(2008/03) March 2008

yutong
see attached.

1450209.jpg

Crystal,

so cute! Guess I dun need it cos my house very small. Within 100 steps can cover all the floor area. Kee...

thanks crystal and petrina..

petrina,
hmm.. ya, i also think that babies on total breastfeeding don't need water, but the article mentioned both BM and FM.. don't know leh.. probably i'll give a bit each day.. just a bit only.. haha.. or check with PD ba, think he'll have the best answer..

for MP which one you all use? I see so many different types at the supermarkets.. or it's only one type for our age of babies? MP good and comfy? i'll see if can go check out later.. it's raining now..

i feel breastfeeding can really save ALOT of money.. haha.. a tin of formula is not cheap.. my Similac is like $35 per tin.. a pity my BM supply wasn't well established and only breastfed my baby for 2 weeks.. so for those mummies who are still breastfeeding, you guys really saved a lot of money! haha..

hubby precious, i love mamy poko... very absorbent! can last from 10pm to 7am for my baby. i usually use that when i wanna bring baby out and for night use.

hubby's precious:
actually we will have supply for our baby one, just that for those of us whose milk comes later, we have to be paitence and its very tiring, for the first 2 weeks, my milk supply was very little (as good as nothing), Hubby bought a huge can of FM to standby. But I just have to keep latching and pumping every 2 hours even if there is only 20ml when I pump. Until 1 day suddenly... the supply comes (going into 3rd week), then I felt relif. BUT now working, its very tiring to pump although stil pumping. No idea how long can I last....

MP:
Heard good comments about it but its very expensive. Lucky my boy can tahan Drypers! hahahahha

hubby's precious...MP is nt bad..my sis is using Pampers fully commented MP is comparable to Pampers.
I jus bought yesterday...$24 for 66pcs at NTUC for M size..intend to use for nights and goin out...normally i use pet pet..stickers tape as noisy as drypers...but cheap lar...

Bjorn Air, U$108 is cheap leh..in SG cost ard $289 if nt wrong..can consider asking my friend to buy...

I just bought Pampers Active and Mamypoko M size.. wanted to just get the MP, but cuz bb has been using Pampers so still feel more confident towards Pampers, but just buy one pack of MP to try out..

Vonn,
haha, i didnt know MP comes in 66pcs.. I bought from cold storage 44pcs for $16.90, seems like you got a better deal! haha..

Pampers Active is $34.85 for 68pcs..
my cousin said Indonesia is selling Pampers at $10 cheaper..

haha...i wan buy 44pcs but ntuc dnt have so end up buying 66pcs pack...haha
anyway the price u paid think is promo price liao..

ABC, i get 1 California Baby Calendula Cream to try out 1st...pls help me place order..thanks

Hi Hubby precious,
I swear by either MP or Pampers stages. Now using MP and Pampers active baby.

Yet to try Pampers comfort.

I am hoping to get pampers when they have the box promo. 88 pcs for $29.90 bought some time ago at Giant. Normally is priced around $40 i think.

Mummynorman:
Can try out Baby Bjorn at Mothercare shops. The salesgirls are quite friendly in the one at vivocity.

I didnt use baby bjorn tho. :p

DBS / POSB credit card holders entitled to 15% @ Mothercare harbourfront centre. But dunno if they apply it to baby bjorn.

vonn,
yup, the price $16.90 is promo price for MP.. usual price is $19+...

Hi Kell,
yup, i swear by Pampers stages too.. Today just bought Pampers Active and MP.. wanna try MP, but i don't think i will stop using Pampers..

Simp,

I bought it from babies r us store. I would wish to help but currently we r left with only one car which my hubby is using it to drive to work. Furthermore, the post office is nt near my place n and is only opened from Mon-Fri.

The freight cost is abt usd 40. So it's better if u hv frds that can help u to bring back. But it occupies quite a bit of space if they dun mind.

Katechow,

I agree with u. I dun think it will affect the spine. He's sitting in pretty upright. I feel the support is gd. Now my stroller is being outcasted.

crystal
i was also wondering how does the dancing daisy baby monitor look like =p

look very pretty and sweet, where did u get it from ?

Diapers
my boy started with drypers newborn :p

so far have bought huggies ultra size S and pet pet size S

how u gals tell the dif ?

if no leaking, no redness on bb is fine ?

PS: a pal just delievered...me so envious, cos her maternity leave just starting while mine is ending :p

babypink,
I also dunno how to tell.. my son stil using Goon Newborn. There is no leaking so far so i guess its ok.

kell, bjorn have 10%-15% using the mothercare card. not applicable for discount on the posb/dbs cards.

Mummy norman, you compare wrongly. bjorn air is selling at about 198 in singapore. so minimal discount of 10% is also about 178.20 sgd comparing with usd 108 = 151.20. not much difference. not really worth the trouble.

i bought me in singapore. if you can find someone with mothercare gold card. best got 15% discount. if not the vip card got 10% discount

babypink
gotten mine from one of the mummies here. i posted in the WTB thread. it's a BN one and cheaper than retail. she got it as a gift so sell me cheap cheap.

Jerejoy,
Thanks, will check out the website later.

Katechow,
R both the material of bjorn and ergo same? Suitable for our climate here? Ergo got no front facing for bb is it?

simp: i m using ergo. no face front. but as e support ends at neck, my boy can look ard. left & right.
material diff. ergo is full cotton. i use ok, my boy nv complain warm. only on streets.
weather so warm...

Kell,

i saw bb bjorn air selling at 160+ at paragon, forgot the shop name, its at level 5 i think. u go n check it out, it's 20% disc

Simp

bb bjorn air is using 3D mesh material http://www.babybjorn.com/Eng/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Baby-Carrier-Air/ vr easy to clean and it's airy vr suitable for tropical climate.my bb can sleep a few hrs in the carrier. when he wakes up then i put him to face the front and he's enjoying the scenery, no need to turn his neck left or rite which i think it's quite tiring for him. ergo it's quite warm as compare to bb bjorn and the material is havier too. $289 it's baby bjorn synergy, it's a combination of bb bjorn active and bb bjorn air. http://www.babybjorn.com/Countries/All-other-countries/

Diapers
Have used pamper stages n pamper dry, mp, goon, like their material alot, but leak! Poo oso leaked before, mabbe she's too active n mabbe my bb's size is in between too big for NB, too small for S! I will still use them

Used dryper (got free sample so use lor) once, and bb's butt immediately red like ang ku kuey!

Just switch to pet pet, amazingly this reasonable price diaper has not leaked a single time! I even used it at night! And she's still as active as before, the diaper's cutting fit her very well, and it contains urine very well too. Will be perfect if the sticker is nt plastic!

My SIL's PD told her that infant under 6 mth won't contract HFMD even if exposed. Cos there's some antibodies in the infant to fight off HFMD. How can that be? Anyone heard of this. I find it too wild to believe!

Kate, I bought Ergo at $189. Haha. I can't wait for Metro sale to start lah.

Then my "banker" dun wan bb bjorn. So the "worker" me, have to follow instructions. LOL. Firstly wanna to buy bb bjorn, but banker like the laid back / hippie style of ergo.

Simp,
I shortlisted these 2 cos they are easy to get. So try them out, Paragon lv 5, Mothercare for BB bjorn and Metro for Ergo. Before you commit.
BB Bjorn Air material is like those Nike Dry Fit tops. Ergo is like canvas, but its 100% cotton wove. BB Bjorn normal one like quite hot.

Sheryl, it is bcos, generally, bb below 6 mths dunno how to crawl yet so chances of coming in contact to HFMD is lower? Cos if they got antibodies and all, they wun get flu or anything liao. Hm... Still better take precautions.

I am still pumping milk but Da Yi Ma came to visit liao. Is this normal?

I try to let my bb latch my inverted nipple(my right breast is inverted) vr pain....... is it normal? last time he dun wan but now he wants it, he'd rather latch my inverted nipple than bottle feed. sigh..... any idea why it's so pain? normally i pump out, now my breast one big n one small, so obvious!

Kell,

ya lor, ergo is vr hippie type and bb bjorn is more modern... i also follow my 'banker' instruction hehehehehe....my banker said he likes the material and colour. no choice...but so far so good, i bought my bb bjorn at $110 use one but look vr new. the colour is the latest one, grey n white.

Kate, tot you are supposed to pull out the inverted nipple first? Will get sore nipple one if you latch the inverted nipple as it is. Painful might be sore nipple liao. Put some nipple cream.

I kenna before, then pump out also pain. I put off milking for like 1.5 days. Aft that become engorged. Hahaha. But now sian, milk supply really become 10-20ml per pump. Still trying hard.

Kell,
your yield 10-20ml per pump is for how long after last pump? i just read something about relactation. if you had started working, take leave for like 2 days and latch baby as often as you can, like every 2 hours. if baby don't want to latch, pump. you may take oats or fenugreek to see if it helps. this might restore your MS once again. also there're products in the market to correct inverted nipple. did you try any of them? i know Avent has one but Avent stuff has always been pricey so consider other brands.

You can make changes to your milk supply and the effect can take place anywhere from 24-72 hours. Determination and will power oso makes a difference.

What fever medicine or natural remedy i can take to help fever. Think i am having fever due to heaty food n blocked ducts for the past few days.

normal panadol or paracetemol is safe. don't take panadol extra. after taking, go to sleep. sleep restores your bodily function to normality. drink plenty of fluids.

Simp, jfyi even if u know. continue to nurse on that breast een if got blocked ducts. actually, if u develop flu like symptoms and high fever it could be mastitis. Monitor, if continue for another 24 hrs, do see a good doctor.

Kell, I still don't believe that newborn are born with enuff antibodies that prevent them from contracting HFMD when exposed. :| Anyway, my SIL said her 5mth old did not get it when her 2 yrs old got it...

hehe, back at home sweet home after dinner at mum's =)

it is really great meeting so many mummies at 1 go, and nice to catch up with those whom i last seen when we r all pregnant..times really flies
( sigh* flies so much tat it is coming to the end of my maternity leave..sad)

now busily uploading the pics for ur viewing pleasure =p

PS : Ivy, thanks for hosting us !
ur hse is very nice and spacious and very comfy !

PSS : Dreamlife, thanks very much for the lift
make sengkang feel so much nearer :p

seems like a long while since i last posted. went back to work on tue and guess what? josiah caught a flu and cough. so no choice work from home today and tomorrow. very bad record yah? haha! i feel so paiseh coz work 2 days, MIA 2 days, and the 2 days that i work, keep going to the mother's room to pump!

diapers
poopoo coming out from the back means it is too small or the fit is not good? but the size fits in the range of Medium size... hmm...

abc,
i m keen in your drugstore spree. what products is good for rashes at the back of his neck? California Baby Calendula Cream? baby is having 2 baths a day: morning and evening but the rashes have not subsided

clover,
haha.. so coincidental to bump into you at Dr Ang's clinic..
By the way, i saw the photos taken at the gathering.. =P saw you carrying your baby by his armpits! he can support his head already?! haha.. remembered you told me your boy is 9 weeks old only! =P

ivy, thanks for opening your house. your hubby n u r such good hosts!

bbpink, u r so efficient in putting up the photos. thanks a bunch. :D

hubby_precious, yah lor, so qiao. dr ang was as usual chop-chop-curry-pok again... yah my alex can support his head quite well, but on the safe side, i still provide some support at the back of his head. he is a little KPO, like to see things...

do join us in our future gatherings!