(2008/03) March 2008

twinklestars, what do you mean by signs of hunger?? My baby had been happily sleeping from 11pm until close to 3am. I fed her at 3 - 3.30am until she let go herself then I burped her and changed her diaper, and put her back to her cot. within 5 mins, she cried again and showed rooting reflex!!! so i fed her again from 4 to 4.30am!! (I had to dislodge her, cos she continued to suckle non-stop). Is this sign of hunger?? LOL! Now she's happily sleeping.

lyn, what do the babies learn in class? i mean how is the lesson conducted?

happyface, yeah, like what lyn says nid to trial and error.. it may nt be the same thing that causes baby to be cranky. it could be lighting, ventilation, temperature, diaper, colicky ... etc. i tried Ling Yee's method to apply ru yi oil (used to apply only when bb started to cry non-stop) b4 bedtime, and my bb really was more calm last night.

happyface,

I share the same sentiment as u too. My baby can stay awake from 10am till 5pm. Sleeps for less than 15 mins on his bed and wakes up. He likes to be carried during the daylight. Had a hard time putting him to bed. I try to nurse him to sleep. Though this is not the best solution, at least he will not be so cranky.

Lyn,

When did u sign up for the shicida course? Guess I can only sign up when I go back to Spore in this early Oct. My baby will be 6 months old by then. Is it too late to start?

Jerejoy, I read that baby sleeps for 16-18 hours a day. So some of you have more wakeful babies. My baby does stay awake during 6pm - 10pm (the typical time that bb gets fussy), but it's a good thing, as daddy comes home and her grandparents come to visit.. so we have people to take turn to carry her around - while I rest!

Sheryl,

Nt sure if it will affect his health for staying awake for a long time. Hopefully not. I was so tired yesterday afternoon that I let him cry for quite a while. He cried v badly. Felt so bad...

My mum will be gg back to Spore on 3rd May. Will be alone with my baby for 2 weeks from 6th May till 16th May as his daddy has to go for some exercises. Hopefully I will be able to cope on my own.

video on latch on

http://www.ameda.com/breastfeeding/elibrary/videos.aspx

I joined a yahoo group for multiples and the people there are really helpful with BF tips. There is a LC who really gave me a lot of information with regards to BF multiples. that's where i was directed to this video.

am very sure there is a yahoo group for singletons as well. if not, forum.kellymom.net is a great place too to seek help.

Thanks Kareen for pointing it out to me.

Sheryl,
It's one parent, one child, max. of 6 children in the class. And one teacher. Parents will be given the materials to input to their own child.

jerejoy,
I think early Oct is a start of new term. Gotta register earlier. It's never too late to start
6 months old still very very young...
If you wanna start something for your baby, I will recommend you the book "How smart is your baby" by Glen Doman. It's the things to do from birth to 1 year old.

Lyn,

Thanks for yr recommendation. I will go search for that book. When do u think it's an appropriate age to register for the class? I will only be back early Oct. Not sure if I'm in time to register for the class.

For those who wish to increase yr milk supply, I hv tried the papaya soup. It's really effective. Here's the recipe for my version.

1 whole papaya
pork ribs
100gm - 200 gm peanuts
1.5 litres water

Just throw everything in the slow cooker and cook for a few hrs. Add a bit of salt for more taste. Enjoy!

Yippe .. see u all laterzz k..

today is gonna be a good day! I miss baby pink.. coz she will always be there to take pics for us! :p

Makino,
my CL waste water and electricity too.. buay tahan.. think me and my hubby abit niao. see water and elect like $$$. haha...
maybe CL think we very rich, buy veggie for a week oso like don't feel a pinch, don't ask for price and bargain.. jus grab and go.. poor hubby got to visit the atm often..

Petrina,
thanks for the url. think my hubby and i are interested in geting chillipadi hi-tea. ;)

twinklestar
how u gv probiotics to bb. Btw any of u interested, GNC sells probiotics for infant. But jus wonder how to feed cos i do latching on and probiotics is in powder form.

babe_dude
if Andrae allows i can be the photographer. hahaha....

sheryl
my bb very extreme one...that time when she was just 3 weeks old, she kept crying/searching for milk even though she was fed fm at 3 hr interval. sometimes after 1 hr, she start crying for milk, can see from her rooting expression...and you know she wasnt hungry cos she juz drank fm! so her dong dong parents stretch her feeding time to 4hr and increase her feed to 120ml which she happily took...in the end, one fine evening, she turned really cranky..fussed from 9pm to 6am... turn out she has colic...

abc
the probiotics the pd prescribed is reutefene drops in liquid form. so dont have prob...

Just wanna check with u all, do u let your babies sleep on their back or on their sides? My baby boy prefers to sleep on his sides as I notice he can sleep longer and more soundly.. but I'm afraid it might not be very good on his back and spine.. anyone has any knowledge about sleeping positions? Thanks..

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

Im selling away BN diaper wrap, brand Pigeon n Beneni Collection.
Pigeon one selling for $7.50 each (original price $8.90) size M n Beneni Collection selling for $3.50 (original price $5) size XL.
If get all offer price $17. Keen can sms me direct 91466419. Thanks.</font>

1346404.jpg

1346405.jpg

1346406.jpg

1346407.jpg

1346408.jpg

I sometimes let my boy sleep on his sides, especially if it's a bit warm. I support his buttocks with a small pillow/ bolster and put one leg cross over to the other so that he doesn't roll backwards. He normally doesn't stay in this position very long. After a while he'll roll onto his back again. I don't think there's any problems sleeping sideways. My mum used to let my brother and I sleep sideways too when we were infants and we have no back/spine problems.

my boy always make noise when he's sleeping,we tried to put him in his cot but he will wake up very soon (we will normally pat him to sleep b4 laying him down in his cot),tried putting him in 'yao lan' he aso make a lot of noise..din have much sleep in the middle of the nite, my beautician commented that my dark circles is getting serious.

Any of you can offer some advice as to how to make babies sleep soundly in the middle of the nite except to wake up for his feed.

twinklestars,
my baby boy 3 weeks old now also drinks 120ml every 3-4hr interval.. u mean it's too much? i always tried to stretch it to feed him every 4 hourly, but sometimes 3hrs only, he will wake up and cry and seems hungry liao...

Kathy,
i used to have same problem as u initially. making noises is the baby's way of telling us that she/he is uncomfortable.
I realised that my baby will make alot of noises during the night when it is too warm or too cold.
She sleeps in air-conditioned room of 26degrees. but will only sleep soundly if i do the following:
1) dress her in sleepsuit
2) rub ruyi oil
3) wear a woollen cardigan
4) wear thick booties
5) swaddle her
6) pat her till she is drowsy and deep in sleep before putting her in the cot.

once i do all these steps, she can sleep thru the night, from 11.30pm to 6am, waking only once at 3am for milk.

the first few nights, i din know what she wants, i had to wake and feed and comfort her for at least 3 to 4 times during the night.
I guess different babies have different preferences. u just have to trial and error to find out what can make ur baby sleep well.

hubby's precious

according to my bb's pd, 4 h interval is too long for a 3 week old baby gal...120ml of fm also quite a fair bit for my bb gal too...she also said 4 hr interval more appropriate for 2-3 mth old bb..

not sure if this rule applies to all babies....maybe monitor ur bb see if he's ok...as in no constant crying.. mine was really colicky that time... but she 's much much better now

My boy is 3.5 wks old now and he drinks 120ml of ebm or fm every 2-3 hrs. I don't think it's too much coz he would actually push away the bottle teat with his mouth if he's had enough. Night time he sleeps a bit longer but max is 3hrs interval between each feed.

If he drinks enough at night, i.e. 120ml of fm at night for each feed, he doesn't wake up till abt 2.5 - 3 hrs later. But if he did not finish his milk, i.e. drinks only 70ml, he'll wake up in 1 hr and has to feed again.

Different babies drink different amounts - if you are bottle feeding, maybe you can monitor how much your baby needs to have in order to be satisfied? I did mine thru trial and error too.

He also makes noise if his diapers are wet or if his stomach has wind. I give him gripe water in the daytime and evening in between his feeds to allow him to burp and fart more easily. Carrying him upright - one hand supporting his buttocks and another supporting the back of his neck (so that his chin rests on your shoulder) also helps him to burp.

Oh no, my girl now sleeps and feed every 4 hr interval and takes abt 20 mins to 25 mins to drink bm. SHe is only 2 wks old. So not very good is it?

Kais,
That's a very helpful video on latching. My latching has always been not so good and painful at times. Hopefully my girl can latch properly soon. I can share the video with my april mummies. Thanks

jerejoy,
The earlier the better, in fact
If cost is not a concern, I will start at 3 months
Shichida method is about nurturing and "education" from birth, or even before birth. It's a holistic approach to nurturing kids. It's not solely about inputing knowledge. Parents play a big role in the words used when talking to the baby, our emotions, our love for the baby, etc. Since you stay at home, and got time, you can start some stimulation recommended in GD book.
I think you are allowed to miss first and max. of two weeks from the start of the term, and subject to vacancies. They do not have such thing as replacement classes, and no pro-rate even you start at the 3rd week of term.

hubby's precious,
My babies sleep on their tummy
I am a fan of Glen Doman, so I follow his advice
They are two weeks old exactly today. Both can lift their heads already. One is starting to flip from tummy to back

I give one teaspoon of Woodward's gripe water 4x a day - once in the morning, 2x in the afternoon and once more in the evening. I put the gripe water in a teat (with teat holder) and let the baby suck from it. Did not dilute with water. But after he drinks the gripe water, I give him a bit of water to drink. It's not immediate effect. For my boy, it sometimes takes 2-3 hrs to see effect - lots of farting especially.

hb precious / lyn: my bb also slp on tummy...
mine will heads up n try to turn when he's hungry..
he slps soundly n do not startle easily.

juz 1 thing, hard to carry him up. cause i need to put my hand under his face to carry him.

lyn, any easy way to carry him up frm tummy position?

hey.,.thanks pet!! but i prefer u show me in person leh ..

hahahhaa ...

Next MTB outing... Tues, 15 April.. ANYONE ONZZZzz??

Venue: SUntec, Marina Sq ..

Next MTB outing... Tues, 15 April.. ANYONE ONZZZzz??

Venue: SUntec, Marina Sq ..

1) Adeline n bb

hehee... but suntec and marina sq so out of place!! cause not driving.. take MRT!!

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Mini Gathering</font>

Date: 15 April 08 (Tues)
Time: 1.30pm
Venue: Suntec - Carls Junior (B1)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb</font>

me me, i sure onz...
babedude - u saw my multiply liao arh...

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

Im selling 1pkt Nepia NB diaper, used 4pcs left 56pcs asking for $13. Keen parties can sms me at 91466419. Due to cant fit my gal. Thanks.</font>

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb

i missed it yest! this time confirm must go. haha gathering seems like on weekly basis. shiok! keke.

Got gathering must go! Had a nice time and a big boost to BF in public! Don't think I would be able to BF in a restaurant if not for you mummies kekeke

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb

Kareen
i don't see the photos on your multiply leh?? Btw you slimmed down a lot!!!

Pet
Thanks for the MIM tips
Need you to show me more at the next gathering

Lyn,

Thank you so much for yr info.

My baby was so cranky yesterday night. Woke up at 2am plus and slept at 6am! I was so tired till I almost wanna cried out. He can't fall asleep if I dun nurse him to sleep.

Mini Gathering

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. babe_dude n bb n maid
3. Adeline n bb
4. Petrina n bb
5. crystal n bb
6. Adeline Loo n bb
7. Ling Yee n bb

Wah... you gals so onzz on meeting up... I am still under confinement

Petrina,
It's very amazing at the speed their strength grows by the day hor? I will pull one hand to turn to back, then I carry. Sometimes, since their head more strength now, I just put my hands under the armpit and support the head a little to carry.

babedude,
What is the multiply nickname or address?

jerejoy,
It can be super tiring. My hubby and I experienced sleepless nite for the first 3 nites we were back from hospital. Both my gals refused to sleep and we were really at wits end and very tired. In the end, each of us carry one and sleep.
Gotta trial and error to find out the needs. Last nite, I gotta keep carrying one of my gals for 2 hours. But after she poo-ed, she slept through...

Ling yee
finally u caN join us for gathering . gd gd.. more n moRe mummies .

yup will b a weekly basis until most mummies go back work in may or june..

Kareen, u slimmed down alot leh.. i cun c the pics at ur multiply.. same as the video.. cun c.. so strange! but i saw ur pics at petrina's multiply.

hi lyn,

i also gave my bb tummy time,when i c her raising her head,i m so happy!quite amazed that bb can raise their head at this stage

goodbaby,
How many weeks is your bb already? I let my gals sleep on tummy. They took about 4-5 days to fully lift their heads. Last time my boy only took 2 days of tummy time and he lifted his head to turn left n right
Think my gals slower cos they are slightly pre-mature. It's really amazing.
Did you notice your bb can crawl and turn? Mine turning 180deg and moving to knock on the edge of the cot already.

jerejoy,
Dun say that... It takes a while to adapt
I like this website when I got challenges: www.askdrsears.com
Nowadays, I read Dr. Sears' books, cos he did not publish much about twins on the website
Maybe you can find some "answers" from there