(2008/03) March 2008

clover
hee,ya lor, he forever like that.. haha.. woah, alex is amazing.. hehe.. strong bones he has! yeah, better be safe and give him a little support..
sure, will try to join you guys in the future!

dreymin,
i did buy the babysafe infant oval pillow before my baby was borned.. but now he is 10weeks old, i just recently took it out to use.. and not that i let him sleep on it all the time.. only use it sometimes during playing or talking with him.. i think that pillow is safe from newborn ba.. i have friends who used that pillow for their babies since they were borned.. then i think babysafe has a flat pillow, i think that is for babies slightly older.. hee.. not too sure, just sharing what i feel..

Diapers,
bb all along using Pampers, just used the first MP on him tonight.. putting it on test.. hee.. but find it rather thick.. hopefully it's as good as you all mentioned..

Wow! Wat a great day! I jus back from office. Rushed to office to meet a client after the gathering.

Ivy & Alex,
thanks for hosting us. Your condo is so nice! I like your bb room alot. Oh... thanks for letting me use your room for expressing my breast milk and also sterilise the bottles. Sorry ah... a bit buay pai say. Hee... But I really enjoy tis after session. Thanks Ivy, once again.
I mus tell you I always tot that stewardess and pilot relationship wun last as I seen alot cases. But after seeing Alex & Ivy, I think I m wrong! I can see that Alex like kids alot and dote your son alot, Ivy. You are such a lucky woman!

Some of you are wondering wat I am carrying along this afternoon to the gathering, its a form of aromatherapy that can be has eliminate bacteria more than 90%, take away second hand smoke, remove odour and therapuetic effect depending on wat you use.

I have been using this throughout my pregnancy to keep the air clean whenever I m. Its especially useful during the haze period.

Here is a video on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPTpJaqN8qc

Babypink & Clover,
you're welcome.

Thks for all your nice comments. Pai say that some of you hv to sit on e floor le.

Yu Tong,
Welcome and small matter la..

I think pilot & stewardess relationship is juz like any other relationship, as long as you hv mutual trust and understanding for each other.

and just yesterday gathering alone , there are 4 SIA stewardess !

a lot of pretty mummies in this thread

PS: was going thru Ivy's pics, keep seeing pics of me eating next to the table =p

How do u make yr bb sleep in the daytime? My bb has erratic sleeping time during the day. He can stay awake for 4-6 hrs from the time he wakes up. I tried to wake him up earlier today at 9 plus. He stayed awake till 3pm!!!! He managed to sleep cos I was nursing him during the lying position on my bed. (He co sleeps with us in the night time).

Any advice to share? Thanks!

yutong: i saw this b4... last time the company was located at commonwealth? i stay near there, everytime go eat, all the tables will be filled wif tat bottle like thingy... keke. i went to the talk b4. they ask me join as member... a couple of years ago.

jerejoy: i have same situation like u... i also nurse him to slp in the daytime to stimulate nite slp environment...
but my boy muz be entertained throughout the waking hours.. otherwise he will cry.. so whenever i need things to be done, i try to nurse him to slp then i put semi-heavy but soft pillow on his stomach as security. he can usually slp abt 2-3hrs in this position.

Petrina,

Thanks for yr advice. Same here, my bb must be entertained when he's awake. Can't do anything when he's awake. Go to the loo also difficult. Wht time does yr bb wake up in the day time?

My bb wakes up 9 plus if nt sometimes 10 plus in the morning. Nt sure if it's considered too late...

jerejoy: mine? 8am.. until his daddy go to work.. then ard 9am i'll try the nursing to slp method.. he'll slp till abt 11-12. within those hrs i'll get everything done...
when he wakes up, i'll bath him, play awhile then nurse him back to slp... till abt 3pm he wakes up again.
9am or 10am is not too late.. u gotta consider wat time his last feed b4 u slp is... mine i stimulate nite slp ard 10pm. so i can talk to hb n all. then we go to slp ard 12mid.
my boy will wake up for his nite feeds ard 3/4am then 2nd feed @ 5/6am.
then fully wake up ard 8am..
if i dun nurse him to slp, he practically dun slp... need to play whole day. otherwise, he'll only take naps of abt 15mins max...

tats abt my usually daily routine.

Petrina,

Thanks for sharing yr routine.
I will try nursing him to sleep. Rocking him to sleep till my arms nearly break still can't get him to sleep. Still trying to find my routine if not it's so hard to get my house chores done.

His night sleep is at 10 plus but sometimes drags to 12 plus if he's in his bad days.... He will wake up abt 3 am & 7am for milk again.

Ivy,
You are rite. All r/s need mutual understanding.

Babypink,
who are the 4 stewardess? I tot there are only 3?

Petrina,
I hesitated it initially also. But I kinda like the product and accumulated my purchase over a period of time then I took up the membership. I like it and helps alot especially the haze and SARS period.
The company is still there. Next time I go there, I shall look for you for a cup of coffee then. PM me your mobile if you wanna.

babypink

the contact for the fm supplier

you can check with him whether he carries similac infant. but i tink most prob ba cuz he told me he carry a few brands.

forgot to give you yest.

Ivy
thanks for wonderful host and the lovely display of yr bb closet. hahaha... Aidan is SO FORTUNATE. Thanks Alex for playing and entertaining my gal... Would love to go yr place again.. next time we jus gather for swimming? heehee... oh yea thanks for the bumbo and the cream. His rash subsided.

hehe, proposing a gathering at my place b4 i go back to work..

so far i think got 4 positive repiles from Clover, Ivy, Dreamlife & abc fr wat i heard yesterday evening :p and pancake is fine too ..Pet also ok rite ? ;) AdelineL always onz one i noe

<font color="0000ff">Gathering at Babypink's Bukit Batok place on Thursday, 5 June 2008 at 2 pm

1) babypink (fried bee hoon)
2) pancake
3) abc
4) dreamlife
5) clover
6) Pet
7) Ivy
8) AdelineL

crystal

hehe, thanks !
twinklestar pass the number to me too

PS: wana take leave again to rest , then can join us again :p

Jerejoy

haiz, nitetime is like tat for me, so i m also looking for solutions

Kyzac wakes up at 6 pm in evening and stay awake till 1 to 2 am..after thast it is 4 plus am and 6 plus am..

i m aso glad i dun drive or doing a job tat requires me to drive..cos i think i will fall asleep at steering wheel

Babypink,
Gathering at Babypink's Bukit Batok place on Thursday, 5 June 2008 at 2 pm

2) pancake
3) abc
4) dreamlife
5) clover
6) Pet
7) Ivy
8) AdelineL
9.) Yu Tong, bb n maid ( TBC )

Babypink,
I tentative first. If I come I haf to leave around 4.30pm as I haf got appt liao.
Thanks for organising.

hehe, Pet &amp; YT, thanks ! ..dreamlife and me were talking abt this yesterday..west side like kosong gathering so far :p

i thick skinned lor , will try for one more time , encouraged last evening tat there are some positive response haha while chatting with the lateleavers

hb prec,
i aso have the oval one with an indent in the middle. the reason i asked is Josiah has a flu with blocked nose and using the pillow may help. i m now trying the sleeping with his head tilted on the side position, tat seems to alleviate the breathing problem.

jerejoy
hv u tried letting him sleep on his side or belly down? i find these 2 positions very good for Josiah.

bbpink,

Our bb's 'batteries' can last v long. Haha!

dreymin,

I don't dare to let him sleep on tummy. Maybe can try side. Thanks! How to let him sleep on his side huh? Shld I place on pillow to block one of his side?

Hello ladies

I am so blur still thinking that gathering's at ivy's place is today! didnt have time to log on cos my son is down with fever, just recovered. Haiz so sad to miss the gathering cos i just stayed opposite of Ivy's place, super convenient.

Babypink
Hmm will like to join at the gathering but a bit far lei unless there are mummies staying near my area willing to give me a lift

jerejoy,
i use 2 boosters (front and back) to sandwich him, and another pillow to support either one of the booster so he is nice and tight in the middle, haha! sleeping on the belly actually works v well for josiah coz he needs a lot of security/comfort and he can be 'knocked out' for quite a while as compared to sleeping on the back. but of coz nd to monitor him every 15 mins and make sure there is no pillows or fluffy toys around him. the first time i tried, i was paranoid, checking on him every 2-3 minutes

shirley,
sorry to hear your son is down with fever, hope he gets well soon!

outings
i am unlikely to join any unless during the weekends, do enjoy yourselves mummies!

2) pancake
3) abc
4) dreamlife
5) clover
6) Pet
7) Ivy
8) AdelineL
10) Liyun, bb &amp; granny (think I can take half day)

dreymin,

Thanks for yr detailed description.
Will try it out on my bb. I agree with u that sleeping on tummy provides lots of comfort n security to him. I tried the kangaroo method taught by one of the mummies ( oops! sorry, can't rem her name) in this forum n it works v well. But the moment I put him down, he wakes up. Haiz!

Sheryl,
My fever managed to subside last night after plenty of water, bittergourd soup and mineral water. Maybe it is the blocked ducts and heaty food. Really beats me. I feel bearable with the uneasiness caused by the blocked ducts. Usually i take abt 2 days to clear. This time round, my rt takes 3 days to clear after that my left started to get blocked. Now my left is still a little blocked since yesterday. Can i check, i realised recently when i pumped, i get blocked ducts. I wonder if my massage of 1 min is too little or the suction is too hard or i pressed the funnel against my breast to much that caused the blocked ducts to form the next day. How do mummies survive w/o blocked ducts after pumping. Can share and teach me? Now bb wake up like once or twice a night to feed and only feed for 10mins on 1 side only. In the end the collection of milk in the other side is heavy since it has an interval of 4 to 6 hours to form. I also find that my bb choked usually in the morning due to the fullness and hence i tried to pump and then blocked ducts formed.

Babypink,

2) pancake
3) abc
4) dreamlife
5) clover
6) Pet
7) Ivy
8) AdelineL
10) simp n bb

Yu Tong, this would be my first time to join the gathering, normally how long do u all stay over at one's place?

Seems like both bjorn and ergo have gd reviews. Ok, shall wait for hb to come back in a week or two to try them out before we decide if we should get.

simp,
try feeding yr bb in the football style postion. It was recommended in lots of breastfeeding websites to help u clear the blocked ducts. I had it once n it was so painful that no matter how much my bb drink also can't clear it. After using this position, it cleared instantly. But due to the blocked ducts, my nipple pain took 2 days to recover.

abc,
i want to order one unit then. can help me place an order? what else is good at the drugstore?

jerejoy,
you are welcome
josiah aso like to sleep koala bear position, very nice and snug coz can hear mummy's heartbeat. now i hv learnt to xfer him (v quickly) from this position to the belly position in bed. if he is disturbed by the movement, the trick is continue patting him on the back till he snooze off.

PREVENTING PLUGGED DUCTS FROM RECURRING
- To prevent plugged ducts, feed baby in different positions with his nose pointing "around the nipple clock," so that you empty all the milk sinuses and ducts.

- Studies have shown that taking a tablespoon a day of oral granular lecithin or a capsule of 1,200 mg lecithin capsule three to four times a day is helpful in preventing and treating plugged milk ducts.

Simp,
you mean press too hard during pumping will cause block ducts? I always do that cos i saw my milk flow faster when i press again the breast shell when pumping.

I stayed about 3 hours at yesterday's gathering.

Petrina,
thanks, got your number.

I think its whether you see the value of it or not lor. Some of the mummies bot the stroller for thousands of dollars where there are cheaper ones around. I think they really see the value worth thats y they are willing to take money out of their pockets. Thats y not all people buy things becos its cheap but becos they see the worth and most importantly the effectiveness. Wat's the pt of getting something cheap and not effective. To me, might as well dun get it.
I had tried it, I like it and I m for less chemical even though it may means higher price to pay. Of course la, mus be within ones' means lor.

2) pancake
3) abc
4) dreamlife
5) clover
6) Pet
7) Ivy
8) AdelineL
10) Liyun, bb &amp; granny (think I can take half day)
11) Simp n bb

ladis, I had a bad dream this morning. it deserves a blog entry of its own! I dreamt that I was fostering a baby and I became angry at the parents who was neglecting the baby. I handed over the baby back to them n complained to my hubb that I took good care of other's baby that I neglected mine. it was then I realised that my own baby was kidnapped and was gone. I have kept myself busy with another baby. then i started crying in the dream for my baby.

I woke up with tears in my eyes! I quickly hugged n kissed my bb who was sleeping beside me.

the funny thing abt foster bb's name that it was aidan, but ivy's not the irresponsible mother. haha.

Yu Tong,
That's what i thgt too, i saw that milk flows faster but at times, no milk and i can feel the suction a bit painful.

Sheryl &amp; Jerejoy,
Haiz i am a bit scared of pumping even though i latch 99% of time. I pump only when i feel super full in the morning or when i need to go out and see that i wont be back so early. I did use the football style last time, it is good as it cleared the areas where i feel bb din manage to suck probably. Last time my blocked duct occurs when i took papaya fish soup, rice water during the 1st month. Now supply is more stable, even though my breasts are full and hard, it dont feel painful or clogged when bb latch but when i pump, it comes back. My rt that blocked for 3 days, i know that one i din massage and pump and not much milk is collected. The left one was full and i massaged like 1 min then pumped, one time ok but the next time, that i did the same thing, it becomes blocked. Maybe later in the afternoon, i would let bb latch using football style. Maybe now bb only suckle for 10 mins or less so cannt empty the breast. I need to observe more to see what is exactly going wrong.

Babypink,

can I know how to download the photos ah? Wanna save it in my computer. Sorry I m IT illiterate... heee...

Simp,

Me too... I don't like to pump cos it doesn't clear my milk and the suction causes my nipple to sore. Maybe it's the pump that is not gd for my case. I'm using the Medela single electric pump. I latch my bb 100%. My blocked duct occur when I took oatmeal as my dinner in the night time. Once bitten, twice shy. Don't dare to eat oatmeal at night now. Only eat in for breakfast.

Try using the football style and let yr bb suckle longer. My bb can drink from 20 mins to 45 mins nowadays. Worry that he drinks too much and becomes overweight later. Hee! Hope u will recover soon. Take care!

Clover,

Oh yes! Thank you soooooo much! Hugz!

I must thank Aly for the play gym (Tiny Love) she has recommended. I think it's Aly bah. Having very bad memory recently. The play gym is much more colorful than my 1st play gym, bigger and there's more toys and the music is soothing. But the price is close to 3 times more. However, it's still worth it.

Omg!! Seems like most of my frds are pregnant either with their 1st child or 2nd child. My sis is pregnant again with her 2nd child. Her 1st child is 10 months old.

My frd who just came back from Spore said that she saw lots of pregnant ladies in Spore now. Glad that I hv a bb now, if not I will suffer from peer pressure. ;p

Jerejoy,
I use Medela PIS but i think maybe i dun really know how to use properly if not got blocked ducts
Hopefully my blocked duct on my left quickly go away, really dun want another fever soon.

Yesterday night because i was down w fever, so i told mum to let bb sleep w her. However bb din want and couldnt slp w/o me or my ilk smell. In the end, mum took her to me at 2am and i have to settle her down before she slp at 3.30am. Thank God i was already better and fever went down to 37.4. Otherwise i really dun know what to do. Now come to think of it, mummies w infant really have to be sick free, else it would be tough for both the parents and bb. Now i think i shd be even more careful of my food intake onwards as well. Just like during the preggy days. Thank goodness i am still in spore and not in kl, else i think i will faint. This is a good experience and i think i shd be more careful when i go to kl in a month' time.