(2008/03) March 2008

redtea/kell: hehe... hb slp wif air con mah. sometimes too warm, we on air con + fan.. haha..

MIL bobian. cause she scared i PNB if i dun get my way.

kell: when i din bath, also kenna rashes... so damn itchy. GP say hormonal change... but after i stop my heaty food eg; sesame oil, n i bath every day, my rashes stopped liao. no more. though the red dots r still visible cause i overscratched. now slowly diminishing...

i think it's dirty bah. so rashes appear due to non-bath? for me la. u i not sure liao...

my hair is short. so i towel dry already almost dried. so i nv blowdry... i leave it natural dry. so far no probs.

blueskies: PD say cannot put powder on neck, scared asthma..

<font color="0000ff">hi all shared my darling pic....</font>
1325858.jpg

any1 wan avent bottles?? i have 2 260ml and 2 125ml bottles to sell..i selling it at $25plus 3 size 2 teats.... price can be nego...

eniale

congrats
btw, i still hven popped even passed my EDD. guess i'll be the last one here. Gynae say i can still wait to be induce by 1st april. He say I m still able to do naturally even my bb size is 3.6kg now.

kell
poor u...actualli can on aircon durin confinement. The mechanical fan is supposed to be worse instead. cannot blow onto urself.. if not nxt time u will get 'feng shi'lei. talk to ur mom, personal hygiene is a must. if not, on the aircon in the room 1st, let the room cool down, and off it if ur mom really insist, before u go in. then use the 'san zi' to fan urslf inside. hope tt help
cheer up.. i noe the weather is darn hot last wk.

hi all... I popped on the 26 March, 11.30pm.. I m e last one out of the labour ward, everyone that went before me had popped and I am still there.... :S

bb boy wt : 3.15kg

He had to stay to stay in the hospital for one more day observation as he was grunting when he was born.. was so worried.. lucky everything is fine now..

nw back home... ahhh... he slps from 2pm - 8pm.. refusing to wake up.. i tickle him on the chin, behind the ears, the sole of his legs, his palms... all advice by the nurses on ways to wake ur baby up to drink milk but it just doesnt work.

My mil tot me n hubby doing the wrong way.. so we ask her to try.. she tried and gave up also..

then when i am hving my dinner.. he started crying.. sigh...

I also hving problem on the bf.. its like nt enough.. haiz.. nw he is finally sleeping..

very very tempted to wash my hair now cos my mil is sleeping.. hahaa.. but better not.. think sleep is more impt.. else later he wakes up and I hv to try bf for like an hour or more again...

I on aircon and sleep also.. cannot take it sooo hot.. but set the temperature between 25-26.. wearing long sleeve and long pants.. I guess shld be ok..

abc,

For mums who tbf
1. how often u latch yr bb?

I latch my son interval of 1.5-2 hrs in the daytime as for night time 2 - 3 hrs. Got this info from the book. It was mentioned nt to drag more than 4 hrs in the night time since we are tbf and nt formula feed.

2. how old yr bb now?

My bb is 10 days old.

3. How long does bb latch?

He may latch 10-20 mins on each breast. I will try to burp him and let him suckle on the other breast if he still wants some more.

I find that he tends to treat it as a pacificer sometimes and falls asleep while drinking. Is this normal? Is there ways to prevent him treating my breast as a pacificer? Any advice from mummies?

mummyboy: wah... u so lucky... ur boy let u slp whole nite...i very envious. both my wrists already lost feeling liao... frm carrying him every hr.

<font color="0000ff">Dor...wow.. yr gynae mus b very supportive.. hehe... duno leh, aiya.. he say cervix v.tight, close up... hardly can succeed, then when he cm to visit me next day, he say lucky i din try,bb is big... OMG.. hahaha... anyway... most imptly bb mus b safe out regardless of wht method used.. =P...

my bb nappy rash is very bad... been using the drapolene cream but like not much effect.. anyother product to recommend??... pls advise thanks!! =))

Posted up bb Eleanor pic..=))</font>

1326233.jpg

Confinement..
So far i only wash hair once and bath everyday with herb water. I use fan cause no air con.. i know cannot but no choice. Too hot and sweaty esp after every meals.
Yday night i even use 2 fan to blow myself cause too warm liao..
It's better to do confinement properly we all undrstand.. but just cannot tahan!! hahahaaa..
Even eating also chin cai liao! My granny even offer me chrysanthemum drink!! lol.. but i guai guai.. didnt drink hhaa..

<font color="aa00aa">mummy boy,
so envy leh...ur boy sleep so long time at nite. my gal dun wana sleep at nite n somemore wan carry...so tiring n sleepy.
but at least wakeup for 1 feed better than stomache empty, u got ask ur PD?</font>

DEFgal,

i just asked. He said if tonight like that again, bring to see him tomorrow. But he said preferably wake him up for 1 feed if he don't want to wake up.

Adeline,
I wash my hair twice liao. And bathe every night because of the jamu wrap. haha. i also on fan, but didn't directly blow onto me.

mummy boy

Is ur bb solely bf? My no 1 slept thru the nite when she is abt 1 wk old last time. I didnt wake her up. But she was FM and Bf last time. Personally I feel that they will wake up and cry for milk when they r hungry, like when they poo, they will signal u to change diaper. Ask ur pd if u dun feel comfy.

Eniale

For me, i use cool boiled water to wash.. And keep airing her butt. Dun apply anything till they goes off. Jux monitor.. For cream, use destiny. It really helps.

Yest, my ger sleeps thru the nite too. coz recently, i notice that the nite feeding interval is stretching longer and longer and yest she finally sleep thru and wake up at 6am for feed.

i thot as bb grow older, nite feeding will be less.

<font color="aa00aa">paiseh mummies think im not joining the gathering coz looking after bb cant leave her.

First Mini Gathering after Confinement

Date: 31 march ( mon )
Time: 1pm
Venue: United square
Activity: Lunch and chit chatting

Note: Cancel if raining.

Interested:
1. abcdisney n Andrae (both dates ok)
2. babe_dude n bb
3. Yutong n bb n CL ( Mon is better for me )
4. Adeline Loo n Chelsea n Tommy (TBC)
5. Liyun n bb n granny
6. AdelineS (TBC - dunno can escape from granny hse or not as still under confinement)</font>

<font color="aa00aa">linda,

is it? i feed my bb at nite every 2 to 3hrs leh. she coming to 2mths soon. sigh...sometime after feeding nv go sleep immediate.</font>

Petrina,
Thks for advice rgd the powder. Will be careful not to powder too close to baby's face. However, don't think I could survive without powder.... Baby's neck would just totally break out in rashes! So pitiful.....

Eniale,
I'm using desitin creamy. I apply it on my fingers and then rub it together evenly before applying it on baby's bottom, must also apply around the anus, and for my boy, I also apply it under his scrotum and the area between his thighs and his scrotum. I also use damp cotton wool to dab his scrotum area and buttocks each time I change his diapers.

And if he poos, I use wet wipes to wipe down first, then use damp cotton wool, then apply desitin again (coz when you wipe down using wet wipes, I feel that you tend to wipe away the desitin too).

Kell
if u feel super hot...on the aircon at 25 degrees....better then blow fan direct even short period...

if bbies sleep long hrs..let them be..some bbies has reserve...some bbies sleep longer....they will wake up when they are hungry...in fact sleeping will be better then feeding.....

BB slp thur night
No worries. My gal only slp thur night when she's 2 yr plus. Hahaha... Today is the 2nd night boy feed at 3h interval at night

Petrina,
if my MIL do confinement for me.. i think i will be like u oso.. lock myself and bb in the room.. cos she always say this cannot tat cannot.. but not comment on me la.. is on her percious grandson.. i hear liao oso sian.. and last nite they came my hse very late and wanna play with bb. imagine bb have his 3oz milk already and don't wanna let him sleep.. and make him start to like ask for milk agn.. then my cl really go and give him somemore.. damn angry. cos i knw bb wanna sleep and not wanna drink... tell cl off tatt he wanna sleep and don't overfed him..
lucky my bb is not going to be taken care by my MIL.. i'm going to my mom pl after my confinement. but oso very bad la.. they cannot see their grandson everyday. :p

re: heat rashes
me let my bb sleep on bouncer in the day.. more airy and cooling.. hope his rashes gets better soon.. see liao oso heartaches.

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following up for sale. All are letting go at discounted rate.

1) Herbal Bath - 10 pkts (2 sachets in each pack)
2) Maternity disposable panties - 2 pkts (5 pcs in each pack)
3) Batiste Dry Shampoo - 2 cans
4) Palmer's Nursing cream (used once) comes with 4 pcs breastpads
5) 10 pcs Pigeon Breastpads

Interested, pls email me at [email protected]

RedTea, my baby boy also has rashes on his front body and nappy area and on the folds of his arms.. I think its heat rash too but my MIL keep insisting to cover my baby up cuz she say it's better not to let him catch a cold.. I tried explaining to her that baby is too hot but she insist doing it her way.. the fan does not blow directly at my baby and neither do we on the aircon.. I keep telling her baby feels warm, she said its better he warm than catch a cold.. =(

Seeing the rashes on his body and nappy area also broke my heart.. it's like super alot.. Later shall get my hubby to go buy the Desitin cream like you all mention. I hope it'll heal faster too.. I'm really stressed out..

besides the rashes, he also has blocked nose.. sigh...

eniale: i also use destin. but my usage is high. cause i reapply after each diaper change.
i apply wherever i feel is needed. scrotum, anus, butt, thigh cracks.

redtea: hehs. last nite also. my parents n bro came over ard 10pm. i juz finish feed wanna zzz liao. they disturb him. i gotta entertain them i can't rest.
after they go home, he's due for feed again, wasted my slp time.

blueskies: my PD say use lotion or cream. for neck area. i use lots wipes. abt 3pcs for poo. 2pcs for pee.

mummy norman: i slp aircon 25deg whole day. no fan too.

hb precious: blocked nose, use nasal saline spray. squirt once a day on each side.
dun overwrap. feel bb tummy for actual body temp. hands n legs temp is fake. if muz wrap, wrap in thin layers.

eg; wear romper, use cotton diaper to half swaddle him. then cover wif another cotton diaper or thin blanket.
or wear long pants n booties, dun wrap liao. juz put cotton diaper or thin blanket over to cover.

adelineK, i want to tell u a good news.

I got my flat thru balloting as well, we had ballot number 10 , we tried to select 10 flats in order of preferences.. in case all the other 9 in front of us chose the flats we like.. we don't want to anyhow select on the spot. Anyway, on the day of selection, guess wat?!?!? All the 9 in front of us did not turn up!!!! We become the FIRST to choose!

eniale, my baby looks like your baby when she sleeps... no wonder pple tell me my baby looks abit japanese.. LOL... my hubby and I look at each other, don't know what to say - cos we both CHINESE!! LOL!

Things I learnt from PD
1. PD's method to clear BLOCKED NOSE
PD provided nose drop to soften the nostril se mucous. (Baby doesn't like it you have to do this, as it is safer than cotton bud - yes I used cotton bud on two occasions to remove her mucous before! )

Drip one drop into one nostril at a time.
Then twirl tissue paper to make one pointed cone on one side, and insert this end into baby nostril to pull out the soften mucous. Repeat at the other side.

2. FEEDING WATER
WATER has no calories, and will make bb full. At this growth stage, you would prefer to let your bb drink milk than to drink water...(unless advised by PD for jaundice case)

Sleeping through night
Mummyboy, how you managed to let your baby sleep so long last night? When was his last feed and for how long?
abc, how did you make your boy wake up at 3 hours interval?

Nappy Rash cream
Do you apply it each time you change diaper? I've been applying on at night. My baby will be very frantic while changing diaper, so we tend to change very fast, if we were to let her expose for a little short while, she will cry her lung out.

Petrina,
Thanks for the advice..
Where to get the nasal saline spray? Pharmacy?
It's not me who overwrap him.. My MIL is around, she's the one who always like to wrap him up. Whenever I carry my baby, I'll try to let loose the swaddle, but she will nag at me and told me to wrap him up..

hb precious: ur boy.. not her boy.. 1 ear in 1 ear out... u juz loosen. do as u deem fit for ur boy.

i got mine frm PD. my boy no solid mucus. only the watery sound... sound like wheezing. if ur boy has visible nose shit tat's hard then u'll need the softener - lotion like wat sheryl said. if not, use the saline spray to squirt it in his nose. it clears his airways. then he can breath better.
SINOMARIN - nasal spray for children. white box wif pink/blue wordings.
u can check if pharmacy let u buy it OTC if not, go GP n get it.

Sheryl
So good!! The flats that i wanted are chosen liao.. we looking for alternatives hahahaa..
Regarding nappy cream, yes do apply everytime u change diapers.. can prevent nappy rash.

I not yet 1 month but i ending my confinement today? LOL
Cause my granny's maid have high blood pressure suddenly.. Very high 160/90.. then keep vomiting and have migrain so they sent her back already..
Then i move back home without any helper. hehee.. so guess i can end my confinement liao! But aunty tell me dun eat cooling things..

another thing is my granny in law admitted hosp..

I really dun understand what is gng on man..
since the day i give birth, uncle pass away, granny in law admit hosp.. maid like that.. Haiz..

nvm nvm must think positively!!!

hello all, i am just back home this afternoon with bb alex. frustrated coz he's slightly jaundiced and preferred to sleep than feed and my breasts feel engorged. >_<

Petrina,
By the way my baby is only 13 days old.. Can use the nasal saline spray?

His nappy rash is quite bad.. I just noticed there's about 2 to 3 red bumps with pus..

I really hope miracle can happen and the rash will disappear on its own..

By the way, does any one of your baby's umbilical cord fell off already, but there's still like yellowish discharge inside the belly button? Thanks...

Petrina,
his mucus is not solid.. sticky stick one.. i'll always take the chance when he sneezes den i'll use the nostril suck and suck his mucus out.. The other day I brought him to the doctor, they did gave me some nose drop.. But its very difficult to drip into his nostrils, sometimes i don't even know if the nose drop went in or not.. because I didn't dare to drip inside, as I'm afraid I drip more than 1 drop, so I just drip outside the nostril and let it flow down itself..

hubby's percious,
in the day, we don't let bb wear short or pants, jus diaper. and then we swaddle him with clothes daipers. at nite then we let him wear long pants and oso swaddle him with clothes diapers + blankets.

my bb umbilical cord fall off liao.. but i am not the one who do the cleaning for him. so i dunno if got discharge anot. haha...

Clover,
must be patient with bb, if u frustrated, bb will oso be frustrated.. try to pump out to release engorgement lor. bo bian one.

yes. finally on aircon to sleep ytd night!

I think I better on aircon than fan le.

I am also thinking of getting the "nose sucker" for bb. She also got those wheezing sound from nose.

ENGORGED BREASTS
Don't wait until you're really uncomfortable.

You can start massaging your breast - where there are hard lumps, add pressure to those lumps. Apply pressure to the hard lump, then in vibrating rhythms, press up and down, shake left and right until the lump loosen.
I find that after a hot shower, milk also leaks very well, but for those who are under strict scrutiny of mom/CL/MIL, you can use hot water bottle or hot towel... then after which your milk will flow freely. Express this out and refrigerate!

Or Enroll your hubby's help! Ask him to apply pressure, squash, squeeze your breasts to release the milk. Or BETTER suck OUT!! (i DIN TRY THIS.. although many friends advise this)

AIRCON Vs FAN
I don't understand how come can use aircon but not fan? Personally, I prefer aircon too. LOL! My mum on the aircon yesterday for my ger cos she's sweating... lol so I benefited since we sleep in the same room!

Adeline.. yes, think positive. At least you get a BALLOT good number! I supposed if 90% doesn't turn up.. then you'll be number 10 in the queue. LOL!

U can ask ur hubby to tabao ginger fish rice from zhi chai store. Or black chicken soup from food court - better than nothing!

I've gotten to eat J.CO donuts and Satay (1 stick only) during my confinement! Alternative food for breakfast.

sheryl, someone also told me better to be in aircon room then fan. which i think is logical cos aircon only cool the temperature of the room. there is no wind blowing at you.

i figured the sweating is good but i insist to bath everyday cos i sweat so much.

so now i will sweat in the afternoon then take a shower. after that keep myself cool for the rest of the day til the morning.

baby is 4days old now. still a long mth to go...

eniale - i thought your gynae is Eunice Chua? you changed?

Clover,

Abt engorged breasts, like what niwa said, don't wait till it gets uncomfortable coz then it's too late!! It happened to me and it was so torturous!

However, if the engorgement gets really painful and your breasts end up like 2 pieces of rocks - cannot bounce and cannot squeeze anything out and even the cold cabbage won't help, use assam (tamarind) paste. Mix the assam with a bit of cold water and apply over breasts, avoiding areola and nipple area. Leave for 2-3 hrs, you will feel the engorgement subside. Then you can try massaging it. This was recommended to me by the Malay massage woman and it actually worked.

Hubby's precious,

My baby's umbilical cord dropped off after about 10 days. Did not put any water over his umbilical cord area when I washed him, plus also wiped the umbilical cord area everyday with alcohol swabs which was given by hospital. Yellow stuff from the umbilical cord sounds like pus. Has your baby seen the PD recently yet?

The umbilical cord will turn dark brown/black and become very hard before it drops off on its own. When carrying him, must take care not to get it entangled with his shirt/ nappy/ diapers otherwise it might tug at the umbilical cord and it may hurt him.

The rashes will subside in abt 2-3 days if you keep the area clean and wipe his neck/ sweaty areas regularly with damp cotton wool. It worked for my boy. Watch out for milk that spills out from his mouth onto his neck - this can also cause rashes.

blocked ducts
tried the hot water bottle n massage way. still there. LC say blocked duct mostly occur near the armpit area. igh.. so painful esp after massage! Tat also accounts y sm ppl has lesser milk..

Qoosan,

I'm from Jan08 thread.

I'm interested to get the busybaby nursing wrap but somehow I can't post in your overseas spree site.. Can you put in order for me pls? I would like to get one (01) pc of Soft pink, if oos den white. Will transfer the $ to you if ok?

Thks alot!!!

Hi abcmummy

do you have the full name for the let down cushion pad? I also have the same problem with you ( I suspect)

I am using ameda dual pump and I can get only 10-15ml one side and 30-40 another side. So my poor baby always don't have enough to eat.
Wanted to get the cusion pad to try and have to give my hubby the full name so that he can buy for me. I can't find it on Avent's website. Thanks

chewwy
u giving ebm? y dun latch? I express for future use one. din gv ebm. it is call le down massage cushion. Where u stay? Wonder if can tong bang?