(2008/03) March 2008

aly

i dunno whats the rationale behind it too. but i just worry that bb might not be able to take uncoooked food. i also steamed it before pureeing.

oh today's gathering changed to vivo har?? then cannot go liao, too far...united sq or orchard is about the furthest i go these days haha unless go to someone's hse lah...bo pian, with 2 kids, time v. precious, often feel like not enuff time for everyone :p

kresentia
wow such sad news...v. shocking, if see on news sure cry one...i also have a 2 yr 9 mths old kid and i everyday remind her what are the dangerous things...must make her know that somethings cannot play play, if i ever see her climb near window, i'll really punish her and make sure she won't forget it!!!

but i don't spank lah...maybe one day i will do it but i feel that not necessary now...dun think it's the most effective method to teach...i do time out, take toys away, no treats etc and explain, explain, explain...also do rewards and praise for good behaviour....i never want my kid to be afraid of me becos i am able to spank her...i think i'll cry more than my kid if that ever happens hahaha...soft-hearted mum lah, what to do??

as for baby, i think way too young to really understand punishments...will only do "NO" in a stern voice and get him to play with something else

aly -
i think at this stage, most vegetables and fruits need cooking because the bb's digestive system probably haven't mature enough to digest the fibres and stuff...

the only 2 food that i know don't need to cook are banana and avocado.
Maybe papaya too though not too sure!

jeangal
slowly la i am sure got others who oso hvnt start.

For me so far tried the following:
1. rice cereal
2. oatmeal
3. plain white rice (few pinch)
4. carrots
5. apples
6. sweet potatos
7. potatos
8. avocado
9. banana food jar

For cereal wil add probiotics and si shen powder in it.

Linda : no problem

Managed to get happybellies cereals from amazon for April mummies

The shipping is alot cheaper. Shipping is SGD3.60 per can.
So each can is $9.60.

Anyway, I have 2 more cans of oatmeal left and going to start another spree on it. Who wants
Excess oatmeal cereal

Jeangal : also havent start on solid for my gal.

Apple puree,
If you don't steam, you can always cook it over low fire but will need to stir constantly. I don't know why need to cook but my guess is, if you cook and puree it, you can store in freezer. But if you give fresh apples, you need to prepare it every time you want to feed as fresh apples don't last.

From what I know, old folks don't even bother to blend the fresh apples. They just use a spoon to scrap out the apples and feed directly.

JeanGal,
I've not started my bb on solids yet :p Another lazy mom kekeke

Spanking bb
I also did that like a few times, when i couldn take her nonsense. I wd beat her butt but no feeling de. Now she grabs things s her fnger nails r sharp and when i was taken in shock and pain, i wd scream or yell. She knows that i am in pain or angry and wd stop or cry a little. Thin my screaming is no music and ugly sound to her so she wd cry more hahaha. Now no need to beat just raise my voice can liao kekeke

I don't spank my baby. I don't even threaten to spank, nor do I scold fiercely. The most I do is a firm serious NO and distract. I am for discipline, but don't think he understands it yet. More importantly, because his main caregiver is my maid, I don't want my maid to pick up my habits and think it's ok to spank or scold the baby. One day she may just vent her frustrations on him. I don't allow for any grey areas for her - I don't spank, nobody spanks. So there are no excuses!
In future when baby is able to understand more, I will introduce discipline like time outs. When you have a "stranger" in the house (although my maid is quite good lah), these things need careful management.

aiyo,
i never cook the apple puree. i even freeze them and store. den thaw and fed my gal for three days. that was two weeks ago. luckily nothing happened. it nvr occur to me that fruits must be cooked.

high chair

i bought fisher n price come with double cushion and toys,not cheap but i think worth buying cause more comfy for bb defenitly will be able to sit longer. ikea thought is cheap but not suitable for our bb now cause no cushion, maybe later stage

spank bb

i did when brendon try to bite my nipple. hehehehe, a bit pain cause now he's teething. during nite time, he's vr fussy, wake up at 4am then 6am, turn here n there vr cranky...i am now panda eyes lio

Reena
That's what my mil do whenever she feed my baby apple.. But I find that it's like very messy after that, cos the juice will anyhow shoot when u scrap the apple..

i just checked out the organic shop at Holland Village (that Petrina mentioned, i believe). they carry earth's best, bellamy and HIPP food. Also have lotsa cute clothings and shoes available...as well as organic shampoos/lotion ...BPA-free bottles etc.

the shop is a small set up by a young couple with a cute son...very friendly and chatty shop owners who took time to explain things to me and recommend me stuff. even let me try some organic biscuits (though of course, not suitable for my bb yet haha)! for a small shop, they actually have quite alot of stuff!

saw some cute wall decals too but no time to browse some more cos was rushing off....will probably go back there again another time when i have more time on hand!! :D

can check out their website here if you want: http://www.loveforearth.com/

Its second day in d row that my bb has been sleep for 3hours plus straight!! Yay yay yay!!
Mummy got time to do own things like posting on mummy forum! hahahhahha!

babe dude
what i had gotten is not this type one lei. it's the one which most restaurants uses. the ikea high chair cost $25 and the detachable tray cost $8. so total only $33.

Ivy,

Yup. It's that Hk Serial. I love it so much! Still in love with it till now. haha!

Petrina,

Thanks for the info. I used to view serials from there. Eversince I had my boy, no time! Haiz! Want to cut and color my hair also no time.... Haa!

cpyt,dreamlife,

v crazy hor.... My hubby also can't stand me. Haha!

Steriling Teethers n Solid Food Cultery Survey
Mummies, wanna to check if u sterilise teethers and the cultery meant for solid food for our darling bb? Am thinking if i m coming back to spore this weekend, wonder if i need to lug my steriliser back. I will be in spore till early oct hahaha so good, do jab for bb, take photo shoot and attend fren' wedding. Then also to introduce solid to dd when she turn 6m end sep

babyheng,
yesterday my boy slept at 11pm after a 3 hour plus nap in the afternoon cos I use my lavender biotech aromatherapy. Today, again I lit up my aromatherapy, he was sleeping from 10am to 1pm, wake up drink milk and sleep til now and stil sleeping soundly. Let's see what happens tonite.

re: start solid
i am one of the mom who have not start solid for my bb.
btw, which kind of banana can give bb eat? those small and short ones or long and big ones? and how do we make banana puree?

high chair:
my DH jus bought ikea plastic one. RED colored. quite nice and my DS is happy sitting in it. we put it in the study room for now.. let DS sit with us when we are on the computer. haha...

YT, ur bb is a good boy. Sleeps more than mine. Mine wil sleep from 8pm to 7am. Then takes 2-3 times naps of v short intervals ard 1hr.

Redtea, my bb wil not wana sit for long. Horrible. Must make us carry him & walk ard. I find it v siong to carry him.

Sleep pattern
How about we list down our bb's sleep pattern? I'll start first.

Between 6.30am - 7.30am: BB wakes up (she's a morning bird)
Between 9.30am - 10.30am: Prepare her to take morning nap (naps for 45 mins - 1 hr 30 mins)
Between 2pm - 3pm: Prepare her afternoon nap (another 45 mins - 1 hr 30 mins nap time)
Around 7pm - 7.30pm: prepares her for night nap. If she misses this nap, I'll let her sleep at around 8pm.

redtea,
banana no need to make puree liao. just smash it with fork till it's really, really soft then feed to bb. u can use any kind. the short kind is sweet right. ang moh recommend, where got heaty or not heaty right, they only know the big banana. keke.

Redtea,
No need to puree banana, just use a fork to mash it. If you worry not fine enough, use those bb bowl with grinder, it works fine too. I think as long as it's not Del Monte, it should be fine.

Reena,
aiyoh it's hard for me to list out pattern since i'm a FTWM. i only have two days of full weekend with Tricia. generally she has 3-4 naps in the day and slept from 11pm - 8.30am.

kate: aiyo.. panda eyes.. my DS still doing the 2hrly routine leh.. how?? i carry n sing also no use.. i muz latch then he *gam wan* shut up to slp... super buay tahan..
i m relying on my face masks nowadays to upkeep wif watever youth i have left...

bbpink: i juz bot sealer at giant $10.65. cheap mah? was it you who intro me sealer? or adeline? i blur liao..

btw, i need to sell 1 BN pack of drypers M size.. any babies here can fit?
i also need to sell 3 BN packs of petpet L size...
any babies use tat brand? cause my son siao siao.. M drypers too small, L petpet too big..

petrina

sealer good or not? the size as big as pet pet? i like pet pet. bought one 12.80 M70, what size u bought for ur ryan? how many pcs?

Yu tong
you're v.lucky! wish my bb can sleep like dat

Reena
so what time does your bb sleep at night if she takes a nap at 7 plus? does she sleep thru the night?

Sleep schedule
Between 5:30am to 7am: Wakes Up (sooo early! :p)
abt 9:30: 1st nap, about 40 mins to 1.5 hours
abt 2pm: 2nd nap, about 40 mins to 1.5 hours
on rare occasions, between 6pm to 8pm will nap for 30mins to 40 mins (v. cranky already)
between 9:45pm to 10pm:sleep the night but wakes up every 3 to 4 hours

i juz tried 1pc on him. very comfy.. velcro. not sticky.. very big size compared to drypers. so its good for me. cause my boy's size is in between. sealer can fit him well.

adelineL: haha, my boy also an early riser.. 5.30am stare big eyes at us le..

sleep schedule
5.30am-6am - wake up grumbling
hb will make him slp again.
8am - wake up, latch on
10am - latch to sleep
11.30am - wake up, latch on
1pm - latch to sleep
2pm - wake up
3pm - latch to sleep
4pm - wake up
6pm - latch to sleep
7pm - wake up
10pm - latch to sleep
11.30pm - wake up screaming n yelling
i'll latch him back to sleep
2ish - wake up screaming n yelling
4ish - wake up screaming n yelling
5.30pm - wake up grumbling and staring to see if any of us reacts to him...

total abt 4hrs of napping and 6hrs of full sleeping wif inbetween sleep drinking.

pet/kate, dryper smaller cutting n sealer bigger cutting. personally I prefer sealer than dryper coz dun leak for my bb n material more comfy.

then comparing sealer to pet pet, sealer uses velcro tape so better than pet pet. pet pet m size is cheaper than sealer m size.

Bb Sleep Schedule
On avg this is dd' pattern

8am-wake up-latch-slp
11am-wake up-bath-play
2pm-3pm-slp
6pm-7pm-slp
10pm-11pm-slp
12.30am-slp
4am-wake up-latch-slp

Ikea high chair... darm.. I just bought from Ikea, heard got red color BUT when my sil went to buy, already out of stock, so we end up with the white one... sad leh!

I'm so busy with the new job... its like ages since I last read forum.

so happening... u gals can even gather today~

Sleep schedule,
Aiyo, not true that my bb sleep alot la. He has been very very hyperactive the past one week plus and his sleep schedule went hay wired. I buay tahan so I went to borrow books on sleep for bb. Read Better Sleep for your Baby & Child by Dr Shelly K. Weiss n reading No-Cry Sleep Solution for Toddlers & Preschoolers n Floppy Sleep Game now.
The theory inside quite usefully like winding down baby and creating a nice environment for baby. So been practising it for the past two days.
The biggest difference I did was the use of lavender biotech aromatherapy lor. So far so good and he sleeps to be sleeping well.
He woke up jus now about 4pm and sleep now again! So I really dunno how to comment on his schedule now. Hahahhaah!

crystal:
Hope ur bb gets well soon. Mine too, before his first tooth shows out, he had fever, cough & cold very badly. Last about a week+, I was so worry then too. don worry.

alex's schedule on a good day

8+am- wake up, latch, play
10am- bath
10:30am- latch, zzz
12:30pm- wake up, latch, zzz
1+pm- wake up, play
3pm+- latch' play
4:30pm- zzz
5+pm- wake up, play
7pm- latch
8:30pm- wipe down
9pm- latch, zzz

he wakes up 2x at nite to latch.

his teething causes him to be fussy. yesterday no appetite to drink n then this afternoon drink every 2hrs. damn tired.

hahah no fixed schedule for Andrae. It depends on what time he awake. He will nap/sleep 1.5 - 2h after he is awake. Longest slp is 2.5h.. shorts is abt 20-30min. Night will slp between 9pm to 10pm.

Kate/petrina
my son is not slpign thru the night either. Same every 1.5 to 2 hr. Esp from 1am till 5am...sometimes jus wan to latch. Somemore i am workng. Usu his best slping time is 9 till 1am then 5am till 8.30am..