(2008/03) March 2008

babymouse..

mine also 4.5mths old.. my boy will cry for milk every 3hrs.. but then will want to play n "talk" when drinking or dun seems interested to drink..but I notice he will not finish his milk at every alternate feeding..so now I feed him first milk time with 180ml and then 160ml for his next milk time.. then follow by 180ml then 160ml again..so far seems ok.. and he sleeps at 11plus 12 also.. wake up 9plus in the morning.. but if he cries for milk at nite I will still give him his milk..

i kpo and trace back to the history :p

Amazing, wat a coincidence for Reena and lefthander !

Reena just mentioned she saw a malay couple handling triplets in this thread and they come fr the same forum !

hehe..lefthander, if i see u, i sure will kpo and talk inside the lift with u, even though u r a complete stranger..

do u ladies have this habit of chatting up mummies with bbies or kids esp those that look as old as our own ?
i now very auntie liao..see babies in lift will smile at them, then kpoly ask parents, how old is ur bb

kais

if only he will. heard my wife said from 3pm he refused to drink until now. my wife just came back from work, going to latch him on, hopefully he drink enough.

Just now as i came back from work, saw an ambulance below at 232 Bishan and a granny rushed to it with a baby ard 3mths i think. the paramedics carried the baby and it seemed not to be moving. Hope everything well!

Petrina,
No disciple lah.. you are one amazing woman too ;-) And I don't do 100% housework too, dh's incharge of sweeping and mopping the house daily. Of course, if I can squeeze in some time in the day to do it, I'll help him cos by the time he comes home, quite late already. Plus he just got a transfer to do regional, will be travelling more often so I need to get used to doing the chores all myself.

jerejoy,
When I had my #1, I also struggled. With #2, I had a maid. But once you have #2, #3 is no longer a problem as you already get a hang of parenthood. #3 onwards will be a "breeze", not as tough. Just that the older ones will "kill" you.

Also, try not to force him to suck and sleep. I made this mistake and ds#2 refused to nurse anymore after that.

My bb is with me 24/7 since I'm a sahm. DD1 goes to kindy from 8am - 12pm so I'll try to do all my marketing in the morning (only need to handle ds2 and dd3). If I were to bring all 3, I'll be screaming after them. Also, I need to fetch dd1 from school on certain days so will have to bring bb out. Among all my 3 kids, dd3 goes out most often. And we also make it a point to go out every weekend, more for the 2 elder ones since they're home most of the time. Sometimes I'll bring them to the playground or to the void deck to ride bicycle just before dinner. Very siong since I have to manage 3 plus the bicycle. But bopian, they need some fresh air.

Isabella,
Yes, very tiring esp when kids have fever as I need to wake up every few hours to check the temperature.

All my kids are not on walkers, I never like the idea of putting them inside.

bbpink,
ya, now i also very auntie le. i see babies about my baby's age. will chat abit. ask how old ar and comment abit.
hee~ saw this boy during the baby swimming session @ hwa xia with very thick hair.
i tot he is abt my gal's age or older. turned out he is only 3 mths old.
my gal was being massaged at the same time as him on the same table.
she got restless and kept moving her body and legs towards him like trying to kick him. almost kick him. very naughty!
in the end, the lady had to shift her further away from the boy half way through the massage.

Lefthander,
What a small world!! Yes, it's me at IMM on Sunday morning! Wow, you are amazing! No helper? Just the two of you with 3 kids?

Was I really fierce? Hahahahaha... If not fierce, they not scare leh... Always give me nonsense esp dd1. And I was rushing for time that day lah :p

Melissa,
Do you buy 4D/Toto? If not, can try this week, hahaha!

JT,
Hope your child don't end up like me, BIG headache. So many pple commented she behaves more like a boy than a girl!

jerejoy,
Forgot to mention in earlier post. If he refuse to sleep, you let him play for a while more then coax him to sleep. That's what I always do. I used to be so stressed up when it's her nap time but she refuses to sleep. In the end, I vent on my 2 elder kids. Not a good sign. Now, I just let my bb play for a while more, sometimes up to 1 hour more. Then she'll cry to tell me she's very sleepy now. Just like now, she woke up at 4.30pm, supposed to sleep at 7pm but she's still awake now!

dreamlife,
I used to have Giabo machine but the baking function died on me. Now I have a Bluesky, Carrefour's housebrand. With Giabo, I use it mainly to knead only since I have a maid then and I can do "pattern" using conventional oven. But with 3 now, I don't have much time so now bake mainly loaf breads in the bread machine itself. I use quite a few recipes for loaf. If you're interested, let me go dig it out and post for you. I'm still a novice baker, as long as can eat and the family's not complaining, I think it's ok lor.

Babypink,
You are also into bread making? I thought it's healthier lor, as since I don't use preservative/bread improver etc....

I didn't know the couple ie Lefthander was with triplets until they stepped out of the lift. I was busy scolding dd1 :p I'll talk to her too if I had realised they are with triplets earlier ;-)

Simp
yupz, b4 having #1, i never ask pple these kind of qns inside lifts

Aly
this 3 month old boy must be very huge

hehe, babies are so cute

chee kiong
i sure hope the baby is fine ! seeing this kind of things make my heart sank

Reena
hehe, after seeing ur post, i feel so motivated , #3 is a breeze is very encouraging

bbpink,
quite big. same size as melody. he is very gd natured. he really enjoyed his swimming n massage session, unlike my gal, she whined throughout the whole massage. hungry le.

Reena

hehe, cos i very copycat lor, 3 years ago..got to noe a group of ladies whom i work on a project with, see people buy, i also buy 1 ..think they got from phoon huat

i think i used less than 12 times in 3 years

so far have baked raisin bread and cranberry bread

think self-made bread is more time-consuming and costly :p

Maid Advice

my maid wana do shopping b4 she goes off..i too heart soft, can't bear to send her away out of the blue, so letting her return in the middle of the month when she gets her pay

so is lion air the best place to book ticket to jakarta ?

Indo 139,000 is ok ornot ?

babypink,
Yes, be assured =)

Since we're on the topic of breadmaking, I'll like to share some of my bakes ;-)

Hokkaido Milk Bread
1612168.jpg

1612163.jpg

Pretzels
1612164.jpg

Mock Bee Sting Bread
1612165.jpg

Sweet Bread
1612166.jpg

bbpink, omg! heart soft is no excuse! if she's my maid, I WILL send her back straight away! which fr wat u told me, she already totally deserves to be let go! wat still allow her to shop? she can shop all she wants in hk! sorry, but I find this out of my acceptance range.

hihi any mommy using Similac formula powder?
I have brand new unopened 400g tin of Similac 0-6mths powder.
Want to exchange it away asap- a packet of L size MamyPoko diapers would be nice. =)
PM me if interested, thanks.

bbpink,
What about your maid? I must have missed that posting.

If she had done something bad (ie stole, lie, disregard safety of family member), it's not advisable to keep. Like my CL, I sent her home on the 6th day, no questions asked.

Clover,
I don't have a blog, no time for a blog lah... I can post the links for them here though. Let me search for it first.

Showing-off mode turned on :p

Cranberry bread
1612230.jpg

Homemade Ice Cream
1612215.jpg

Madeleines
1612226.jpg

Char Siew
1612246.jpg

Oatmeal Bread
1612231.jpg

Puff pastry
1612227.jpg

Pak Tong Gor
1612216.jpg

Reena

ur bread look very yummy ! ur kids are lucky

and u were asking abt my maid ..
mine left my mum with the 2 kids without permission , said she needs to buy something for a quick while and disappear b4 my mum can even response

the quick while becomes an hour plus

my aunt saw her behaving intimately with a long hair man a few bus stops away

so far we din confront her.

initially i was very worried and wanted to send her away..

but my boss needs me to clear some projects and i could not take 2 week leave at one shot

anyway, my new maid could only arrive in aug

so i took leave on and off, ..to keep watch on her and to relieve my mum when she needs to go out

arranged to have new maid in mid aug , the current maid wants to go shopping to buy clothes and hps for family members b4 she flies off

reena, can't see the pic.

bbpink, u dun need to fulfill her request leh. she is the one who is in the wrong, violates yr family's trust n doesn't realise wats good for her. pls go thru her belongings just before she leaves hor.

bbpink,
OMG!! A pity you can't take leave, else should have sent her home the very next day! Or at least send her back to agent.

You mean you told current maid you'll be sending her off? I wouldn't if it was me. Don't want to pre-emp her and give her time for hankie-pankies. And yes, pls go through her stuff before she leaves. One of my gf told me, her maid hid money (a few pcs of $50) in her jeans. Not in the pockets ok, it's INSIDE the waist bend area.

clover,
I was still resizing the pics. Don't know why I'm always prompted my pics are too big but I see other members can post bigger pics leh...

maid's woe
tomolo I will hv a nice talk with my pt help. not only I find her cleaning getting a bit sloppier, she took non-valuable stuff from my house without my permission, then going through my hubb's messy study desk unnecessarily and she ate my food tt I cook for my own lunch! all the small things add up. have to feedback to her n also let her know I m observing her... haizzz

reena

yupz, she is asking me when i am buying the airticket

i haven tell her the date yet cos i have yet to book also

agent asks me to hold on till she confirm new maid arrival

reena: it's the pic pixels & resolution... not really the size..
i use microsoft image editor.

bbpink: ya. be careful. dun tell her the exact date. send her off the same day is better. so she can't pre empt u.

bbpink,
An acquintance I know did this. The maid also violated the trust and the owner didn't say anything. The next morning (which happened to be a weekend), the whole family went out as usual, with the maid. When they reach the car, Sir said he forgot something so he went home to pick it up while the whole family and maid waited in the car. When the Sir came back, he carried a luggage with him. And yes, he helped the maid to pack her essentials and off they went to the airport!

Reena: the bread look veri tasty.

Re:bb feeding
Felicia nowadays seldom cry for milk. we juz continue to feed her abt 3.5-4hrs interval..somehow she will rem she's hungry & cry only when we put her in the feeding position. my fil tries to instill a fixed schedule for her & it seems to work ok.

Re:BF diet
last time my lactation consultant says dun need to especially avoid food as long as is nutritious for mum n bb. she say mummy eats variety then bb also can have variety.. greater exposure.. I continue to indulge in chilli & durian.. in fact felicia seems to like "durian milk" wor. fil says she burps got durian smell. haha.

Yesterday she juz have her 5th mth 6-in1 jab. luckily no fever. now she weighs 9.14kg & 68cm

her recent photo 2 share:
1612328.jpg

bliss_gal:
she was 3.14kg at birth. not too heavy.. juz that her weight shoots up after 2nd mth when she went thru her growth spurt. since then she's hovering between 90th & 97th percentile...

yeah.. boon.. your gal very cute
btw, when you want to collect your discovery ball ?

babypink : i dun think it's a good idea to let her out to shop. I heard of 1 case where the maid took the employer's belongings and "pawn" them before she left. The employer only realized later. think the maid remitted/send out all the "stolen" stuff of the house before the departure date.

lefthander

i TOTALLY understand. taking public transport is out of the question during peak hours. how abt our next gathering at sentosa during the sept hols

hi bbpink,

my colleague packed the luggage for the maid while putting the maid at her mum place,then with luggage in the car,she go over to her mum's place to pick up the maid then off to airport

mommyboy/redtea/cheekiong
ur babies are referring to rejecting milk from bottle right? my bb also same, he only wants to latch.
Changing bottle/ teat/ method of giving milk/ switching between FBM&EBM all failed.
Now the only way to get him to drink is by spoonfeeding.
It works. he's curious and will take BM by spoon. Can finish 4oz in 10-15mins without much fuss.
Also i think now babies are more mature and their gut can digest more breastmilk. Hence they can feel fuller and last longer with the same amount of breastmilk. And also can have different levels of hungry-ness through the day and sometimes can do with a smaller feed.
And its ok to eat chili if u've been eating it so far. I eat a lot of chili. Also been eating durians almost daily for the past 2mths (durian season mah, cannot resist, and durian is also supposed to be very nutritious). My boy still ok and full and thriving on TBF. He can even watch me eat durian while BF at the same time. LOL =) I also believe if the baby gets a taste now of what we eat, he'll be more interested in different tastes in future. =)

Baby walker
I think many threads ago we were discussing this.
Using walker actually is no longer recommended. Related to the high rates of injuries sustained by babies using walkers, and it also delays walking, as well as the baby having an abnormal gait initially when learning to walk.
Instead, use a stationary activity centre such as an Exersaucer is recommended instead.

Summerdaze
Keep massaging and latching on on the side with your blocked ducts! Its the best way to clear ducts and keep supply up! I also got same problem, have had episodes of mastitis and blocked ducts. Constant massaging and latching on is really important!

Hi Reena,

It was Sunday morning and IMM is often packed on weekends...so that's why hubby and I use babycarrier each and 1 stroller only. Usually like that ppl do not notice that we have triplets. On other non-busy days, we'll use the twin stroller and another single stroller. We often go IMM - you also ah? I am thinking when the babies are walking(or more likely running..)we'll probably use the child harness, hehehe. That will sure attract unwanted attention yah? A parent using a child harness already stands out, imagine using 3 harnesses on 3 children! Sure I'll be labelled a cruel mother!

We have a maid but we seldom bring her out with us. We enjoy our "private" family time. The 2nd reason we seldom bring her out was becos last time we did bring her to shopping centre with us, then I want to buy a top that I need to try on, so hubby carry 1 baby, maid sit with the 2 babies in stroller; ppl keep approaching her and ask her about the babies. Hubby unhappy with me, say that she look like the mother and put him in a very uncomfortable position.
We used to make do without a maid- tried for 3 months. It was an experience. I mean everyone survive: just that house is dusty and laundry not folded and kitchen is barely clean. I mean it was like that even before the babies arrived (hehe!!) but with the babies we want them to be in a better environment. When the maid arrives and start doing the chores THEN I realise how tired I was. Am much happier now cos I get to spend more time with the babies and no need to wash millions of bottles anymore, hahahahaha.

With regards to your baking: I better not let my husband see this page cos ah he might think 'see ppl SAHM do nice baking...what about his wife'...hmmmm.... but seriously, now I am DOUBLY impressed! You have reached idol status liao! You're my Idol!!!! *kow tow*

lefthander77 .. agreed with you
Reena.. you have reach the "singapore mummie idol" status.. really impress with how you have handle your daily work and your babies.
me give up after 1 mth confinement. ha ha ha

Babypink,

I agree with the rest - you are TOO NICE! Go shopping???!!! What nonsense! And don't mean to scare you but if you let her know departure date or let her go shopping she might run away. Lagi headache. But what's done can't be undone. Since she already know that she'll be send home just try your very best to not let her go out at all till then. That's what I think.

Simp
I also feeling hungry after all the talk on breadmaking! Torn between getting breadmaker and icecream maker! Drool....
Esp with Bittman's No Knead Bread phenomenon...

Babypink
I wouldn't give my maid much warning. Just tell her on the morning that she's to go- give her time to pack and then send her off. U dunno what trouble she can get into in between....

reena

waaa..your home-made bread looks really good
i'm really really impressed... hmmm...puts me to shame cos i think i'm only good at joining sprees and bps...kekeke
i think i need to go to the kitchen more often and learn more on cooking and baking...i'm really very motivated by you...shall try the hokkaido bread receipe this weekend
will really really try...let ya know how it turn out

linda
hope ada gets better! it really pain us when our kids are sick....
but dun worry, think babies are little toughies!

reena, the hokkaido milk bread looks most appealing to me. any idea how long can the bread keep? coz most likely I hv to finish most of the loaf myself.

Woah you girls are active at night wor!

the coincidence of Reena meeting Lefty, that's just my maternal intuition. not buying toto/4d lah. not worth it. won't get rich one lar. haha!

Reena, you supermom, inspired but most of us can't be like you leh. you must be really passionate about those things to be able to do it while handling 3 kids alone. some things has got to give right?

babypink, i'm an auntie too. i'll chat with strangers when they have kids my kids' age. nice isn't it. i laugh at myself over the transformation too but hey pple grow up. i think singaporeans are generally uptight so i think it's great to let loose and enjoy life with little things like that. we don't just make our day, we make their day as well.