(2008/03) March 2008

clover... my princess dun like yaolan, im tinking of selling mine
bought from kiddy at 100plus.. those portable with wheels n brake.i bought the net too..

milkbags
i saw a spree on lansinoh milkbags, just placed an order coz pickup near my place as well.

angeline/yutong,
i pref those with zip enclosure, thanks for the offer for playtex.

clover/kais
LOL at your comments! yes tot agree with kais, they usu scrambled when asked to spend more time with babies. mine always say, "Baby is looking at Mummy!" i see this as an evil ploy to hand DS back to me, haha!

1) Yafen. Very efficient & people always ask her to stay for another half month or 1 month. Super experienced.

2) Aunty Lee. Energetic. Great with baby.. infact all my 3 babies looked after by her. Very easy going. very good cook.

angeline,
yah my CL is quite good, recommended by some frens. she loves babies and interacts with my child, good cook, helps with light hsework, trained my maid coz she just arrived, overall no complaints.

my only grouse is she will remind you not to walk bare-footed, stand while drinking/eating, or use the fan.

hi all i'm new mummy on the blog may i join in.......

hi hi bellebeins

i sent mine elder daugther when she's 8 mths and u must to be prepared for ur infant to the sick very often.... very heartpain to see them sick and see pd every 2-3weeks... anyway i stay in the east maybe you can check www.babyplanet.com.sg

Adeline,
God bless kat get well soon....

dreamlife and abc,
Can we meet up another day to collect the items i bought from your spree? I won't be able to make it for the gathering tomorrow as Melody is going for her jab tmr in the morning. nt sure if she will get grouchy after her jab. so i better play it safe and bring her home immediately.

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">Angeline,

Cheap hor... cuz tt time my credit card exchange rate was only S$1.42. Regret not buying more. Will let you know if I need to buy. Am still thinking whether want to stop xpressing.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">dreymin,

I've passed your confinement nanny contact to my gf leh.. Thanks ya.

I now also nv use e milk tray anymore, no more space. My whole freezer is just for storing milk. HB is making noise liao.
The lansinoh milkbag spree from target.com quite worth it, US$9.99 for 50 pcs, cheaper than drugstore.com</font>

<font color="0000ff">Happygal,

I've posted your drugstore order.

Ya it's quite troulesome to xpress @ work. Luckily I've 2 pump now so I can leave my Ameda in office, no need to carry to &amp; fro work like last time. I actually hope to bf @ least till Josiah turns 1yo leh but m hesitating now. Hopefully Management will do something about e nursing area soon.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Belle,

I suggest U reconsider e option of Infant care. What Angeline said is correct. Be prepared.

I sent my elder girl to infant care when she was 6mo old. She was sick throughout . It started w mild cases like cough/cold then worsen to bronchitis. She was always on medication/Nebulizer &amp; lost so much weight. We thought she might just get immune to the virus as what e older folks always said. But it didn't happen this way so finally we withdraw her after 6 mths &amp; employ a maid.

I was lucky that my boss then was very understanding. If not I sure kana as I was on leave so often, @ 1-2 days a week.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Adeline,

Hope Kat gets well soon.</font></font>

Jenifur
i breastfeed #1 2 years plus, and breastfed #2 6 mths, i can see their immunity difference...hoped u can sustain as long as u could....

then so cheap shld get more...

<font color="0000ff">Pumping milk at workplace:</font>
me abit chiam... been pumping in the toilet since I am back at work 2 weeks ago... no choice, better than nothing sia...

<font color="0000ff">no_time:</font>
Welcome!!! Join us for gathering lah~~

Angeline
Aunty Lee's fee is $1700. Yafen i'm not sure if she's cantonese but she has worked for many sporeans and even caucasians. also help to train my friend's maid. her fee is $2000

hi no time
welcome. Hope to see u at our gatherings.

jenifur,
no problem, u r welcome

angeline
think she is foochow or hakka. i am a cantonese myself but converse with her in mandarin, think she also speaks some hokkien. btw you should also factor in some ang bao money. i gave my CL a token sum after her stay.

Lunch Gathering at Babypink's home

Date: 4 June 08 (wed)
Time: 1pm
Venue: bukit batok (near yosof ishak sec sch)

Interested
1. babypink n bb (agar agar)
2. pancake n bb
3. dreamlife n bb
4. abcdisney (TBC if with bb or not)
5. AdelineL n bb
6. Babe_dude n bb (Tiedan + Cheese Puffs)
7. Liyun n bb n granny (drinks, no choice, I be coming after work so no time to prepare food)
8. Yutong n bb (fried rice)
9. Simp n bb (cuttlefish balls/fried chicken wings)
10. clover &amp; bb (tip top curry puff)

Lunch Gathering at Babypink's home

Date: 4 June 08 (wed)
Time: 1pm
Venue: bukit batok (near yosof ishak sec sch)

Interested
1. babypink n bb (agar agar)
2. pancake n bb
3. dreamlife n bb
4. abcdisney (TBC if with bb or not)
5. AdelineL n bb
6. Babe_dude n bb (Tiedan + Cheese Puffs)
7. Liyun n bb n granny (drinks, no choice, I be coming after work so no time to prepare food)
8. Yutong n bb (fried rice)
9. Simp n bb (<font color="0000ff">Potato Salad</font>)
10. clover &amp; bb

i think i m the typical kind of "hubby" that wives cannot tahan :p am guilty abt the things u gals were commenting abt the men ..i think i will make the worst hb ever ..hehe

and dreymin, when i see ur post, i really blush ! i love to tell hb "Kyzac is looking at daddy !"

cya gals tmr

Today got a very bad and a very happy thing tat happen to me...

am very happy today tat hb iniiate dinner with me. It has been YEARS (yes years) since he bring me out for dinner for NO occasion. hahah... though a short while but i am happy.

am sad.. well i cancel my no pay leave and decided to go bac to work thinking tat since i hv 4 more periods lesser than before i go on ML i should be able to cope with work and expressing..

Initally my plan is if i am given the usual workload of 19 periods, i will take NPL till sep. Then who knw after my birth, my boss told me in term 3 i only take 15 periods. I happy lor so take NPl only till aug. Then thinking i still taking 15 periods i decided to go back after june hols thinking aiyah 15 periods only.. can la. Who knows.. boss drop me a BOMB today at exactly 12 NOON. I will be taking 22 periods now! I feel so damn cheated. He gv me the excuse say aiyah it is the same level tat i am teaching... no nd additonal prparation work but hey i nd to set test papers, need to do marking, do to do their subject admin lor. 2 additonal classes is NO JOKE! Now i feel so sian... whoever giving me additional work in Term 3 will get BLACK FACE from me man! If i had knwn i would go bac in sep! Now i jus hope my stupid timetable wun be crazy till i will be hving one whole day of lesson with 1 period break kind of thing. I will SCREAM and MAKE NOISE! I need 1 period to express lor. SIGH!!!!!!

INSURANCE
Can share with me what insurance u buy for your baby?

IFC
Checkout the discussion on IFC
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/854611.html?1183020835
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/932975.html?1195178107

HUBBY
clover.. hahahaha. u r funny.. my hb always tell me he felt like he's just a donor... when he seen how i had to carry our bb for 9 mths, and the delivery, and then the bf.. he tot he couldn't be involved at all. he just nid to do a deed, and a beautiful bb is out... but anyway, he did a lot of tai jiao - i find that my bb v responsive to him, loves him alot... whenever he's back from work, and smile to her, she will give her most hearty smiles. If he sings, she will be so overjoyed, she screams (like teenage gal see her idols)! OMG, even mommy and granny who see her whole day din get this 'treatment' at all. *jealous* (OK mommy nv do much tai jiao with her). Anyway, i must give credit to my hb, at least he tries to offer to carry her, and help out in feeding sessions in the middle of the night.

Babypink, can tell that ur hubby is a good daddy, cos ur photos always show him carrying ur kelicia. Hahaha.. Alot of things happen in my household lately.. very busy, sorry can't go ur house gathering. Hope to join the NEXT gathering with my bb.

abc, wah piang, really cheated. tell him u want to extend ur NPL.

Sheryl
talking abt insurance, we got hospitalisation and of course life insurance lor. But hor this thing hor is my hb's forte. hahaha... my hb working with IPP and independent financial advisory firm. What's best and what's most suitable he knw best. Anyway if u wan to knw more, i can pass u his msn or email n perhaps he can advise on which is suitable for u. NO OBLIGATION and u dun hv to end up gettign anything from him. Jus tat better to hv a professional to advise u on this and then perhaps u can get from yr own advisor then.

I wish i can say tat but they already liek not hapy i suddenly change my mind lor. if i change again i think my PB gona b D liao. Sigh...

CAn i chk cause i dun express regularly.. sometimes 4 hrs.. sometimes 3, 5 or even 6 hrs like today i fall aslp and i only pump after 6hrs.. then at night, i slp thru the night and did not pump cause very tired.. will it cause supply to drop? i've no idea but i think my supply is drastically dropping.. from 200.. now 160.. sometimes even 150.. sighz..

abc, thanks for the info. my fren recommends an aviva plan for bb. does ur hb sells aviva? my fren paid 600+ per yr, hospitalisation n covers see doc, as long as above $50, they cover the balance, so we nid to pay at least $50 per visit.. i calculated.. like quite hua suan 4 me.. cos my PD fee to date oredi 600+ n bb only 2+ mths.

adeline, ss will drop when the demand decrease mah. I think u must set alarm to wake urself up. or compensate by pumping more often at night.

sheryl
yes he does aviva. we hv got a aviva plan for andrae and arielene and of cos bot of us too. Hv to get basic and a rider. Can use medishield to pay the prenium too i think.

toilet pumper,
i am one but the cubicles are clean and there's no exposure of ebm to the air. i used avent isis, after pumping, i quickly closed the mouth of the pump, washed my hand and siam the toilet. then i simply replace the cap and store in my FTG. a colleague suggested i used the meeting room. the thing is, the meeting room is right in front of our room so whenever i enter the room to pump, everyone would know what i'm doing and there's so many guys in my dept!

adeline,
yes supply will drop if you stretch pumping intervals. however for me, i wouldn't go more than 4 hours interval for more than 2 days. if i did, i will make up for it by diligently pumping every 3 hours. and thanks to weekend, the frequent latching helps to reinstate my supply. it takes about 48 hours for your supply to go up again if it ever drops. and it's normal for your supply to be highest on mondays when u go to work and by friday it will drop but no worries, weekend will help you catch up. so far my supply is exceeding demand and i never pump at nights. strictly office pumping only. till now i hate to pump.

Melissa : i opp from u, i dread weekends lor..cos scared my gal confuse btw nipples &amp; teats, so i nv latch ever since i go back work. So weekends i have to wait till my gal sleep then can express milk milk, sometimes quite stressed cos scared she wake up or what. Then my expressing time bcum v messy, no matter how busy or tired i will make out my time to pump, v tired lor, dunno i can "tahan" until when. My supply aso more than demand, mainly bcos my gal drink v little n the interval is quite long. So i was thinking of using frozen milk to bath my gal, fresh one let her drink. Any mummies try before?

Sheryl
I bought from Aviva as well
strongly recommended by my FA

well..hb just have stronger arms relatively :p and now there is no "escape" for me cos he can't carry both kids with 2 arms, but he suggests doing that last evening when Kyzac can hold his neck up..we shall see whether it is possible in a few months time..

abc
happy for u

workwise, i think ur boss is a cheater ! fr 15 to 22 periods is too much..

adeline
so Kath sleeps thruout the nite ?

<font color="0000ff">Sleeping thruout Nites</font>
can i know which bbis have started doing tat, my Kyzac 2 nites ago was crying hard until 4 am ! he woke up at 6pm. We do everything possible but he just cries hard.

His regular routine is only sleep at 3 am after waking up at 6 pm. If i am not his mother and witness this for myself , i will never believe this is possible ! haiz.

<font color="0000ff">abc</font> when u say ur boy has UTI, how did u noe, is it becos of a fever or just crying very hard for no raeson ?

<font color="0000ff">Plain colour bedsheet</font>

hehe..a bit paiseh to ask, but for the mummies coming for the gatherings, do u have 1 colour single size bedsheet..i realise my bedsheets all too colourful, take photos with bbies on top like not so nice ..

If you have and it is not too inconvenient, can bring along ?

Melissa
today wed.. and my supply dropping liao.. sighz.. till now she haven latch yet since weekend.. i'm afraid this weekend she might not want to latch..

babypink
she doesnt slp thru but cause she with my aunty not with me leh..

Sheryl
ya lor.. yday i pump every 3 to 4hrs.. now at office also have to keep pumping to increase supply liao..

babypink, did i see wrongly, Kyzac wakes up at 6PM and only to sleep at 3AM.

My bb slept at 9am, sometimes wake up at 3am or 4 today at 5am and made some noise (didnt cry), so i just feed her. I think it's sleep thru liao, someone told me that expert definition of sleep thru's is sleeping for 5 hours (only!!!).

Adeline, mommies do as much as they can for their babies. Kudos!

abc, thanks. My fren recommends me liao, but u can sms me ur hb's msn n mobile.. if i nid i'll contact him.

Glutinous Rice Wine
I have a friend doing her confinement now and she forgot to stock up on GRW. Anyone knows where she can buy GRW? Can sms me? 94770974

Aunty Lee is doing her confinement for her now so those keen to contact her can PM me and i pass u her local number

happymummy,
at 3 months old babies won't have nipple confusion already. my girl only has ebm during working hours and direct latching otherwise. my mom always commented that she will struggle a bit with the teats every first working week but once she get the hang of it, she'll be able to take the bottle well. i'm lucky my mom is patient with my bb as well. so far so good no nipple confusion and sometimes her appetite is big she can take 4.5oz a bottle. but that will make her poop shortly. haha. errr i didn't use my ebm for anything else but feed but some mommies here does.

babypink,
my girl has been sleeping through the night since last month. her last feed is at 11.30pm and she will wake up at 7am. she's a pleasant baby, always make my working days very pleasant. i have been enjoying sleeping through the nights myself for these past few weeks but now i get interrupted by daddy once in a while. but that's a different story. haha.

i know some mommies prefer that bb sleeps earlier but i think they can only sleep longest 6-8 hours at a stretch so putting bb at earlier bed time will result in them waking up in the wee hours of the morning to feed. so i figure it's easiest to let bb match my bedtime instead. i have been doing since my first daughter.

Adeline K,
latching is a skill that needs to be kept consistent as well. don't drop Kath from latching. she must keep it up. latching is best anyway. keeps her close and secure to you. but if u really can't then keep up with the EBM. it's really not easy for us working moms to fully BM and keep our jobs at the same time. so kudos to all FTWM!

sheryl,
how's your BA? does it affect your milk supply?

Sheryl,

I think bbpink &amp; I share the same plight. For my case, my bb doesn't sleep much in the afternoon. He can stay awake from 10am till 4-5pm in the afternoon. Then he might cat nap for 10-15mns or the most an hr n stay awake till 10plus in the night.

He wakes up whenever I put him to the bed. But in the night time, he will nt. Strange!

Melissa
thank you for ur advices. i have not tried latching her yet cause she's at my aunty hse from mon - fri. i'm gonna try on fri night if she still wanna latch or not. i hope she wont reject breastfeeding though.. yea not easy to fully BM for me.. now at night she drinking FM cause aunty too tired. I dun blame her.. cause i'm working and i cant feed her myself.
I can only pump very diligently!!

this few days, when i reach home 7pm.. haven eat dinner i fall aslp already.. so bad to kim =( noone accp her.. so she sit by my side and watch me sleep.. soemtimes try to wake me up but i over exhausted.. haiz.. cause i still go over aunty hse after work to check on kathlyn as she wasnt feeling well.. then rush back home to accp kim..

I still have less than 3 weeks left to stay at home being a SAHM. Going back to work soon. So sian..

I still not sure what time to pump, as in the schedule. Wanted to pump maybe 12am and then follow by 6am so that i can have a better rest. But supply will drop right?

Currently having blocked ducts because i stretch my pumping time too long as i intend to pump 4 times per day only after i return to work. But i think have to pump at least 5 times already.

<font color="0000ff">morning all..
it had been super long since i last post... anyone miss me anot... haha

btw anyone going to motherhood fair tomorrow... want to meet up.. please PM me hor....

oh rite any1 collecting 7-11 Doraemon 2008 Euro Stars , my elder boy collecting left with 4 more... see any1 have for extra... missing 1,2,5 &amp; 7</font>

<font color="0000ff">been pumping like 2-3hrs.. but my supply not stable.. some time a lot some time very little... how how ... going to work in 2 week time....</font>

poshies, adeline k,
the thing about pumping, yeah u have good days and u have bad days. remember that milk production is about hormones as well. so when u're stressed, u're likely to express a dip in yield. it's hard not to feel stress at work nowadays *sigh*. but if u can maintain 3-hourly then very good. i don't have that luxury. so if monday's pump, u have extra, u can keep the extra to bring forward for the next day to make up for the lack of it. that's what i did for my bb. come friday, my supply will be lowest but weekend latching can help to recover that.

bbpink
i think high chance is that he has wind in the tummy, sometime baby takes a long time to burp or let out of the gas.

Adeline
Think if no latching, pumping consistently is the only way to maintain ss plus u must drink plenty of water. I find driking warm water helps

Some photos to share
1467109.jpg
Lele and her gor gor Zac

1467110.jpg
Lele who just turned 2 months