after 5-10mins he stops and goes back to sleep and that teaches them to be independent. but when the crying escalates into screaming or yelling, i will surely go to him to comfort him! it's not spoiling him, it's just making him feel secure, i think!

i think where parenting is concerned, be it sleep training or discipline, i believe just go with your heart because only you yourself know what's good for you kid and what you're comfortable with!
try not to get affected when ppl tell you "oh my who and who's baby already can this and that..." and compare with you own bb.....remember, your own child is SPECIAL in every way!!! :D

General sleeping pattern but sometimes changes +/- 1hr

6am-7am: Wake up
7am-8am: Breakfast
8am-9am: Nap
9am-10am: Bath, playtime
10am-12pm: Nap
12pm-3pm: Lunch, playtime
3pm-4pm: Nap
4pm-5pm: Bath & playtime
5pm-7pm: Dinner, playtime
7pm: Goodnight!
12am/3am: Wake up for one bottle of milk

isabellali,
My son also likes to play in his hammock. He will turn 180 degrees inside it such that he is in his crawling position in the hammock and then he will look up at us and smile! We cannot stop him from doing it because he'll fuss about. So we just watch him and make sure he doesn't do anything else. But after a couple of seconds, he'll flip over onto his back again.

Normally we make him super tired by letting him crawl on his playmat so that he can sleep
We let him crawl for about 10mins then rest for about 10mins - carry around or put lying on back, then crawl again.

jeangal
it's usually selling at $10.10

yutong
tmr what time ? i need to bring cheryl to Mt A for review.

redtea
what size you need? cuz that time i gt at $12 for bulk purchase for the mummies here. maybe you can email and check with the supplier? her email is [email protected]

hey crystal,
there's a mummy who imported extra HB oatmeal and multigrain cereal and wants to sell off some. I trying to ask her for price now...you interested?

shaz17,
i'm with you on the CIO method. ironically attending to all her cries and discomfort several times at night will make her feel more secure and hence make them more confident in life in the future. that's my take. and of course, each is entitled to their own parenting beliefs.

during my dark years of multiple miscarriages, i always yearn for a baby. no point having a solid night sleep but in the heart you're not happy. now that i have a baby who wakes me up several times at night (errr only when she's sick, keke), i am very happy and look forward to interrupted sleeps as i know that now i have a baby that i yearned for so many years. besides, they'll grow up faster than u can imagine and u'll end up missing those days. i live my days one day at a time and are very attentive to them. whenever i'm home, i will take over 100% from my mom, bathing them, feeding them, changing their diapers and i'm very happy doing all those lor. or maybe i couldn't get over the trauma of my multiple child losses before. kekeke.

Melissa:
heads up, babe! i'm glad we share the same parenting beliefs! haha!
no la, i'm sure you're a strong woman and i'm sure seeing your bb girl now, definitely VERY HAPPY like your nick hahaha!

it's true...sometimes i think about how my bb wouldn't need me anymore when he's grown up...i'll feel abit sad
hahah! of course, i'm not going to cling on to him and stop him from developing just for my own selfish needs, but yes, now i just focus on every moment i spend with him because he just grows and change so fast everyday!!!

jeangal:
RE: Pigeon wipes
it's selling @$9.85 at NTUC, $9.89 at giant...but depend on the stock they took...cos the previous stock they sold @ $10.50 wo...

Re:high chair
...think should get one soon cos ikea is so near to my place....

BLUE_SKIES
Seems like quite a few babies here know hw to crawl liao hor.. My lil' rascal still dunno wor.. My baby also wierd baby.. Dun like bumbo chair, dun like walker.. Just want ppl carry.. Headache...

isabellali -
my bb dunno can consider crawling or not....the backside will stick up in the air then he'll push/drag himself forward with arms...abit like worm like that hahahha! so i think mine also cannot considered as know how to crawl!!

CIO method
before I gae birth, I was sure that I will use this method on my bb, but I have changed my mind after seeing almost instant result that my bb changed from an unsecure, fussy bb to a secure and happy bb. he can play on his own for abt 30mins every morning while I have my breakfast n do some chores. well that's our morning routine.

isabellali: haha, mine creeping backwards n use head to go forward.. so also not considered crawling la..
2mths ago hei rented bumbo for him, he sat in it initially, then few days later he decide not to sit in it ever again.. he almost fell backwards everytime we put him in. luckily his lotus roots too huge, kenna stuck. Otherwise he'll have fallen already. so i was glad i din buy bumbo.

leapfrog
recently he started to detest being put in there. though he loves the surrounding toys, i think he's bouncing way too vigorously. can c the whole exersaucer shake woah..

carry
i recently had to use ERGO to put him to slp. dunno y.. not sure is it becoz i din go out. so he miss slping in the ERGO... he hung on me for afew hours on those days i din go out. so now, i try to bring him out for walks to the supermarket. so he dun disturb me too much the following day.. so weird..
tried n tested.. he behaves whenever i bring him out and behaves after the trip..

isbellali, babyheng,
my son crawls backwards and sideways but not forward :D and his backside also sticks up when he's trying to crawl forward! so far forward crawl is more like leaping. he almost landed on his face when trying to crawl forward the other day!

clover: ya. i tot so too.. but sometimes bo bian. i have to sit him in leapfrog so i can do my things. i scared he crawl n bump his head..
he smarter now. whenever he dun wan sit, he'll curl up his legs.. dun let me put his legs in.. so i noe tat he dun wan sit. then i'll entertain him awhile b4 trying again. haha. works alittle better. sometimes i force though :p

clover-
my auntie who is my son's caregiver told me that if we meet the bb's needs fast (most people think it's "spoiling" the kid) when they're younger, they'll become more secure as they grow up....if not, they'll become clingy and insecure and then you'll have a big headache! i think what she advocated was right because obviously we can see results in our babies!

i was open to the CIO method but i only tried it on tristan once and end up me and my hb so heartpain can't bear to do it anymore. some friends say that this method works for their bbs, but i don't think it works for my bb (and his parents US!)..kekeke!

isabellali: haha, koala bear.. my mil also say my DS is KB...

babyheng: i totally agree.. hb kenna brainwashed by his collys.. but i kinda insist on carrying him whenever my instinct tells me i need to.

petrina! your boy's pose so cute!!
never dared to let my boy do such a pose in case he decides to pee on the playmat - more work to do after that!

hehe, blueskies.. happened tat day he poo so much.. overflow onto is shirt.. so mil n i undressed him. mil went to scrub poo off his shirt while i watch him. i dare not carry as i scared he treat me drink tea.
then i realized tat he so active. so i grabbed my camera n shot away.. keke
but i dun post his naked album. keep for his future reference niah.. haha
this pic not too exposing. so i show u all.

petrina -
that's such a cute pic of ur son!!!!! :D
yah lucky u never show his privates...or else next time if he becomes a celebrity or president, we can take this photo to blackmail him muahahahah!

petrina,
that's such a funny picture!!! cute leh! hahahahaa..

crawling,
speaking of which haha Tricia has started crawling since these few days already! she'be on all fours, hands and knees, and make only 1 step forward before she decided to go bump! on the floor again. then she'll keep trying again. sooner or later, she'll graduate to two steps forward and then more steps... then i'll be like haiyaaaah why she grow up so fast one.. boohooo

once the baby becomes mobile, u really feel a bit of loss lor. i am feeling it the second time around. haizz. (yeah and this is when hubby step in and say let's make another baby at around the same time last year!! hahahaahaha)

hehe, thks all.. tats also the reason y i can't bring myself to do the CIO method.. haiz. c him like tat how to? but hor, when i super angry i will lah..
i'm uploading some of his farni playtime on my multiply.. ltr give u link. keke..
my notti boy slping now. so i busy checking bps n sprees threads.. haha.. shopping again.

Thx cloudme.

Wa some of u good lei. Can take v good pics of ur bb. Mine always those boring pics. Mayb this weekend I wil try to take some good ones.

JeanGal,
good lah. i love to see pictures. maybe this weekend we can see more mommies uploading their baby pictures!! i'm a bad photo-taker myself, that's why I don't post often!

Melissa, Im lagi more jialat. Lazy to take pics.
Then those my hb takes really cannot make it. Half head type. Dun haf full body or nice one.

Crystal,
the email add got problem lei. it bounced.

Petrina,
ur Boy is strong bb man. looks like he's ready to crawl liao.

re: Aunty flow
hmm.. it don't seem like its monthly to me ever since i have it first time 1.5mths ago. MIA agn
like tat very chiam.. dunno when it like to visit agn.

keke.. have been planning where to go after my hubby out of town.

celia, shaz17,

Thanks for yr support. Glad we all hv the same parenting beliefs. I agree on the CIO views. I feel it will create a dark shadow when he grows up. I bought the Dr Sears' book to read and he also advised nt to use the CIO method. Not gd for the development. There are many schools of thoughts on the child's sleeping pattern. This is wht I chose to follow. Though it's the hard way round, I believe it is worth the effort.

Petrina,

Yr boy looks so cute in that stunt. V strong boy!