(2008/03) March 2008

Abc
Ya, we can do swimming next time
Good to hear that Andrae rash has got better

Babypink
I mite not be able to attend your house gathering coz will be going up to KL either on the 5 or 6 Jun. Will let you know again. Thks for orgainsing.

Shirley
Aiya!.. Next time we have gathering again. Btw where do you stay in Sengkang?

ivy

i stay at compassvale drive, 5 min walk to compassheight. been there cos one of the oct 06 mummy stay there and we usually have our gathering there. Ya next time i can organise again maybe at my place but i have 2 dogs so mummies who are scared of dogs may not want to come. haha but dont worry i will lock them up if really organsie something at my place

dreymin
thanks for ur concern. Turn out he has false measles which is very common among children. symptons are high fever for a few days then follow by rashes, crankiness, loss of appetite. so this week i need to bear with his crankiness, somemore my hubby went for reservist and cannot come home. very xiong.

Shirley
Oic, one of our Mar mummies Adeline stay at compassvale too. I hv a Westie, yesterday bo bian hv to lock him up. Poor thing! cos he will get v excited when he see so many ppl and babies.

Fever:
Sime, I ever encounter fever too while beastfeeding in the first 2 months. The doc then said suspect I was infected due to bateria from baby's mouth, but I was able to breastfeed as the bateria is not able to harm baby due to the natural anti-bodies that babies have. But it was really tiring and painful then and lucky my mum was around to help me... Hope u get well soon~

simp
I too am using PIS to pump. Got blocked ducts a while back. Massage + use hot water bottle b4 u pump on areas where there are lumps. At end of pump session, use manual expression to empty breasts completely.

nowadays b4 i end my pump session i will make sure breasts are really soft with no lumps.

Simp : do take care..I aso encounter pain when i pump during each session in the beginning, but slowly it will be okie liao. After pumping, my nipples seem to be pain pain like that, i duno is sore or what lei..I apply lotion on it..Im using Medela electric plus...

By the way, mummies do u encounter bb dun want to drink milk? Cos my gal got this "pattern"..If she is tired, want to sleep she will sleep a lot, n can dun drink milk, or drink v little. But if she dun sleep, act aso quite difficult to feed her..cant understand y she is like that. Im scared that she will reject milk lor..Cos my mum told me when im v small, i reject milk n from then on i hate the smell of milk, scared she will be like me..But she is only 2mths plus, shld be drinking milk mah..Is really big challenge to feed her milk. Any ways to like bb drink milk better? N she seems to like fm more than ebm...

Kell

urs also inverted nipple? mine only one side, sigh...ya i nv pull out cause everytime pull out it will inverted in again,it'll will pull out and stay only when i pull it out using elec pump and by tat time i pull it out and it will stay out for a while, the milk all gone to pumping lio..baby won't have enough to latch. today i try to pumped my inverted nipple, it's bleed!!!!!!so scary, blood come out, then i give up...too sore n pain lio, i use hand express instead, must let my nipple heal first.

Ivy

sorry for last minute cancelation as i really busy to settle all my things before i go to Hong Kong, tomorrow early noon flight somemore. till now i havent pack yet....no time lio got to pack later bb wake up cannot pack again...

Ivy
i went to shirley's house before! Nice place as well hehehee.. near near also :p
We're from the Oct'06 thread..

shirley
i always miss out gathering when u attend.. nxt time pool side at compass heights? heheee.. swim swim time!! long time no bring kim go swim liao le..

Liyun, Kais & Happymum,
Thanks, think i am getting better. Think this time, my blocked ducts are taking the longest time to clear haiz. Hopefully my left side will be ok soon. Now when bb suckle, the pain is not so intense, guess the ducts are better now.

Happymum,
Try eating cakes or some sweet stuff. The milk will be sweeter then maybe bb will want more of ur milk
I tried and tasted my milk when i ate sweet stuff. That was when i want to differentiate the freshness of ebm in fridge and freezer. Those tat taste funny, ebm i will discard.

Adeline
Oic. So both of you hv #1 and #2 at the same time?

Abc
I'm ok with any time. Just let me know when you guys keen to come over.

wah you guys very fast leh. i m still recovering from the wonderful session at Ivy's house. just managed to catch up on the posts.

hehe ivy i like the bath and body works hand moisturer hehehe... nice

i m pestering my brother to help me carry some back.

Simp : okok i will try before expressing my milk. Thanks...Yah lor, i told my mum to taste aso before giving my gal to drink. If taste or smell v weird then just discard lor..That time my mum's fridge spolit then my frozen milk being "transported' to other ppl house, think bcos of temp changes, some milk turn sour. In th end, my mum said since my supply a lot so i discard ard 7-8 bottles of frozen milk to be safe, v heartpain lor...

Clover
Geez, tat must be quite a nitemare !
btw, hope u can make it at my place !

Simp
glad u have recovered
happy tat u can join us too..i will PM u all my address

YT
U got to click on the pic, zoom in and then save

Shirley
glad tat ur boy has recover, always very worrying when they have fever!
hehe, i hope to see u too !

<font color="0000ff">gathering on 5 June 2008 at 2 pm in Bt Batok</font>
the more the merrier

1) babypink (fried bee hoon)
2) pancake
3) abc
4) dreamlife
5) clover (TBC)
6) Pet
7) Ivy (TBC)
8) AdelineL
9.) Yu Tong, bb n maid ( TBC )
10) Liyun, bb &amp; granny (think I can take half day)
11) Simp n bb

<font color="0000ff">Directions to my place</font>
address will be PM to u all nearer the date

1) If u r driving, the carpark is 2 min from my block.

2) If you r taking a bus, 106 0r 77 goes to my place, 3 bus stops from Bukit Batok MRT/Interchange

3) If you are taking a cab from the Bukit Batok MRT, it cost abt $3 or less

wow i love what you did with the pictures. Yes, it's really fast. Very soon we'll be attending one another's babies' 1st birthday party...

Ivy
Can we go your place to swim next Tuesday or Thursday morning? safer to swim before 11am as after that the sun is too strong.

i'm feeling adventurous and wanna bring my "entourage" to your place...

WTS:Fridge to go and Safe to go coolers
Hi, i have two milk transport bag to let go. FTG is brand new , still in package. S$40. STG is very new too, used less than 5 times. S$30

Kais : Im quite interested in the FTG.. Can post pics cos i wanna see how big is it..It can last longer than normal cooler bag right?

YT, I bath bb with maid leh.. i dun let my maid bath her without my presence.. coz i feel my maid very "GE KEANG" i.e. zi quo cong ming ...always like to act without asking.. furthermore, my bb big size and strong..always kicking, dun think she can handle without me..thats why, i scared...i must be there..

but if you feel your maid is mature and capable of handling ... let her undertake the task lah.. since u working somemore.. my sister lets her maid bath her bb though.. even during confinement.. but she stand there supervise lah.. now she never supervise liao, coz she works mah

Baby Pink..
Love those pics u pulled out.. hee hee.. those were the days.. I would love to go to your place for gathering.. but i have a fucntion in the evening.. perhaps i come earlier?? say ard 1pm?? :p ..can??

Yu Tong
My maid bathes my GEMs. Of course it began with supervision and after the green light given by the two grandmothers, i safely entrust my girls to her. Occasionally just stand there and observe. Observe until you are comfortable and then do a few "spot checks"

babe_dude,
how are you? Long time no see. Thanks for your advice. Cos my problem is my back. I hurt in last time when I was working. I cannot bend too low or too long. Plus, my C-sect wounds still feels funny till now.

When ABC saw my maid she said she is also very 'ge keang'. My maid has been working here for 6 yrs with her ex employer. When she first worked here, the bb is 2 months so something like my bb lor.

She can work lor but she tends to talk alot and do things that she wants it her way. eg. bb wakes up in the morning, she immediately prepare water to let bb bath.

Another is she talks alot and certainly know how to ask things from people. When I went to my mum's house to stay, she subtle ask my mum to buy her soap box, ask my dad to buy phone card for her.

There is one incident at my mum's place. I was curious when she bath at 11pm. I asked her and she told me tat she has no time to shower cos she had to take care of bb, despite my mum was with her all the time. I asked her why can't she go bath while my mum takes care. She would say that my mother's leg pain so she cannot leave my bb with my mum. The truth is that my mum has asked her to go bath but she choose not to.

Another incident, as my bb is on partial FM and will wake up in the middle of the nite sometime to drink milk. Last morning ( about 130am), bb was fidgeting so I asked the maid to help me prepare the milk ( be it FM or EBM ). She wakes up and ask me " make mdm's mum? " I told her "heng na!" Guess wat she made Anmum for me!! Gosh! By then, my bb was awoke and crying. I was so pissed n tell her " its for bb not me!" then she would tell me " I ask u make mdm's milk you say Heng Na!" Gosh! I tot she said make hot my EMB. Why would I need her to wake up in the middle of the nite to make a cup of milk for myself?!
You know.. such things lor. Talk alot. Sigh..

So I very wori lor. She is doing things that she wants not the employer wants. But mus give credit to her tat she cleans the house well lor. In a dilema, whether to change a maid or not. But I always tell myself to be grateful to haf a helper as I been though the days where there is no help.

YT
from what you mentioned, i think this maid is ok. no need a change.
Is like that one lah i would say.. when i do confinement at granny hse, her maid also bath late everyday as she has to help me do things.. i think nothing wrong with that.
As for requesting to buy things, they are now away from home, certain request i think can accede lor.. like soap box, phone card.. normal ma.. i feel that nothing wrong with it.
Sometimes have to give and take.

Regarding making wrong milk, i would think that she is brainless!!!!! why would u want her to mk milk for you leh.. alamak..! think also know ma..
Sometimes have to give maid abit freedom to do things their way.. Just make sure that they dun do anything funny..
If she is handling baby well, handling household chores.. cooking no prob.. i think she is already doing well..

Or probably u can say my requirements for maid low lah.. at times i jsut close one eye..

Unless really unbearable..

dun say full time maid.. my part time maid.. sometimes she open fridge, make coffee and take things eat herself. I just let her be.. as long as she dun steal.. dun do anything hanky panky and does the household chore well..

We tend to buy food for her without getting $$ from her also.. i find them pitiful already since they are already away from home.. so just let it be.. cannot have too high expectations..

During my confinement.. i only jagar the maid bathe baby on the 1st day.. 2nd day onwards i only spot check.. sometimes didnt even check.. i eat breakfast and ask her prepare water and bathe.. sad to say she has HBP and fainting spells so we send her back to indo liao.

Adeline,
I suppose so lor.. if i change it may not be better lor... I will hit myself on the head if its worse than this maid.

I think for the asking of things.. i dun mind she asking from me but not from anyone she can talk to lor. I think its not nice lor, be it that they are my parents.

M fixing up yao lan for my bb today. Heard some mummies was saying they din let bb sleep overnite on it. Any mummies has suggestion on yao lan?

i let my maid bath my bb. of cos initially is with supervision.

Abt tat incident in the middle of the night, i wun blame the maid. For me i dun wake my maid up in the middle of the night to help even though tat would means both kids r awake. For me i rather let her hv a gd night slp then next day perform a better job, even though i hv to be awake at 530am for work the next day. I guess at times the maid may still be in "dreamland" thus act without thinking.

Abt asking for more, perhaps she is trying to opush her limits. Jus talk to her n tell her she cannot do tat/ If she nd anything, tell u directly and make sure the same thing wun repeat it. I feel tat anything u r not happy abt the maid, tell her immediately though of cos talk in a nice way and dun be too demanding.. no matter wat, they come from faraway and thus will hv times they miss their home.

YT, i think u can keep this maid if u think she is 70% good. Tat's wat my agent told me when my maid contract is up the other time. Sometimes we hv to knw pur prioritoes as in why we engage a maid. To do housework is more impt or to look after bb. If u think yr main task for maid is to do hsework then well she has done a great job isn't it? If it is looking after yr bb i think she has done rather well too. Maybe it is jus her character she is more kan cheong type bah.. anyway the choice is yours, jus sharing with u my perspective on issue with maid...

Yu Tong
My maid, the one doing the housework but i have come to terms already. Nowadays i just tell myself to not get too bothered when she does things not my way. I just explain to her why certain things needs to be done my way. They need to know why we want certain things done our way. and usually its for safety/ health/save $$.

Also have you sat down with your maid to go through her Good points &amp; To be improved on points? It's good to do regular reviews until all the To be improved on points are substantially reduced. It's good to list down what you are not satisfied with. i made two columns and i told her the aim is to move all to the Good points column.

The part about asking for things. It's just basic stuff so its ok la. If i think its too much i will just tell them i can't afford it or i give them alternative.

Yu tong : I let my bb sleep yaolan since birth lei, cos she will sleep better &amp; aso longer. Mummy can aso sleep better lah, i bought those electronic ones..

dreamlife
i let my maid hold on to hp only after working with me for abt 1 yr or more. I told her i will review her. only if she does her job well then i gv hp. Btw i dun gv off day. But if i realise she doesnt do her work but using her hp i will confiscate it. Btw i gv her my spare fone. So tat at least i confiscate she got nothing to say.

Maid,
thanks for your advices. I guess nobody is perfect la, not even employers are. Got help is good enough liao.

Yaolan,
some said dun let bb sleep overnite in yaolan cos they will not wanna sleep on the cot next time. Is it true?

YT
given my experience.. from yaolan if u want them to sleep on bed, the training will be tough.. like kim.. she sleeps yaolan till 1 year bout 3 mths.. when outside, no yaolan she dun sleep.. cannot sleep on bed.. when i know i am giving birth soon then i slowly train her sleep on bed.. now she can sleep on bed liao bt it takes time to train her lor.. it will be tough when u go out.. cause no yaolan dun sleep!!
but then again.. kathlyn is sleeping in yaolan too loL!..

Dreamlife
I like e smell of it. Their moisturizer smell nice but not moisture enough.

Kais
Sure. Good good bring your GEMs along.
Tuesday will be good
Cos Thursday might be leaving for KL liao.

Jerejoy &amp; BBpink, i am feeling much better now. At least no more fever and can on air-con.

Do ur bb act cranky when u take them out. Eg, cry a little more in sleep or want carry more on e same day or e next day. I took her out for short while w my parents for lunch or dinner n notice a change a few times. Is that normal?

Stil at the topic of Yao Lan,
Do you gals stil shake it when bb asleep? or shake till he is asleep then stop it?

i shake even when bb slp but lightly. using electronic ones. i believe bb in deep slp is more impt as this is the stage they r growing up

YT
i shake till baby deep sleep. like if she sleep already, i shake for another half hr more.. then let go about 10mins see if she moves or not.. if she moves i carry on shaking.. i didnt get electronic one.. but i prefer electronic one!!! hahahaa.. cause shake until hands ache :p
but i tie a string lah.. so that i can lie down watch TV and shake hehee..

From today on i doing exclusive pumping! no more latching liao! but will miss the latching days sob sob!! so tempted to latch her just now.. hehee think probably only latch her tonight bah! reason being is cause i gng back work on mon.. let her get used to it but apparently.. she've no problem taking bottle lor.. hope i dun jinx myself here..