(2008/03) March 2008

jerejoy
no lah!! it's normal that dun slp thru lor.. dun feel stress!! eventually they will.. my girls all co-sleep with me when baby leh..

Adeline,

When did yr gals sleep on their own bed? I dun know when shld I start to train him to sleep on his bed. He can only sleep for at most 30 mins in his bed.

jerejoy me too, latch him on to sleep. tried also to let him sleep on his own but had very bad results i tried for 3 days but heart so pain that i decided to let him wean of on his own.
haha his feeding, time so woke up.

this is his routine
4.30-5am feeding till fall back to sleep.
7am feeding
8.30am snack feeding(5-10min)
8.45am bath
9.30am feeding
10am morning nap
11am play, watch baby einstein, flash cards
12.30pm feeding
1pm nap
2.30 feeding
3pm play, watch baby einstein, flash cards
5pm feeding
5.30pm play, watch baby einstein, flash cards
6.45pm bath
7.30pm feeding
8pm sleep
9.30pm feeding
10pm play
11pm latch on to sleep

after this the routine starts again.
all the feeding are direct latch on. as i am a sahm. but will be starting part time work next week. but work time is 10am to 2 pm. so there will be a feed that is bottle.

jerejoy

i wish i can do so too
to latch on demand

==============

right now, i am latching on whenever i am with bb. Only if I am working, then i will express..
after 4th month, the feeding schedule is more fixed. like evey 2 hrs
and he is more easily contented..no more bottle feeding at night

jerejoy:
relax... they will outgrow it... My youngest bro used to be like that. He cant sleep without my mum, then at sec 3, suddenly... u beg him he also don wana sleep with my mum lah. hhahahaa

ah yo, ur gf's 3 yr old son reminds me of my cousin who just turn 1 year old. My aunty try to wean him cos she had to go out to work. He "tahan" all the way until my aunty returns home then he rushes to drag her into the bedroom, push her onto the bed and crawl onto her to latch. My aunty was telling my mum "I feel like a cow.... in demand for milk". hahahaha *err... I also don wan that to happen to me*

jerejoy
kim still co-sleep with me.. hehe.. in fact she love using me as pillow. i just let her be.. as for kath, she sleep beside me.. so i'm between both girls..

liyun
ya my neighbour's son also like that.. 4 years old still same.. is it all boys like this? i think not good lor..

wow. the forum moves so fast!! so much to catch up :p

i also latch BB to sleep at nite then put her in cot when she's asleep. find it so much easier to coax her 2 sleep this way. pacifier & yaolan works most of the time too juz that we dun wanna let her sleep in yao lan at nite. never succeed to let her sleep on own cot when she still awake..

so envy u all can meetup during weekdays! my working hrs not so flexible..

me also going to paw walk with hb & bb. like to meetup with u all

So these are the mommies going to walk. We shall meet at outside the skating ring.
1. Yu Tong, hubby, BB n maid (9746 1185)
2. Mummyboy, hubby, mum n bb
3. Alethea, hubby n 2 x bb
4. RedTay n bb
5. Isebella , 2 boys n helper
6. boon, hb, bb

wat time u all gathering huh? how 2 recognise each other? u all already noe everyone?

abc:i msn u le. u sms mi if u still wanna go?

btw actually never venture out much with bb b4.. how u all plan 2 feed bb when out huh? anyone bring ebm?

so far all mummies got bring bb out alone? i a bit "failure".. so far never dare 2 bring her out myself coz afraid cannot "control" her.. only alone with her at home at most..

Jasmine,

Thanks for sharing yr bb's routine. Seems that yr bb also can stay awake for v long..My bb can stay awake for 6 hrs! That's the longest (from 9am-3pm). Now I'm training him to sleep at 1pm. He sleeps only for 30 mins. The nx nap time will be from 4-6pm. I will hv to latch him in lying position and sleep with him so that he can sleep peacefully for 2 hrs.

Admire u leh.. I can't wake up so early.. I will get out of bed only at 8am plus.. Other than that, I will keep latching him to make him sleep.

Liyun
wow..all the way till sec 3 !

Jerejoy
hope u dun have to go thru tat for another 15 years :p just kidding

actually, after they fell asleep, we can sneak off..went thru that with kelicia
we always fake our sleeping until when she fell totally asleep, hb & me will wink at each other & high 5

boon
hahah i can go out with 2 kids alone. So to start off come out with me first la since we stay so near!

simp
We are already planning next yr june/dec to perth or HK. Hhahaha...

bbpink,

I actually use yr method. I ebm n fed him at night. Still latch him on after that, if not he can't fall asleep. He drinks 125 ml from ebm and I dun understand why he still keeps waking up... Haiz!

Liyun,

Ya, I agree with u. I dun want this to happen to me too. I think when he gets older, I will hv to wean him off my breast. My frd can wake up in the morning with his son lying on top of her and latching on her breast. I dun want my boy to latch on me when he's so big already. He will sometimes peep at us when we go to try our clothes at the changing room. I think he's too used seeing his mum half naked or naked (they bath together) and tot that it's normal to go peep at us too. I really dun want my son to do that.

Adeline,

I'm worried my frd's case will happen to me if I co sleep with him. Dun know if it's discipline issue or not...

bbpink,

I will faint if it takes another 15 yrs. Haha! Yr hubby & u so cute. I also heard from my frd who fake their sleep too. Will hv to wait another 1-2 yrs before I can wink n high 5 at my hubby too. Hehe!

Angeline,

Yes, he is a boy. That's why I feel disgusted.. So I tot of training him to sleep on his own and on his bed. But seems he's too young to understand. Maybe I will try later..That's why I dun know if it's discipline issue or latching on issue...

jerejoy
i tot the reason is boy too....mebe he would get embarass and so wean on own? If the training get frustrating now, you could try wait a while at a age he would better understand?....

Adeline
plug and play...haa....
but with a nursing shawl, really makes latching n bf a breeze, else kept running to nursing rm or toilet...very inconvenient...esp when dining...

boon,
actually it's a lot easier to go out alone with a BF baby. you can bf anywhere with a nursing top, they're really discreet. i prefer to carry them in my baby carrier instead of stroller. unless i'm going to be bringing a lot stuff home, the stroller can come in handy. it's also a lot easier if u drive. they don't yell for attention when placed in the car seat. not like my terror two! cannot tahan her yelling!

jerejoy,
hehe understand your fear based on your friend's experience. ideally one should breastfeed up to 2 years and not more. after that BM will no longer provide any nutritional value for the toddler. but actually i find it not easy to sustain breastfeeding up to even a year. my #1 prefers solids over BM when she was introduced solid. some babies will also wean themselves from BM before 2. it really depends on their lifestyle and personal preference. you can also choose to TBF your baby for up to 6 months or 1 yr or even 2 yrs. did i share with you that my aunt is a SAHM who practised ecological breastfeeding and she only had her menses after she weaned her at 2 years old? her baby is of perfect weight too. salute her man.

Adeline K, babypink, Angeline,
I used the fake sleep method for my #1 but usually my hubby will sleep first and wake up in the morning!! Hahahaa.. backfired and sabo myself only!!! Kakakakakaaaa!

Jerejoy
I had the same sentiments as you with regard to boy latching when they are older. But i think you dont have to stress yourself too much as our babies are still very young to understand so much. You may want to start to wean off from your breasts after you intro solids? That is what i did for my boy cos at least i know he has sufficient and not crying becos he is hungry. Right now it may a bit difficult to determine if they are sucking at the breasts for comfort or hunger. My PD was telling me that babies around 7-8 month can dont wake up for night feed.

Dont take other pp comments too seriously, my parents also tell me "notti is good cos u know there is nothing wrong with him" every baby is unique and temprement can be very different. just do ur best to raise and bond with him, things will become better.

<font size="+2"> Anyone wants Oldnavy/Gap? email me to by friday. </font>

I need to get sleepsuit. Love their sleepsuit cos very thin

hi jerejoy
don't feel guilty about yourself or your baby waking up to latch.
I am also TBF my son and face the same problem as you. He was quite an ok sleeper (wake up 1-2xbetween 7pm-7am) until a few weeks back he suddenly strted waking up every 2hrs (i think maybe a growth spurt?)
Then he never got back into his old routine and now still wakes up every 2-3hrly especially after 1am at night.
I suspect his 2hrly waking has become a habit but i'm also at a lost as to what to do. Sleep training doesn't work- or at least i'm too much of a softie to let him suck pacifier or cry it out. I'll just feed him- usually within 5mins he'll be asleep already (so i suspect e's not actually hungry, just want comfort.) Sometimes can even fall asleep with me cradling him (takes longer). My previous method of pretending to sleep beside him doesn't work anymore. He's too smart now. haha.
Anyway my hubby complains more than me about all the night wakings! i'm very ok with spending some quiet moments with him in the middle of the night. i think i'll just sleep train him next time when he's older to understand. It's nice knowing that your baby wants you around to feel secure. =)

jerejoy
hehe, i oso think u will probably "fall off ur chair" when u see liyun's post abt until sec 3 :p

Shirley
i agree with ur parents totally ! the part on "notti is good cos u know there is nothing wrong with him"
i saw this lifestyle magazine in May 2008 . Some mummies contribute their feeling on this day and i was very touched when i saw this line that she wish her child is notti cos he is too sick to be..

travelling overseas
wow, saw simp post &amp; abc post..dun forget to jio me hor
unless i m tied down with events assigned to me, otherwise i would love to go as well

melissa
hehe, sometimes when i am very very tired, i am the 1st to fall asleep as well..

would like to check anyone got Carpal tunnel syndrome? Basically is the median nerve at the wrist being compressed, leading to pain, paresthesias, and muscle weakness in the forearm and hand.

I'm suffering from it for both my hand after giving birth. Was wondering if any mummies have it too.

pancake,
what your boy is doing to you is similar to what i experience with my terror two when she was a baby. she began to sleep through the night at 2 months on TBF. Then when i started going back to work, she does that 2-hrly night waking which became a routine. i take it as a reverse-cycling process of breastfeeding where she prefers the breast over the silicon teats for feed and comfort. it took a few months before she started to sleep through the night again. but i didn't have to wait for that long. i think by 7 mth onwards she slept through the night and never have to wake up unnecessarily again. i tried to train her the way you did but in the end, it's best to let them decide. if they're happy then i'm happy too.

talking abt weaning..i just expressed 30ml of milk..sigh* really dun noe how long my milking career can last

the last output is 1130am..so alto 4 hrs have passed, it is only 30ml..

i stay inside that room so long until i paiseh and still 30ml..

hi mommies
for those of u bottle feeding, which brand teats are softer or your baby prefers?
My boy now refuses bottle x1+month already... we're trying to get him restarted so my MIL can feed him the occassional bottle. (She thinks the problem is that the teats we have are too stiff).
Currently he'll look at bottle and will push it away... Dunno whether changing teats will help.... Any suggestions...

EBM
i got a lot of frozen stock in the freezer. Likely need to give them away coz i'll be leaving soon and my son refuses bottle feeding. All the EBM going to waste!!!

haha maybe babypink u'll be interested...
anyway did u check your breast pump parts? There was a point in time when i thought my supply was dropping but actually my pump valve got tear and there was no suction to pump the milk out. After i changed the valve i "got my supply back again".

pancake: ya lor. my boy also. he'll stare at me for a very long time to make sure i m really aslp. so pretending dun help at all.

very scared that my boy wun wean off my brts also... then cham lor..
liyun, if i end up like ur aunt, really like cow liao...

mommies, i have add quite a few of u in my facebook.

my baby oso co sleep with me. she stil wake up once every night for milk.

Pancake, my bb is using avent since day 1... Avent teat is a hard but no problem for her...

Jerejoy, too bad u r in state.. or else can meet up. think most mommies here are staying near central

jerejoy,

actually i cheat abit. i tend to go back to sleep at about 6am till his next feed. which i latch sleeping... after that its hubby who takes over. then i get out of bed at 9am.

pancakechia

think that it a growth spurt as my son did that too about 2 weeks ago. then after a week went back to his old routine. for me after i noticed that he was just sucking for comfort i would just rock him or snuggle him close at night. after a few days later he went back to his old routine.

regarding pretending of sleep
we're saying about our #1 leh.. not baby. baby cant even tell whether u'er aslp or not i think..

RE holiday
i'm so looking forward to the perth/HK trip!! hehehee..

Pancake
my girl is taking B-free. she is taking it well wor.. no matter what teats she will take cause she's a greedy little girl!! as long as there's milk.. she drink.. from EBM to FM..! Hope i dun jinx myself here..

Adeline
haa...cant help laughing imagining bb looking hard checking us when we fell asleep....

when ur trip? I intend to go for trip without bb, but bu she de....

Adeline:
I think babies can tell if u are asleep. There was once I manage to peek at Isaac, he made some sound. So I just peek back at him pretending to be asleep. I reaise he looks at me and then sees that I am sleeping, he turns back to sleep as well... But it doesnt work all the time, at night he cannot see my face mah~

Pancake

I am using NUK latex. Lele was using NUK silicon initially but she didnt like it so i change to latex one which is softer. I think its a lot of trial and error and babies do have bottle strikes occassionally. My boy had bottle strike when he was 4 month and we tried a few teat but in the end still use back the same one cos it was jus a phase he is going thu'.

piggy

i asked my pd and it seems that he says not to start before 6mths as this puts the baby at risk for allergies coz some part of their stomach not totally developed yet.

travel
actually i want to visit bali n book one of those private villa with swimming pool and just nua inside!

simp, u made me miss bangkok! i go there twice every year but havent been this year yet!

Travel/Holiday
Abc, let us know the details ok. Think can organise 2 places, one economic and one luxurious trip. Like Clover and some mummies suggest, we can start w bintan or bkk or hk. Then the other one can be japan / australia, any other place further i think too exp at the moment kekekek for some of us.

wah talking about travelling. probably easier to travel when bb is above 6 mths, no nid to worry abt sterlisation! i'm gg on biz trip next wk! I wonder if i will miss my babe. I know the last time i was on biz trip alone pre-preg, I missed my hubby. hahaha

my baby is happy with both NUK latex and Avent. however, i'm a fan of avent, so she uses avent.

As if my hair is not dropping excessively, my babe starts to hold my hair and refuse to let go whenever I carry her!!! If I make her to let go, she starts to be pulling!!! Aiyoh, free rebonding!

Melissa, your Tricia, doesn't look like small babies, she's abit michellin-ish.. cute.

Boon, you should try to bring your baby out alone. The first time I did it, I feel an EMPOWERMENT!! LOL!!!! Be totally confident that moms have the instinct and being savvy enough. Hahaha. Oh the best time I had going out alone is a short round trip that I took walking with my babe in a baby carrier - so carefree.. and people just look fondly at my babe *so show off*.. LOL. Definitely better than walking a dog, cos I get to lose some weight by carrying her!!

Mabbe you should start with gg out with abc.. our veteran at going out alone with bb!

pancake
haha, maybe b4 u leave, i can collect my card reader and collect ur EBM :p oh yah, i still owe u the books
wana return b4 u fly off..will u be coming for the gatehring on 9 aug ?

i wish the problem lie with my pump :p but no leh

talking abt teats, i m using pigeon wide neck, narrow neck as well as avent wide nuck teats..all silicon and all ok so far

sheryl
enjoy reading ur posts..so humorous !