(2008/03) March 2008

RE: Ginger
i asked my gynae about this before. He say in moderation is ok but dont be like those everyday eat 1kg of ginger and there is no prove that jaundice is caused by ginger. I ate alot ginger and i bf my girl during confinement. She is ok and no jaundice.

RE: EOC
i drink EOC i think more then 10 bottles already.. sometimes 2 days once or 1 week once. but i haven weigh my baby.

RE: Durian
i ate alot during 1st preggy but not 2nd preggy and my girl is of acceptable weight. i believe it's their own absorption rate but not the food intake. Some ppl they didnt eat much but baby also big.

RE: Coconut juice
start taking only after 8 mths and not too frequent cause it's still cooling. Maybe 2 to 3 weeks once. It can help cleanse ur body after u deliver (this is what my aunty and mil told me)

I still drink herbal soup once every 2 weeks. My aunty boil for me.

adeline
ginger:
1kg... hehe v funny. how to eat so much. thanks for the info

coconut juice:
i have been told to drink coconut juice as well. what type of coconut juice?? fresh coconuts? u buy from where?

mummyboy, see a doc? does it happen frequency? if no pain, and just spinning - may be vertigo (infection of the ear) - it's not headache.

morning...

melody..u better bedrest for 1- 2 weeks..for my 1st pregnancy,i also had early contractions...gynae give me ventolin and steriod jabs to mature bb lungs..

mummyboy, i got giddy spell last mth. But on my last gynae visit my blood pressure still went up. Now ok liao. Maybe you overexerted yourself?

U monitor until tml. If still persists, see your gynae.

My MIL says to take red dates drink for nourishment. My mum says take ginseng water (slice ginseng in hot water) to see if giddy goes away.

RE: coconut juice
i think those who are in their 32wks and above can start taking alrdy. prolly once or twice a week? i think it helps to cleanse the baby and also that cleaner babies at birth? haha.

RE: jaundice
what do they do to babies if they have jaundice? sun the baby ?

my gynae advises not to take ginseng. he says everything also can eat in moderation but strongly discourage of ginseng. mayb take the red dates drink would be better? some more sweet too. hehe

crystal
there is a very good article in this mth mother and baby magazine on jaundice. Mabe i can scan and share with mummies here. It jus say drink more water.. and sun it but nt direct dun of cos..

Oh ya ladies.
I have a recipe for drinking water during confinement. I shall post it up one of these days.. That is suppose to help u expel dirty blood out from your body.

Something gross. That time I had huge and i mean REALLY HUGE blood clot coming out during my confinement. I tot that is worm!!! i got a scare, dont dare move and shouted. -_-
My aunty say after delivering, that clot is the most impt thing and must make sure that clot come out cause it's the most dirty thing inside your body.
Think this is something to take note of? Noone warn me of that and i got pretty freak out after seeing the huge clot.

Oh and another thing. If baby have jaundice, my aunt say can feed red dates water 1 or 2 teaspoon. My daughter drank that when she is still in hospital. They say can reduce jaundice or prevent. i not sure also.. but i just follow what she say..

abc
for sunning i think must put those cotton wool on their eyes right? i strip kimberly and sun her then i cover her eyes for 15 mins.

abc
i always buy the monthly issue of mother and baby and motherhood. this month mother and baby also has feature breastfeeding special. haha but i have not read yet.

crystal
no need la. jus put a towel will do.

Btw i think for good articles can we post in the blog so tat it can stay achived? Sometimes forum too fast until we tend to lost the thread...

crystal
i put her on baby cot and push her to the window where sun not too glaring. if not then carry her and stand at the window lor.

just curious: do u gals use the concierge provided by CGW or purchase direct to merchat web and sent to the add provide by CGW? >> cos i bought something in Dec and wonder how long will it take....i rem i used their concierge and is very fast...

sunning
not advisable to sun the baby - cos sun has all the UV + IR - but to remove jaundice just nid light of a certain wavelength.

http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/pregnancy_newborn/common/jaundice.html
If high levels of jaundice do not clear up, phototherapy - treatment with a special light that helps rid the body of the bilirubin by altering it or making it easier for your baby's liver to get rid of it - may be prescribed.

abc, look forward to your scan on jaundice.

btw, still nid to feed baby some water if fully BF? hahaha.. i find my question v funny, think of it, cos i'm constantly thirsty.

abc thanks ok.. if everything oso need to sterlise for bb, i'm thinking that shouldn't bb's drinking water oso nid to be sterlised.

sheryl
Pd will recommend you not to feed with water cause nb will tend to drink 1 half hr to 2 hrs. So they will have sufficient intake of water even if TBF. But i still feed lah! hehehe.. i follow those old wives tale. Aunty tell me if dun feed later they dun like to drink water :p
My col also feed her baby with water.
For sunning, only use morning sun. cause not that glaring. I dun sun directly..
Hey actually u know those orange lamps? It works too leh. My FIL's friend is a doctor. WE ask him before. cause that time at night we always on orange lamp.. so we chk with him if orange lamp can reduce jaundice or not. He say can.

Ohh. Better stop taking ginseng. I think got "cooling" ginseng and "heaty" ginseng. So many things to note...

Btw, some of you were saying put impt/useful info in which blog? Can I access? Thanks.

i was oso told by dr nt to take ginseng, and dang gui for now during pregnancy.. dunno abt confinement.

adeline, if dun feed water, they might not like water in future hor.

more feeds more urine = more diapers needed! OH NO!

sheryl
ya thats why my aunty say must feed water. Just let them have a few sips also ok. hahaha..
I still take dang gui leh. My aunty boil the soup. She put herbs ... but she very experience lah.. so i leave it to her.. ginseng i think she also got put.

Sheryl,

you were there at SCGS?! I should have asked around n try to meet each other up there hor. So that we can chit chat chit chat hor.

venus
mom essential or little ddreamers

Ginseng
I think there r many kinds. I am taking ginseng.. need to consult those ppl which one gd for preg...

<font color="0000ff">this thread is moving so fast...

Hi Venus,
i think u ask something abt the pic i post rite.... haha yup the drawing is by my artist... Gerald.... he will be going to 3 when i due....</font>

YT.. hahaha.. nvm, i kinda saw u, coz as usual i also notice slim mummy!!! LingYee was there too.. i sat with her and hb throughout the talk..

Although session one was boring.. i find that gynae very patient hor.. very good gynae leh, dunno who has him as OB- Dr Beh from TMC!! Unlike mine.. :-(

Ai yoh..u cannot recognize me coz i FATTER Lah... haizz.. dun wanna talk abt it.. i better make sure i am the one losing most weight next time!! hahahaha...

i heard that it's good to attend the prenatal classes but since now at the 30th weeks i dont think its necessary rite? Haiz... Wanted so much to attend so that by then when give birth can know how to breathe etc etc. So how's the class that day?

will upload updated version of wt every sat...
any more wanna join list? babedude? faith?

Dry shampoo
i gonna DIY... Recipe as follows: Makes 12 portion
Cornmeal - 3 Tbsp, stone grounded
Dried Thyme - 1/2 Tbsp, ground
Dried Rosemary - 1 Tbsp, ground
Dried Basil - 1/2 Tbsp, ground
Dried Sage - 1 Tbsp, ground

Mix ingredients in a clean, dry bowl.
Store in a dry airtight container n store in a dark cool place away frm dampness.

Application -
Scoop abt 1/2 Tbsp onto palm n massage evenly onto scalp. Leave on for five minutes before brushing it out. Use once or twice a wk to remove excess oil n odor.

abc
aiyo! ur turn.. yday i sneeze until chest pain. Today when sneeze still pain. but my appetite is still huge leh. yday dinner eat 2 slice bread and chicken cutlet rice. Before that still had 2 piece of raisin biscuit >.<..
And flu will feel very very tired hor! i sleep at 9pm yday and wake up 7am today.

AdelineL
the drinking water part think old people believe. haha.. so i just follow. think depends on the kids one lor.

Aly! How did u do it?! Your weight gain wasnt that much but really... your baby is bigger than mine. Oh no.... me... the weight all goes to me liao! SIAO LIAO!

abc,
oh no you oso kanna flu ah? my flu finally recovering b'cos i just coughed out more phlegm yesterday. but throat still itchy though no more phlegm. hope my appetite can come back.

pinniet,
don't be panic about weight. not all goes to you and the baby, don't forget the placenta, the waterbag and the extra volume of blood.. plus how about those huge melons of yours stocking up milk huh?

babedude,
c'mon lah be more sporty. post your weight gain and baby's weight leh. we're all big pregnant ladies here mah. we cry together we laugh together.

sheryl,
i admire your view on epidural leh heheh. i think its' most important to follow your heart and not follow others b'cos you're the only one who knows your own limit. there's so many pple in the world who follow others blindly leh. i find it disappointing.

babedude
omg!! hahahaha post height!! i dun mind also lah! hahahaha... dun put weight gain lah! just put baby weight can liao.. so we know ur baby at what weight gain how much.

nowadays after a meal, i feel so stuffed and cannot move :p but that also doesn't stop my appetitie hehehe

adeline
i read somewhere that bb drinking water can fill them up and not take so much milk but i'm sure drink a little water is no big deal....if bb shows signs of not so interested in milk, then reduce or cut out water lor

my mum also has tons and tons of advice that she dispenses to me daily about how to raise my kid :p....sometimes contradict what the books (or even doctors) say....so v. fan to listen day in and day out but what to do??

AdelineL
Same.. i dont know what is hungry. i just keep eating. Although i feel very very bloated and dun feel like walking.
for drinking water i dun let her drink huge amt.. just sip by sip.. hehe..
My mom and aunty also always nag at me and hb at the way we teach her.. but my aunty always get scolding from cousin from doting kimberly too much and spoiling her hahaa.. i always listen to the right ones.. and incorrect parts i filter :p

<font color="0000ff">Hi Venus,
yup big already..... but sometime still like to act as bb.... now is a very good time to play with him.... but he is very bossy type... everything also must go by his way....

wow... talking about diy shampoo.... anyway i will just get my mother in law to buy those herb for bathing during confinement and bath away together with washing hair.... haha....</font>

Jaundice
There are basically 2 types of jaundice:
1. Physiologic jaundice - bb's liver not fully developed to expel the bilirubin from the blood.
2. Mother/bb bloodtyple incompatability

If the bb is breastmilk jaundice, it will take a while for the jaundice to go away, some may even last for 2 -3 months. During this period, there is no need to stop breastfeeding. Instead, you should nurse more, so that your bb is getting enough bm from you. When the bb is getting lesser milk, their bowel movements tend to be more infrequent. In this case, the bilirubin that's in the baby does not get expelled out.

Ginger
My sis had lots of ginger (she's a lover!) during confinement but both her twins have no jaundice. Like one of the mothers here said, as long as you're not eating like 1kg, it's ok.

Durian
I've craving for durians but can't find them anywhere!!! Can someone pls tell me where you bought your durians from?

Coconut Juice
I bought those fresh coconuts from NTUC. Started eating them once I hit week 30. For #1, I ate once a week but with #2, I had it more frequently, max 3 a week. Now, I can't find those coconuts in NTUC, they only have the bigger type whereby I'll need to chop it out with a chopper :-( Still waiting for those with pre-slits.

Water for bb
If you are on total bfg, there is no need to feed bb water. If I remember correctly, the water content in bm is about 70% (or more) so they are already drinking "water". My kids only started drinking plain water when I start them on their solids ie #1 4.5 months #2 7.5 months. They have no problems drinking plain water now.

reena...me too...i saw durian at MIL market..

to9..hubby say will buy for me..just to settle my cravings..not durian season now...

poshies..check w u when gerald starts schooling..did he cry in class?

<font color="0000ff">re water, bb do not need to take a lot of water.... anyway too much water is not too good for newborn or any one..... as Reena had mention, FM is also 1 source of water supply... but if just give a small slip over milk... to avoid milk left over in the mouth is okie....

Hi Venus...
Gerald had start Childcare since sep 07. He stop crying to school after 6 week... then somewhere in late Nov that there is this teacher who take over his class... (i can say my boy hate her), u can go to Jurong West thread.... for reading the whole stories... he start crying ..... it become very bad for him... as he can remember thing for very very long.... he don cry in class... as i had complain and they had change his class teacher who is 1 of the 2 teacher he like... so no problem in class... it is only in the morning when i send him in..... if he see her or other teacher he don like... he will cry.... if it is the 2 teacher he like... he will not cry...</font>