(2008/03) March 2008

Jab- fever
Hmm PD says my ger tall and fleshy so maybe no fever. Hmm i even fed her ling yang on sun nite, yesterday morning and after she came back form jab but a few slips onli. I did take like 2 oz on her behalf and thgt thr bm, it will be given to her to help her.No use. After jab, temp was always at 37.1, only just now after woke up, latched her and checked then 38.1. Later b4 her next feed, i shall measure against after her next feed and see if there is an immediate diff. Quite scary, bb dun know how to say they r not well. No wonder when i put her down after feed, she doesnt want. But she still can smile and play. When i gave her medicine, she thinks i am playing with her. I also gave her a little water after the medicine. Now must be on alert mode.Phew...

simp
ya, have to measure her temp more often. dun worry, she'll recover soon. BF bb got strong immune system... agree?

sigh my boy is stickier than usual n dun sleep long also. I notice his feets r colder too but its not too cold n he's not sleeping in AC.

babypink, write appeal letter to IRAS! say u posted, even though u juz delivered a bb n in confinement. haha.. surely they give maternity mom some chances right!

my babe got her cough from her grandpa. i asked PD if i shd quarantine them... but PD said too late, oredi kanna the virus.

that time when i tbf her, i had bad cough 4 many wks, but she din even catch it. cos i passed her my antibodies thru bm. so for tbf mommies who are thinking of quitting - don't - ur bbs immune system will be stronger - and the plus point is u dun hv to quarantine urself from ur bb even if u r ill!

Sheryl,
Ya, i was also afraid hb would pass his cough to bb. Bb coughed like 3 times yesterday and i asked pd if she is ok to take jabs. He said ok so i proceed. Now bb's fever come down to 37.1. Think i ate ba zan and ngoh hiag, maybe generated a lot of heat in my bm and passed to her. Hmm i shall continue to monitor.

My bb just jab today, the clinic assistance asked me to give bb the fever medicine after 2 and half hr after jab to prevent fever. she said it's ok to give no side effect.

NEXT GATHERING in July!
Date: July 5 Sat (WEEKEND!!)
Time: 2pm onwards Catered
All mommies, & babies, daddies & siblings invited!
Venue: Pandan Valley Condo (alg Holland Rd nearer clementi side)
Nearest MRT: Buona Vista (pls meet in groups for me to do pickups tks...)
1. pancake & bb & hb (host)
2. Liyun & bb (others TBC) YES....weekend!
3. simp & bb (tbc if i am still in spore )
4. abcdisney n bb n Arielene n Helper
5. bbpink & bb ( maybe hb & kelicia)
6. Adeline, bb, kim and helper.. wahahha
7. clover, bb n hubb
8. Kate & BB
9. Sheryl & bb (gg to be first time go out alone wif bb!)
10. Shirley, Lele and zac zac and helper
11. Yiling, hb and baby joelle
12. Adeline Loo and bb
13. Ling Yee and bb

Swimming at pancake place on 5 july
1. abcdisney n 2 kids
2. clover n bb
3. Adeline n 2 kids
4. Liyun n bb

Yu Tong
You very cheeky leh...Hehe..Guess ur mum must have blushed

Avocado
U gals make it seem appetising! Going to try 1 soon when I get the chance.

Kate
If I were you I'll monitor and see if temp is going up, ie. likely to have fever. I'm quite reluctant to give my biy unnecessary medicines even though no side effects.

Eating
I am practically eating and drinking as usual.Not limiting myself. Then again, I am only partially breast feeding. Hats off to those TBF. I'm sure the sacrifices are worth it.

Yasmin,

the 1st jab, he had no fever and i nv give anything like ling yang or barley, this is the 2nd jab, i will monitor him before giving him the medicine. he always cranky after jabs thus i let him suck my nipple for comfort, hahahaha

Jab-Fever
Yah my girl also 2nd jab, also din wan to use medicine on her and hope her immune system can tahan but cannt, 2nd day afternoon fever come. Better dun play a fool, since i feel that her body and head getting warmer and warmer, scared later wat happen. Now under control. But i din give e full dosage though. Now her temp is 36.6 b4 feed and 36.7 after feed. So it is confirmed fever
. For dinner i just ate veg and pork, never dare to eat those tonic food.

Sheryl
hehe, will try =p

Kate
yupz, the nurse advised us the same thing also when mine went for his 6 in one..we give the panadol after his milk feed after tat jab..no fever

=======
Yasmine B
actually, i am also very reluctant to give med when there is no illness.. have this mentality tat next time if really kena the illness, the med wun work as well

but since the nurse said so..i just take her word for it lor
one dose is ok bah..alto i dun like

Injection
My boy usually screams during the jab then soon after that he's fine. So, I usually say that he only gets cranky for things that he's not supposed to be cranky. For valid stuff, he's like so indifferent. His next 6 in 1 is in 2 weeks time.

My PD said if bb's temp is 37.5C and above then take medicine. Lower then that no need. Tricia had her 2nd 5-in-1 jab last week. So far so good. I didn't eat or drink anything different and she has no fever. After the jab, I BF her so that she will feel secure again. Not cranky after that.

Melissa,
It's gd that ur bb can tahan e vaccine. Now my girl temp is below 37degree, so i think i would not give her another dose unless later at 1am plus her fever comes back like 37.5 then i wd feed her.

Hmm i remembered last yr after my operation and i had infection after discharge, my fever was 38 degree and GP gave me antibiotics jabs for the next 3 days on top of oral antibiotics that i was given from kkh. I mean as an adult, 38 degree also can be quite uncomfortable, so if bb' temp is above 37.5, i think shd take medicine liao and not wait until 38.5 degree. My PD says as long as fever does not go above 39 degree, it's ok, but i feel a bit high for bb this age to bear. Maybe i used my own exp and compare w bb' case. Mummies, use ur maternal instinct, it wont go wrong. When i feel my bb's whole head and body feel warmer than my hand and body, i feel uneasy and keep checking temp. Think tonight i would also be more diligent to check on my girl

Hmm i think babies are likely to get hotter fever at nights than in the day. My 1st girl when sick is always like that. Come night, she has fever reaching 39C so I keep wiping her with cold water and make her drink water, not forgetting fever medicine. Forgot to mention that PD wrote there if fever is in the range of 37.5C, must take 6-hrly but if fever is in the range of 38.5 and above, must take 4-hrly. Same dose but higher frequency. Then by day time she's ok and actively playing. But when night time comes, she gets fever again. This goes on for like 2-3 days before she's completely well again. Forgot to ask PD why so. For those still TBF, bb can still get sick but they're likely to recover faster. They'll get cranky and wake up more often and may want to nurse more often, you play your part by giving as much as you can b'cos the cure is in your BM.

Simp,
Yeah we tend to relate our fever experience with our own bb. True maternal instinct can't go wrong. If I'm struck with fever, I will drink lots of water and sleep as much as I can.. heee. So I'll do that to my bb. HOwever I know that in most cases bb won't sleep b'cos too uncomfortable, so try to make her comfortable by cuddling and holding her. That's what Child MC is for. Mother's touch is extremely therapeutic for babies. Hopefully all March bb's who's having fever can get well very soon!

Adeline K,
How's Kath doing? Has she gone for jabs yet?

Melissa/Sheryl
Thanks for your concern. Kath is ok already! still abit wheezy but she's fine! This friday will be her 1st dose although she's 4 mths already.. Cause she jsut recovered so 1 week after recovery then can take jab.. will be this friday..

sheryl
At least kyla feels better after suction right? =)
Hope she recover soon cause it's really nasty to be having cough and phelgm!!

Hmm.. My grandmother-in-law passed away yesterday. FIL down with dengue fever and my hb is tired from helping out. I will skip the gathering this time round also. Cause i suppose some of u ladies will be pangtang esp with babies around. better not cause if i do attend, hb will be with me.. guess will only see u girls much later.. enjoy the gathering though..

NEXT GATHERING in July!
Date: July 5 Sat (WEEKEND!!)
Time: 2pm onwards Catered
All mommies, & babies, daddies & siblings invited!
Venue: Pandan Valley Condo (alg Holland Rd nearer clementi side)
Nearest MRT: Buona Vista (pls meet in groups for me to do pickups tks...)
1. pancake & bb & hb (host)
2. Liyun & bb (others TBC) YES....weekend!
3. simp & bb (tbc if i am still in spore )
4. abcdisney n bb n Arielene n Helper
5. bbpink & bb ( maybe hb & kelicia)
7. clover, bb n hubb
8. Kate & BB
9. Sheryl & bb (gg to be first time go out alone wif bb!)
10. Shirley, Lele and zac zac and helper
11. Yiling, hb and baby joelle
12. Adeline Loo and bb
13. Ling Yee and bb

Swimming at pancake place on 5 july
1. abcdisney n 2 kids
2. clover n bb
4. Liyun n bb

Lazy to change the number leh.. nvm hor..

simp, hope yr dd recover fr fever soon. havent been to kl for 2 yrs... dun think the air there is so bad?!

rdg sahm lunch, actually i was thinking of making curry but its kinda not worth the effort for one person's lunch. i used to cook those soupy stuff for my lunch during preg too.

adeline loo, u not sian of eating dabao lunch? the tot of bringing bb out to buy lunch is also a hassle. haizzz.

clover,

I notice my boy is v sticky nowadays too. Only wants me to carry then will stop crying. dun like my hubby to carry him during the night time.

Vaccination

My boy is due for his 2nd jab on 15th jul. Over in States, they dun hv 6 in one jab. So hv to poke 3 needles everytime. 2 on one thigh, one on the other thigh. My heart feel so painful when I see him getting the jabs. Poor boy.

Adeline,

sorry to hear that.

fever
my PD says temp on thermometer depends on whcih kind u use. For ear thermometer it is consider fever only when 38.5 degree or more.

Giving medicine when no fever
For sure i will not do tat. In fact at 38 degree i dun gv too unless it rises or he is uncomfy. For the first jab Dr ask me to take panadol to standby, i refuse. hahaha... maybe being second time mother i knw what to expect.

Fever
actually i would not mind my kids having fever. I rather they hv fever than suiffer from cough or flu. For fever, you dun hv to seek doc consultaion as fever will subside within 72hours. U dun belive u monitor. I even had once when Arielene temp rose to 40.5 degree... but miraculously it stays within the 72 hr n thus save my $ on PD. hahahah.... Maybe i am the more daring kind of mom or perhaps bo chup bah. But hor after 72hour still have fever, better to see doctor.

For those who visited dorothy clinic, she is one who believe in letting baby suffer a bit n on less medication so as to build up their immunity than one who keep relying on medication.

Hi! Mummies, nice to see so many mummies gathering here. I have a march 08 baby, and 2 elder son age 5 & 3. Nice to meet all of you!

I m very confused about my breasts. Dunno how to read whether got milk or not. Last nite I tot I empty it before I went to bed at 12. But I woke up at 3am n its engored! Ouch! So painful... Anyone haf this feeling? Dun feel you breasts are full but stil got milk?

anyone wants Pampers NIGHT L size?
i got 2 packs to let go. 1 is BN unopened, another 1 only used 4pcs. 56pcs in a pack.

letting go at only $32

PM me if keen

2nd times mummies.

can i know does yr period regulate aft delivery? mine is not regular. i miss my 2nd period which meant to be here on 26th June..but till now stil no sign..is this normal? keep having yellow discharge but no sign.....

hahaaa so happy to see so many avocado milkshake lovers! can diy? i'll try this weekend. suddenly really craving it!

eh about the avocado whisky thingy, no leh, i remember it's on the menu in AV. more than one stall selling the avocado whisky somemore! unless recently changed liao... ever since preggy i havent been there to buy my avocado whisky shake liao!

abc: arielene eats one whole avocado? she eats it plain or do you mash it up and add something to it?

isabella: hi and welcome!

adeline: sorry to hear about yr grandma-in-law..my condolences. hope yr FIL also recovers soon. dengue fever is quite jialat!

pancake: i've always wanted to move to pandan valley cos it's such a central location and the place is quite spacious, but hubby is quite resistant against it, says it's got enbloc potential, don't want to move in, renovate nicely and then find that it's going to enbloc! hai!

Adeline,
Sorry to hear abt the sad news. Do hope to see u and bb soon nest time round.

Jab-Fever
Thanks Mummies
for ur advice. Abc, yes, my girl' fever came down yesterday abt 1am like 36.7 degree and now back to normal already. Today is e 3rd day but havnt pass the 72 hrs yet. So in actual fact when i take temp reading from her ear and it read 38.1 degree, she is still fine? Hmm even though her body and whole head feels unusually hot. Hmm maybe i monitor again for the next jab in a mth' time and see if she can tahan for 2 days. BB does wan more attention. She slps and drinks as usual. Mum says bb is fine not really fever but my dad, sis and i felt otherwise. Should clarify w PD next time round on the after effects of vaccine. Think my bb's highest temp peaked on 2nd day afternoon ard 4pm, passed 36 hr mark, seems like 1/2 of 72 hrs. Interesting discovery. Should note on this finding and find out more.

Clover,
Hmm if one is not staying long term in kl, i think air pollution not a prob. Staying outdoor with many cars moving abt in kl may not be a gd idea for bb. Indoors shd be fine. I got the cough from hb at home, otherwise i am fine. Maybe we stay in suburban area so not so bad compared to city area.It is Hb who has to be out of indoors during his working times. Maybe i ask him to put a purifier in his office to clean the air.

Adeline,
Forgot to tell u, there is a natural remedy for dengue fever. But dun know if u r keen to try.

it is raw papaya leaves, 2pcs just cleaned and pound and squeeze with filter cloth. You will only get one tablespoon per leaf. So two tablespoon per serving once a day. Do not boil or cook or rinse with hot water, it will loose its strength. Only the leafy part and no stem or sap.
It is very bitter and you have to swallow it.

This is extracted from the thread recently http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?449169/1511003

I think no harm trying since it is a herb/natural produce.

apagebaby
she eat one avocado plain. hahaha... i am a believer of not giving them anything nice until 3 yrs of age. hahaha... no la i mean before the age of 3, my gal is still taking healthy food with less (below age of 2 is stictly no salt, no added sugar) sugar/salt/flvourings.

crystal
i jus got a second hand exersaucer for my bb so wun b getting the jumperoo. Btw i heard jumperoo may cause injury eg sprain ankle

Simp
i hope so too cause it's hard for me to join gatherings again unless really so heng my hb not working during that weekend then i'll join.. if not cant meet u all anymore liao..

<font color="0000ff">Hi ABC,
IC, actually me also lazy mummy lah... .would prefer my gal to flip and walk later...

by the way, I know it is good for them to crawl for longer period for the better development of brain.. ..</font>

jerejoy/simp, i think my bb not feeling well so tts why he's fussier n sticky. his feet feels colder than usual. my mil thinks he may have a mild stomach flu. but i wont need to go see doc so soon, just use bm to combat with the virus!

simp, air purifier is a good idea. maybe can get one for home too if the air pollution is bad.

abc: i see... that's a good philosophy. i'll also try to enforce that. i see my nieces and nephew eating lots of sugary things like ice cream/chocs and watching a lot of TV as early as 1plus/2 years!!! i think once it is a bad habit it becomes hard to break!

agapebaby
tv i will let her watch. But only children educational prg. also must restrict 2 vcd/dvd a day (space out the timing) and 8 mth above. i am one who believe a lot in bringing kids out esp outdoor. Favourite hangout is... sentosa, zoo, botanic garden (if i hv car), kent ridge park etc

Food/ TV for kids
same as abc. i also believe in not giving Kelicia anything flavoured until she is older .. but once in childcare very difficult , cos they will serve things like roti prata with sugar.

TV also as min as possible..she started only at 20 months :p and it is once in a week. educational dvd last month started. 30 min a day .
unless the parents wana watch..which is the every sat = channel U = legends of the 4 gods :p

Clover
curry for lunch, and then leave the rest of the curry for urself &amp; hb for dinner ?
My mum will add in the milk as and when we are eating. so it wun go bad so fast..

Adeline
sorry to hear abt ur grandman-in-law
and also sad tat u can't join in..was thinking kelicia will have company..

PS: i think hb can stay at home with kelicia then