(2008/03) March 2008

Ling yee
no idea wor.. i never bottle feed her.. all latching.. Like when 2 hrs ago i latch her.. 2 hrs later i pump.. supply always same one wor.. dunno why.. even if slight engorgement also same!! haiz.. hw huh? i am not taking any supplements to increase milk supply.

If there's a separate compartment in your fridge/freezer, you can keep it longer. Reason being, when you open the fridge/freezer door, this separate compartment's door is still closed, thus the food/ebm inside is not exposed to room temperature. Imagine if you need to cook a meal, you open and close the fridge/freezer door many times, then the ebm will not be fresh since it's always exposed to room temperature. However, if the ebm is stored in a separate compartment with door, it's still kept cool in the fridge/freezer, thus you can keep it longer.

I'm new to this thread.
I just gave birth to a baby girl on 24 Mar 08.
She is 5 days old today.

I'm total breastfeeding my girl. However, she does not drink or suckle well.
She sleeps a lot and wakes up after one and half to four hours (very wide range) for a feed.
She only managed to feed on 1 side for 10 min, then doze off again.
I tried to change her diapers and burp her to try to wake her up but in vain.
She can't clear my breasts and they are very engoged now.

This is my 2nd child. My first one ( a boy) does not have such problem at all.
I quite worried if she is taking enough milk.
Does any of the mummies face such problems ?
Is there any effective method to wake my girl up so that she can manage to suckle on both sides during the feed ?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Jing wen.

Dor,
Don't despair, your turn soon ;-)

Adeline,
Don't compare your ebm with others. As long as you are producing enough for your baby, why care how much other moms can express? It may not be a good thing to have so much milk. Needs to pump and throw, or freeze and occupies the freezer space.. Think positive, it'll make you feel better ;-)

Jing Wen,
Don't worry, all my 3 kids are like that. BTW, does your bb have jaundice? Reason I'm asking is because jaundice will make a bb drowsy and sleep alot.

Jaundice
The clinic just called to inform me of my bb's conjugated bilirubin blood test report. Thank goodness her liver's OK, now waiting for urine test report. Was told by PD to alternate breastmilk and FM to bring down her jaundice level.

Hi Reena,

The PD did not mention that she has jaundice when we are discharged from the hospital but my confinement lady commented she has a bit. I going to visit the PD tomorrow, will see what he says then.

All your 3 kids also does not drink well ? Does the situation improve when they are older ?
Are you total breastfeeding ? Do you pump out to clear your breasts ?
My girl does not seems to pass enough urine to give me an indication that she is drinking enough which made me very worried.

After i start bottle feedingfew days back. only once a day.. i tried 2 days.. but she drink water using milk bottle also.. she cant seems to latch well liao wor.. or is it cause she lazy already? aiyo this few days i had alot difficulty latching her leh!!!

Reena
Thanks.. true true.. what u say makes sense..! but cause i tot supply will increase one ma :p so i wondering hw come mine dont lor.

I'm also new to this thread.

My princess is coming 2 wks old and I'm sort of having the same problem as Jing Wen. I TBF my girl, and she can suckle well. She sometimes drink frm 1 breast, sometimes 2 breasts depends. But I always have to put her down, burp her or change her diaper or wait for a facial sign (most of the time, which can take up to over 15 mins) before she wants to drink from the 2nd breast. Her wake up timing also varies, 1.5 to 4 hours.

Also she sometimes cough or choke while drinking, especially when the milk is dripping non-stop frm the breast. It's painful to see her like that. I don't pump cause I scare the more I pump, the milk I have. Am I right to make such assumption? I tried to lay back to stop having fast let-down, but it doesn't help.

She is almost 2 wks old, but her feeding schedule still not fixed. She also sleeps alot.

I really need some precious advice.

Reena,
since your PD suggested u introduce FM to her, what's your take? will you go along with your PD or die-die give BM?

AdelineK,
my bb already over 1 mth liao so if i my output is a lot that's normal lah. over time, bb's feed will increase mah. it also depends on baby's appetite. my girl is a super sucker. even if she comfort suck, she'll take in the milk, then fall asleep. if i express, she'll take in 3oz at most although i could produce up to 5oz. another fact is that, at this time, our body is still trying to regulate the supply so it's easy to trick the body to produce more by stimulating your nipples. but i'm still latching full-time. cannot tahan oversupply like Reena said, else i will be engorged all the time.

adeline k,
yes, is true once u bottlefeed, they will b confused bet breast and bottle. i all along have tis problem, hence my nipples sore. Even i consult lactatn consultant to latch him properly, she stil want to nipple feed. cos during my cnfinement, my nanny bottlefed her w my ebm at night. lactatn consultant told me intro bottle to early wil confuse them...haiz...

Happygal
she can still latch but i need to be very patient. she just refuse to suck! i need to force her head to my breast and hang on there for 1 or 2 mins then she start sucking and she will keep suck and let go.. keep doing that. Think when milk comes out slow, she pek chek also.
Moreover i only fed her EBM twice only leh! then she have this problem liao..

reena/melissa: i having engorement again... juz started 2days ago... i had to wake my son up to clear my breast once my breast starts engorement...
luckily only 1side at a time.. otherwise i think my boy cannot clear my engorement in time manz.

so i think sufficient supply is enuff liao. over or under supply no good...

For storing EBM
If jus expressed out, can leave in open for 4 hr.
If put in fridge, 48 hours. If put in freezer, 3 mth. If u intend to feed within 48 hr, jus leave in fridge. If u wan freeze, after 1 express, put into freezer. The next time u express, after express, leave outside for 15 min or fridge for 10 min then pour with the previously frozen expressed milk (in the same container). Do label the container with the first milk pour in.

Today went to see LC. Force to feed bb at 3 h interval on both breast (15-20min each) and also to stop giving him comfort suck. LC oso say i got blocked ducts.. ouch.. she taught me to massage to remove blocked ducts. The reason for not being to express a lot of milk is mainly because i have insensitive letdown (she suggested using the letdown cushion pad from avent manual with my ameda pump funnel). Works very well. Manage to get 50ml (MY RECORD) under her guidance and also using hand express. Any other ways to remove blocked ducts?

Desitin Creamy at $9.50
1 Pet
2 Pet
3 FL - COD
4 FL - COD
5 Pancake - paid (addy given)
6 Pancake - paid (addy given)
7 jewel_thief27 - paid (addy not given)
8 jewel_thief27 - paid (addy not given)
9 happygal29 - (addy given)
10 dor
11 Bubble
12 Bubble

Pls TT to posb savings 126491018.
For desitin is $9.50
Normal postage for 1 desitin is $1
Normal postage for 2 desitin is $1.50

I have just given birth to a healthy baby gal on the 26th mar 2008 3.7kg. still trying to think of a name for her. :p

I m doing total breast feeding. nipples are super sore but i just continue to feed. trying to see pass the pain.

Just some info to share:

- Saw the earlier post regarding how much to feed baby. Went PD today and happen to ask the same question cos seems like my 1 mth baby is not satisfied with 120ml already. PD say for 1 mth old, consumption between 80 to 100 ml (last for 2 - 3 hrs) is average. my baby drink 120ml every 3 hrs is abit on high side but still ok since she vomit a little bit only (occasionally) and weight gain is not excessive. But PD advise not to increase too much too fast.

- Also, baby min shld gain 600g per mth.

- Breastmilk and formula milk has the same amt of calories, so the usual hearsay that formula satisfy hungry better is not true!!!!

Any other mummies who visit PD and got new knowledge, do share share also. Lotsa things to learn.

Adeline
I kpo read here n saw ur post Kath lazy to suck after bottle feed. Maybe when u latch her on n she dun suck u try to press ur breast abit so that will have abit of milk flow into her mouth. Once she taste the milk she should start sucking liao. Hope it helps.

Ada went to PD for yellowish discharge from her ear. Scare the death of me. i scare she ganna ear infection. PD told me becoz she has sensitive skin and nose so spread to ear also .
PD gave ada nasal cleaner to soften the nose shit before we dig it out.

weight gain for a one mth bb is from 0.5kg-1kg

Desitin Creamy at $9.50
1 Pet
2 Pet
3 FL - COD
4 FL - COD
10 dor
11 Bubble
12 Bubble
13 Linda (I collect from you together with the wipes)

dreamlife,
congrats on your new arrival! my nipples also super sore initially and i super kiasu bought the avent nipple shield, now for 2nd child, really boh chup. don't need it. now my nipples are stronger haha. jia you on enduring the pain.

fei,
thanks for sharing your PD tips! your bb and my bb should be same age so that helps a lot! i also think 120ml for one month old is on the high side. i remember feeding 120ml for my 3 month old first child then. purely EBM and she's on the 75% for weight.

abc,
what's insensitive letdown? i think the most effective way to remove blocked ducts is still to let baby latch away. i've tried other methods it doesn't work as well. the closest match is avent manual pump. with manual pump, u can always estimate how much pressure and suction needed to drain the milk off your breasts.

petrina,
you're right. too much is a problem, too little lagi bigger problem, haha. so when i'm engorged i just ignore it so that my body can regulate the supply or if cannot take it, i will pump just enough to relieve it. that's why i don't pump b'cos it will surely increase my supply. i only pump if i need to go out without bringing baby out.

sgblinkff,
your assumption is correct. i also have a fast let-down and my bb sometimes chokes on it. if that happens to you, try to lean back so that gravity will slow down your milk flow.

abc,
Fats and proteins of bm and fm certainly will be diff, so we must continue to jia you.

Because of the high amt that my girl is demanding, i asked PD if supplement with fm, is it that she will drink less to be full. Hence, PD make the comment "Breastmilk and formula milk has the same amt of calories".

I have 22 packs of 6oz frozen EBM (Feb 08) packed in Lanshinoh milk bags to exchange with 22 brand new Lanshinoh milk bags.

If need more, i have March 08 ones as well, but would like to clear my Feb 08 ones first.

Pick up point is at TMC, and please bring your own storage to transport the frozen EBM.

Sigh... feeling blue today. My mum who is helping me with confinement is leaving tomorrow.... Not sure if can cope by myself but on the other hand, cannot ask her to continue because my MIL live with us, so not enough space.

mummies who had help during confinement period, how do you adjust in the beginning straight after confinement? My hubby will probably be away in this period, so worried that i cannot take the stress and give in to fm.

ABC,
I had just transferred $10.50 to your account. Transaction reference is 1636568396. Pls post to my mailing addy soon. Thanks. =)

Is manual pump better than electric pump? Some of my frens told me tht they use manual pump can pump out more milk. currently, i'm using amenda dual pump but supply seems to drop.. I'm thinking of trying the manual pump. Hv tried to latch my gal but i guess she drink not enough so suckle for 10 mins then start to fuss... Any advice?

my mil help me with confinement.. But i take care of bb most of the time.. Mainly due to i tbf him.. She only bath shawn in the mornin.. I guess when i go back to work.. My mil will b the one go blue ba.. Haha.. Duno she can handle ma.. Hehe

<font color="0000ff">First Mini Gathering after Confinement

Date: 31 march ( mon )
Time: 1pm
Venue: United square
Activity: Lunch and chit chatting

Note: Cancel if raining.

Interested:
1. abcdisney n Andrae (both dates ok)
2. babe_dude n bb
3. Yutong n bb n CL ( Mon is better for me )
4. Adeline Loo n Chelsea n Tommy (TBC)
5. DEFgal (TBC)
6. Liyun n bb n granny

Liyun
granny is ur mom or ah ma? :p

First Mini Gathering after Confinement

Date: 31 march ( mon )
Time: 1pm
Venue: United square
Activity: Lunch and chit chatting

Note: Cancel if raining.

Interested:
1. abcdisney n Andrae (both dates ok)
2. babe_dude n bb
3. Yutong n bb n CL ( Mon is better for me )
4. Adeline Loo n Chelsea n Tommy (TBC)
5. DEFgal (TBC)
6. Liyun n bb n granny
7. AdelineS (TBC - dunno can escape from granny hse or not as still under confinement)

abc

i wan to order 2 by normal postage, thks
Desitin Creamy at $9.50
1 Pet
2 Pet
3 FL - COD
4 FL - COD
10 dor
11 Bubble
12 Bubble
13 mtanlove
14 mtanlove

Can i trf to u on mon cos my hse nearby doesnt have posb/dbs atm.

Jing Wen,
Yes, my 2 elder kids drinks very little when they are young. #3 also.. they are all one-sided drinker ie nurse on only one breast for 5 - 10 mins only.

Yes, I total breastfeed all 3 of them.

When I had #2, I tandem pump because my supply was abundant and I need to release my engorgement. As I'm now a sahm, I try not to express so much. Currently only expressing twice daily. Once in the morning when I wake up and once at night before I sleep.

Your baby is just 5 days old. There's a leaflet the parentcraft nurse gave me, if I rem correctly, there should be a total of 4 - 5 wet diapers. You may want to call up the hosp you deliver to double confirm on this.

Melissa,
I suspect my bb is bm jaundice, just like my #2 (was told to alternate FM too but I didn't). Her liver test came back ok, so I'm not so concern. If she's just bm jaundice, I don't bother, just that it'll take a longer time for her jaundice level to go down if I insist on total breastfeeding.

Adeline,
When are you going back to work? There's no need to start bottle feed now, will cause nipple confusion. If you can't nurse for whatever reason (eg needs to be away from bb or wants bb to drink water), try spoon feeding instead.

Pet,
Mine still can't clear my breast... she's always sleep on the breast! But luckily my breast is getting used to it leow so I don't feel too engorge in the day, can d\still endure till at night then I pump.

Fei,
Thanks for sharing the info. My bb puts on almost 1 kg within a month! Thanks to breastfeeding =)

You should be hands-on with your bb 1 week before your mother leaves, else you'll feel very lost and do not know what to do. Is there a way to extend her stay with you?

Reena
in june. I feed her drink water using milk bottle. Only fed her EBM twice cause i was doing massage.. cannot bf.. so ask maid feed her ebm..
Spoon feeding too taxing liao wor.. i tried spoon feeding but baby keep getting choke.. =/

Hi Reena,

How often do u breastfeed yr baby? My boy is currently 10 days old. I breastfeed him every 2 hrs in the day time and night time every 3 hrs. I also tried to wake him up if he's still asleep. Not sure if I'm doing it correctly. Can u pls kindly advice? Thanks!

I think PND is caused by not being able to bath and wash hair? Lol. I am so pek chek and sweaty and smelly. Last date to wash hair is 19 Mar. Then everyday like in sauna. Cannot blow aircon somemore. Even since I came home, I haven gotten 24hrs of aircon! Last 2 days buay tahan then blow fan directly for 2 hrs each time. Argghh!

Aiyoh. Still must "tong" until 10 Apr... Feel like killing myself le! Feel like gng back in time to disseminate the idiot who pass this stupid thingy down.

I really can kowtow to those mummies who can tahan! I am gng crazy le.

:p Need to vent my frustrations. :p

For mums who tbf
1. how often u latch yr bb?
2. how old yr bb now?
3. How long does bb latch?

I am in the midst of delaying his feed. ANy suggestion?

HE is currently 5 weeks plus going 6 weeks. He is drinking day time, 1.5h to 2h and night time, 1 to 1.5h. I am thinking of dragging the feed time to 3h. When he is feeding, he drink only 5-15min. Thus drink very often.

Now what i am doing is... i drag till 2.5h to 3h. When he cry, i let ask Anyway i will be very hard-hearted n let him cry till time's up then feed him. nw he is feeding on 2 breast. per breast is like 10-15 min (enuff?) or shld i jus conc on one breast? Last night is the first night he manage to sleep and wake up only 3 h for feed. The last feed is 11pm. after which he wake up only at 3am then 6am for feed. This is the first night i manage to hv peaceful n long hr slp!

Any comments? Shld i "forced" him into this routine or jus nature takes it course and continue to let him take little snacks and hv his feed every 1.5h kind?

<font color="0000ff">Hi ladies.... updates....=))

I went into c-sec spinal on 26th Mar wed...just got home this afternoon with my bb... =)) gynae advise me to go for c-sec when i went to checkup on 24th Mon.. cervix was v.tight n bb weight aldy 3.4kg... even if inducealso hard to push out as my cervix is tight... so opt for c-sec to be operated on 26th wed 8am... =))

bb Eleanor was born on 26th Wed 9.01am
bb weight: 3.61
bb height: 50cm
bb head cir: 35cm

need help here, my bb has heat rashes on his face and neck. wat cream can i apply? thanks

Kell,
i break the confinement rule of no bathing and washing hair. so hot and sweating from all the hot food.. how can don't bath..and i hate the sticky feeling.. how i wish my confinemnet will zoom pass faster.. so tat i can step out of my hse soon.

redtea/kell: i confinement only 1wk? then i bathe alternate days 4 e 2nd wk. then now i bathe everyday. slp aircon everyday also.

no confinement food since last wk. only food cooked in ginger. i dun eat e ginger. drink red dates water &amp; milo &amp; mamil.

<font color="0000ff">i found my stuff... blur rite.... haha now happy...

btw if i'm still in United Square will meet u all.... coz i will be there at 10am to see my Girl's PD.... but it is at 10am... so don know whether can stay so long anot... plus i might need to go to ica to do the birth certificate any1 had any idea whether can I still go back to TMC to do my girl birth cert? anyway i'm still waiting for her teochew name from my elder.... haiz</font>

Sob... My mum let me bath every 2-3 days w herbd water. And she dun let me wash hair. :p Damn itchy and now my whole body got red dots. Mum helping me to cook confinement food.

Redtea: My bb also have rashes. Face got white dots, think from milk, and red dots, think cos I touched her. Disgusting right...

Pet: Wah, I craving for for aircon!!! Very cham. See the aircon on top of my head but CANNOT on. faintz.

poor kell,
if my mom do confinement or me, think i will be in ur same state too.. cos my mom oso very strict one.. don't anyhow let me bath.. lucky i got a understanding DH.. let me bath.

Petrina,
u good hor. still can on aircon.

Rashes

If milk drips from the baby's mouth during feeding and wets his shirt, you should change the shirt otherwise there will be rashes. Also use a large piece of warm damp cotton wool to wipe the area where the milk stained his chest/ mouth/ neck.

If the baby is too hot and perspires, he will also get rashes. I normally use a large piece of warm damp cotton wool to wipe down his neck (esp the folds around his neck) in the afternoons and then apply powder.

You can also try letting the baby sleep on his side so that his back won't be too hot.

<font color="aa00aa">hey mummies,

selling away unopen new GNC fenugreek pills for $20, expiry date 08/11. anyone keen sms or call me direct @ 91466419. thanks.</font>

hey confinement mummies...

u can wash hair!! but must use rice wine rub on ur scalp before blowdry!! n must faster blow dry dry k... rice wine those for cooking!!