(2008/03) March 2008

babypink
got my arielene mah. hahaha

Crystal
my favourite is actually mothergoose. U can get from popular. Another one i like is brainy baby.

Babypink
u knw when arielene is in childcare, when she is before the age of 2, i still cook porridge n ask her to bring to sch for her lunch. i only started her with childcare teabreak food. when she reaches 2, i allow her to eat childcare food, but when outside i still cook homecook porridge or rice for her. Even now, weekends n dinner i make sure she has homecook food but i wun not mind to dine out once a while for her too. Also i m now more relax and more of letting her try everything now. But, she dun liek soft drinks, sweets, hahaha...

Hi Simp

I jus went JL Expo Sale ytd but i nv c the playpen. I m not sure whether I miss it or isit sold out.

Injection
I give my boi the fever medication after the injection even he dun have fever, (to prevent it).

Bubble,
No more playpen is it? Maybe all sold out since it's so cheap. Did u ask the stuff there?

Clover
Stomach flu can cause vomiting, daiaeherra and it is air borne. Hmm can be serious if it is bb. Dun take cabbage or broccoli for urself as it can cause wind for bb thr bm. Maybe can take gripewater to help him feel better.

Food/TV for kids
aiyo i'm such a bad mom haha...chelsea eats candy, drink soft drinks and basically anything that is not chokable, i let her have it :p...i think cos as a child i was allowed to eat candy if i want to and now as an adult, i don't really care for candy but my husband's family is stricter and growing up, he had more restrictions and now he has to have his candy bar so i put it down to childhood deprivations haha

as for TV, I always wish Chelsea would watch MORE TV :p....but she only really sit there and watch TV if I watch with her! kinda defeats purpose of using TV to babysit kekeke....i know, our family v. lawless one but i think TV is one of the best inventions and as long as she still gets plenty of other activities, i dont worry about it

Clover
yah sometimes me too sian with outside food but at least i can rotate many different food stalls....i'll be more tired if i have to cook my own meals :p

Adeline
sorry about your loss and my mom had dengue fever a few years ago and she attributes her recovery to a soup made with fresh frog legs....if u r interested, i'll get the recipe from her

Simp:

I nv check with the staff. I oni c boxes which is BabyMax & costs $69. Cabbage or broccoli will cause wind for BB, then i better dun eat liao =.=

Adeline L,
Hehehe i get your message about being lawless. Thank goodness my 1st daughter appreciates TV and let the TV babysit her while i attend to bb or do some other things. But if there's nothing interesting in Playhouse Disney, I let her watch Nickelodeon or play Elmo's VCD. That always works. It's a modern family thing lah.

Adeline K,
Sorry about your loss. My condolences.

Simp,
That remedy for dengue fever is being practised by my aunt as well. Her whole family kanna dengue except her so she used that raw papaya leaves as a cure and they got well. Even the doctor is astonished. But where to get raw papaya leaves? Last time we had a friendly neighbour, an old malay auntie who likes to greet us when we walk pass her unit. She always attends to her plants and always like to tell us this leaf is good for this and good for that. All-natural remedy for everything. I was very impressed but sadly, she passed away before I can get that knowledge from her. To make things worse, her whole family moved out after that. Haizz wasted man. Else I'm interested to learn stuff like that that ang moh university will never teach.

My baby has fever from yest nite, up n down, now 37.8 using armpit thermometer.i gave medicine lio, hope his fever will go down. monitoring now.

not sure if the fruit seller has papaya leaf? cos when we need pomelo leaves for gd luck or cleanse bad luck, we buy from fruit seller.

Melissa,
It is gd to learn that this is a good natural remedy to try if we ever got dengue instead of relying on western medicine as they only gave panadol i think. The rest really up to our body to fight the fever. Think it is impt for aged and young children as immunity is not as stable as adult.

Kate,
BB will be ok soon. Dun bath him when he is having fever hor, if not later become worse or catch cold then it will be more difficult to take care of him. Let him drink a bit of water and gripewater and make sure room is airy or cooling.

My mum says paosheng is not cooling but gives energy. Barley she says scared got wind so she use ling yang but also no use for my case. Think next time, i either put the ling yang in the bottle and feed her or use rice water. Rice water also can help to lower body temp.

Kate
oh dear, hope the fever goes off fast

abc
i was wondering how u manage to avoid the flavoured food in childcare
so u actually bring from home..

hehe, if my kelicia is as obedient as Arielene, i will def bring her to the gathering myself

but knowing her, i need another adult to supervise and my hb will only go when there are more men :p

======

How many hubbies confirm going ?

Simp

i think i belong to the minority who dun dare to give barley, lingyang, rice water :p even for my 22 months , she only had a bit of unsugared barley lately, lingyang never..rice water ( issit porridge water ) only after she turns 1

somehow, only comfortable with milk =p

BBpink,
Yes rice water is also porridge water. Adult can drink if u r heaty or has ulcer/sore throat, add salt to the rice water for adult. I believe in using natural remedy as much as possible than relying on western medicine. However even for medicatio, i realised my body respond better to tcm than western medicine for certain ailments. My body is full of panadol over the years of using them regularly. Sign.

talking abt relying on western med..i oso dun like the idea..after the birth, they keep telling me to take painkiller to get rid of the pain down there, but i die die refuse to =) and now it is all over for the second time

hehe, simp, natural remedy i dun mind trying on myself though

i have an affinity with sorethroat..if i fall ill..it is always accomapined by sorethroat..so will try ur method the next time my sorethroat occurs..which i hope is never :p

PS: my colleague is pregnant, very happy for her ..and wish i m pregnant myself :p

haha, but with proper planning, will only allow that to happen after Kyzac is 1 year old

NEXT GATHERING in July!
Date: July 5 Sat (WEEKEND!!)
Time: 2pm onwards Catered
All mommies, & babies, daddies & siblings invited!
Venue: Pandan Valley Condo (alg Holland Rd nearer clementi side)
Nearest MRT: Buona Vista (pls meet in groups for me to do pickups tks...)
1. pancake & bb & hb (host)
2. Liyun & bb (others TBC) YES....weekend!
3. simp & bb (tbc if i am still in spore )
4. abcdisney n bb n Arielene n Helper
5. bbpink & bb ( maybe hb & kelicia)
6. aly & bb
7. clover, bb n hubb
8. Kate & BB
9. Sheryl & bb (gg to be first time go out alone wif bb!)
10. Shirley, Lele and zac zac and helper
11. Yiling, hb and baby joelle
12. Adeline Loo and bb
13. Ling Yee and bb

Swimming at pancake place on 5 july
1. abcdisney n 2 kids
2. clover n bb
4. Liyun n bb

Babypink
You wish u were pregnant?! Dun wish wish hor, might come true leh

TV
I believe in moderate TV. Only Kid's shows though. I support abc's way of bringing them outdoors. It's very impt. Makes them wiser and all rounders. I can't wait to explore with Zayed
That's the benefit of SAHM, you get to do a lot of things with the kids.

Thank's mummies for the advices and concerns, now still the same 38, increase a bit. i put the bye bye fever cold gel on his forehead instead of giving him medication, hope his fever will go down.

WOw.. I am on MC today, now then get to read the postings.

Adeline Sia:
Sorry to hear about it. My regards to your hubby.

Kate:
Hope Brendon get well soon!

abc:
what's that infant couse you posted? how much is it?

Adeline, my condolences...

Abcmummy, may I know if you have send the milkbag? I left with 1 only, can only tahan till tomorrow

I remembered reading a post in this thread abt a shop where I can purchase custom size blank flashcard. Can anyone recall and share info with me? Also can share with me the sizes and thickness available frm that shop? Can I print (using printer) my own flashcards using those blank flashcards, will they be too thick for the printer?

For mummies doing own flashcards, what size and thickness u using?

<font color="0000ff">morning all...
wow... ABC,
I'm interested in the coz too ....

Hi Kate,
how is ur child? better now?

HI Adeline,
sorry to hear that, my condolences...</font>

hi sgblingff

i am interested tooo.... hunting for flashcard now.

where is lyn sunflower ? she expert leh....

morning , mummies...

kate : hope yr child is getting better

Adeline : so sorry to hear that, my condolences too

kate: i'll sponge my boy when he has fever.. best to keep sponging wif cool water. tat's to keep his body temp down.. hospitals will do tat..
sometimes i'll bath him in cool water.. tat's the fastest way to bring down a fever.

belle mummy: i bot flashcards frm robinsons.

thank's mummies for the concerns, yest nite still 38 even after hrs using the cold gel, couldn't bear to let him suffer so i gave him medicine and the fever went down vr soon. this morning still stable around 37. first time encounter my bb sick, this morning i bath him, he is droping alot hair, every where i put him i will c his hair around. ai yo.....feel like botak him

flash card

what is the dimension of flash card recommended by Glenn Doman for baby? i think i will get that size of blank cards and write myself using red pen

Adeline, my condolences ... recently a relative of mine also passed away, then when my baby cried for 30 min at night, my mum said it's cos they attended the wake so they bring those dirty things back. :| alamak, i give her a face.. anyway, turnt out my baby having stuff nose!!!

GD's flashcard is very big, like 25cm by 8cm.. something like that. i saw during an motherhood exhibition. i dunno if u can find such a big blank card. hehe.. lemme know if u find.

anyone, uses ur own suction techniques for bb's blocked nose? my colleague said she uses a pigeon brand's tube cum suction... I never seen it at those retail shop b4. I'd only seen the type that's a little pump on one end, and a little tube on the other end.

Simp,
you will be surprised to know that indoor air is 10-100times worse than outdoor air! This is according to the Environment Protection Agency of USA. So dun think that close you door and stay at home is safe. This is due to the chemicals that was used to paint the house ( called the VLC ), glue from the furniture, bacteria trapped indoor when its not well circulated etc. Was shocked when I first read about it.

Hi Sheryl, I am also using the pigeon one. Bought it from Chinatown. Do you know how to post a pic here? The pics I took from my camera are too big to post here.. don't know how to adjust. If not, I can post a pic for you to see. Any mummies can help teach me?

regarding flashcards, any mummies interested to get together and do the flashcards? joint effort is easier and we can have a good time while making it.

hi chewwy

hehe, paiseh, see too fats, tot u r asking for help to post

b4 u upload the attachment (button besides the preview/post messages), save the picture (b4 save, reduce the size to less than 50 kb)

Thank you all!

Was very dramatic at the crematorium.. I also cried like crazy cause ever since i got married, she has always treated me very good.. I feel bad when granny's sis told my hb that my granny have 1 last wish which she is worried about..
She is a faithful believer in God.. she's afraid that god will not know me and my kids.. cause she didnt get to witness US get baptised.. For me.. most prob no.. but for the kids.. i wanna let them have their freedom to choose..

Today 1st aunt told hb that we still young pls try to hv a boy to carry on surname.. i got shocked! probably cause granny pass away and she was the most emotional one.. and that has always been granny's wish as well..

bbpink
yea got arielene.. arielene love kids!! she like to hold kim's hand and walk hehhee ..

I am very excited cause kat gng for her 1st dose of jab tomorrow!! haha crazy right.. but i've been waiting for this day for soo soo long!... This week whole week no work again!

Liyun
u wanna get the play tent huh? me too leh!! the huggies ultra one right??

Sheryl
eh u know hor.. my aunty dun allow me to step into her hse at all leh!!

Kate
dun panic hor.. just apply the fever pad on forehead. slowly it will go away one.. Hope he recover soon!

kate
i find cooling pad useless. hahaha...Anyway fro fever u hv to medicate with panadol la. At least he feel less cranky too. Bathing when fever, pls do so. PD always ask me to bath him in cool water. Help bring down temp faster. Hope he get well soon

Flashcards
hahaha i am a NON-BELIEVER in flashcards.

Music course
Err i am not interested in that. Just tot some mummies here would. hahaha... i prefer boys to be more sporty so waitign for him to b 6 mth to join swimming. Now save $ first.

Adline
Glad it is over.

Huggies playtent
i oso interested ley. Maybe someone gt then next time brign outdoor to share share? hahaha...

Chewwy
just posted out. been very very busy with work n bb.

Andrae n me.
Andrae has nt been slping well these 2 night. Finally took "MC" to catch up with slp and work. Feel like i'm in heaven! Hahaha...

Nose suction
i hv one. Farlin brand (kiddy palace) and pigeon (from JL). Very gd. The pigeon one is more ex but it comes with a box. Anyone wan to see i can bring this sat.

Swim on sat
i think i will nt let Andrae swim this sat as i will b bringing him for jab today. Hope things goes well fo him.

flashacrd
i salute mummies who wana diy =) it really takes a lot of diligience..which i lack severely :p
even ready made ones are accumulating dust in my hse

and seeing abc is a non-believer, and she is in the education industry, it comforts me ;)

Swim:
I am still interested to let Isaac Swim this Sat. err... is my float with Ashley or abc? I will bring my newly bought hand pump. kekekeke please bring that float. Hope the weather is good.

Flashcards:
I bought some during sale. Yet to let him try cos now he's "eating" everything we put infront on him...