(2008/03) March 2008

jerejy
no choice. but now i just make the best out of it!..
Choose my food wise, no cold stuff.. though noone ctrl but i must ctrl myself hahaa..
only thing i cannot tk it is i hafta drink lots of plain water! i feel so dehydrated and it's so warm here!

abc
endure endure.. u can do it!

Jabs at polyclinic

For those interested;
5in1 is $290
6in1 is $326

Those with Child Development Fund can link up with polyclinic so tt they deduct directly from your child's account. but they need 1 mth at least to process the intergiro link.

<font color="0000ff">Hi ladies</font>

no time no "see" and dying to go for a gathering..too bad today is only my 17th Day..13 more days to go..i sneak back to lovenest to get some stuff

really miss u all here..hope tat i m not forgotten =p

oh yah, so relieved when I delivered on 14 March..this was taken right after delivery in the labour ward ;)
1327952.jpg
u can see my very relieved face

Presenting to u a picture of <font color="0000ff">Kyzac Kai Zhi</font> change of name to match the hanyu pinyin name

1327953.jpg
1327954.jpg

no time to select a nice pic ;) this was taken before his first bathe at SGH, nurse uses him to teach the rest of us mummies

<font color="0000ff">Pet, I smsed the wt of Kyzac wrongly, it is 2.844 btw </font>

<font color="0000ff">Before I logged off, this is an invitation to all March Thread Mummies to Kyzac's First Month Halal Buffet Lunch on 13 April 2008 at 1230pm

Pls PM me before 6 April so that I can include your headcount and revert with my address, those who have my hp can sms me directly

can treat this as a gathering too :p</font>

<font color="0000ff">Congratulations to all the ladies who popped !
</font> and my thanks for the good luck messages and the congrats too

Will sneak back to lovenest on sunday to check my hotmail account for your responses

PS: sigh* dun think i can ever finish 30 days of archives

babypink: noted...

jealousy
wah.. i tot only i so siao.. my hb say i crazy. nothing to jealous abt as i m ultimately the mum. i say no lor... frm young teach him better. so if he needs anything, better to look for me. not his AH MA!
is it because MIL n DIL always have this prob for generations? tats y we dun mind other ppl carry but we mind MIL carry our bb?

because of the war - MIL say i nv let her carry her grandson, say i deprive her of him. so in order to ease the tension, i had to allow her to carry abt half hr per day. juz b4 his bath. so tat she can zip up her complains...

mummynorman: i very lun liao.. nv take cold drinks. juice - i pour liao then let it stand till chill is gone then drink. fruits bo bian la. if not cold not nice.. hehe...

All mummies still in confinement: No choice have to endure. But 1 mth passes very fast lah. At least we can complain here. haha. I also eat the food till lost appetite. :p

For me, not much prob w MIL yet... Cross my fingers...

The first week when I came back from hosp. My hubby's fren keep holding my DD and giving us advice. I was very pissed. I mean I haven hold my DD enough... The fren was being helpful lah. But he keep popping to our place till I really cannot take it. One day I pulled my clothes rack to the floor. From then on my hubby told his fren not convienent to come to our place.

If I didnt vent my frustrations out, I think I will have PND. :p

Babypink, you still look so radiant just after delivery!

I look like zombie in my pics. Lol. I sort of konked out after delivery. Cos I spent about 1 hr pushing. Then really very lethargic le. Aiyoh. Very scary. Dun wish to recall also.

aiyah i so long nvr log in and i missed out on so much things esp the outing today!!! haha.

abc/babe dude/adeline/yt
can have one more gathering after 8 april ???! keep me informed.

how to stretch bb bf time ah? I saw some of u manage to do it.. As interval of 3hr feedin.. Can ma? I try yty.. Cannot wo.. I insist to feed for half hr then try stretch til 3hr later then feed.. Shawn keep cryin.. No choice but to give up.. Can bf timin b fixed ah.? I hope to fix it so tat when i go back work.. Mil will know wat time to bottle feed him ebm ...

kell: wah.. u can tahan so long.. i think my hb dare not bring his frens over unless i say ok. cause we juz delivered. very cranky = same as bb.
so my hb dun wan risk PND also.

baby sleeping through the night,
my 1st girl sleeps through the night at 1.5 months. if it's not b'cos of my journal, i would've forgotten when she starts doing so. she's on TBF, direct latching. when i asked my PD, he said it's totally normal and that i'm a very lucky mommy. i love my PD haha. too bad his clinic is so far and he's so ex! anyway i didn't wake her up for feed. i'm just glad she let me sleep through as well! life's been a bliss since then! now my 2nd girl is just over a month. i'm hoping that she will follow jie jie's foot steps, since now she feeds every 3-4 hour at night. i'm also very happy to prove the old folks that it's not true that FM can make babies sleep longer just b'cos so that we can rest better. me on TBF can achieve the same thing. it gives you a sense of accomplishment b'cos your baby thrives on your milk and i have proven so many old folks wrong and will continue to do so. i don't care about sacrificing my sleep as long as my baby is well-fed. i think happiness comes from inside. with happiness, you will radiate with health.

mil jealousy,
nah i'm not jealous of my mil at all. in fact i welcome her to carry baby anytime she wants. i do want her to bond with my babies b'cos they're her grandchildren too. i'm advocating strong family relations with both sides. so i'm not biased at all. with this kind of unbiased concept, she never enforced any of her "old follks" beliefs on me. besides, i can choose to accept or decline, since i'm the mother of my own babies. my mil don't live with me. if she has no time to drop by, i will go to her house and let her bond with my children. i figured there's nothing to lose. blood is thicker than water.

cladi,
how old is your baby. i think before baby is 6 weeks old, better don't "train" him yet. he will have his own biological clock is still trying to adapt to this world. pity him lah. already, 6 weeks is very short compared to 9 months in utero. i was tempted to adopt this method on my 1st too, but it didn't really happen. but to my surprise, she trained herself to feed.

anyway once you mommies have gone back to work, you might learn a new term called "reverse cycling" haha. that happened to me when i got back to work. it's hell once again haha.

shawn is only goin 3wk old.. Cos i m on two mth leave only.. I scare no time to train him ah..

Wats reversal cyclin?

At time when bb cry i hate to hear other ppl tellin me.. Bb hungry har.. Wan milk le har.. When i jus feed him half an hr ago.. Like tellin me i didn feed him enough wo.. But i had let him latch on for more than half an hr at least..

I have a brand new lucky baby insulated multipocket bag to let go. Retail at $25.40, selling now at $18. Interested can pm me.

1328346.jpg

cladi,
i'm on two months leave too. i'll be back to work next month. from my experience, what little u have of your sleep will be converted into deep sleep. your body will auto adjust to serve your body. it's still not quite the same pre-pregnancy, cos now you have extra hormones at work. however, paranoia can lead to stress. or maybe it's my attitude. i always like to let things be and i find that a lot of thing self-adjusts. don't worry, shawn is about 1 week younger than my girl, he will adjust to the new feeding schedule too. i usually try to make my girl awake longer and feed more often during the day so that she can sleep longer and feed lesser at night. i also have PD's blessings on this. one of the way to make my girl awake in daytime is have mil come over and carry her. haha.

oh by the way, ignore others, if u have just feed him, u know he's still full. sometimes all he needs is just to be pacified and rocked to sleep.

reverse cycling,
that's when my baby starts to sleep through during daytime and wake up often for feed during night time! it drove me crazy! but the explanation was that, baby can also sense that mommy is not around hence adjusted her sleep pattern so that she can be with mommy more often. as crazed as i was, when i read about that info, i calmed down and persevered. after a while, she will learn to smile at you, it will definitely melt your heart! i still have the picture of my 1st girl with her first smiles! they really do appreciate you feeding them and their smiles don't lie!

wow guess i have lots to learn from u le.. I tot i must get prepare in case i go back work.. Mil cant handle bb.. Since her knowledge abt bf wasnt much.. Reali hope i can at least bf shawn for at least 6 mth..

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,
my bb as u mentioned reverse cycle. sleep more on day times n wakeup more at nite for feeding. sigh...
u r blessed leh.</font>

defgal,
no now not reverse cycled. now it's normal for newborn to sleep all day, wake up all night. so PD say must teach them day and night. my girl also going through this phase now, but after a while, they will learn to distinguish day and night and adjust their sleep pattern. reverse cycling is when, after all that they have learned, they decided to SWITCH BACK! aiyoh *faint*. hence the term "reverse".

cladi,
my mom is not knowledgeable on BF as well. i read a lot from kellymom.com and friends with similar experience then i teach my mom how to defrost the EBM and when to feed baby. if she has any concerns or questions, i told her to contact me. takes some training for both of us, but we'll make it. you will learn as you go along too.

later when we're going back to work our board topics will change too kekeke.

mil jealousy
haha....so many of us have this jealousy trait in us...think it is a woman thing. i have quite an ok relationship with my MIL until i given birth to my boy. as my PILs stays just across the street, she comes over so frequently until i feel so irritated. i really wonder why she didnt come over that much b4 my son is borned! i also dislike mil to carry him, cos she wears this bracelet and i am so afraid one day she will accidentally scratch my son with it. havent dare to tell her to remove it, even after hinting also she didnt get it. whenever she comes she will come and "zhuo luan"! sigh...so many episodes within these few weeks, think i can write a thesis!

Brought my girl to Pd today.
She gained 1.2kg and only 3 weeks old! Pd say my girl is super overfed and ask me to ctrl my latching as i cant gauge hw much she is drinking =/ Thats why she tend to regurgitate all the milk!
Regarding her jaundice, she ask me go back review in 1 week and modify my diet. If next week still dun recover, then go for blood test.
I told her i still sun my girl and she mentioned that sunning is only up to 2 weeks old! After that baby will only become darker and sunning is useless Lol! no wonder why my girl recently become more tanw liao hahahaha.. Blur mommy here..

hi all, finally got some time to myself. so updating my birth story here.

26 mar
12 noon: went to my gynae, dr ang's clinic for induce.

10:30pm: admitted into mt A. dr then came for check up and found out that i was still 1 cm dilated, so inserted more dosage of pill in me to aid the dilation.

27 mar
12+am - 5am I had show and then subsequently some contractions. i asked for the gas and the thigh jab to help relieve the contraction pains. but the gas doesn't work well with me and i puked every hour(!!!). i really hate puking, and thats the thing i hate the most during my pregnancy.

5:45am: my water bag broke and the contraction pain escalated. i think it's the drug's effect coz it seems like the pain is never-ending. so i took epidural. there goes my plan for a natural birth! i did get some sleep with epidural coz it makes me v sleepy.

10+am: dr visited me again and used another type of med on me to speed up the delivery process. contractions started to be intensive and regular.

4pm: nurse called dr, coz she n midwife tot i am 9cm dilated, but turned out that i was 9cm dilated at the peak of contractions. i was only 6cm dilated otherwise. nevertheless dr ang asked me to try pushing. i tried pushing for 3 times when he realised that bb was in distress and pooed. so he sent me in for emergency c-section.

by 4:45pm, i was in the OT. i cld feel the needles pricking me so opted for GA. by 5:26pm, my Alexander was born.

BUT

his face was accidentally nicked by the scapel and that resulted in a 2cm long wound. the wound is superficial but we feel so heart pain. during the operation i almost required a transfusion of blood as there were some complications.

so this is my long story of my long n traumatising delivery which in all took 17 hr. giving birth is really not easy for me and i salute those who go natural all the way.

clover
u must keep this and show yr son next time. U r really a wei da ma ma who go thru all these for yr son. Jia You! Take care!

Gathering today
Thanks for attending for all those who came. Really enjoyed myself after being confined at hm for so long. Hope to see more mommies in future...
Kareen: love yr gal gal 's cheek
Connie: Yr boy very pretty
Kais: Nice hearing yr story abt 3 gals.. hope to c them soon.
YT: needless to say, see u most of all... hahaha...

babypink
wahu look so radiant and alive after the delivery... peifu peifu

<font color="0000ff">MINI GATHERING</font>
Date: 9 April (wed)
Time: 12noon
Venue: Taka
Activity: Lunch cum shopping
Meeting place: Coffee club (any other suggestion?)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n BB
2. babe_dude n BB

<font color="aa00aa">Anyone interested in this fridge to go?</font>

Playtex Fridge To Go Bottle Tote - Double

1328782.jpg

The Fridge To Go® Bottle Tote is a lightweight, collapsible tote that keeps bottles, liquids (including breast milk), and foods cool. Fridge To Go® Bottle Totes are available in two sizes – totes that carry one or two bottles.

The double-bottle tote keeps liquids fresh for up to 12 hours and folds for easy freezer storage. Its built-in, award-winning cooling technology will keep your bottles cool up to three times longer than ordinary bottle totes.

• Ideal for taking Baby’s bottles with you on a long outing, or for storing expressed breast milk during the work day
• Simply place the collapsible tote into the freezer; the built-in Surround Cooling Technology panels will even chill room-temp liquids
• Keeps liquids refrigerator temperature for up to 12 hours
• Extra pockets for cell phone, diapers or other small necessities; adjustable shoulder strap and stroller hook
• 11Hx8.5Wx4D" holds two 9-oz. bottles

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&amp;index=target&amp;rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&amp;page=1

Price: US$16.99

Exchange Rate: US$1 to SG$1.50

FYI, it is selling about $59 for similar models in Singapore.

Will only be taking in 10 units.

Interested: (Pls cut and paste)

Collection
1. admiralty mrt
2. town
3. postage (to be bore by buyer)

<font color="0000ff">hallo all..
sorry din miss the gathering though i'm at United Square waiting for my girl's jaundice test result... the result show 16 my PD actually want to admit her... coz the standard is more than 14 admit... but hubby want 2nd opinon, went to KKH they will only admit if jaundice level more that 18.... haiz tomorrow need to bring her back to polyclinic for blood test.... but i understand if she is on total bfg the jaundice will not come down so fast... haiz... i'm stress too.... any advise..

please also help which pump is better avnet or medenla.. (don know the spell)</font>

my girl usually don't burp after drinking milk eventhough i tried patting her back for like at least 5mins. issit normal? but she farts alot. haha. issit more or less d same then?!

This is my bb girl at 2 weeks old.

1329208.jpg

Anyone interested in this fridge to go?

The Fridge To Go® Bottle Tote is a lightweight, collapsible tote that keeps bottles, liquids (including breast milk), and foods cool. Fridge To Go® Bottle Totes are available in two sizes – totes that carry one or two bottles.

The double-bottle tote keeps liquids fresh for up to 12 hours and folds for easy freezer storage. Its built-in, award-winning cooling technology will keep your bottles cool up to three times longer than ordinary bottle totes.

• Ideal for taking Baby’s bottles with you on a long outing, or for storing expressed breast milk during the work day
• Simply place the collapsible tote into the freezer; the built-in Surround Cooling Technology panels will even chill room-temp liquids
• Extra pockets for cell phone, diapers or other small necessities; adjustable shoulder strap and stroller hook

http://www.target.com/Playtex-Fridge-Bottle-Tote-Double/dp/B000KJWY0U/sr=1-2/qid=1206034616/ref=sr_1_2/601-8376590-2421720?ie=UTF8&amp;index=target&amp;rh=k%3Afridge%20to%20go%20baby&amp;page=1

1. Linda (collection from your hse)

Collection
1. admiralty mrt
2. town

Hey ladies..

I know most of you are on breastfeeding your babies.. Knowing so many of you feeding your babies BM, I feel really guilty and upset I could only feed him for about a week plus..

Wonder if you guys have any comments on NAN 1HA and Similac? Currently I feed my 2weeks old boy NAN 1HA, but I also have Similac at home, thinking of switching him over..

Anyone has any knowledge of which of these 2 brands is better and how should I do the switching in order not to upset his stomach..?

Thanks alot..

You guys think if I let my boy latch on and suckle, will the milk flow comes back? anything i can do to "generate" milk for my baby again? I don't have engorgement and stuff, my breasts are soft, it means that no milk already right? sigh.. so depressing.. =(

Hubby's precious,
i heard similac has very high sugar content and is very sweet, once u switch to similac, baby wun like other brands coz of the sweetness. Coz of the sugar content, baby put on weight very easily.

hb precious: try n pump.. not sure how long u stopped. so it's hard to advise on milkflow..

clover: wah... u worse than me... how come 6cm dr ask u push? ur son's face how now? take care of urself...

milk fridge
wat will be total cost roughly? lets say cost abt $25 + shipping =? if it's within my budget, i'll prob get 1 too.

MINI GATHERING

Interested:
1. abcdisney n BB
2. babe_dude n BB
3. petrina n BB

happyface,
the cushion is the one on the funnel
1329331.jpg

aly,
i can get a friend to order for me, cos he got addition 5% off. let me knw if u interested.

clover,
why ur gynae so careless one.. poor bb. i saw the heat rashes on my bb heart pain already.. somemore a 2cm wound!!

petrina
after shipping will be less than $40.. giving the max amt approximation.

Linda
got yr order

hubby's precious
yes u can get yr milk flow back. i read an article before. Now call up LC to get help if u really wan yr milk flow back. Dun jus sit there and expect milk to flow. Of cos u hv to stay optimistic. The more u delay the harder to bring it back

hi girls!
my confinement is just cut short! I had fever yesterday 39 degrees! So i'm off all the heaty stuff and ang zhou teh hahaha!!

MIL and baby
I initially also was annoyed by my MIL trying to interfere with my bonding time with my baby. But later I also realised its her grandchild and its also their joy to see and hold their grandkids. Can you imagine your DIL not letting you hold your grandchild in future??!!
And I realised what a great help they'll be in looking after the kids both now and in the future too. I guess if you spend time looking after your kids and spend time with them as well you shouldn't be worried about bonding issues.

Faith
At 2 wks old my baby like clockwork only burped after 8 mins of patting on the back.
Now he's 4 wks and the burp comes on bigger and faster.
My PD recommends 5-10 mins to get them to burp.

the avent cushion cost $20 including valve. That is for one. one pair is $40.

Mummyboy
i thnk this is rather new. Maybe u ask lingyee. But y dun get ameda.. tat one is ex for the price compared to ameda which is dual pump. according to my LC, ameda is gd for value n is best electronic dual pump ard considering the price... For

MINI GATHERING

Interested:
1. abcdisney n BB
2. babe_dude n BB n maid
3. petrina n BB
4. adeline n bb

2. Petrina
3. Adeline

Collection
1. admiralty mrt
2. town

my bb next jab for Hepatitis B 2 will be 2days after his 1st mth...where can i go to for the jab? i don feel lyk gg back to the PD i have went in thomson..is too commercialise and the waiting hrs is long and is full of bb...my mom ask me go normal clinic or polyclinic..any recommendation? i stay in Dover...

2. Petrina
3. Adeline
4. Sheryl

Collection
1. admiralty mrt
2. town

My girl is almost 1 yr old and she is still hvg jaundice. Just came back fr polyclinic that they are sending her blood to nuh for test. Now very worried.

She is supposed to hv Hep b 2nd jab next tue. Nw doctor say hv to wait for blood test result. Under doct advice, hv chg to half fm and bm already but the jaundice is still there