(2008/03) March 2008

serene/ada hope yr bb get well soon. how did they get uti?

summerdaze, jia you to bring up the supply again.

jerejoy, my boy was like a fully charged battery too but I make him go on a sleep routine more or less, now can tell he gets sleepy near his nap or bed times. I wan him to sleep more for his growth's sake (n also grow fatter). hehe.

boon, yr felicia is so cute. hope to see the chubby minnie mouse real soon!

pancake, in yr professional opinion, is a jumperoo suitable for our babies?

chatting up with other mummies
I do that too. dun think its auntie act leh, or rather sharing of joy. I find mums with young babies more stressed up n doesn't seem approachable. I must hv been one of them.

melissa, when are u joining our gatherings? hehe.

Petrina,

V tiring hor.. Dun know when will they learn to sleep thru..

Reena,

I try to rock him or pat him to sleep for his naptime when he's tired but he will protest n cry. So now, I will bf him on bed till he's drowsy then I will pat him to sleep. Is there any ways to make him sleep without nursing him for naptime?

The only time I can make him sleep without nursing him is his bedtime routine. I will bath him, read stories to him, sing songs n rock him to sleep.

Clover,

I can only get his bed time routine right. As for nap time, still struggling sometimes, Haiz! He can stay awake as long as 5-6 hrs during his bad days.

clover
i have not come over any articles on the jumperoo, also have not seen any babies in a jumperoo to observe how it works. So unable to comment, sorry!

Personally i prefer exersaucer than jumperoo as feedback from ppl is tat jumperoo may cause injury due to jumps. Exersaucer did nothing but jus to let them stand.

Anyway regards jumpoeroo, exersaucer, my gf feedback is they only use till they r mobile eg crawling or walking. After tat it will be a white elephant.

Sep outing @ sentosa
too early so i din paste. Tentative date is 1 sep. To celebrate teacher's day. So SAHM n mums not workng (the teachers!) mark it down in yr calender.

I jus cant wait fro the announcement of the new bb bonus scheme. Hope they gv more bb bonus as well as childcare subsidy or maybe medical subsidy! I am very very tired and i am one who cannot leave my child to other ppl (maid or in laws). I really feel like going on 3/4 pay scheme which means a reduction in my pay salary... sigh... wat shld i do?

Linda,
hope your bb b better soon.

Chee Kiong,
gosh! hope the bb is ok. My heart sank when I saw your post...

Reena,
you really can bake leh... Do join us the next gathering bake some for us?

BB pink/ Melissa,
I like u will chat up wif mothers who has kids not only around my son's age. Kapo mummy... :p

BB pink,
I understand how you feel, you dun wanna to be seems 'cruel' afterall they worked n helped you before.

Maids, as much as they can help us, they can be headaches to us as well. Sigh...

My maid has been threatening every week that she wanna leave and not work wif me. She been comparing her ex employer how good how good. She has been working for them 6 years n alot of freedom was given to her. I mus admit that she is very good wif her work n really can work one lor. Recently, she asked for off days from me. She claim that the agency told her that she is entitled to off days every month once she transfer to work wif me. My hubby remembered that we told her that she dun haf any till she work her for a yr. She said the agency promised her that and for transfer maid its always the case to haf off days once the work for the new employer. She again tell me that she dun wanna work if she dun get any off days. Now we talked things out liao. Agreed that we give her a day off on the Hari Raya n this is out of the contract agreement.
Yesterday, I went NTUC with her. She jus grab watever she wans like her own brand of coffee, sanitary pads, biscuits, cakes and bot a pair of shoes. I paid her things for her. Do you gals suggest I should get her to pay herself? She hasn't show any signs she is paying me back.

Happymummy,
voted for ur girl.

Reena,
all ur pics of bread looks so tasty and make me wanna fire up my dusty oven. but got to find time.. my boy need attention most of the time when he awake.

walker
my IL suggested to use walker. i at kitchen tell my DH. I will reject all the way.

Simp,
thanks for playing and feeding my Hula.. haha.. 2wks back, no bones to buy food.. and see him hungry nothing to eat, i feel heartache..

afternoon nap:
my boy don't seem to sleep alot when he's home during weekends. i very worried. most is 1.5hrs for morning and afternoon. but at nanny hse he can sleep longer. sigh~

abc,
me oso waiting for the rally. last time totally not interested in rally.. now looking forward to it.. haha...

cpyt: maybe diff person different way of treating the maid. You can let her know it's different in your house lor.

For me, I bought for my maid coffee, sanitary pads, biscuits , cakes , shoes and alot of clothes. ha ha ha
And I even bought her 1 phone card to call home.. Cos' i pity her work so hard for so little money, and still have to spend on this kind of things. Even when we are at long beach or cystal jade, my maid eats with us.
but we portion for her.. she get her share of crab.

I guess is the way you chose to treat the maid lor. No right or wrong. So far my maid doing a good job for us. Her work def. worth more than the few hundreds that we are paying her.
I send my gal to childcare , it's $1600 it alot of saving to start with.

abc
i will join in! cuase i need to take leave as kim cant go sch on that day! hehee..

Reena
SUper mommy!!! ur food seems yummylicious! *Slurp*

Petrina,
I use Photoshop to edit the resolution and then the pics shrunk. Alamak... I'm an idiot in this lah...

bbpink,
I think you shouldn't tell her the exact date of departure. Very risky as you'll never know what she has up her sleeves. Hope everything turns out well for you.

boon,
Felicia is so chubby! And I thought mine is chubby, omg! Mine is 6.7kg at 4.5 months.

Breastfeeding,
Can eat almost everything, I never control my diet for all 3. If you want flavour in your milk, eat more garlic. Apparently, alot of bbs like ;-) Don't ask me why, I also don't know :p

My ds2 is a Reverse Cycle Nursing (RCN) bb. He doesn't like to drink from bottle, will drink at most 20ml each time to prevent himself from getting hungry while I'm at work. And when I return, he will indulge. Hahahaha!! So if you bb is not drinking well from bottle but still nursing well, there's nothing to be worried about. Mine survived ;-)

Lefthander,
I used to go IMM on weekdays as my working place is nearby. But now I'm a sahm, I don't go there often as I stay in the east, too far lah.

I'm not a good baker, I'm still learning. I'm a technical student and have never stepped into the kitchen to cook a simple meal until I delivered dd1 :p Now, must learn to cook and bake for the family.

Kais,
Thanks for the link, have added to my favourites ;-)

twinkelstars,
Let me know how the bread turns out for you ;-)

Clover,
For homemade bread, its best to consume on the same day, but this bread still remain soft on 2nd day.

Re : Jumperoo

My gal loves her jumperoo.
First of all , i bought the jumperoo with the purpose of freeing my maid to do household chores. My gal is very playful and need to be occupied all the time.
It took abt 4 hrs before she really enjoys it cos' she was abit scare of "falling off" at first.
We got to play with her in it for a few times before she can be on her own.
worth the money i would say.

reena: is there such a thing as RCN? so farni... mine also like that... then i'll engorged until siao...

yup, sg mummies idol... if u still staying in dover, i sure every other wk go *bai shi* frm u... hehe
my cakes/breads used to be good tasting, horrible looking.. keke
not idiot lah.. i also din noe until my hb taught me.. i also kenna he say i idiot.. hehe

jgal: my son n i love the jumperoo. but mil scared it dangerous as my son is like energizer battery.. keke
hb say not worth $$ cause jumperoo can only use till weight limit of 11kg.. my son already near 9kg.

summerdaze: better now?

redtea: i persevered. initially i rented an exersaucer to let my boy test. he enjoyed it. then i brought my mil shopping in toys r us with my boy. then mil saw how happy he was in exersaucer, she decided to buy tat instead of walker. win-win situation...

boon: wah... i tot my boy was michellin.. ur felicia... *kudos*
using stroller or baby carrier? haha

blueskies: ur boy also... i carry sure arm break. keke

Thanks Clover.
Jia Yi's fever has subsided ydy but we need to bring him back to PD for review today. PD also sent his urine and blood samples for culture test.

Hope he is fine and dun need to take anymore antibotics.

Shirely
I'm not sure if we can go for the gathering on 9 Aug. Got to see how is my bb's condition then. Will keep you informed.

Chee Kiong
Your PD told you tt unfinished milk can only leave outside under room temp for 1hr? I'm gg to chk with my PD later. I told can leave at room temp for ard 4-6hrs.

re: jumperoo..
orh.. got to add. My jumperoo only cost ~$160 cos' i ship back frm US. I planing to resell it off for $130 when my gal grow bigger.. my gal only 7kg now..ha haha

Reena: hehe...ur breads looks so tempting...maybe can learn from u...keke...
do u experience soreness @ the "v" area when sleeping on sides?
i do experience it leh...haven't got a chance to mention to Dr Heng TL(my gynae) @ east shore yet

petrina:
can share wif me which brand of exersaucer u get at what price?
i wanted to get one jumperoo and hubby said not worth it loh...so me change target liao...

Melissa,
I'm not supermom like you say *shy*. I feel that it's the commitment I have towards my family and plus the fact that I'm a sahm now, no monetary contribution so must do my part on other stuff, like feeding them well. I'm a lousy housekeeper, my house's in a mess and I'll rather sit in front of the computer then to pack/clean up. Actually, when I'm using the computer, I "stay away" from my kids and get some ME-TIME to maintain my sanity.

jerejoy,
I used to nurse mine in the sling then put her down so I can do my chores. But at times she'll wake up once I put her down and I've to start all over again. Now, I nurse her to sleep on the bed too so when she sleeps, I can leave her and do my stuff. The only prob is the 2 elder ones may disturb her while she's sleeping *eyes rolling*

Have you tried using the sling? DH just found out how wonderful the sling is and he's always offering to help me make dd3 sleep. I've used the sling since dd1 and when I see him carry until so siong (ie tiring for the arms), I asked him to try using the sling. He says so "ah-niah". Now, he can carry bb in sling and go buy newspaper hahaha

My bb doesn't have a fix nap time too. I just play by ear. Take for eg this morning, she woke up at 6.30am. At this age, she can stay awake for 2 - 3 hours easily. She was super cranky at 9am but just refuse to sleep even I nursed her. Finally, put her in the sling at 10am and in less a 15 secs, she konked out leow. She's still in my sling now ;-)

Sentosa's outing
As a sahm, I'll love to get out of the house! hahaha! But Sentosa is abit far for me. If DH's not in town, I will join since I can take the car.

Baby bonus,
Most bonus will come with T&Cs, let's hope it's beneficial to all.

Yutong,
I only showing the nicer pics and hide those ugly ones :p

Rgdg your maid, I think you should deduct the money from her salary. To me, it's not so much of the money but more to telling her not to take things for granted. If these are PERSONAL items, she has to pay for them. For my ex-maid, I pay for her personal stuff though (eg shampoo, shower foam, toothpaste, sanitary pads etc...). And if we're out together, if she wants to buy some junk food, I'll pay for her. But sometimes, I'll still let her pay. I don't want to give her the idea that when she's out with me, she can indulge and spend my money like her money. Basically, my maid is quite auto, she doesn't take me for granted which is the reason why I don't mind paying for her essentials. I think you have to judge the character of your maid. My gf's maid is like your maid, or even worst. Before my gf goes to the supermarket, she'll tell my gf what she wants my gf to buy and the phone card, she used up 2 - 3 cards within a week! My gf then told her she will not pay for the card anymore as the maid is abusing.

RedTea,
Pls do show us your bakes if you do find time to do so ;-)

Serene,

My pd said at most one hour gotto finish if not have to throw if baby already started drinking. i told her i put inside thermoflask with boiling hot water, but also cannot.

then again, because my baby stomach not so good so we're more precautious.

Clover,
I always put the "extras" into my freezer on the day I bake, the bread will still stay soft but on course, not as good as you eat it on the day itself.

Serene,
If you are talking about already drank and unfinished milk, you can only keep for up to 1 hour as it's already "contaminated" with bb's saliva and exposed to air.

Serene
Hope ur boy is feeling better. I understand abt nt joining, feel free to come if JY is better.

Yutong
My personal opinion is that when maid starts to negotiate, dont give in cos they will feel that they are indepensable which we shld nt let them feel that way. My maid is with us for 4 years and now knows how to negotiate. Recently she is going back to get married (coming back in Oct) and i told her i am going to withhold one month pay cos i dont want to renew her wp and then she decided not to come back then i lugi. She cried and was super upset but i dont care, she cant take us for granted. She also wanted us to pay for her domestic flight but i refused cos in the contract we only need to pay for her flight to jarkarta not for domestic flight.

But we reward her in other ways like giving her hongbao for her wedding. I guess u have to set ur own ground rules and be firm and consistent with it. I paid for her daily necessities but undergarment and clothes i said no. Phone cards also no.

Babypink
U not joining our gathering this sat? I bought jetstarasia to send her back to jarkarta, the other time i checked lionair not cheap lei after plus taxes. For jetstar, i paid around 249 including taxes for return ticket. one way ticket shld be cheaper.

maid
i am very fotunate to hv a good maid. I am one who can safely leave my kids with her n go to work without callign hoem to check. Buyign personal things, for me i woudl wan a win-win situation. I guess i would limit the $ spend on her personal things eg prob $20 every mth but if she exceed that amount she will hv to top it up. I agree with jgal abt getting phonecard fro them to call. Last time i use to be very scare fo maid using phone but i guess again we can gv them but limit it by giving them pre-apid card. Once u exceed, sorry u pay yr own.

Anyway guess some mummies with maid here goign to say i spoil market but i dun care. Hahhaa... i am bringing her to hol with us and pay for her expenses and also allow her to go home every yr abt 1-2 weeks to visit her family with all air tickets paid. And of cos salary as usual. My maid requested for off days before but rejected many times but she din insist la. But to reward her n pay her back i guess i would rather she go home n visit her family than to loitor ard lucky plaza or void decks. :)

Lastly maids r oso human... Oh btw shirley, i think it is our job to get them neccessities (rule from MOM).

beilin,

I didn't give my bb milk, if she cries in the middle of the night. Cause so many times I tried giving her milk, she either drink little or refused to drink. Sometimes, she would look at me and smile. So I think she wants me to play with her. I just petpet her and she goes back to sleep again. I also feed my bb abt 9 morning.

Petrina,
Yes there is such as RCN. Now my bb oso on RCN mode. She start waking up once at night now after enjoying a few months of sleeping through. Not complaining lah but now i think I need to start her on solids since she her 160ml feeds per 3-hrly doesn't seem to satisfy her. Starting her on solids this weekend! She'll be around 5 1/2 months oredi.

Reena,
In photoshop, use Image, Image Size and change width to like 600px or 400px and constraint proportion hor. Then go to File/Save As Web, use JPEG quality 50 (type that in) good enough already. This would result in a pretty compressed JPEG file size.

boon,
wow what a super chubby baby!!!!

babypink,
me no experience in maid but i think you're too nice to her. don't think that we're underpaying her. the kind of job that they do, doesn't need brain, only need to listen to instruction and do, so simple. if they can't do that one thing, means they're inefficient.

yutong,
once u give face to her, some maid can take advantage leh. better tell her from beginning, this is coming out from your pay. unless you don't mind then your maid very lucky lor kekeke.

clover,
if time is right and my girl can finally not scream when i drive i can join the gathering hehe.

abc,
You are just like me. When my maid was still working for sister, I also pay for her trip back to JKT. I reward her because my sis was helping me to look after dd1 then but the maid did most of the bb sitting job. And since I'm paying my sister for bb sitting, I appreciate her maid too so I give her hong baos or pay for her return trip to her hometown. My sis pays alternate yrs so I pay the other alternate yrs. So when she goes back, she doesn't need to pay a single cent.

Melissa,
Thanks! Let me try it again.

melissa: i tried solids.. but my boy still can't swallow well. cause my breasts r drained if i stay at home all day. eg - he drinks 2hrly in the day and 2-3hrly in the nite. 5mths this sunday..
he always scream with eyes shut.. refused to open eyes no matter what i do until i stuff my nipple into his mouth.. after he start suckling then he'll open his eyes n chuckle.. day & nite same.
so i dunno if he's really hungry or juz wanna play.
i pinched my nipple to check if there's enuff milk. i scared he treat it as pacifier n no milk juz suckle for comfort.. cause it feels very empty.

my boy's tummy very bloated.. not sure if there's air in his tummy.. he seems to cry alot more these 2days.
i pass it off as 7th mth.. hb say i paranoid..
any other reasons y he wakes up every hr frm 7pm onwards?

Thanks all.

Back from PD, she said the same thing, consumed but unfinsihed milk can only keep in rm temp for 1hr. I have informed my MIL abt it.
Jia Yi needs to continue on antibotics and PD will inform us on the culture test to cfm the cause.

Maid issue,
thanks for sharing all your advices n experiences.
I guess there is no hard n fast rule about it. I think I will go by my own instinct lor. Basically, if you dun feel that things are rite for you or you dun feel good about it, you will act according to it as long as its within the law.
Its jus like taking care of your kids. Every parents have their own ways of taking care n discipline their own kids. Nobody can say its rite or wrong cos its their child cos its their own child.

cpyt : also depends on how dependent you are on your maid, also. If you are relying on her to take care of your baby, muz make sure she is "happy" all the time.
Dont want her to go crazy and treat your kids badly in the night or when you are not ard.
You need to have a good talk with her abt the leave and allowance issue. Its not so much of a law thing. Its a matter of how she feel when she's working with you.

Just like when we work. If we like our boss, even when there is alot of shit work, we still do for him. When we dun like our boss, we always want to take leave and stay home :p.

I was very lucky. My maid was transfered from another family who work her like a dog. 3 kids + keep all her money. She was working from 6am to 1am daily and she lost 10kg within 1 mth. So when she was with us, she is very grateful to us.

Petrina: wow...it's color...oh...ur boy seems to be enjoying...

abc:
what is the make of ur exersaucer?
can teach me how to order wif shipping? necessary to have credit card or IB for purchase?

cloudme: ya.. i tried the safety 1st exersaucer. the toys r too far for him to reach. and not much music.. so i decided on leapfrog.

petrina,
me wanna get the jumperoo initailly. but then HB said don wan.. and somemore i have been spending alot lately.. so drop. then last sun, we went taka and saw a exersaucer, almost wanted to put my boy in it.. but HB said too dirty.. but he seem interested to get.. but then i not very interested. haha...

anyway i trial my boy in a bumbo, almost when he sat in it.. he start biting the seat. and the seat is so dirty. yuck! anyone who was at taka last sun ard 5-6pm shld have heard my boy scream away in the nursery. hee..

Reena,

I dun have a baby sling but I hv the baby carrier. Maybe I'm too rigid in my schedule therefore I will burst out if he doesn't meet my schedule. Now trying to be more flexible and dun be too hard on myself and my DS.

I really admire u leh. U can still bake bread and so many nice food. Yummy! I lost touch on my baking stuff even since the day he's born. However, it's still worth it. I enjoy being with him everyday though there are times I really want to bang myself on the wall. Haha!

RE: feeding
any mummies put those instant "si sen brown rice powder" into bb milk?
my ger will only reach her 4th mth this friday...

is it too early to start?

any bb here drink enfalac AR for regurgitation? is it true that this formula have like "rice powder" in it?

Petrina,

Same here on the crying part! When he wakes up in the middle of the night crying, he will nt open his eyes no matter wht I do to pacify him until I offer him my breast. I'm still feeding him every 2-3 hrs. Night time, he will wake up 3-4 hrs. After 6am, it's every hr till he wakes up on his own.

No wonder I find more wrinkles on my face now. Haha!

Petrina,
Your breasts is never truly empty lah. Sure got at least 1oz if pump every hour. During the evening, babies like to suck for comfort. My Tricia oso like that. She will turn cranky if I didn't latch her every hour at night even though she just had her 160ml EBM feed an hour ago. Maybe she miss me lor kekeke.

cloudme,
my PD recommended Enfalac AR cos he regurgitate alot. PD gave us one tin to try. I dunno is it rice powder but its very hard to dissolve in water and my boy is too impatient to drink it.

Later, I realise ways to reduce his regurgitation. You gotta be careful on the way you hold him. Jus carry him in a upright position for ten minutes after his milk. I would put one side of his face on my breast n the same side of his hands under & behind my armpit. Dunno you know wat I meant. Also, dun let him have too much movements during n after his milk. Hope it helps.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">1</font> New Pink leapfrog littletouch leappad for sale. who want ? old price $49.20

Crystal,
I jus past by your house jus now. Wondering can collect the cubes liao. Think vibes being sent to you! Or you sent the vibes to us. Those who know what I meant its Law Of Attraction! Kekekekeke....