(2008/03) March 2008

happy mummy
sometimes i also very tired until i feel like putting her to stay over there. but when i finish work and go back and saw her, my heart just melt and no matter how tired, i still insist to bring back. my heart just melt when she smiles and kicks vigorously when she saw me. really want to spend more time with her though when she reach hm, she will be sleeping. but at least i am doing her night feeds and still could bond with her. and could stay by her side when she had a nightmare in her sleep. keke.

crystal,
hehe i understand how tiring it must be that's why i invited my parents to live with me. then i can see my babies everyday. my sister not so lucky back then. she's a weekend mom. only gets to see her kids on weekends. she must be missing her kids like crazy everyday. salute you for having the strength to send your bb to and fro your mom's place. only a mother can do that.

btw what brand of FM did u give your bb. anyone knows how to obtain samples of neslac or nespray? went to nestle website but no info of free samples. thinking of switching my toddler from Gain IQ to something else. Gain IQ is really expensive!

kais,
i know triplets. kekeke typo lah. sorrie!

melissa
i give my bb nan1.
i don have my own house yet so cant invite my mom and dad over. but FINALLY had gotten my own flat and shifting in in oct!!!! am looking so forward to that. haha.

okay ladies. i am going off alrdy. time's up! knock off liao. enjoy this long weekend! take care!

sheryl, my goodness! poor u! hope yr ba clear soon.

ladies, now i m feeding bb at tangs! just now i was at isetan scotts. quite pissed off coz some promoters made use of the bf room to laze! i tot mummies are inside both rooms, sekali both came out with no baby or pump set. pissed me off man coz i have to feed on the couch in the nursery. i feedback to the customer service n they asked me whether i have checked with the staff outside the nursery???!!!

yeah think some pple quite inconsiderate..they misuse the nursing rooms.. the nursing room at amk hub looked as if they are used for smooching purposes by teenagers..yucks! lots of unsightly scribblings on the walls of the nursing room

oh yeah! i've seen how these rooms are abused too! i think the best we can do is complain b'cos we're the rightful users of these rooms!

In the united sq also, i saw got a few girls( i think those sales assistance who work there) chatting at the nursing room, they move the chairs from other nursing rooms but nv put them back. argggggggh angry!!!!! i put it back myself...i guess they also smoking inside....

jerejoy: hehe, i also had my woes on slings in earlier days... i bot moms in mind sling - cotton sateen material.
i'm upgrading to carrier soon because of weight n his legs abit too long to cross for kangaroo / snuggle hold liao.

last nite i remove frm sling, his ankle got blue black...

anyone has any good knowledge on babies' head? i know the top part known as fontanelles is a soft spot that closes up when baby is 18mth old.. how about the back of their head? just now when i was putting my boy down into the yao lan, my hand was supporting his neck and my fore finger was at the back of his head. but he was so strong he wriggled so hard and tilted his head backwards, in order to hold him, my fore finger pressed against the back of his head.. i'm not sure if i've pressed anything i shouldn't press.. any advice on taking care of babies' head?

hi, any one experience baby not wanting to drink ebm. These few days, my gal dun wan to drink emb, instead she wan fm.. i hv to pour away the ebm.. so sayang and heartpain leh... Usually, i feed her ebm during day time, only nite feed is fm but these 2 days, she cries and refuse to drink ebm in the day time and i hv no choice but to make fm for her.

Can i mix fm with ebm? she drinks 120ml so can i say mix 60ml of ebm with 60ml of fm?

any advice?

abc,
my elder boy also had uti when he was abt 2mths plus. my pd said muz do test to c if he has reflux cos bb boy abt 50% will have reflux. if he has reflux, each time he has uti, urine with bacteria will bk flow to kidney which may damage his kidney. my son got a few uti episode, hence pd said nd to do kidney ultrasound. meanwhile, got to continue to eat antibiotics to prevent uti. he ate antibiotics for a yr ah. poor boy. nt only ultrasound, got to do another test to c if he got reflux when he older

Jiayou for mummies still bf. I am still trying hard...

Now me also a weekend mum. Argh. I think I prefer to be SAHM.

Nowadays the ppl so so inconsiderate... Smoke in the nursing room some more. Haiz.

Happyface: I alys mix BM to make FM. I top up the rest with water, then add the same amt of powder as normal.

I got Ergo at Metro. No disc. But for Metro card holders, there's 10% off. Metro damn "ngiao", no promo/more disc. Lol

Hi all mummies.. I need some help here.. My bb girl always hv a problem to sleep.. She will scream & cry when she is exhausted (we guess so as this will normally happen after feeding, & playing for a while). We hv to try to put her in "yaolan" whenever she start making a bit of noise, but she will still cry for a while.. sometime she will continue screaming as she cant fall asleep even we cuddle her, play music, rock her gently.. it will take her a while before she can fall asleep.. not sure is she over stimulated after feeding, but there is no sign of yawning.. Can someone help me on this problem ? really heartache seeing her crying so badly..

Hi hubby's precious, i had not try that.. but will she get addicted using a pacifier ? Heard using pacifier in long run will affect teething ? Ur baby use pacifier also ?

Petrina,

Thanks for yr info. I tried using the sling from my frd n I'm so afraid my bb will fall off from the sling. Maybe I'm nt using it correctly. Think I better use a bb carrier instead. Hee!

So "pei fu ni". Can iron yr hubby's clothings till carrying him in the sling. How I wish I can do that too.

Something to share with all of you on prevention of high fever after vac. My mum taught me to give 'ling liang' to my bb one day b4 the vac.

This will help to prevent bb from developing high fever or even slight fever. She has been baby sitting for years n it works well on all my cousins including my sis's bb who is already 10 months old. He seldom develop fever after vac. Just share with u my 2 cents worth.

Sheryl
feel very painful for u ! hope u have a speedy recovery

abc
Poor andrae..hope he recovers fast !

Melissa
great minds think alike :p...i think Gain IQ is getting very very ex..now is more than $51 !
i m going to switch to Dumex Dulgro soon..just keeps posphoning cos like very heart pain to let my toddler stop her gain IQ..sigh*

Piggy : sometimes pacifier does help..My gal now seems to be addicted to pacifier liao..Know will be quite hard to kick away this habit, but is better than she cry, later wind get inside nt good for bb..

Happyface : Hmm..is it u freeze your ebm? Bcos my colleague who is still bf'ing her boi told me freeze milk got a plastic taste, some babies will reject it bcos of the taste..her boi is liek that, then slowly get used.

hubby precious, me too 1st time mum, my baby actually have a 'dent' on the top and behind his head..my mum says its normal...so dnt worry abt it ya..

HappyMummy, me too give pacifier,dnt worry abt the hooking part, can solve it when baby gets older, meanwhile whatever i can use to stop him crying i also use..haha

jerejoy, my bb went jab on wed and nanny gave him ling yang on tues, he does have fever but was ard 38...nt too bad, at least din lead to high fever...btw, pao shen also can.

Vonn,

Do u feed the ling yang/pao shen in milk bottle? I'm on total breastfeeding my bb. He has nv drunk from milk bottle b4. Gg to bring him for vac on nx Mon.

Mummies : Is it true that if i dun let my bb latch on, my supply will drop? Cos i hope to bf my bb until 1yr old if i have the supply. But my gal will get confusion btw nipple & the teat lei..Bcos now slowly she has get used to bottlefeed liao, if let her direct latch on again, i scared might confuse her again..

Vonn : yah lor, no choice mah or else wind get inside her stomach then v "jia la"..
Happyface : Yup..48hrs..I put some in freezer in case i dun have supply still gt spare milk..

jerejoy: hehs, nothing to pei fu.. it's cause i got no choice mah... my hb need to have ironed clothes, i'm alone at home wif bb... bb dun wanna slp alone... gotta train myself...

happymummy: no nipple confusion... but if u dun latch n u pump constantly, it's ok on ur supply...

lingyang/paoshen
boil wif water n cool n pour in bottle to feed. if scared bb drink too little due to refusal, make abit thicker..

Petrina : okok..now i more "fang xin" liao..Or i was thinking of increasing my expressing session, now 4times daily to 5 times daily..But i scared will be tiring lor...

Petrina,

U r really gd. I'm alone with my bb for 2 weeks n I still hv no time to iron my hubby's clothings. My bb is v sticky in the afternoon. Need to be held whole afternoon. If I know how to use the sling, i can do more housework. My hubby coming back home tmr finally. Phew!

happymummy
Thanks for info on UTI. Yes he will nd to undergo further test later on. Now is on 1 week of antibiotic first. If it is minor it is jus due to infection on his foreskin. If worse like u say reflux or damage to kidney which then nd long term medication n even surgery. I feel so heartpain seeing him like tat..

So mummies dun underestimate sudden change in bb behaviour esp crying non-stop. It may jus be more than a colickly bb. *touchwood*

Nipple confusion
There wun b anymore nipple confusion at this stage. Nipple confusion occur only when bb is less than 6 weeks old.

I freeze my ebm n oso hv some in the fridge. Frozen ebm for store up when i go back work.. fridge if up to 48 hr n left over i will throw. But i think it is ok to stretch to more than 48h.. so long not more than 72 hr.

Date: 21 May (wed)
Time: 1pm (shopping n lunch) , 2pm (gathering)
Venue: gathering at Pacific coffee (vivo)
1. abcdisney n bb (1pm for lunch n shopping. anyone?)
2. petrina & bb (finally can go out)
3. Babe Dude (Meet 2pm @ Pacific Coffee)
4. clover n bb (meet 2pm but will be late n need to have lunch)

ladies, there's a 15% off store wide discount at the new mothercare store at harbourfront ctr until 22 jun but payment must be signed with dbs/posb cc or dc.

jerejoy
y do u wan to start ebm? latching is still the best. if i am SAHM i will not wan to gv ebm..but of cos u will nt hv much freedom

abc,

I'm worried that I can't feed him in case I fall sick. Also, I'm actually planning to try for a 2nd child when he's abt 9-10 months old. Don't wanna hit 35 yrs old for the nx child n I hope their age gap is nt too far apart.

outings: Any arrangement to go to the Baby Fair together?

Working life: After working the whole day, I have only like 3 to 4 hours to listern to my baby "talking" about his day before a latch or 2 and he's off to bed. Today is the first weekend we are together, he reject ME feeding him EBM by bottle so I have to latch again, and he was so excited somehow, "talking" so much this morning~ wow... *feel so happy chating with him*

jerejoy
sick still can bf. When hving no2 oso can still bf. There is no reason to stop.
Btw as a 2nd time mother, such smal age gap is very very tedious for u esp if u dun hv helper. Ask babypink n adeline. hahaha

jerejoy

great idea !
i conveive kyzac when kelicia is 9 months old
i think it is a very good gap

last nite, as i look at the two of them ..if i were to use 1 word to describe how i feel..it is FUN

If no helper, our hse will be just messier during the weekdays :p

so jia you and dun hesitate abt the next one lah

abc
baby pink have helper i dun have!!!! hahahahha..

Jerejoy
yaaaaa looking after 2 terrors kills me man when their age gap is only 16 mths apart!! now i wish they are 3 years age gap sighz..
I look after both of them till i was sick few days ago until now and i cont to BF also!! so sick u still can bf!! hehee..
I have to send #1 to aunty cause still not feeling well.. haiz..

somemore mommy gng bangkok nxt week.. night time i totally noone to help me make them sleep haiz..
At least now when mommy come back 10 or 11pm.. she still can help me sayang one of them while i mk the other sleep!!

I think i breaking down soon la.. gotta do housework, look after both kids.. cook for them.. somemore my hb's exam week i dun wana let him do anything also..
I'm no super women!! Reena how do u cope!!! loL.. i cant wait to start work man..
I basically have no time to bathe or even SHIT!!!! if shit also must carry kat to the toilet and kim will stand in front of toilet to peep at me..

currently, my helper cooks and does hsehold chores ..so i guess if no helper..it will mean either very simple meals or dabao meals bah..
no more interesting dishes
so i guess if u r the kind who is okay with untidiness and very chin cai abt food..then it is fine

abc
tedious if sahm

if working mum, put the older one in childcare, younger one in infant care..when there is neither nanny nor helper

adeline

hehe, really very coincidental, abc mention us and we both happens to be logging on !

haha..adeline... tidiness is not impt lah..

as i read ur post, i was thinking wat i will do if i m in ur shoes..i think kelicia will also have to stand at the door and watch me shit :p

kyzac can cry inside playpen lah if i am shitting ..tough to carry a bb and shit

btw, r u using slow cooker..i think tat one can throw everything inside and dun have to monitor teh fire

tat day i read in NTUC lifestyle magazine abt this lady with 4 kids and no helper ..she is sahm

really dun noe how she cope..age gap very close too

PS: btw, i was asking abt ur freezer for milk
..how much does it cost u and how big it is ?

babypink
i think adeline hv to do housework as well lor. hahaha...

SAHM
one will be in sch and i will take care of the other one. I dun mind being a SAHM if i can la. Arielene in childcare while i look after Andrae.. when he slp i can do housework.. err tat s provided i hv my own home.. not when i nd to do my in law's share as well. hahaha....

abc,

Thanks for yr info. Can we still breastfeed till taking medication? eg flu, fever...Can we still bf when planning for no 2? I tot will be less fertile n hv more contractions? I hv v irregular menses n I tried v long for my no 1. So I tot of ebf when he's abt 6 months old n start trying early. Any advices from 2nd time mummies? Thanks!

yes can still bf when taking medicine. jerejoy
wat i feel is it will be unfair for #1. jus bf for 6 mth then u wan try for #2. as a second time mummy, i would suggest u still bf while trying for #2.

expo
i prob will be gng on 5 june morning. Anyone wan join?