(2008/03) March 2008

Ling yee
wont put on weight meh? till now i dun dare weigh lor.. sunday went mussel guys to eat with my inlaws, i had sirloin and king prawn, half of MIL's dory fish.. HB's mash potato and alot alot mussels!!! Follow by american cheese cake.. Dang!!!!
Then yday eat 2 big bowl of macaroni and fall aslp after that!!!

Yeah BF is like that. My aunt who's fully BF is also experiencing voracious appetite and put on a lot of weight.

I managed to maintain my weight and it's still pre-preggy weight. However my bb just turned 3 months and she still hasn't doubled her birthweight. The polyclinic doctor told me to supplement her with FM but my mom told me that it's probably my diet that's causing her to be a bit underweight (she's 25 percentile for weight). Now I think I should re-look at my diet and add more carbohydrate like more rice or more banana.

So I think it's ok if you're overweight as long as your baby is enjoying the benefits of all the nutritions in your food. Our fat makes milk too so do it for the baby and don't feel upset. I still have some preggy stretchmarks that I proudly call a battle scar.

Thanks all for the feedback. I am still very pissed when I think of relatives holding bb by the armpit. :p

Red dots:
Piggy77 - It is cos bb is hot? I am using kodomo, sometimes Pigeon. But so far so good. When the weather is hot, my bb will have a bit of red dots.
Or it might be bb allergic to something? For me, when I "overdose" on prawns or crab, I will get little red dots all over.

abcmummy
when are u putting orders?

breastfeeding
me too eat alot...

Petrina
i think our diet affect bb, cos when i actively lose weight when i have #2, #2 is skinny...

Mummies, is there rec that i can buy from drug store spree for ezcema? Something natural like California Baby Calendula Cream, dnt wan to be always applying steriod creams.

Mummyboy : Mi too mi too..duno why i eat v little after i gave birth..I even sometimes dun have appetite, cant even finish one bowl of rice, eat v little..But by right i shld be v hungry as i still bf'ing my bb, cos according to my colleague, mummies who are bf'ing will get hungry easily de..So im thinking am i abnormal

No wonder... I seems to be always going to the fridge and kitchen to look for food these days. I ate quite a fair bit as well.

Melissa,
wat you mean your bb yet to double its birthweight? Better heed the advice of the PD. How heavy is your bb now? mine is 6kg. When he is 2.85kg when born. Now 3 months.
Dun mind me... but I think most impt is to have a healthy and happy bb whether its FM or BM.

adeline, i tink the food i ate all went to milk production. dun dare to diet coz scare baby not enuff netrients.
like now, im hungry aledi...

yutong
of cos if can bm is best. I will perserve my two yr plan even though it means missing my slp!

esther
exchange rate fixed @ 1.45 first. excess offset shiping.

spree
received fr ivy, chewwy, yutong , jessmyn. will close all by this fri or next mon. but items in ON oss very fast.

vonn
u can gt calendula cream fr dRugstore. alternatively u can try aveeno baby products too.

bb wash
i've been using california bb super sensitive bodywash. fragrance free. u can gt fr drugstore too. u can try aveeno bb bodywash too. very gd.

diet vs eating
i've geen eating like a PIG!! hungry easily

Me also, eat n eat esp sweet stuff like ice cream. now i'm 50kg...4 more kg to go, sigh...the 4kg like vr vr diff...my baby now 6.7kg at 11 weeks. when he was born only 3.1kg...more than double weight lio....

Katechow,
U r so lucky only to shed another 4 kg. I have a lot more to go. Just had bread and soup just now. Mouth is itchy.

I am back to my pre-preg weight tho still have the extra flab around the tummy area and the hip is still big. yah boob is bigger also!

I eat fairly healthy now. 3 big meals for me n still will snack on chips n chocolate. I tell myself the occasional binge is alright! :p

talkin abt hungriness => i just woke up at 5 am as i m hungry, alto my last meal is at 10 plus pm !

i oso dun dare to weight myself! tat day while trimming my eyebrow, the lady asks me how many kgs more to go..i told her i dun dare to see

but the clothes i m "upgrading" to is a give away, now top is L , bottom is XL for skirt !

bottom i wana buy a bigger size 2 days ago for a better fit, but the boutique said XL is the biggest !

PS: i think now bf can't diet, but can exercise..hehe, dun noe should i get a aibi thingy to motivate myself to exercise in front of tv..but looking at the other exercise equip tat are lying ard like white elephant..even my OTO trimmer has turn mouldy..really at a dilemma to buy or not

PSS: foodwise, i was still smsing clover abt a new recipe i wana try up, crispy fish & chips =p asking her abt one of the ingredients ;)

PSSS: just have a really farni dream..dreamt abt Ivy and babe_dude ..so farni, 3 of us discussing abt the upcoming gathering..and babe_dude sharing that she found a leisure job as a prison officer ?! weird dream :p

babypink: my hip also seem to expand.. yesterday went to wisma to try pepperplus sale skirt @ $10... only managed to squeeze into L Size. & it looks like it's exploding. so in the end, nv buy.

clover: i also bot lots ice cream n chocolates & biscuits.. stock up. binging alot lately. but thanks to my big eater though very physically draining, very happy to be shrinking...

i think if u r able to c e c-sec line in front of mirror w/o lifting up ur skin, u've succeeded in the whole slimming process. haha
i was comparing to 1st day post preg n yesterday.. i realised tat i cannot feel the flab above the line anymore.

ABC.... calendula cream can use for adults for ezcema? I have been using steriods cream which is not so good for long term?
When u closing the spree?

Petrina,

I love chocolates & ice creams too. Haiz! So hard to slim down. Feel hungry easily.

bbpink,

I'm so lazy to exercise. Been trying to motivate myself but it's so hard. hehe!

yutong,
my bb birth weight is 3.1kg and now that she just turned 3 months, she's only 5.45kg. i'm giving her the benefit of doubt b'cos she *just* turned 3 months therefore has a couple of weeks in the 3rd month to double her birthweight. and I'm prepared to overfeed her with EBM hehehe. also, i'm doing my bb a favor by eating more fatty food, not that i am avoiding, i'm just trying to get into the habit of choosing healthier food instead. or maybe i should put more red meat or nuts into my diet. her health assessment is done by polyclinic doctor, not PD b'cos trying to cut cost. her PD is Dr Gong in Gleneagles. he's very good but very expensive and his clinic is always packed! maybe i should go by my instinct and believe that my bb is a small bb after all, just like her jie jie. now her jie jie is 20 months but pple still mistook her for a 13 or 14 month-er. they literally screamed when they saw her running around and climbing stuff. they will say "wah! so young can run around already?" i will be like.. hello, she's almost 2 years old leh! haha.

Finally bought the baby Bjorn Air carrier last week. It's so wonderful to use this carrier. Weight is equally distributed on both the shoulders, it's airy and he likes it very much. He always sleeps in the carrier when we go shopping. Glad that I did not choose to listen to the -ve remarks posted on one of the websites.

vonn

actually there are a few california baby pdts gd for treating ezcema. you can browse the drugstore if you are free. like the aloe vera cream too. and i think all are suitable for adults.

hope this helps.

jerejoy: how come u nv buy ergo?? or beco?? haiz... u in states, those r cheap.. my boy loves ergo. very comfy though not as airy as bjorn.

clover: ya.. so i mean to use tat 1st day as a guide line.... e day u can feel or see the c-sec line w/o overhanging flab, means succeeded liao lor. hehe

Drinking water can hurt babies under 6 months
Sucking reflexes can put them at risk for water intoxication, say doctors
updated 3:16 p.m. ET May 21, 2008

Babies younger than six months old should never be given water to drink, physicians at Johns Hopkins Children's Center in Baltimore remind parents. Consuming too much water can put babies at risk of a potentially life-threatening condition known as water intoxication.

"Even when they're very tiny, they have an intact thirst reflex or a drive to drink," Dr. Jennifer Anders, a pediatric emergency physician at the center, told Reuters Health. "When they have that thirst and they want to drink, the fluid they need to drink more of is their breast milk or formula."

Because babies' kidneys aren't yet mature, giving them too much water causes their bodies to release sodium along with excess water, Anders said. Losing sodium can affect brain activity, so early symptoms of water intoxication can include irritability, drowsiness and other mental changes. Other symptoms include low body temperature (generally 97 degrees or less), puffiness or swelling in the face, and seizures.

"It's a sneaky kind of a condition," Anders said. Early symptoms are subtle, so seizures may be the first symptom a parent notices. But if a child gets prompt medical attention, the seizures will probably not have lasting consequences, she added.

Water as a beverage should be completely off limits to babies six months old and younger, Anders and her colleagues say. Parents should also avoid using over-diluted formula, or pediatric drinks containing electrolytes.

Anders said it may be appropriate in some cases to give older infants a small amount of water; for example to help with constipation or in very hot weather, but parents should always check with their pediatrician before doing so, and should only give the baby an ounce or two of water at a time.

If a parent thinks their child may have water intoxication, or if an infant as a seizure, they should seek medical attention immediately, she advised.

Copyright 2008 Reuters.

saw this on the web

Petrina,

We bought Bjorn Air cos of the material. My bb develops rashes v easily even though we don't sweat here. Can't imagine wht will happen when we are back in Spore. I'm afraid he might develop more rashes due to the humid weather. That's why we bought this carrier cos it's more airy.

jerejoy,
me using Baby Bjorn too despite all the negative comments. i like it very much, had gone shopping on foot for 4 hours with bb in it and she slept through the 4 hours. going home, i didn't feel any strain carrying her.

mummy_norman,
yes Baby Bjorn is much cheaper if u get it directly from USA. very pricey here.

Hi jerejoy, hw much u paid for the bjorn in USA?
My frend goin San Frans this july, if its cheaper, would like him to buy it for me

Mummy Norman08, Vonn,

I paid abt usd 108 in total for the bjorn air carrier. As Melissa has mentioned, no strain on the shoulders and he is so comfortable that he can sleep thru when we shop.

jerejoy
108 S$?
that is cheap....
mebe should get frens who going there get for me, will it be too big a size to bring home? I read it is bulky, is it?

Mummy Norman08,

I weigh the box with the carrier. It's close to 2kg. The dimension of the box is abt 11cmx10cmx4cm. It occupies quite a bit of space actually.

<font face="BOok Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">YT/Aly/Isabellis,

Finally our wipes are here. Aiyo wait till my neck so long. Pls sms me @ 92203969 to arrange for pick up</font></font>

Jerejoy,

Is it possible for u to help us buy bb bjorn or ergo if we want? I am trying to psycho my hb to invest in the carrier instead of stroller at the moment. Maybe buy stroller much later. Do u have the website for bb bjorn? He bgt one carrier and i felt that bb is going to fall back off the carrier and i have to support the carrier since bb 'neck is still jelly. I must say it is a lot more convenient and versatile to take bb out with carrier than stroller.

was reading the entry on infants shouldn't drink water posted by Petrina.. what is seizures?

my boy 11 weeks old is on total FM.. previously i did gave him water but not everyday.. lucky.. but also always keep hearing ppl say FM very heaty should drink water, but i have not given him water since the day the news was reported..

crystal, i know your baby also on FM.. you give her water?

Diapers
by the way currently using Pampers Stages on my baby, the one for New Baby 3kg-8kg.. costs about $26.90 for 58pcs.. is it consider reasonable? thinking of trying Mamypoko.. anyone using MP?

hubby precious
yes i do give. i am frightened when i saw the article too. but we are also brought up this way. so i nvr stop giving her, just dont give too much. now always minimal amount abt 10ml but not totally no water.

hubbyprecious
i am using both MP and pampers.

you can try pampers ACTIVE, it's the next stage alrdy. almost the same as newbaby just no urine indicator. it's cheaper and absorbent is really good. i uses MP in the night.

going to try pampers COMFORT once my active finishes. the mummies here recommend COMFORT, and it's even alot cheaper.

you can try.

hb precious: i think the article is meant for fully BM babies.. FM need some water? cause scared constipation... but the article also mentioned abt over diluting FM... hmm. i think different bb different effects bah.

crystal: i c pampers pricing i already faintz... so i'll prob only try pampers comfort cause reasonably priced. keke

jerejoy,

U r rite,the material of bb bjorn air is much better than ergo. I also using bb bjorn air. my bb like it cause can be front facing and he easily sleep inside the carrier too...it support his head also vr well as for ergo i had tried, i dun really like cause my bb legs need to spread widely,his leg is too fat so vr uncomfy for him and ergo cannot front facing.i think bb bjorn is good for young baby as their weight is still ok but if elder bb i prefer ergo. as for the spine things, bb bjorn is a popular and old brand, i dun think it effect the spine if so a lot pp will complain lio.