(2008/03) March 2008

Hello all .I new here just got in to this web ,anybody have 2nd hand car seat /strollers for sale
I would love to be a friend to all happy mummies

Hi Cloudme,

My son coming to 5 month already still drinking the Enfa AR too same here also of the vomitting issuse. The powder rather heaty do giv lots of water ,oh ya u can buy this auto machine milk mixer the product is from munckin cost $11.50 like that is useful,,cos lat time i have the same prob as u

Welcome Doris Quek!
Does it really help for the regurgitation? Cos i din continue it after my boy din like to drink.

Cloudme
Oh, my boy's PD also suggest to me to put one spoonful of cereal to thicken the milk so that it can settle down into his stomach better. You can also try that if you wanna.

Date: 9 aug 08 (sat)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Seng Kang - shirley home

1. shirley (host)
2. IsabellaLi (3 kiddos & a helper, maybe with hubby as well)
3. Serene n bb (hubby -TBC)
4. Adeline n kiddo (HB TBC depend on timing)
5. clover n bb
6. Ivy n bb
7. abcdisney n ABCs (donuts)
8. kate n Brendon

Date: 11 aug 08 (Mon)
Time: 4.30pm (not so hot)
Venue: bishan park (meet 4.30pm at kais void deck)
Activities: picnic (potluck)

1. kais n 2 maids n 3 bb
2. abcdisney n 2 kiddo
3. Adeline (TBC might go in law hse pack up)
4. clover n bb
5. kate, bb (fried rice)

Yutong

talking abt day off, there was an article abt this yesterday

Another forum letter on maids:

Maid's broken heart costs innocent boss 10k

"MY BROTHER'S maid was given a day off regularly. One day, he returned home to find her and his three children crying together. Upon probing, he found that her relationship with her boyfriend in Singapore had soured and she was so upset, she couldn't carry on with her duties.
He returned her to the maid agency who arranged to send her home. But he received a rude shock when he received a call from airport police saying she was behaving uncontrollably at the airport and had to be despatched to the Institute of Mental Health (IMH).

Now my brother's real ordeal began. His family had to arrange alternative care for their three children, even as they juggled with, as it turned out, futile attempts to seek help from the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), their Member of Parliament and the Philippine Embassy.

The problem dragged on for a month. Finally, the IMH agreed to release the maid on condition that there was someone to accompany her back to the Philippines. Fortunately, the maid agency was able to arrange for a Filipino with a paid return ticket to accompany her home.

Then came the shocker. My brother discovered the maid insurance he bought did not cover the maid's treatment and stay at IMH, which effectively meant IMH is not a recognised institution as far as hospitalisation is concerned.

The Ministry of Health should look into this and MOM should mandate that insurance policies provide some form of coverage.

IMH is now pressing my brother for payment. To add insult to injury, MOM sent my brother a letter reminding him of the penalties he faces if the maid is not repatriated.

Non-governmental organisations are pressing for a mandatory day off for maids. But when something horrible goes wrong through no fault of the employer, what kind of support can employers get?

They are often left to fend for themselves. Through no fault of his, my brother is saddled with a bill of almost $10,000 because of the maid.

Peh Poh Hua (Mdm) "

This link:
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_264654.html

dear ladies

thanks for ur advice..hehe, after consolidating all ur inputs, i will probably do this, anyway, our contract ends on 15 aug

1) book the airticket
2) dun tell her the exact date of flight (but i think she will sort of noe lah, since 15 aug is the last day)
3) ask her to pack early in the morning,put her luggage inside the car, then bring her to the shopping mall with me closely behind
4) after shopping, head for the airport
5) part on good terms

Re: Sending maid home

I was discussing with hubby yesterday about best way to send maid home should she misbehave. And I found out yesterday that the worst way was to "Suprise" her and let her know/send her off the same day. My hubby work with CAAS, and he told me there are many cases of maids hiding in Airport toilet, crying, and missing their flights. So guess what happen when they miss the flight? Authorities will trace back the employer and the maid is expected to be picked up by the employer.

So bbpink good idea parting on good terms.

Jumperoo vs Excersaucer

I bought a jumperoo but unfortunately my babies are not tall enough for their feet to touch the ground,even at the lowest level, hahahaha. The risk right now is that mummy eager to let them jump so "assist" the baby by bouncing them instead of them jumping. Bad idea - their feet is still in tip-toe position when suspended and the impact of the bounce may injure their toes. I plan to let them wear "shoes" while in it until they can jump with the ball of the feet instead.

I decided on a jumperoo instead of exersaucer was because I read somewhere before - this mummy have a baby who is very active and don't want to sleep. So she get a jumperoo and the baby loved it and jump and jump and spend all his energy. 10 minutes later he fell asleep and slept for a while! So based on that I get a jumperoo because I want them to spend their energy. Just like swimming!

1615101.jpg

lefthander

u mean even if we see them going in to stamp passport at the departure counter , if they dun take the flight, we are still liable?

geez

it has been such a long time! been really busy since coming back to work. barely have enuff time on my own and too guilty to surf at work coz taking a lot of time to pump as well.

rgd maid
babypink, pls check your maid's bags very thoroughly; heard from a fren who found money sewed inside the bras. another story told by my malay massuer who said this was reported in malay newspaper is a long trusted maid stole jewellery and hid them inside a cake box but forgot to bring to airport. the family later found out when cutting the cake

exersaucer
my fren passed me her safety first exersaucer coz her no 3 outgrown liao. all in all not bad coz also got space to put your own toys. ah boy too short, need to put a box or pillow below his feet, otherwise he wl be tiptoeing. too bad dun have music like petrina's leapfrog!

weaning
what food have you started to give ur baby? went for a class recently whic recommended brown rice cereal (best without milk contents coz too sweet). i m waiting till josiah turns 6mths before i start food tasting for him. hv let him lick some fruits b4 and he likes it! now he starting to show interest in our food coz we put him in the ikea highchair, he drools while we eat, hahaha!

jerejoy: aiyo.. then how? u also wake up n offer ur breasts till he fall aslp rite?
tats y i feel so darn tired every morning.. our boys drink abt the same freq..

melissa: i ever tried.. pumped both sides.. managed 300ml total..
then suddenly baby wanted to drink.
i latch, he suckle abit, delatch n yell.
tried again, same result.. both sides dry.

i kenna scolding frm hb tat nite.. i had to keep letting him suckle until i feel enuff *love* for a letdown.. then he can properly start drinking..
frm tat day on, i seldom pump le.

11 aug outing i very tempted leh so near my place! if this week i work from home and then sneak out to meet you gals. next week my boss back from business trip so cant

Belle mommy, to answer your qn on wind down time and also to benefit other mummies here..

Sleep Techniques
Children of all ages benefit from having time to relax before naptime and bed. Infants, toddlers and pre-schoolers often become overstimulated and restless, making it difficult for them to get down to the business of sleep. It? important to minimize stimulating activities before you expect your child to take a nap or go to bed. By introducing a "wind-down time" parents can help their children fall asleep more easily. For infants, this could mean singing a lullaby or gently rubbing their backs as you hold them before you put them in their crib. An older child may enjoy reading a story or listening to some mellow music after a warm bath.

wow... i realised i missed out sooo much!! hahaha ... been a while, haiz long story short.. hows everyone..

er.. bbpink..wats the prob with ur maid?? she is the one who works at egypt??

outing!! u guys be celebrating national's day together?? so cool!

JT,

i hope so. If nt, I will suffer if he has jet lag. Haha!

Petrina,

Ya lor.. Hv to latch him when he fidgets. Sometimes, I try to turn him to his right side and pat him to sleep. if he fidgets and protests, I will latch him if nt he will surely wake up and I will be in trouble cos he can stay awake in the middle of the night for 2 hrs! Chiam hor. Haha!

Babe_dude,

Glad to hear from u. Din 'see' u for a long time.

Clover,

Thanks on the info on sleep techniques. I think it's v true. I played with my boy last night (2 hrs b4 his bed time). He kept waking up every hr in the middle of the night. Faint!

jerejoy, tts so tirig. my boy wakes up for feed at least twice a night. if he still wakes up the third time, which he has for the past 2 nites, I asked my hubb to take over to carry him. I can't take it n will zzz immed, then feed him only when I wake up.

jerejoy: true.. i think what clover said.. cause i also experienced over stimulated son..
so difficult to slp.. scream n scream. cause tired but can't slp. nursing doesn't help..

my boy is sick again... so sianz. brought him to his birth pd this time. medi is good.. after medi, he drank milk, rested n coughed out some phelgm..

worth my $300.. haha *so heartpain to hear him cough... the real reason was he has sore throat.. how come babies can have sore throat?

babedude: welcome back... been busy? weaned successfully?

babe_dude & dreymin
been a long time
nice to see u both again..i oso cannot really follow the postings myself

babe_dude
tell u when we next meet ..

shirley
thanks for the tip abt Jetstar and explaining to me over the phone

babies pictures
hehe, pls keep the pictures coming

boon's chubby minnie mouse is really adorable, Ryan is so alert and lefthander's looks so cute as well

Posting pictures
hehe, with national day around the corner, shall we start posting our babies in red and white ?

Breastfeeding at suntec
hehe, i remember we wanted to go together..is it 23/8 or did i remember wrongly. Time is 430pm at suntec ?

e : jumperoo.
After 7 days in the jumperoo, my gal learn how to "jump" at call. she really go wild in it. My mil will say "jump" to her.. then she will dance wildy in the jumperoo. *so funny.*

re : Notti-ness
Constance becoming more and more playful and refuse to sleep. yesterday it took 3adults to coo her to sleep. 1 (my maid) to shake her rocker and 2 (my pil) to fan her. *machiam queen* She doze off at 1am. :| I heard baby turn to be more nottie ard 5-6 mths because they know more things. Are you all experiencing this also ?

RE: CARRIER
aiya.. Katechow , your beco spree come to late. I already order my ergo from babycentre.

Hi cloudme,
Nice to her from u
wher u staying? yes he is still taking now he started taking it when he was 2 month it help a lot ur son drink milk is it very fast ?

jgal
base on my #1 exp, seems like it is. haha..
when she reached 5 mths, refuse to drink milk and wanted to play all day long!! hahaha now my #2 also aiyoooo dun want sleep everyday!

bb's sleep
now my bb have a sleep schedule n he must hv his late morn/afternoon naps or he will be grouchy. thankful abt his sleep schedule so i can do my chores but I m wondering whether he sleeps too much!? haha.

Preloved Jumperoo at $160-Location Jurong
Any mummy keen to get pre-loved jumperoo, think it is abt 3 mth old. This mummy i emailed her so long ago and now then she replied. I told her i alreadi got mine from another mummy in woodlands. If u r keen, let me know and i'll pm her hp # for u to liaise w her.

hi doris,
i in the eastern area...
my ger drink milk fast often get choke...latch on also the same..haiz...and after burp will merlion her milk...

recently...add brown rice powder to her milk and better already...

she dun drink Enfalac AR but her cuz is drinking that...

so mil been comparing their milk intake...

Clover,
Sorry for late reply, was distracted by baby crying last night. Dun think can make it for National Day gathering as I have prior appointments. Have fun! BTW how is Alex? Has been a long time since we catch up.

simp, can let me know the number?

yt, the schedule is loosely fixed. like this morning he woke up ard 7:30am by 9am he was fussy, so I bath n feed him, now he's kangaroo sleeping on me. I usually let him nap ard 10 plus, 11am. he can really fight sleep n wan to play n play so I trained him by walking up n down the house in cradle pos, pet n rock him... then in a matter of few days' time, he will guai guai doze off. so now it reach the stage tt he must hv his nap.

clover,
glad to know alex has a routine, read a book sometime back that routines are good for children as they know what to expect and are less fussy to deal with.

dreymin
alex's doing well. going to let him take rotavirus n pneumoccocal when he wakes up fr his nap. haha...

yeah, long time boy, hope to see u soon!