(2008/03) March 2008

Prereq: Have a citibank credit card.
1) Register your card with borderlinx
http://www.borderlinx.com/SG_index.html

2) Receive a US Address

3) Go to Amazon / other website and register

4) Make a purchase and state the billing/shipping address to US Address

5) Wait for the merchant to send the items to borderlinx. You can check the status of your merchant in Amazon before it reach borderlinx. Borderlinx will email you when item reach them.

6) Pay for shipping for your items at borderlinx.

7) wait for borderlinx to ship to you. You can check the status of your items via borderlinx website.

hahaha he is in for a surprise but he will be fine! one of them is oral administered right? joisah didnt take any of these. btw did u managed to get the thermometer yet?

Clover,
I see. thats good.

My boy was having some kinda schedule as well till the last few days he became cranky n refuse to sleep in the day time. I m a mother who wants my boy sleep more than he eats n play lor. At this stage, I think sleep is more important for them to grow well. But of course la, I will not starve him. Will feed when he wants to.

yt, i forgot to cont abt the sleep schedule. after his morning nap, he will wake up for feed n play. i will observe bb's que. when his eyes are droopy, i will start the walk up/down the house thingy. he will fall asleep within 5mins.

night time, i will give him a wipe down, feed him and he will sleep.

in fact now if we dun let him sleep, he will complain n fuss.

dreymin : if you using amex, you can consider using Comgateway (http://www.comgateway.com). I havent really try their service because i heard it's quite bad. Delay parcels etc.

You can also use vpost offer by singpost.
Disadv.
1. It's almost double the shipping cost. And we are talking abt difference in hundreds. they quote me that my jumperoo will cost $200 in shipping alone.

2. Service not as good as bdl
3. More troublesome cos' you need to email them the invoice from the merchant before they will locate the items when it is shipped to your us address.

dreymin
if no citibank card, u can register with vPost. They'll give u a US address tt u can use, then singpost will ship from vpost usa to singapore. But vpost more expensive than borderlinx.
There's also comgateway but i have not tried their services before.

pancake/dreymin, vpost service sucks leh. 10 mths after my order was fulfilled, they still email me abt an outstanding payment. haha.

yt, do u know why he's cranky?
i think its impt to let our bb sleep whenever they want. if they dun wan... must also make them sleep. hahahaha...

dreymin : i have used vpost (for my leapfrog spree) and borderlinx (for my discovery balls/jumperoo/ergo carrier)

clover
i think its important to have fixed sleeping schedule, even now my older boy still sticking to a sleeping schedule that i set. He needs to take at least one afternoon nap around 1 or 2 and when the time comes and he saw us preparing his room for nap, he will keep saying to himself or us "zac zac no night night" and he will keep on chanting even when we carry him and put him in his cot. But after chanting for 10min he will fall asleep. Kids can be stubborn so we as parents need to be even more stubborn. my parents always say i very " heng xin" but i think better to be heng now if nt next time will be even more difficult for both the kid and parents

clover

no worries, it will eventually happen

sleeping schedule
Kelicia used to sleep past midnite, no matter wat we did ..now she usu sleeps at 10pm
as for Kyzac, if he is fed formula milk, he will wake up once in the nite. If i breastfeed, 3 times a nite

but the happy thing is he is no longer terribly cranky

Ps: Reena, love the picture of your 3 kids,personally my very ideal picture , 2 gals and a boy and DS2 looks like u i feel

ya lor.. shirley.. baby sleep is good mah.. where got heng xin?
eat n sleep then can grow up big n strong.. haha
my mom's theory..

dreymin nope didn't get the thermomether now looking for blender. heh. change of plan coz the gp is away so I let him take his vacc another day.

Babe_dude,

Hehe! I love Tiffany & Co. They hv v nice designs.

Clover,

I agree with u. 2 times in the night r fine but the 3rd time, I will be v tired too.

Petrina,

Poor Ryan...Hope he's feeling better now....

Shirley,

Can I join u all for the gathering at your place on Saturday? Will be coming with baby and hubby. Will also be bringing pastries for tea-time.

Clover/petrina

Forgot to explain the "heng xin" part, cos zac zac used need to be rocked and rocked before he will want to sleep so when he was around 6mths, i decided its too much liao so i read up on sleep routine. Decided on the combination of comfort object and Cry it out method, so this is the heng xin part. But now is so much easier, no need to pat or rock, just put him in his cot with his bolster, he will comfort himself to sleep. waiting for lele to be older to see if i can use the same method on her.

shirley: oic... i tot ur pil say u dun let zac2 play is heng xin. hehe

i also rock n pat until arms give way.. haha *if he's not hungry*
otherwise quite easy as he can nurse to slp. lets see if he still need the rocking n patting when he's zac zac's age..

BB Dude & Jerejoy
Hi5, im a tiffany & co fan too
So luv their designs

Shirley
I wanna try that method too when my ger is 6mth old. She is getting just to much for me to rock and rock to slp

<font size="+2">BABY CUBES COLLECTION</font>

SENGKANG MRT ON 12 AUG - 6.15PM

AMK MRT STATION ON 12 AUG - 7PM

can also collect on any days at orchard mrt from 5.30pm onwards. alternatively sembawang mrt on mon,wed,fri from 6.30pm.

kindly let me know your preferences. can email or sms me at 94888721.

thanks !

<font size="+2">Just got update from BDL, items are all in. Including pre-orders</font>

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Brightlings™ Exploration Station BP($74.25)
Ready for collection. Please arrange timing. HP: 97620159 , [email protected]</font></font>
1. uberrimae @ Sat@ redhill
2. Cass
3. Pinky Poh @ Fri@ redhill
4. burpy_babe
5. superbunny
6. mushloom Collect@calamari grp
7. jasmine
8. gail
9. cutiee188
10. babybliss
11. cheesycake - topup $74.25 (Oversea)
12. jaspire (with Geryl)- topup $44.25
13. joellez @calamari grp
14. Koori (@calamari grp with Luann Mum now)
15. blur_mum - topup $44.25
16. ABC mum - topup $74.25
17. choc - topup $44.25

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Leapfrog Discovery Ball@$29.30 (Singapore retail price is $60)
Ready for collection. Please arrange timing. </font></font>
1. joellez @calamari grp
2. koori (@calamari grp with Calamari now)
3. Jeangal
4. Happymummy
5. uberrimae @ Sat@ redhill
6. Simp (@calamari grp with Calamari now)
7. babybliss (@calamari grp with Luann Mum now)
8. Angel (@calamari grp with Luann Mum now)
9. Cass
10.Honey_pooh/ Pink Poh @ Fri@ redhill
11.cutie188
12.burpy_babe
13. Linda chan (Mar)
14. Kai (Mar) - Topup $29.30
15. choc - Topup $9.30
16. JuniorRain
17. Veronica- Topup $9.30
18. Chronos-Topup $9.30
19. Stetch Topup $58.60
20. Divine - Topup $9.30
21. boon (Mar)- Topup $9.30
22. cyl_16 - Topup $9.30
23. choc - Topup $9.30
24. chrono - Topup $9.30

jerejoy.. who dun like?? hahahhaa the designs are as nice as their price tags!

YT: Yippee..am back! hahaha

Pet: weaning.. not really loh.. still Bfing..hahahah wanted to be off completely but ended up stil bfing ..but got give cereal and FM mix loh.. but still kinda 80/20 - bf/FM, cereal ... slowly lah.. she siao siao one .. but she can take FM very well liao.. so i can sneak out most of the time! :p happy enough.

Bb Pink: K K.. tell me the interesting story k!! so how..u got a new maid liao??

Mari kita raya singapura ... feel like eating KFC and pizza while watching national day parade... so sad, hb not in sgp tom till next wk.. so it will be only bb,myself and mum! hmm...

babedude: good also.. half half at least u get ur time off.. so nite bf, day fm?
u read earlier posts abt bbpink's maid.. lol
where have u been? keke

Clover,
I think like some of the mummies here says, when the kid is 5 mth old they tend to wanna play more than sleep. Probably my son is like tat lor. Last time we would sing song and rock him to sleep when its about 9pm. Now he is very smart, once carry him in the position to rock him to sleep, he wil cry. He will not stop until the lights are on.

Pancake,
Yup, Chuan Mu takes care of your bb to sleep well. My mum used to do that for us when we were young and she said that we are very easy babies, only sleep, drink milk, shit thats all.
I was staying with my mother for 1 month after my confinement. Initially, she do not believed wat I told her about the crankiness of my bb until I stayed wif her. She witnessed my bb is a very different bb. He dun smilie or open eyes at all and would always cry n cry at the top of his voice non-stop for no reasons. There was once occasion I stil remember she told me that my dad n her was doing 'passing baton' cos my bb jus wouldn't stop crying for an hour. At least, to my mother, my bb is different from all her other 10 grandchildren. So she nags me to pray to Chuan Mu since then lor.

Maybe some may say its superstition but I think I will do anything for my bb to be healthy n happy.

Isabella,
yup, I jus prayed to Chuan Mu liao. Today is her bday.

Simp
to try out the method needs a lot of patience and your partner must be supportive as well. I feel consistency is the clue to success. My gal friend didnt succeed cos her in laws cant stand the cryings so now she has to pat her gal to sleep. There are pros and cons to every method we use to train our children to sleep so just trial and error to see which method is most suitable for ur child. From what i observe for lele, she doesnt take to a comfort object so the CIO may nt work on her. So reading more to see if there are other methods which suits her more. But will still give CIO a shot when she is older.

Date: 9 aug 08 (sat)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Seng Kang - shirley home

1. shirley (host)
2. IsabellaLi (3 kiddos &amp; a helper, maybe with hubby as well)
3. Serene n bb (hubby -TBC)
4. Adeline n kiddo (HB TBC depend on timing)
5. clover n bb
6. Ivy n bb
7. abcdisney n ABCs (donuts)
8. kate n Brendon
9. Kresentia Eugener n baby n maid

Dress code for babies: White and Red to celebrate National Day! Count on us Singapore!

As for the food, for mummies who are coming to my place without transport and find it inconvenient to bring food, no worries. I am preparing drinks and will be ordering sushi from Sakae for us to snack.

I have PM all mummies who indicated that they are joining the gathering, if i have missed out on anyone please PM me oki!

Simp, Babe_Dude,

Ya, nice but price also v nice too. Haha! Hubby will go broke if this is my hobby. Hehe!

Shirley,

Do u use the controlled cry it out method or the real cry it out method? I tot of using but I'm worried my boy wun stop crying. There was one time when he made me angry by refusing to sleep for 5 hrs and I tried on him. He ended up crying for 45 mins non stop, vomited out his milk even though I hv bf him 2 hrs ago. After picking him up cos my heart sank, he continued crying for half an hr. Poor boy! Don't think I will dare to try on him. He's quite stubborn and protest even more.

took v. long to read thru the postings haha...so sad cannot join in the gatherings cos bb tommy still have a nasty cough. Been more than 2 weeks already and seen 2 different doctors and both said his lungs are fine and it's just a normal flu though he has no fever. but if you hear his coughing :p yikes. a lot of phlemg (not sure spelling)

anyway doubt that he would recover in time for national day gathering

Sleeping
Chelsea is a v. good sleeper. take 3 hour naps everyday and goes to bed at 9:30pm everyday. She can sleep thru bb tommy's hysterical crying! dunno how she does it kekeke

i did use some kind of cry it out method on her when she was about 6 mths. My hubby and i would take turns to go to her every 5 mins to let her lie in bed and put her pacifier in her mouth and give her her blankie...she took 2 days of crying, about maybe an hour or so, then she dozed off. After 2nd day, she slept thru the night ever since. of cos when she's sick, it's a different story lah

bb tommy on the other hand is a terrible sleeper! he gets woken up by the slightest noise :p and he is such a happy baby during the day but come nap time during the day but esp at night, he turned into this little monster just screaming away. i would rock him to sleep then but the goal is still for him to sleep on his own

AdelineL, abc
i think when our #1 was a easy baby, #2 is tough ya?
Like AdelineL #1 was easy !!.. but #2 also terrible. when my hp vibrates, she wakes up too!

jerejoy
hmm i think its controlled CIO method. That means, day one cry 10 min before carrying, then second day increase duration then slowly increase i think zac zac by third day, the crying not so intense and duration reduce quite a lot. I think CIO method can only be used for older children 6 mth and above when parents notice a pattern of the children and can differntiate the different cries. At older age, they are also more aware of their surronding and may be able to better comprehend what we are trying to teach them.

I know what u mean when u mentioned abt ur boy vomitting milk. When i was weaning zac off his pacifier, he also cried till he vomitted his porridge. Thats why my parents said i very heng xin cos i still persist to wean him off cos i believe once started there is no turning back.

Shirley, Adeline L,

Ya, my cousin also suggested to me using the Dr Ferber CIO method when he's 6 months old. Maybe when I really feel I can't take it anymore, I will ask u all for advice on how to do so.

Adeline,

My boy is a light sleeper too. He will wake up on the slightest noise at night. When he wakes up, I will hv to nurse him to coax him to sleep. If not, I will hv to stay awake with him for at least 2-3 hrs b4 he's willing to sleep again. OMG!

Adeline/Adeline L

hAHA mine is just the opposite! No 1 difficult to handle No 2 easier in comparison.

Adeline L
bb lele is similar to bb tommy, in the day she is always smiling and playful but when the clock strike close to evening, her crying mood started. I read somewhere that evening and night time is the busiest time for most household where the members are trying to complete numberous tasks like cooking, eating dinner, washing up etc. babies can feel our anxiety and does become cranky easier. Now i try to tell myself to relax more and at times it seems to work on her, she seem to be more calm. but haiz, its hard to stay calm when she is screaming at the top of her voice

Adeline L,
Long time no see too! Aiyo, how is your bb tommy? How long has he been coughing? Hope he wil be well soon. Recently, there are alotsa people sick. Think there is virus passing around. U wanna try going to Mt A hospital Kinderclinic? Dr Terrence Tan is very good.

Have anyone started brown rice for your baby?

My MIL wants to start giving bb the following when he turns 5mths old:-
1) brown rice (mixed with BM) once in morning ard 10am+
2) brown rice (mixed with BM) once in afternoon ard lunch time
3) porridge with fish / pork in evening.

Is the frequency too much?

serene : doc say give brown rice for my gal also.. cos' she abit underwgt. but have to start slowly. increase 1 spoon a day.

babe_dude
hehe, yupz, till we next meet then..to make a long story short, we discover she has a long haired bf whom my aunt said look like a drug addict lor, but her contract ending mid aug, so can sayonara then..

mummyboy
hehe..time flies indeed, i remember spending my 06 mooncake festival in confinement, and now #1 is turning 2
hehe, last year still must carry her to hold lantern..this year she can walk by herself
look forward to seeing my 2 kiddos holding lanterns next year..all our babies can walk by then

adelineL
poor tommy ! hope he recover soon

Serene
i think for a start, try with a single grain food to see if baby is eating well then slowly move on to other food and frequency. i started off zac with rice cereal once a day for 2 weeks and when i notice that he is eating well then i move on to twice daily. there is a 7 days guideline before introducing a new food to ensure that baby is not allergic to the food you introduce and if intro one at a time it will be easier to find out which is the food that ur baby may be allergy to. Another thing is that intro too many food in a day, bb may not be able to digest as their stomach is still nt very developed yet.