(2008/03) March 2008

Lyn,

Thank you so much for yr advices and info. Feel so much better now. Glad to be able to consult and find a supporting hand in this forum.

hi lyn,

mine is 3 weeks old,i notice that she try to kick her legs and crawl when on her tummy,it is really very amazing for a 1st mother like me,by rite,which mth bb would learn to crawl??

first time last nite my boy slept frm 9.30pm-1.30am & frm 2.30am-4.30am & frm 5am-7am

I have been eating fish all mth.. only yesterday i ate beef spagetti when i was out for the first time after confinement...

is it due to my meat intake tats y my boy can slp through for 4hrs? then after tat it became back to normal 2hrly feeds?

if so, wat meat is best to create thicker milk?

dreamlife don't lose hope! Take the opportunity to rest! The days will pass by quickly and it'll be over before u know it! I also thought it'll never end but even after confinement's ended i haven't been further than to my mom's place (a 5 min drive away) LOL.

Mini Gathering

Date: 15 April 08 (Tues)
Time: 1.30pm
Venue: Suntec - Carls Junior (B1)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb
7. Ling Yee n bb
8. Pancake n bb (TBC)

any mummies in the east that can give me a lift to the gathering? I am staying in bedok. though still in confinement but I hope that I can sneak out... hee...

goodbaby,
I follow the definition of creeping and crawling by Glen Doman. Creeping is the baby on all fours moving around. Crawling is commando crawl. I put my #1 on tummy. He started creeping at 5 months. Majority will creep at about 7-8 months.

Petrina,
I dun eat a lot of meat, but more vegetables and lotus root soup
I only take pork and very minimal. So far I am 100% breastfeeding my twins
And I pump out at least 100ml to freeze cos engorged.

lyn: i have lots milk supply.. engorged often also.. but i think my milk is thin... so my baby drink n pee lots.. so he gets hungry easily?
Tested yesterday by eating beef. Today i testing pork. If red meat helps, i'll eat it on a alternate day basis to thicken my milk so he'll be fuller for a longer period of time.

usually he latch for abt 45mins-1hr. then 1hr ltr drink again. sometimes 1.5hr ltr then cry for milk.
it's abit tiring for me to feed almost all day..

besides, i dun have good soup to drink...

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb
7. Ling Yee n bb
8. Pancake n bb (TBC)
9. Kate,bb n hb

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb
7. Ling Yee n bb
8. Pancake n bb (TBC)
9. Kate,bb n hb
10. kais (will be the babysitter for you all)

Petrina, my gal also the same as your son. and also dont know why she keeps throwing out her milk. sometimes it just milk smell sometimes its has the acid smell. dont know what to do. anyone facing the same problem?

kate: i got oversupply.. i eat fish everyday. i mean watery milk & concentrated milk difference... my breasts not pain at all. soft after feeds.

dreamlife: my boy seldom merlion. so i not sure..

hello ladies

i am counting down to the days for end of confinment. this is only day 12 and i am already feeling very xianz liao. Really envy u gals going for the gathering. Can only join next month.

Petrina
I saw the MIM sling instruction but somehow find that its very difficult to tuck in all the extra clothe leh. it will be great if you can do a live demonstration! haha

Foremilk/Hindmilk Definition

The milk-making cells in the breasts actually produce only one type of milk, but the fat content of the milk that is removed varies according to how long the milk has been collecting in the ducts and how much of the breast is drained at the moment.

As milk is made, the fat sticks to the sides of the milk-making cells while the watery portion of the milk moves down the ducts toward the nipple, where it mixes with any milk left there from the last feeding. The longer the amount of time between feedings, the more diluted that leftover milk becomes. This "watery" milk has a higher lactose content and less fat than the milk stored in the milk-making cells higher up in the breast.

As baby begins nursing, the first thing he receives is this lower-fat foremilk, which quenches his thirst. Baby's nursing triggers the mother's milk ejection reflex, which squeezes milk and the sticking fat cells from the milk-making cells into the ducts. This higher-fat hindmilk mixes with the high-lactose foremilk and baby receives the perfect food, with fat calories for growth and lactose for energy and brain development. (1), (2) However, when milk production is too high, baby may fill up on the foremilk and then have difficulty digesting all the lactose that is not balanced by fat. This is known as foremilk/hindmilk imbalance or oversupply.

*Source LLLI
http://www.llli.org/FAQ/foremilk.html

Are ur bb having small tiny pimples on their faces. My girl seems to have a few on her mouth/chin and cheeks areas. Is that normal? What causes them? Is it by the hands of adults or our own nipples? How to get rid of them?

My girl also din let us slp well last nite. Fed her from 1.30am till 3plus am and still wide awake. Both HB and i so tired this morning. Faintz

simp
it is normal

kais
wah then i must ask my boy to behave... u got 3 gals for him to choose.. better be gd in front of potential mil. hahhaaha.... joking la...

Pumping
today i tried using avent manual pump. Got a high record of 85ml and still got milk out but nd to squeze my breast and massage la. spend abt 30min. Think i will try using ameda pump to tandem and if jus doing expressing alone use avent manual... hahaha... Prob use it for stimulation too.

Hi mummies..i'm frm jan thread.. anyone needs glass bottles n plastic caps to store bm..i got alot wanna sell off.. some caps are still BN, while e rest all lightly used.. interested pls email me at [email protected]

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb
7. Ling Yee n bb
8. Pancake n bb (TBC)
9. Kate,bb n hb

Suggested Activities:
1) Mass Breastfeeding Session .. :p
2) Petrina's course on MIM sarong
3) Babe dude to share abit on dustan baby language .. :p

I recently bought the dunstan baby language.. i will bring a mini DVD player (but must find AC supply or someone can bring laptop??? :p) and play the DVD for those who are interested to see...

There are basically 5 words bbs make for attention to their needs..

1) NEH : Milk, Feed Me
2) Eh : Upper Wind, Burp Me - Never feed a "ehing" BB coz it will cause them pain and merlion!!!
3) Owh: Tired, Pat Me
4) Eairh: Lower Wind, Massage my tummy
5) Heh: Uncomfortable, too hot, cold or change diaper or sleeping position.

i tried to listen to my bb's cry yest nite..coz she is always cranky at nite.. and noticed it matches the sound of Dunstan's suggested lower body wind! I massage her tummy.. and pat pat her back according to their suggested solution and yest nite seem to be brisk for me woh.. for once, she never cried like crazy, although still slept at 12am! But she slept independently after latching abit on my left side (as pacifier!!)

So.. dun mind sharing the DVD with u mummies next wk.. but one will usually have to view the DVD on a daily basis to refer to the solutions and cries.. :p

Ohh but must disclaimer abit.. the DVD mentioned a sound that BB is tired...and i thought bb is tired.. pat her..but infact she wants milk!! hahahhaa .. so.. theories are still theories, intuition and situation is still impt!

Kareen
v. interesting...i'll try to listen more carefully to my bb...thanks for sharing

last nt so shiok, my hubby found a good way to make bb sleep....my bb whole day long must have someone to carry him and will cry if put in his bed but last nt, my hubby put bb in his bed, on his tummy and then put one hand on bb's back and shake him gently...like vibrations and that put bb to sleep! it worked every time after feeding! And i just put bb to sleep again like dis!

so anyone wif problems getting bb to sleep, try this

i'm so sad. my bb always cry out loud whenever i carry him and wan to pat him to sleep.. cl carry he don't make a snd..
somemore when he cries, i dunno wat he wans..

<font color="aa00aa">kim,
thanks for ur info.

redtea,
i carry my gal also like u, she keep crying one...but my MIL carry she like leh can quiet down. duno y? is it my carry pattern incorrect?</font>

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb
7. Ling Yee n bb
8. Pancake n bb (TBC)
9. Kate,bb n hb
11. Liyun n bb (TBC)

defgal,
me oso think so. is it bb feel no comfortee when i carry. but when i carry him in uprite position, he stop crying lei.. sometime got to chg alot of carry position one. sigh~
dunno if i can survive alone with bb anot.

nasal problem:
we bought the suction one to suck mucus out. cos we don't dare to use cotton bud. scared push in more instead of remove out.

allo gers

how r u all? Sorri been MIA since my delivery on 31 March (really the last to pop) hehehe

Pet,
plse update. Shannon is born on 31 Mar 08 @ Mt A. Nat w epi and wts 3.56kg at birth. Now she is 12 days old

Abc
U r the one w the desitin cream, rite. Not sure if u still kept for me as I placed my name down b4 i went for delivery. If u still hv spare to let go, I wan to get one. Can give me ur acct no. so i can tt to u. How much to pay u including normal postage??
Sorry for the trouble.

<font color="0000ff"> Dor &amp; abc: If need I still got 2 tubes spare with me so can still let go of 1 tube just PM me</font>

mummies, suntec got sales:
<font color="ff0000">Hi all,

The Biggest Sports Extravaganza of 2008 is here!

Do drop by Tropics Atrium (just outside Royal Sporting House) at Suntec City from 3rd (Thurs) to 6th (Sunday) April 2008 to enjoy great discounts of up to 90% off brands like Nike, Adidas, Reebok, Lacoste and many more.

On top of all the daily special promotions, you will still get a $10 voucher with every nett purchase of $50.

Please help to disseminate this e-mailer to your family and friends who may be interested to come for the sale.
See ya at the sale!</font>

<font color="0000ff">err.. anyone wana buy my NEPIA small size diaper? Brand New not open, willing to let go at $14, if possible self-collect at Jurong West or during next Tuesday's meetup, the cutting don't suit my boy, I wana change brand liao...</font>