(2008/03) March 2008

Petrina, can update my Princess's name - We have decided on her name as Kyla. Thanks!

Bbpink, u look so radiant after delivery!

Clover, you din tell me the full story.. you really did everything to have your baby out! Very wei da...

PIL
My PIL will come to my house daily to play wif bb. As soon as my bb cries, FIL always say baby want to drink 'ne ne'... I hate it! No respect for me. Can't he say drink milk? It's not jealousy in my case, if they like to carry her, let them carry her.. she's too young to know.

Redtea, what do you use to get rid of heat rashes? My bb has some pimple-like stuff on her back, wonder if it's heat rash.

Adeline, how's ur HDB selection?

Latching Problem:
All of a sudden, my baby refuses to latch on properly, keeps unlatch and latch... anyone encounter this before? We have to persevere for 20-30 min before she latches for a proper feed.

Adeline,

True. I think really hv to follow the rule. I keep using cold water to wash my hands and feet and started feeling cold esp in the night time. Hope I dun fall sick if not bb will hv no breastmilk to drink.

My boy can't sleep well in the afternoon time. Can stay awake for 4 hrs during the day time! I find that he always becomes v alert after burping him. Does this happen to any of yr bb as well?

Anyone interested in this fridge to go?

Playtex Fridge To Go Bottle Tote - Double

The Fridge To Go® Bottle Tote is a lightweight, collapsible tote that keeps bottles, liquids (including breast milk), and foods cool. Fridge To Go® Bottle Totes are available in two sizes – totes that carry one or two bottles.

The double-bottle tote keeps liquids fresh for up to 12 hours and folds for easy freezer storage. Its built-in, award-winning cooling technology will keep your bottles cool up to three times longer than ordinary bottle totes.

• Ideal for taking Baby’s bottles with you on a long outing, or for storing expressed breast milk during the work day
• Simply place the collapsible tote into the freezer; the built-in Surround Cooling Technology panels will even chill room-temp liquids
• Keeps liquids refrigerator temperature for up to 12 hours
• Extra pockets for cell phone, diapers or other small necessities; adjustable shoulder strap and stroller hook
• 11Hx8.5Wx4D" holds two 9-oz. bottles

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&page=1

Price: US$16.99

Exchange Rate: US$1 to SG$1.50

FYI, it is selling about $59 for similar models in Singapore.

Will only be taking in 10 units.

Interested: (Pls cut and paste)
1. Linda (collection from your hse)
2. Petrina
3. Adeline
4. Sheryl
5. kais

Clover,

Congrats to u!

Sheryl,

Me too. I can't latch him on my right breast sometimes. Hv to keep trying a few times before he can latch n drinks his milk. I find that my baby likes to fall asleep drinking my milk. Does this happen to some of u too?

sheryl,
heat rashes is small red dot. and i can be alot all over bb neck and upper shoulder. my hubby is going to the pharmacy to get cream to apply.

hubby precious

My girls are on partial BM n FM. I use Nan 1 and i guess they are used to it. KKH uses Nan 1 so we continued from there.

My friend gave me two tins of Similac but my girls had a lot of wind after taking Similac. They cried the whole night. Also we noticed a of of bubbles with Similac.

Resuming BF - best to consult a LC for advice. They are the most experienced around. But from experience, it requires a lot of discipline and perseverance on your part.

sheryl: noted the change.

jerejoy: yes, mine also sometimes latch then delatch esp during letdown... i need to fumble for hanky to catch the letdown milk... mafun... so sometimes i press his mouth fixed there. they r rooting.. so it's common for them to do tat.

falling aslp on breast
after drinking milk, he still wanna suckle for comfort... if tat happens, u can slowly try to delatch. then they'll auto re-suck very hard if they're still hungry.
if they let u delatch, means they full liao...

sheryl: ur FIL so cheeky! hehe... u shld tell ur hb if u not comfortable abt it...

kea: i m visiting blk 48 tanglin halt road *healthpoint family clinic*
not PD, but both docs r very good wif bbs n toddlers... my frens staying in dover highly recommend there. i brought my boy there for his blocked nose, the doc gave me lots advice. now his blocked tear duct is cured n nose also ok liao.

or DR YVONNE @ sunset way. she is a PD.
so u can decide if u wan see a actual PD or juz a GP...

jerejoy: did u give me ur bb's birth wt? i forgot liao... btw, u birth method also?

faith: ur bb's birth wt?

venus: ur bb's birth wt & birth method?

dreamlife: ur birth method?

kea
if u r taking 6 in 1, u can delay till 2mth then take the jab together. Actually the cost is the same. So.. why nt wait?

mtan
Dun worry,. my boy is 6 weeks old and still jaundice. My PD dun recommend me to switch to FM. Jus continue bfing and it will most likely disappear 2mth or so. Oso bring yr bb for liver test. Once liver test cfm is ok, then dun wory so much. the jaundice will disappear.

Kea
u may try PD at bukit timah railmall or bukit timah plaza. Heard gd feedback abt them

I am from Jan 08 thread. I have a Medela DUAL breastpump Mini Electric Plus for sale. I only used it for 1 time as i decided to be a full time mum and will let my bb latch on directly.

I still have unfilled warranty card, which you can fill it by yourself and send it back to Medela in S'pore. I bought this pump in Dec 07, and gave brith in Jan 08.

Picture of the breastpump: http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/plus.php

Price: S$200 (brand-new is selling at S$305.90 at major department store and Mothercare)

Let me know if you are interested.

<strike>1. abcdisney - GNC (2 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 2 = SGD$40 (havent include shipping) (paid)
2. Sheryl - GNC (2 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 2 = SGD$40 (havent include shipping) (paid)
3. Clover - GNC (1 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 1 = SGD$19.75 (havent include shipping) (paid)
4. Kais - GNC (2 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 2 = S$40 (shipping not incl)
5. Yu Tong - GNC ( 1 bottle ) $12.99 x 1.52 x 1 = SGD $19.75 </strike>
6. Cyberbabe - GNC (2 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 2 = S$40 (shipping not incl) (paid)
7. redtea - GNC (1 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 1 = S$19.75 (shipping not incl) (paid)
8. Jenifur - GNC (1 bottles) $12.99 x 1.52 x 1 = S$19.75 (paid)
<strike>9. Joan - GNC (1 bottle) $12.99 x 1.52 x 1 = S$19.75 </strike>

<font color="aa00aa">like to ask the Playtex Fridge To Go Bottle Tote - Double can keep milk warm or juz freeze only?</font>

hi Petrina

is their charges ex and waiting hrs long? coz carry a bb, is reali diff to wait for long hrs....esp if i am alone ...am keen if in tanglin halt..quite near to me

Blue skies, do ypu still latch on or just pump, since you are feeding your bb with ebm and fm?

Mummies, will the milk supply decrease if we don't latch on? My gal is not "kuay" leh. When I latch on, she will fall asleep after a while. After I put her down, she starts to cry. Also, she don't swallow the milk, will let the milk flow out. I started to express and bottle feed her today to guage how much is she drinking. I gave her 60ml this afternoon and she is not full but she is ok with 60ml of fm. Is fm more filling the bm?

kea: wait long... yes. cause e dr abit lor soh.. but she offer very good advice. + it's cheap... $35 for consult+medi for my boy, tat day. 1patient she see approx 30mins. she nv charge for long consult though.

Dr Yvonne, not so cheap. but waiting time is better than healthpoint.

Here's the address for Commonwealth GP :
Healthpoint Family Clinic &amp; Surgery
Blk 48 Tanglin Halt Rd #01-337 Singapore 142048
Tel : 6474 0408
I personally perfer Dr Surani than Dr Wong but dont worry, both are very motherly doctors. Can ask lots of questions about children issue and they are happy to share with you.

Here's the adress for Sunset Way PD :
Dr Yvonne's Clinic For Children &amp; Babies Pte Ltd
41 Sunset Way #01-07 Clementi Arcade Singapore 597071
Tel : 6463 5001
Operation Hrs :
Mon - Sun (Morning)
Mon - Fri (Evening)

i need to ask a qn..if bring bb out...then i bring EBM out, must warm it first then pack in warmer bag? ?? coz i don feel comfy latching..and my bb is impatience to latch

Petrina, my bb girl birth weight is 2.86kg. I deliver at TMC. Her name is Destiny. No longer Rictoria cuz am not with d father so thought better have a change of name as well... Help me update! Thanks!

Pancake, thanks! I thought my bb abnormal. I see my friend's bb burp very quickly after drinking. But mine despite patting her 10mins, she also wont burp... So most of d time i gave up man. She'll fart alot thereafter. Wonder if its d same.

Anyway mummies, how are u girls slimming down? I gained a total of 19kg est. during pregnancy to 69kg with height only 156cm. I gave birth on 14th March. Now my weight is 59kg. Lost 10kg. Still got 9kg more to go.

I started exercising today. Hopefully can lose them off soon! How about u girls?!

Hubby precious. My girl is on total FM, similac. Erm, so far she's okie with it. But do take note its normal for total FM babies to shit only once or twice a day...

The Fridge To Go® Bottle Tote is a lightweight, collapsible tote that keeps bottles, liquids (including breast milk), and foods cool. Fridge To Go® Bottle Totes are available in two sizes – totes that carry one or two bottles.

The double-bottle tote keeps liquids fresh for up to 12 hours and folds for easy freezer storage. Its built-in, award-winning cooling technology will keep your bottles cool up to three times longer than ordinary bottle totes.

• Ideal for taking Baby’s bottles with you on a long outing, or for storing expressed breast milk during the work day
• Simply place the collapsible tote into the freezer; the built-in Surround Cooling Technology panels will even chill room-temp liquids
• Extra pockets for cell phone, diapers or other small necessities; adjustable shoulder strap and stroller hook

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&amp;index=target&amp;rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&amp;page=1

2. Petrina
3. Adeline
4. Sheryl
5. kais
6. eniale (admiralty mrt)

<font color="ff0000">Can advise roughly the shipping cost??..thks alot!!</font>

Hi abcmummy

Tks. Just hope the blood test result is ok. Did ur boy do the liver test?
BTW, i hv ordered 2 desitin creams but hv not trf $ to u. Will do so by these two days cos still in confinement. Tks

angry with my mil.. Bb dun wana slp whole day.. She tell me bb didn drink enough tats y dun wan slp.. Mean wat.. Tellin me i did feed him enough meh.. Shawn latch on less than 15 min than fall aslp le.. He even push away my nipple ma.. As if my fault..

Thanks faith and all for your advices..

faith, how old is ur girl and how much is she drinking every how many interval?
my boy is 2 weeks old only, he drinks NAN 1HA 90ml every 3hrs.. sometimes before 3 hrs is up, he will cry for milk liao.. i always try to stretch as long as possible.. I'm thinking of switching to similac as well, but not sure how to do the switch so as not to upset his stomach..

Right now on NAN 1HA, he can shit quite a few times per day.. cuz i heard people say NAN 1HA is easily digestable.. not sure if its true..

cladi: calm down... maybe u ask her.. if u feed not enuff then ask her if she wans to feed? keke...
i told my hb tat. then MIL stopped commenting abt my milkflow liao...

emily
dun think can keep warm. i hv the avent thermal bag. u wan? sell u cheap cheap. u can call me at 94578923 as i go down to bishan tmr

eniale
not sure.. but max $10.. shld b less than tat..

emilyu
i hc a car warmer. jus attached to car adapter can heat up liao.

faith tan,

i have 9 kg to go too...just now went shopping...try a M size, too small for me, so sad.. last time i was wearing S or XS. Now i think L..

clover,
alexander has nice eyes.

Linda
i oso wearing L. hahaha...

Clover
Very ncie eyes... so attractive. Too bad not gal.. if nt i ask Andrae to treat her nicer.. ahhaha

hubby precious,
my baby also drinking similar like your boy. but mine is 60ml every 2 hours. Sometimes before 2 hours den she will cry for milk too! Haha... And i will just feed like additional 30ml.

I went to d doctor. 90ml is also normal for newborns. Think yours is normal cuz 3 hours 1 time. For me, i'll just feed when she's hungry. Ultimately, she'll stop when she's feeling full... haha~

Linda, ya man. last time i also wear S or XS. Now like shit. haha. btw, how many kgs have u shed?! for me i gained 19kg. Shed off 10kg. still left 9kg to go. =(

hubby precious,
my baby is also 2 weeks old plus. i deliver on 14th march.

1 bottle of milk powder can last around 9 days for my baby.

yours?!

endure for so long.. Tdy i cry le.. Hug bb n hubby to cry.. I work so hard to look after bb for the whole day.. Bb dun wana slp.. Ppl still say i never feed him enough.. So sad..

chewwy,

I am expressing breast milk using the Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump. Have been looking after baby myself and found it too stressful to latch him because he is very impatient and I also ended up with sore nipples in the first few days so couldn't let him latch. But still wanted him to drink some breast milk too so decided to express instead. I generally pump about 60ml from both sides at each session. I will combine 2 sesssions of ebm and store it together because my boy drinks 120ml per feed.

I believe the quantity of ebm from pumping will be much lesser than those who are tbf. I pump at 4hr intervals which is a manageable time frame for me. I do not give him ebm at night because my observation is that he gets hungry a lot faster with ebm than fm.

Sometimes I get a bit disappointed that I couldn't give him more bm to drink, but then I think to myself - some bm is better than none. So even if it's 3 feeds of ebm a day, I will keep it going for as long as I can.

Weight Loss

I am 165cm and was 60kg before pregnancy. I put on abt 16kg during pregnancy. Lost 6kg after giving birth. Lost another 5kg in the last 2 weeks. Am now 65kg and have 5kg more to lose.

blue skies,
how to slim down so fast?

faith tan,
i shed 11kg, put on 20kg ..

I wanna to wear back my S ...then w/o enough sleep, i have very bad pimple breakout...really really really depressed.. so fat and ugly ... haizzz...my hubby said dont have lah, where got... i asked him whether his eyesight has failed him.

Faith,
Yah, looking after baby is guranteed weight loss programme!

Cladi,
I also encountered baby not wanting to sleep during the day. Did you check if it's because baby is uncomfortable? E.g. got wind in the stomach? Or he's over-swaddled and too hot?

For the last 2 days, my boy also refused to sleep during the day and his feeding was upside down. Drinking 70ml every 1.5hrs. Normally he takes 100-120ml every 3 hrs. Found that his stomach was a bit bloated. Gave him gripe water and he was farting and burping. He managed to drink 100ml again this evening. Hope he's ok tmr otherwise my arms are going to drop! No need to go gym already - just carry baby and can tone your arms!!

Linda,
I had a Malay lady come to massage me one week after I gave birth. I lost 3 kg from there, mostly water retention. Plus I carry baby, prepare milk and feeding bottles, wake up at night to feed him again etc. Not enough sleep plus all the running around will make you lose weight very quickly. Oh and I don't eat confinement food (Pig's trotters, liver, kidney etc). I'm eating my normal food - rice, fish, lean meat and veggies and lots of fruits and milk.

linda,
erm.. think u n me same wor! when u gave birth?! they say 6 weeks aft giving birth can start exercising le. must exercise lo.

me too ma. gained 19kg. shed off 10kg. gave birth 2 weeks ago. today is my first day starting to exercise. cuz i already starting to look for jobs so want to faster slim down in order to wear back all those pre preg clothes. i eat very very little le. never eat rice at all. haiz. den never drink so much water as well. trying super hard to slim down!

Desitin Creamy at $9.50
1 Pet - paid
2 Pet -ad
<strike>3 FL - COD
4 FL - COD </strike>
5 Pancake - paid (addy given)
6 Pancake - paid (addy given)
7 jewel_thief27 - paid (addy not given)
8 jewel_thief27 - paid (addy not given)
9 happygal29 - (addy given, paid)
10 dor
11 Bubble
12 Bubble
13 mtanlove
14 mtanlove

pls tt to posb savings 126491018

Collection
1. Admiralty MRT
2. Town
3. Postage

<font color="ff0000">Pls update if u hv paid</font>

<font color="0000ff">Wow..all e bb so cutie..=))

Simp,yr bb is smiling..hard to captured bb smiling pic..hehe ...=P

Weight Loss
I weight myself today...b4 preggie = 48kg, now i am 58kg... still got 10kg to go...=((...unlikemy #1.. oni left 5kg after delivered despite gained 20kg..aiyo dunno after delivered #2 will easy slim dwn anot

Destin cream
Will buy n try hehe... thks all for e advise...=))

abc's mummy,thks thks..hehe will get 1..=))ofc nt convenient to put BM in e fridge..hehe</font>

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&amp;index=target&amp;rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&amp;page=1

2. Petrina
3. Adeline
4. Sheryl
5. kais
6. eniale (admiralty mrt)
7. Yutong

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">3 more to go!</font></font>

faith, i delivered on 18th.. i've yet to finish a tin of milk powder cuz at the beginning i breastfed him.. i very scared to overfeed him.. haha.. but my hubby says maybe he's a boy so tend to drink more..

do u give ur baby plain water?

Petrina,

Hee! Me too. I use my breastpad to catch the letdown milk. Haha! Milk flow all over his mouth when he can't latch properly. Poor boy.

Thanks for yr advice on the falling asleep on breast.

My boy is 2605 gram, method: natural without epi, delivered on the 19th Mar 08

Thanks for helping to update.

Eniale,

Me too. I used to weigh 45kg, now still weighing 55 kg. Only managed to shed 5kg after delivery. Haiz! Heard from frds that breastfeeding will help to lose weight. But I'm still 55kg after 2 weeks. Still hv a tummy and the skin is so loose. 'sob'sob'

Envy those mummies who hv lost all or most of their weight.

thk i a bit emotional tdy.. Mayb i m too tired over lookin after bb.. Not enough rest ba.. been lookin after bb day n nite..

Guess due to tat.. I manage to loss quite a bit of weight le.. B4 preg i was 53kg, at preg i hit 70.5kg.. Now i m 57kg le.. 3wks after birth.. Will start exercise after confinement next wk..

I got malay lady to do 5 session massage last wk.. Start to do uzap daily.. Wrap my tummy for few hr usin waist trimmer bought from watson.. Thk all these do help to tighten my tummy.. At least not as loose now le...

wt loss
i lost all my preg wt liao. but i'm still short of 2inches to wear my pre preg pants. i think it's because of the extra flabby skin ard my lower tummy? plus i csec. so i dare not squeeze too much while buttoning.
My target is to be able to fit into my pre preg pants by my boy's full mth celebration this sun...

I din invite many ppl cause both sides' relatives already near 100 ppl. *faintz*

tonight my boy's blocked nose is back wif a vengeance...
he's been choking whole nite since 12mid... drinking so little each time n drinking at 30mins interval.
wheezing n all. so i buay tahan i had to on light to clear his nostrils. he cry n cry while i dig n dig... haiz... managed to remove some cause he breath some back in...
at least he managed to finish drinking w/o choking n is slping on bed now.

i've been carrying him n latching on n off since 12mid till now... arms breaking also...