(2008/03) March 2008

Just to share.. my keira at 2 weeks
1326852.jpg

Thanks for your advise blue_skies..
We went to the PD last monday.. Back then the umbilical cord has not dropped.. It only dropped yesterday.. PD gave a powder to sprinkle if it dropped off.. So I still continue to clean it with cord spirit and sprinkle the powder over it..

The rashes on his body is quite bad.. I think its because he's warm.. Everytime after drinking milk, he'll sweat alot.. Adding to that, my MIL likes to cover him all up which I totally detest.. Tried explaining her alot of times but she just insist doing it her way.. I'm so angry, it's very hard to get her to listen to me sometimes.. sigh.

HB precious
my previous PD told me not to over swaddle baby. Cause singapore weather too hot liao.
till now since baby born, i've not swaddle her yet. If i swaddle her, she tend to struggle until whole face very very red..

Ya, my baby also don't like to swaddle actually.. I notice he always struggle until his face turned all red..

My MIL's mentality is she scared the baby catches a cold.. But we don't blow the fan at him plus we do not on the aircon lor.. Sigh.. I don't know who has the power to tell her not to overswaddle baby then she'll listen.. Me and my hubby tried telling her lotsa times liao.. But she just don't listen!! I feel like banging myself against the wall lor.. Me and my hubby also super fed up..

RedTea, u let ur baby sleep in air conditioned room? Your bb drinks how much milk every how many hrs? I realised my bb is only a day older than yours.. Just want to make sure I'm feeding him the right amount at the right interval..

I'm feeding my bb NAN 1HA.. I only managed to breastfeed him for about a week plus.. Till now still feeling very guilty about the short period.. =(

Any good electric pump to recommend? i'm currently using avent manual but need to pump 45mins to an hour. Very tiring.

Anyone knows of any 2nd hand electric pump?

hubby's precious,
hee.. my bb now sleeping with CL, so no aircon.. only fan for him. somemore aircon not good for nose.
hmm.. my bb now drink 3oz, abt 80-90ml can last 3-4hrs.
don't feel gulity. i only manage to latch my bb for 2days and i give him ebm liao. :p

chewy,
i am using the avent let-down massage cushion(petal massager) on my medela pump. very good result of bm. normally can only get 50ml.. now can get up to 100ml. love it man! my hubby intend to get a new pcs for me. my current one is a pass dn from a avent manual pump. somemore i got sore nipple, but the cushion now solve the problem for me.. now my nipple feel better..

redtea
same. i tried on my ameda pump using the cushion pad. seem to work very well for me too. i intend to call avent up tmr to buy.

redtea

Can I ask how do u use the avent massage cushion on the medela pump? I have the avent manual pump which doesn't really work for me. I am using the Medala PIS advanced pump. Do u mean that I can take out the petal massager from my avent pump and put it over the medala pump's 'funnel'?

Pls advise.

<font color="aa00aa">mummyboy,
try search yahoo auction there hv some 2nd electric pump for sale. gd luck.
the max i pump is 30mins, min 15mins.</font>

FEEL SO PEK CEK!!! Counting down these last 4 days till my confinement ends!!! Can't adhere to all these ridiculous rules!

Timing my baths at the same time as my hubby to sneak in using the shower on top of the herb water... Using SHAMPOO and SOAP as well, cannot tahan!

Sick of the restrictions on what i can and cannot eat. Even orange also cannot eat- where to get my vitamin C from?! Fruits cannot be eaten cold- or else baby will poop a lot (like real- don't all babies poop 5-6x per day?!)

Baby have heat rash and they say i ate too much chili and seafood DURING (not after) PREGNANCY!!! How come no one thinks that all the ginger, ang zhou teh etc are not heaty meh?!! And still swaddle baby so tightly and cannot have any doors/ windows/ fan open when changing baby (even just a quick diaper change!)

Fed up....

My hubby is my partner in crime. =) He even smuggled food in for me a few times... =)

Next round i will not get CL anymore. I will move back to my niang jia. My mom also thinks that no oranges and cannot drink plain water is weird!

Ahcapp,
yup, like wat abc's mummy said. jus put the pad over at the medela funnel will do. pumping will be more comfortee.

each side max i pump 15mins too.

Hi abc's mummy

My gal is lazy.. only want to feed for 10 to 15 mins. Thus, I will express after she finish.. don't waste mah
Also, I have serious block ducts initally and since baby can't help me clear, I express

I stay in Pasir Ris.. must find people to tong pang as well. Husband going for reservist before my confinement ends, I super stress

By the way, can anyone advise me how much should a 2 week old baby be drinking? If I give baby 50ml/60ml of ebm, she doesn't seems to have enough and CL will tell me to feed her again.

abc,
u can get the cushion pad from philips at toa payoh showroom. it is sold there. but dunno got stock anot?

Pancake
eh today is my 3rd week of confinement and whole day i've been drinking plain water. i cannot tahan those herbs anymore. feel so damn thirsty each time i drink them!
I ate apple while it's cold. Aiya my confinement very messed up.. anyway my mom is modern one.. so she dun care hw i do lor.. hahaa..

Today no choice.. lunch - chicken rice.. dinner - fish soup.. though no confinement food but must try to choose food wisely loL!..

Chewwy,

Like what RedTea said, it's true that diff babies have diff milk intake. Guess it also depends on the size of your baby. My boy was 3.7kg when he was born and is now 2 wks old. When he was first discharged with me from hospital, he was drinking 60ml for about 3 days. After that, he was drinking 90ml for about a week. Just yesterday (Day 17), I increased the milk to 120ml because 90ml wasn't enough for him.

When we saw the PD during the first week upon discharge, we asked whether we were overfeeding and the reply was no, because different babies feed differently. If the baby is full, they won't drink. And if the baby doesn't vomit after feeding, then we shouldn't worry. Seems that there are some other babies which are bigger drinkers than my boy too!

I am feeding him both ebm and fm. My observation so far: For the same quantity of milk (ebm or fm), he gets hungrier more easily with ebm. Currently 120ml of ebm lasts him 2 hrs max and 120ml of fm lasts him abt 3 hrs.

Cute baby photos

It's so nice to see lovely photos of all the babies here. Babies are wonderful - so long as they are not screaming or crying!

Confinement

Kudos to all the mothers out there who have gone thru confinement! My MIL gave me some herbs to shower with. One smell of it and I almost collapsed. I have been taking shower and washing hair everyday as per normal since I was discharged from hospital. I ate everything that was "against the confinement rule" - cold fruit juice, cold chocolate milk, papaya, mangoes etc. My MIL was paranoid when she saw 4 half ripened papayas sitting in my kitchen - I told her it was for cooking soup
Luckily I don't live under the same roof as her. I have been sleeping in air con every night (and so does the baby) and I have also gone out of the house twice already with hubby to pak tor (with my mum's blessings coz she helps to babysit the baby while we go out). She thinks I will end up going into depression if I stay in the house any longer.

Engorgement

I just pumped out 80ml at 7plus. then another 40ml at 9plus.. Don't know why my breasts so full easily. then now i try to pump out, only 10ml. breasts like rock. How?

mummyboy,

Is the areola and nipple area also hard? Or soft? If it's hard, pumping may not work. You tried using warm towel and hand massage? Tried cold cabbage? Get your baby to latch?

Hopefully since you can still pump, the engorgement is not too bad.

Adeline/blue skies,

Me too. My confinement is in a mess too. Wash my hands with cold water, bath at wee hours, gg out for stroll with my dog, everyday, blowing fan, etc. Somemore my mum nt good in cooking and I hv been eating fried pork with ginger for 10 days already!!!!! Getting sick of it. Think I will hv to start cooking myself.

Only the 11th day and I really can't tahan already.

jerejoy
precisely.. i've been eating kidney and the same pork lean meat thruout my confinement. Hell!!
The kidney is killing me.. and i cannot take it hahaha..
Yday think i drank 2 jug of plain water. really really thirsty like hell!!

yday was the 1st night me and baby come back home..
Think baby cannot get used to my hse? at night keep yakking non-stop until i got very very irritated. now my whole body aching.

morning all,
sigh~~ dunno if my bb being carried by my in-law too much or they played with him too much.. he din sleep from 2+ till 6am. told my hubby liao, don;t let him be carried too much, wait nxt time i am the one who will suffer.

anyway, i kind of don't like me in-laws to get too close to my son.. :p dunno i jealous or wat. i jus don't like it, so if they don't come very often i will be very happy. but the problem is they always like to come in the evening.. weekends whole day and they popped in only in the evening.. sian! ppl wanna rest liao then they come. somemore dirty dirty outside whole day liao then come and carry my son.. angry.
dunno if i scared my son being snatch away from me anot. haiz~

Redtea,
last nite my bb also, cranky whole night... after my dad carried her and played with her for like 30 mins. i told my dad dun carry her n rock.. coz i will suffer...
i also dun like my mil to visit me and baby... just dun like... simply dun like..

ling yee, Hi5!
i oso simply don't like. dunno why lei.. but i don;t dare tell my DH, cos i scared he angry at me. cos they r his parents ma. but i dunno if my dislike look will give way anot..
i jus don't understand, they got 1 whole day and they wanna come only in the evening!
Oh. and i don;t like the perfume my FIL is using.. i wonder if my son can tahan the smell anot.

happyface,
congrats tat ur cofinement is finally over. me still got 20days to go.. so sad.. counting and counting.

MUMMIES GATHERING TODAY .. @ United Sq.
Reminder to mummies who will be meeting for lunch today..

Place: Swensons, United Sq
TIme: 1pm

Seeya there...

redtea: same... i think it's first mum being jealous... i also dun like dirty whole day come n carry my boy. so i have the clean urself first rule. i dun care if they say i unreasonable... applies to all ppl including my hb.

if my parents come over, they need to come direct frm home. means shower then come. MIL needs to bath then can carry him. hb also. frm work cannot carry. need to bath first.

hb precious: i also use powder. tats anti infection powder. pls sprinkle over the whole belly button. no need to use alcohol swab liao. once it drops, dun need to swab already.
bath bb time, clean it wif normal bath water. dry it then sprinkle.

confinement
my MIL bot oranges - vit c &amp; strawberries - antioxidents for me...
cause i complain i gonna constipation soon liao... i kenna abit of piles for 2days last wk. i forced my motion out to clear the intestine. then i drowned myself wif plain warm water.. otherwise so heaty, how to not constipation?

now ok liao. cause all confinement food stop except ginger. + all the fruits n juices i ate n drank..

BF
drink on demand... as long as no vomit milk after drinking is fine.
spit out of digested milk is common.

Redtea,
haha.. my hubby knows about my resentment towards his mum.. i am very open about it... there was once she came over or rather she ask my hubby to fetch her over, den i was having my massage.When i came out, i saw her carrying my princess.. den i just tell my hubby.. i go wash up, baby wants milk le, carry baby up for feeding

jealousy
it's very normal. even I hv 2 kIds I still dun like in laws n maid to get too close to them. esp when I only hv #1. nw wif #2 bo pian.. tat's y though I hv maid I dun Bring her out wherever I go.. cos I wan quality n private time with my kids. nw #2 still young n tbf, a bit hard.. hb always ask me to bring maid along.. but when he's older.. hahaha I will learn to bring them out myself . ifact last sat I brought both kIds out alone without any helper , to causeway pt n granny's place..

in laws
dun wish to talk abt them. prob will wan declare cold war. this morning anyhw yuan wang by mil.. I already so tired still scold me for nothing . last few days I trying to stretch bb feeding time to 2.5-3h.. she interfere n say he still young, y stretch, y let him cry..etc etc.. sigh

babe_dude
thanks for helping me update d mtg place for today's gathering . bb cranky last night. no chance to update. see ya!

in laws
hahahah think all have same problem. when i had #1 i seriously DISLIKE me MIL to carry her.. FIL i am ok!
Now i have #2.. i dun care liao.. want cary crry lor.. better u look after and dun cme disturb me.. hahahaha i show her such attitude lah! then she cannot tk it looking after kids.. so she never interfere liao.. and always tell me chasing after them very tired..
Now she carry #1 5mins only she cannot tk it already hahaha and #2 she dun dare carryt!

20more days. i must ren! then it's going to my mom pl. i rather have my mom carry my sn.. haha..

then yesterday, my mil ask me abt the 1st mth ceebration thingy.. i tell her i don't intend to hold celebration.. she like very disappointed hahah... :p naughty me. i don't wanna hold is becos nobody to help me clean up my hse after the celebration.. very tiring one lei. still got 1 bb to take care of. but my hubby seem like wanna hold the 1st mth celebration.

me too staying with in laws...alot unhappiness....cos she teach one thing...n i teach another...differ...

abc
i understand the feeling...
once my gal was throwing tantrum..and so i let her cry till very jiat lat..in the end tired n sleep...mil kept say let maid handle....if maid carry is cry...then i might as well let her cry on the floor till she sian...

Petrina
for 40 days better dun drink cold n eat too cooling....