(2008/03) March 2008

babypink,

Thanks for yr encouragement! will jia you. hehe! did u breastfeed when u r trying for yr no 2?

Adeline,

Can understand yr plight. me too, only one bb n i hv to carry him when i'm pooping. haha! i think yrs will be worse since u hv 2 kids. I'm addicted to hving more kids eversince I had my 1st bb. Find him simply adorable. also due to my age too lah. I'm coming to 30 this yr liao. So wanted to try one more b4 age of 35.

abc,

Thanks for yr advice.
I tot if i latch him on, my fertility will drop. so intend to pump out to feed him in bottle. Since it's possible to hv a 2nd bb while bf, i will latch him then. save my time n money to pump out too. hee! Initially tot of buying the Medela PIS for this purpose only.

babypink, adeline k,
i was giggling as i read your posts. don't forget me leh, i also have 2 terrors and age gap between them is 15 months. and i have been working but going back, i still need to do housework, laundry. luckily i don't have to cook and lucky for me too, my hubby is chin chai about food.

jerejoy,
i conceived my Tricia when i am still breastfeeding my first! but once i learnt about the pregancy, i did not begin to wean my girl off me. i continued to BF for as long as I can and i did not feel any contractions that was so often told about. anyway due to the pregnancy, my MS went down drastically. my menses also did not return until my girl is around 6 mth old as I was fully breastfeeding then.

don't worry, actually now is the period that we're super fertile. my gynae did warn me if i want to stop "accidents" i better think of a proper contraceptions. withdrawal method don't work. i also have two other friends who got pregnant when their first child is under 2 years old. so once u get your menses, you have a high chance of getting pregnant again!

abc,
you remind me of one ang moh patient in my gynae's clinic. i was waiting for my turn when i notice this ang moh woman carrying a toddler. he's so small but sturdy enough to walk, my guess is, he's around 12 months and i noticed that she's pregnant again!! so i kaypoh and asked my gynae what happened to her, her baby is soo small, she said she's pregnant again on IUD! i guess "accidents" will happen no matter what if it's meant to be!

i don't think that IUD will decrease your supply. remember that breastfeeding and supply is all about demand and supply AND hormones. IUD is just an artificial device inserted to prevent fertilization from taking place and it doesn't change your hormone levels. therefore i think it shouldn't affect your MS.

Hi Liyun

Melissa
talking abt chin chai hb ! mine is definitely NOT chin chai abt food lor

take for example the simple homecooked claypot rice for today's lunch..it is quite tasty i feel ..he thinks otherwise and compare it with this famous claypot rice we had b4

so now i am having claypot rice for teatime as well ...to finish it off

Jerejoy
i only bf Kelicia for 5 months, not tat i wan to stop, but the supply just ceased , maybe cos i could not pump regularly during office hrs

personally, <font color="0000ff">i dun noe got medical background or not hor..i think no ;) </font>, i feel if #2 is already conceived, then i will stop bf..becos like the nutrients is being divided between the bb and #1..like neither here nor there

i could be wrong..but just my personal stand only

Yoohoo

Jusst pack my baby's stuff.. I have 2 box of B-Free plus bottle + Teats to let go.. bought @ 34.90 at mothers work, willing to let go @ $30 per box of 2s (9Floz - 260ml).

Let me know if anybody is interested..

Thnx

hi liyun and clover,

u all went to the kidzloft sale?how was the kidzloft sale?any good buy?cos very wulu the place,not worth the trip unless got good buy

my gf wan sell her ergo. $110 use only 3 mth during weekend. black. sell Becos her son is 1 yr when bought. nw boy already can walk n he'll struggle his way out. no pt ergo him.

Wanna chk w you mummies, have your bb BCG wound healed?

My gal's one like swollen up and red w a bit yellowish skin over it.

Melissa, bbpink,

Thanks for sharing yr experiences. It's gd that I ask in this forum cos it's based on yr true experiences.
I tried for a yr plus before I finally conceive my 1st bb. Almost give up trying. I have v irregular menses, only come once every 2-3 months. Hopefully I don't need to try so long for my 2nd child.

kell, its okie. it will heal in the next few days. just dont do anything to it. keep it clean.

adeline, tried that too. #2 crying non stop then i stomach pain. no choice lug everyone into the toilet.

babypink, one other all-in-one dish that i just tried recently is pork/beef red wine stew. super easy and nice too.

oh instead of slow cooker. you guys can try themos or tiger magic cooker. my mum loves it. she used it to make soup everyday. can be used to make porriage and stew also. hehe. save gas save electricity and dont have to moniter it. soup tasted the same as cooking in slow cooker or fire. some soup even tasted better eg my favourite green apple soup.

I think metro sale just passed? I also want buy Ergo carrier... MIM sling cannot make it, rather I have no idea how to use it comfortably. =(

twinklestars,clover,bbpink,melissa, thanks for your concern. It's really tormenting for me. I'm glad to have support from my family and friends, cos meanwhile I'm nt capable of taking care of bb alone, as my body is fighting off infection.

SAHM giving ebm
Jerejoy, actually, I think otherwise. It is true that we can still nurse when we are sick, in fact always tell the doc that you're BFing and demands for BF compatible medication. That way, you can BF, and oso provide antibodies for you bb. I had cough for weeks, and my bb is still ok. BUT now I have to stop BF because i'm on an antibiotic that is bf incompatible. Yes, only this antibiotic can kill off the bacteria. So I have no choice.

So it's always good to introduce bottle ebm to your baby, so that he/she will get used to it in the event like this. Anyway, like abc said, our bb are older than 6 weeks, there will be no more nipple confusion.

Since I have to stop nursing my baby, she has some kind of withdrawal symptom, she cries, she shows rooting despite being fed, she was literally searching for me. I felt very sorry and heartpain as well. If only I could gradually wean off, it will not be so tough on my baby.

Melissa, looks like I will have to go into long haul - not 7 days, but rather 3 weeks of antibiotics. Doc intro one that is $100 per tab!!! Otherwise I need to be hospitalised for antibiotics IV. Localised means in one area. Mine is not the case

Abc, hope your bb gets well. It was a scare for me when PD tot my bb had UTI. Seeing how they collect urine is already heartpain for me.

I feel that most GPs in general do not have a good information/idea about breastfeeding problems. How can we raise this to higher authority? I wish my condition is identified earlier by the right person, and I won't have to go through all these.

piggy,
sometimes if my boy really cry too hard i will use the pacifier to soothe him.. actually don't worry about the hooking on part as long as u dont let him suck on it unnecessary like during play time.. i use it only for soothing purpose. its my MIL that always wants to give the pacifier to him to make him sleep, but i always try not to cuz i'm also afraid of him getting hooked onto it. so use it to calm ur bb down, when ur bb stop crying, then u remove the pacifier lor..

me going back to work soon.. though i have my MIL to look after my bb for me, i am still very "bu fang xin" cuz my MIL is that type of MIL that does things her own old-school ways.. sometimes when i just try to "propose" to her my way of doing things, she'll disagree and then gets unhappy over it. i don't care about her seriously, cuz it's MY bb not hers. feel like telling her this straight in the face sometimes. stubborn old ppl.. sigh..

hb precious
i'm totally opp from u.. i follow my aunty's old sch way cause thats how they brought us up anyway. My #1 is taking pacifier till now ( almost 19 mths) but only during sleep time. no sleep = no pacifier.. my #2 also taking pacifier.. it's better then sucking thumb..
But i only follow my aunty not anyone else!! if my MIL dare comment on anything i will get unhapy also so.. in the end.. my MIL listens to me..
At times she tries to feed my #1 chocolate.. ice cream etc.. (she having cough andher body heaty) I will yell at her.. then she will keep saying nvm la.. nvm la.. KAOZ!!! i am the one that suffer if she sick not my MIL lor.. So she everything also nvm.. then my hb will scold her!!

Sheryl
No wonder so long didnt hear from u. Glad tht everything is getting better now. No worries about no bf-ing.. U already tried and did ur best =)
but i know it hurts to see ur girl searching but u cant do anything about it..

dreamlife
hahaha.. i guess alot mommy does that esp 2nd time mommy!!

kell
the bcg is normal..

jerejoy
i dunno to say myself lucky or unlucky.. Hmm.. both accidents 1 time only and i got pregnant =/
thats why so close age gap..

adeline,
haha.. at least for your case things are done the way you want to do.. i'm glad your MIL listens to you.. my MIL doesn't.. she only listens to whatever she choose to listen.. if only i can re-choose my bb's caregiver, i'll definitely let someone from my side of my family look after my bb..

Wat an episode of blur me mummy...

On friday, I was carrying my bb and I knocked his head on the door frame as I turned to get a handy to feed him. I was rushing to clean his poo poo and to feed him after cleaning him. Impact was quite strong. He cried so loudly. I was so panic and keep pouring and rubbing my company's herbal oil. He stopped crying after i feed him. Felt lucky that there is no bruise or any sign of his head kena knocked.

However, at 5plus, my bb started to vomit. He vomit all his feed out and subsequently twice while we are on the way to a wedding dinner. Feeling that something is not rite, I send him to Glenagles A&amp;E instead attending the wedding dinner. I was then advised to admit my bb for observation. I was so scared n confused then. The nurse advised to go to KKH. I then went over to KKH to admit my bb.

It was a worrying nite... doc came to see my bb... nurse came to take pressure n check his pupils for him every 2 hours... Luckily, all is well. My bb is stil able to 'talk' n play wif them while he was awake. Bb is able to discharge the next day and Nuero Surgeon asked me to observe him for the next 7 days.

Sigh... blur me... caused all this... So mummies do b careful when taking care of your bb.

Should anything like that happens, do look out for the followings:
1. Inablity to wake child from sleep
2. Unusual of drowsiness and sleepiness
3. Vomitting more than 3 times a day
4. Bleeding or discharge from ear or nose
5. Any unusual behaviour
6. confusion about familiar names n places
7. Increasing or persistent headache
8. Seizures (Fits)
9. Unsteadiness on feet
10. Double or blurred vision
Bring the child immediately to emergency department if any of the above signs and symptons appear within the first 72 hours after discharge.
Thanks Ling and Ling yee for your help and advices to me while I was confused at Gleneagles

Adeline,
I know how it feels to do it all by myself. I was not having any helper. I got only one kid and I cannot tahan liao. You got two! Salute to you! You mus take care hor.

Kell:
My boy's BCG now is like a red pinple lookalike, during the first 3 weeks, it had pus which after it pop had remain like this till now that he is 2.5 months. Shouldnt be a problem.

Sheryl:
You're very strong! I almost give up breastfeeding when I kana fever the last time, to me, having fever is hell enough... Don worry, I think keep pumping your supply will not be cut off, Jia You!

Kidzloft sale:
Hahahha, I went again with hubby, look around, bought a $10 potty (got music, can be use as stepping stool), some bedsheet covers ($5). Childseat (display set) selling @ $99 which I didnt get as didnt do research, don noe the actual market rate.

Yu Tong:
Is he okie already now? Everything back to normal? My boy just jump up due to my stupid dog barking, sometimes I really feel like kicking her in her butt!

GSS... err... is it Great Singapore Sale? *hahaha, the only thing I can think of*

yu tong
my boy has a smilar incident as ur boy when he was 15mths he slipped and fall at the back of his head. he was ok after the fall was able to respond normally to our questions. We brought him home and after his afternoon nap, he kept vomitting. we got worried and sent him to Mt A a&amp;e, he has to go for CT scan which was very heart wrenching for me. I cant with him for the scan as i was preggy with my gal then. I can only soothe him over the speaker and he was so scared and crying till his face red. Luckily after the scan, everything is ok and he was discharged after one day. After the incident, he kept showing me the "scared scared" sign and always wake up crying. It took him almost one week to recover from the traunma. I felt guilty for not taking good care of him and cause him to fall. Now i taught him when i said "wet wet" means he cannot walk that area and he will walk real slow. I understand the stress that u have went through......

Adeline
I know what u mean i have been through that, luckily with the new helper, i finally have a breather and lele is much easier to handle as compared to zac when he was younger. It was hard to keep my sanity when i was taking care of the 2 esp when come to feeding time. I was slinging lele, latching her and feeding zac at the same time.

jerjoy
it is good to have children with close age gap. My 2 kiddos are 18mths apart and i didnt exactly plan for my second one and she was also conceived when i was bf my no1. But u have to be mentally prepared for the stress and frustration with such small age gap, as when ur no1 is only 1.5 to 2 years, this is the time when they are most demanding and constantly needs ur attention and also as they are learning to communicate, they will throw tantrum more often. This is something u have to be mentally prepared.

Shirley
Lucky for me, when even i give kim milk bottle, she auto hold her bottle so i can latch kat peacefully.. thats the only time kim guai guai!!!..
Now is the tough period but i believe in another year time, when kat and lele is older.. we both will hv better times!!!

Yu tong
dunno if u realised or not. Kim have a scar at her eyebrow which is caused by a fall when she was about 8 mths. When she cruising ON THE BED.. and HB was suppose to be looking after her.. she fall off, knock on sharp edge of my side table and bleed like hell.. her mouth was bleeding too.. i scolded my HB.. since birth till now, kim fall off bed a number of times due to my HB negligence.. once was kim crawl over him (he did not realised) and she fell off bed.. haiz..
From then on.. i will try my very best to look after her myself..
Thankfully nothing serious happened to her.. if not i wouldnt know what to do as well..

vernon mummy
u hv to go down to the warehouse. a number of mummy had already gotten it at $49.90. It is clearance price and NOT stated ont he website. They sell bumbo tray as well.

sheryl: i went to metro today.. tried e ERGO. my boy's leg abit red after trying short while... he dun like it leh... but reason was because mummy's belly too big. so he is hurting as his leg is too short to spread so big. he likes it when i do hip carry... width of waist is smaller..

generally, it's easy n comfy. totally lightweight.
i chose it because of price mainly... BECO is way too expensive. no sample to try.
BECO is easier to use because it's 1pc cloth. no pockets or anything. not as bulky as ERGO. but usage wise, ERGO lesser buckles to meddle wif.

ERGO - $189 (metro cardmembers less 10% + 5% rebate)
BECO - $220 (purchase frm online distributor)

I have posted on this thread, but not very active in it.

I've got a question to seek advice.
Recently my 2month girl is having a lot of bubble saliva on her mouth. Is this a sign of teething? If yes, what can I do to ease her discomfort?

so sad to hear that your babies encountered falls.. we must all be very careful handling our precious.. a little bit already very heart pain, moreover its like a fall from the bed.. bet your hearts must have ached a lot.. i felt so sorry when i was reading your posts.. but don't worry, i'm sure your babies are all strong boys and girls..

brought my boy for his first dose of 6-in-1 jab plus rota vaccine yesterday.. i was so worried he'll cry the whole clinic down like some of your babies did, but i was surprised that he only cried a little during the injection. after we came out from the PD's door, he's settled already. hee.. as for the rota vaccine, he didnt really like the taste ba.. haha.. his face damn bitter when swallowing..

by the way, he weighs 5.9kg at 2mths.. is he on the right track? i forgot to ask my PD.. blur me, was so concerned abt the jab, forgot some questions that i actually wanted to ask.. :p

Hi mommies, how is it going for all of you here? Didn't have time to login for the past few weeks, really busy with 3 at home!

Petrina,
I see you are utilising the sling very much, just like me. The other day, hub came home earlier than usual time and I was multi-tasking :- cooking and hanging out the laundry, with bb in my sling. His eyes popped wide open!

Wrt your bb's leg being too long in the sling, you can leave them outside ie butt in sling and legs hanging outside sling. Just make sure butt all the way till knee is inside sling, bb will be secure.

Anyone interested in Bumbo seat? Taka and John Little selling at $59.90 now. JL having 1st Anniversary sale, 20% storewide too.

abc,
You mention the warehouse is selling at $49.90? Where's the warehouse located?

Adeline,

I would consider u lucky.
It's gd to be a young mummy n mummy of 2. How I wish I had mine few yrs earlier.

Shirley,

So lucky of u too. Hope I can conceive while bf my bb too. U r right. Hv to be mentally prepared. Hv to salute to those mummies having 2 kids whose age gaps r close.

My son is ok now i think. Gotta observe him closely for the next 7 days to make sure everything is ok. I guess have to be calm being a mother. My sis told me if you gan cheong bb can feel it also and will be very unsettling as well.