(2008/03) March 2008

BB Fion is v. cute! All pics should come wif the age k hehe...so how old is bb fion now?

Pet, Cladi
glad my discharge is normal...wonder how long it's supposed to last though...can't remember from the first time liao

Faith
i awso want to lose weight but any extra time i have, i wanna snooze instead kekeke, cannot will myself to exercise :p

Will try my best to make it to this one!!

MINI GATHERING
Date: 9 April (wed)
Time: 12noon
Venue: Taka
Activity: Lunch cum shopping
Meeting place: Coffee club (any other suggestion?)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n BB
2. babe_dude n BB n maid
3. petrina n BB
4. adeline n bb
5. DEFgal n bb (TBC)
6. crystal n bb
7. Adeline Loo n bb (TBC)

so sickening...went twice to TMC to do birth registration and yesterday waited for almost an hour and then their system failed and they said sorry so i went home.....just now waited again for an hour and a half till finally my turn and then the lady said cos my hubby not Singaporean/PR and we didn't get married in SG, so must do in ICA! Q$#@$##$ can't they write that down in the instructions letter rather than waste ppl's time??????

defgal,
i cun send u pm.. please email me at [email protected] den i pass u the ML contact.

Adeline Loo,
My advice to u if u wanna go ICA, avoid Mondays and Fridays coz is their busiest day... and please go as early as u can to avoid the LONG Q.

I always go ICA to do PR for my workers... thats why i know their timing...

Wow.. gathering again..
please organise one again after 16 April leh.. after my confinement and before i start work on 16 May ...

baby pictures,
wah all so cute!!! yeah agree with Adeline K that must put bb's age as well! how i wish we can embed a baby's age ticker here! this forum board so lousy lah.

cladi,
think your theory in bb demand is quite true leh. i had the same experience when bb is 3 weeks old, now back to ok but i expect the surge to happen soon. maybe it's growth spurt. my bb is almost 5 weeks old already outgrowing some of her newborn clothes but i hven't weighed her yet.

petrina,
do you know that wider pelvic bone will make your waist look smaller? optical illusion leh hahahaha.

adeline loo,
no such thing as overfeeding with BM. if baby overfeeds with BM, they will simply poo/pee more and when they regurgitate, their discharge smells less foul than their FM-fed counterparts. my PD also say so.

abc,
so are you taking your bb to see a GP or polyclinic for 5-in-1 or rather, 6-in-1? i'm thinking of woodlands polyclinic.. heee.

Lochia,
I'm on like day 36 post partum and my lochia is still there! however discharge is more watery and yellowish, no more red. my gynae said it will usually happen around a month or a month and a half. that means another week for me? it was faster with my 1st child though.

Weight loss,
You will hate my post. I am the one who gained only 8.5kg and give birth to 3.1kg baby. so after birth, first week, already lost 7kg. just one more 1kg to go but i haven't weighed myself eversince. i find that my wedding ring is loose so i guess i have lost a lot more. just like my first child, gain 9kg, lost 11kg. I didn't do anything different, i eat just as normal (no confinement food) and drink milo a lot. Maybe b'cos i diligently drink jamu and endured the 7 days jamu wrap and TBF, that's why lose weight very easily. Now must buy new pants b'cos the old ones are too loose.

Melissa
i tot woodlands polyclinic under reno? I will be gng to GP at blk 678 Yim medical Centre.

Cladii/Melissa
According to my fren it is truw. BB will hv growth spurt at 3 weeks, 6 weeks and 9 weeks.. where u get the article from? Mind posting? My bb is 6 weeks now .. tat y my "training" of 3hrly fails...

melissa:..... waist looks smaller.. yes. hb commented. but also my body became shorter. cause of the smaller waist, it seems tat my upper body became shorter if i wear pants exactly at waist level. i need to wear it at hip area in order to elongate my upper body liao.
hate ur post? no la.. i think u're hardworking... if i did post natal massage n drink those stuff, i'll prob lose more as well. my wedding ring fits nicely. preg time cannot fit at all. so i think it's ok for me. as i m plump to begin wif...

ling yee: u dun need liao.. u so slim le... slim somemore will become bamboo leh.

overfeeding
i think my bb sucking for comfort will hold the extra milk in mouth then when i put him down, he'll juz let it leak out... leaving a mess for me to clean.. haha... different frm digested milk...
but true tat if they drink too much too fast they may spit out more digested milk than usual.
mine spit out twice.. while i was carrying him in upright position. i had to change 2 bras in a day... cause the milk leaked into my valley**...

gathering
where got plc for many n huge pram? i'll prob bring pram also... cause i still fumbling over my MIM sling... testing everyday, but not easy for me still.

lingyee,
aiyoh you already so slim, no need jamu lah. it's heaty by the way, need to take lots of water with it. anyway it's freshly prepared by my massage lady, it's actually for general health but it somehow complements recuperating mommies. you can also buy it from malay medicinal shops in geylang. got many.

abc,
that's what i thought too! but it has actually been opened since February! so i'm going there for my baby's jabs. can use the CDA account to pay right?

as for the growth spurt, here's some info from kellymom.com (my breastfeeding bible).

<font color="0077aa">
What is a growth spurt?

During a growth spurt, breastfed babies nurse more often than usual (sometimes as often as every hour) and often act fussier than usual.

The increase in baby's milk intake during growth spurts is temporary. In exclusively breastfed babies, milk intake increases quickly during the first few weeks of life, then stays about the same between one and six months. As solids are gradually introduced after six months, baby's milk intake will gradually decrease.

Physical growth is not the only reason that babies may have a temporary need for increased nursing. Babies often exhibit the same type of behavior (increased nursing with or without increased fussiness) when they are working on developmental advances such as rolling over, crawling, walking or talking. Mom's milk is for growing the brain as well as the body!

When do babies have growth spurts?

Common times for growth spurts are during the first few days at home and around 7-10 days, 2-3 weeks, 4-6 weeks, 3 months, 4 months, 6 months and 9 months (more or less). Babies don't read calendars, however, so your baby may do things differently.

Growth spurts don't stop after the first year - most moms notice growth spurts every few months during the toddler years and periodically thereafter on through the teenage years.

How long do growth spurts last?

Growth spurts usually last 2-3 days, but sometimes last a week or so.

more info here: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/growth-spurt.html

Melissa
Thanks. No wonder bb like feeding every 1 hr when he is 3-4 weeks and now 5-6 weeks.. hope the stage will pass . wonder last time how mom cope with only 8 weeks of maternity leave. Bb nt even set into routine yet....

Places with pram
From my experience, usu u hv to put pram in to one of the seat (like wat connie did tat day) or carry bb out. Dun expect everywhere to b stroller frenly. Anyway jus go to a place and "demand" a space.. usu they will obliged. Tat y i prefer to sling bb. hahaha

<font color="0000ff">i have not start any massage... so don dare to think abt lossing weight... haha this sat going back to gyn for check.. it will be my 1st time weighting myself.... let see how is the result...</font>

melissa, Really hate u la!!! Wahaha... So good!!! So slim. haiz. Though im still on my confinement, i've already started looking around for jobs. Hehe. Tmr going for an interview. I feel so without confident man. Scared they won't hire me cuz im fat! Wahaha.

Today i went Jurong pt go open a bank account for my baby wor! Haha. Cuz since i went to withdraw money, i just open an account at d same time. A joint acc for me n baby. when she 15 den can have her own ATM card. =) Haha. i think too far.

faith
if there is employer who jus becos a person is fat then dun employ i think a lot of ppl will b jobless... unless of cos u r getting a modelling job (even fat ppl oso can get modelling job) or sm job tat require u to look slim la...n only go for body lor

Would very much like to join next gathering.. BUT MIL says baby needs to be 3 months old before can go out!!!! Sigh... Gotta convince her otherwise 1st...

abc, haha. think i think too much. but not sure. like lose around 90% of my confidence level ever since after giving birth. n those stretchmarks etc. haiz.

pancake, wah. 3 mths?! how come so long?! did she tell u y wor?

faith,
my PD also tell me don't give my baby plain water.. but i do feed him a little.. like 10ml or 20ml a day.. cuz i heard people say baby on FM should drink a bit of water..

Now i'm doing the switch over from NAN 1 HA to Similac. Hopefully its a better switch.. But my baby don't have constipation problem with NAN 1HA.. he can poo quite a few times per day.. I hope Similac won't give him constipation problem..

any of your babies cough?
I just realised my baby coughs once or twice when he's awake.. anyone has advice on this? thanks..
i hope he's not falling sick.. he's only into his 3rd week..

Anyone interested in this fridge to go?

Playtex Fridge To Go Bottle Tote - Double

The Fridge To Go® Bottle Tote is a lightweight, collapsible tote that keeps bottles, liquids (including breast milk), and foods cool. Fridge To Go® Bottle Totes are available in two sizes – totes that carry one or two bottles.

The double-bottle tote keeps liquids fresh for up to 12 hours and folds for easy freezer storage. Its built-in, award-winning cooling technology will keep your bottles cool up to three times longer than ordinary bottle totes.

• Ideal for taking Baby’s bottles with you on a long outing, or for storing expressed breast milk during the work day
• Simply place the collapsible tote into the freezer; the built-in Surround Cooling Technology panels will even chill room-temp liquids
• Keeps liquids refrigerator temperature for up to 12 hours
• Extra pockets for cell phone, diapers or other small necessities; adjustable shoulder strap and stroller hook
• 11Hx8.5Wx4D" holds two 9-oz. bottles

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&amp;index=target&amp;rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&amp;page=1

Price: US$16.99

Exchange Rate: US$1 to SG$1.50

FYI, it is selling about $59 for similar models in Singapore.

Will only be taking in 10 units.

Interested: (Pls cut and paste)
1. Linda (collection from your hse)
2. Petrina
3. Adeline
4. Sheryl
5. kais
6. eniale (admiralty mrt)
7. Yu Tong

Wanna ask, how different is this FTG from yours that you haf?

Gathering on 9th

Sorry dun tink will be joining you gals. My hubby will be overseas and I likely to stay at my mother's place near Jurong. Will also most probably haf no internet access at all.

abc, errrr. did i mention anything about regret having d baby cuz of d stretchmarks n weight i put on?! haha. i know where u're coming from but think u're being a little too subjective. im saying dat my confidence level drop wor. i hope i hadnt mentioned anything that makes u feel that i dont think its all worthwhile to have a baby cuz it's definitely worthwhile afterall... n but of cuz, if can see my baby's smile plus without any weight gain and stretchmarks will be perfect~

hubby precious, my girl do cough sometimes as well. especially in air con room. some mummies recommended applying vicks on the feet there wor. d sole there. aint too sure how effective it is... do check it out.

Hey mummies who total breastfeed.. your bb poos everyday?? Mine is ard 1+ mth, she has not been pooing for at least 4 days loh.. so scared, but checked with the breastfeeding forum and they said some breastfed bb goes off without pooing for more than 1 wk!! Wah.. dunno whether is that a good thing or not.. hahahaha .. Can advise?? But my BB urinates ALOT!!

wah..anybody wanna sign up the Shicida Method?? http://www.shichidamethod.com/

ABC, i checked with the school, can start now! But look at the course fee .. i want to faint!!

Fees details for all new registrations are:

Deposit : $300 (one time payment which will be fully refunded when child
withdraws from the program and upon completing the term. Please note that
Terms &amp; Conditions apply).

Therefore your payment would be:
Weekday/Weekend
Term Fees : $745.00 / $780.00
Registration Fees (Annual) : $50.00 / $50.00
Parent Education Course : $170.00(1 pax)
GST 7% : $67.55 / $70.00
Subtotal: $1032.55 / $1070.00
Deposit : $300.00 / $300.00
GRAND TOTAL : $1332.55 / $1370.00

This is droppedjaw expensive!!! Anyone keen to go see a free video preview?? I intend to go see see look look! Their school at Springleaf Tower centre or Toa Payoh HDB Hub centre.

abc

Fridge to go
Please remove me from the list. I need a cooler bag urgently so won't wait for the spree. Sorry.

Interested: (Pls cut and paste)
1. Linda (collection from your hse)
2. Petrina
3. Adeline
4. Sheryl
5. eniale (admiralty mrt)
6. Yu Tong

<font color="aa00aa">aly,
ya...agree she look diff alot. hee...

babedude,
my bb also urines alot leh. but she did poo everyday lah. im not BF her but got mix some BM with FM for her.</font>

jereroy..it is some course that promote whole-brain education by developing the right brain and connecting it to the left-brain, allowing both sides of the brain to work together in balance.

Not sure is there such courses in states.. u go the website to check it out.

http://www.shichidamethod.com

my MIL initially wanted 40 days of confinement! So traditional! Lucky CL dun stay so long and my MIL can't cook.

But anyway confinement got cut short when i developed raging high fever on day 27- my hubby blamed it on ang zhou teh...

But turns out i had MASTITIS!!! Breast damn pain and red and swollen!!! Milk supply also went down on both sides (not just the affected side) and it was so stressful at every feed- from a painful breast, and a crying agitated baby not getting enuf milk. Every feed became a marathon struggle lasting up to 2 hours long. Pumping also no use- nothing coming out, the most 2oz from both breasts together even after an hour.

Last night wanted to give up TBF already , got my hubby to buy a tin of Similac. Had been breastfeeding my baby from 11pm to 1am before he dozed off (i think more from exhaustion than fullness).

But amazingly he slept till 5am, and thank god when he woke up the prolactin had filled my breasts up with milk and he got his share without struggle and has been sleeping till this morning peacefully.

My MIL thot i took her suggestion and fed him FM (she's been bugging me to feed him FM since day1), but i proudly told her no- and proving babies on TBF can still sleep through the night as well! =)

Hope the supply can pick up today and let my tin of Similac remain unopened!!! =)

My CL also left already, hope it won't be too stressful coping by myself and with my unstable milk supply (keeping fingers crossed).

For those who want reaffirmation on breast feeding- the La Leche league International has an abundent supply of information and inspiring stories on breastfeeding, check it out! http://www.llli.org/resources.html?m=0

reagrding my MIL wanting my baby to wait 3 months to go out- my hubby also thinks its ridiculous! He's quite keen to start bringing our boy out for walks and see the world. Not to mention we better get a head start coz we'll be bringing baby along on quite a bit of travelling these 2 years.

hubby's precious
my pd advises me not to change fm brand if not necessary..you may want to check with your pd first..i also like you, have a tin of similac at home when bb supplemented with nan 1 at the hospital..pd says the mummy can have the similac.lol

I'm from the Feb 08 MTBs thread... I have the following for sale...

1) PIS Advanced

I bought my PIS Advanced on 20th Feb 2008, only use for a month plus. It's as good as new. Never use the backpack before, zips are still wrapped. The set also comes with an equipment that can convert it to manual pump, it is not used at all.

I'll be throwing in the following items if you get from me.

- 1 box of Medela disposable bra pads (30pcs)
- 1 box of Medela breastmilk bags (20pcs)
- 1 Nuk latex vented teat (0-6months)
- 1 tube of Medela PureLan 100 (ony used 2-3 times, as good as brand new)
- 1 $10 voucher valid till 20 May 2008 (min purchase of $50)

2) Pigeon Manual Breastpump (brand new)

3) 2 boxes of Pigeon Disposable Breastpad (36+6pcs)

4) Pigeon Silicone Nipple Shield (brand new)

5) Pigeon Nipple Puller (brand new)

6) Pigeon Breast Care Gel (brand new)

7) Pigeon Body and Stretch Mark Cream (brand new)

8) New Mama Bottom Spray (brand new)

9) Klorane powder shampoo (brand new)

Email me at [email protected] if anyone is interested. Thanks.

ling yee: wah... now the topic changed frm preg wt gaining to losing preg wt... i better buck up. today after shower i tried on my brand new tights tat i bot n nv got chance to wear... can zip but cannot button... hmm, i think by this wkend can button bah?

babedude: my PD say as TBF babies r absorbing completely frm BM, so there will be a period where they dun poo at all cause they r absorbing the milk totally... but as long as they pee lots, it's fine. no pee then u worry.

cause ur bb already 1mth+ so alandria shld be hitting tat period now.
mine still pooing. much lesser than b4. usually immed after feed he poo. now i change only a total of 6diapers per day. *max*

hey mummies, i am trying to make my milk supply more to keep up with my own ABC*. been taking fenugreek, drinking soup at every meal, red date tea n water. then try to keep a schedule of pumping every 2.5 hr (not that successful). I get abt 70ml from each session. what else can i do? coz my boy appetite is getting bigger v fast.

*ABC= Alexander "Barracuda" Chia

Hi abc :

tot i had emailed u my address to your PM. Can you kindly check and let me know pls. Alternatively, can you provide me your email adddress here and I will email it to you...thanks

twinklestars, actually I'm quite ok with feeding my baby NAN 1HA even though we don't have a family history of allergies.. But I heard Similac is good and it has all the brain development components.. so that makes me wanna give him Similac..

Actually I'm still very confused as to which to give him. I just want to give him the 2nd best now that I cant give him breastmilk.. What's your point of view? If you were me, will you continue to give NAN 1HA or Similac?

hubby's precious
think all the fm abt the same ba, my pd is fine with nan1, so is my baby.. so i think i'll stick with nan 1.dont think i will change and risk prob like constipation. some babies react to change in fm and sometimes constipate.