(2008/03) March 2008

abc...i stay in jurong west...where is ur javanese massage?

petrina...when i took pic of my tummy,he also ask daddy to take pic of his tummy..

venus: wah... u make me drool.. dunno my son will be like urs or not. so *gao xiao* de...

abc: hb asked me.. while we were shopping for dryers. whether i wan adult diapers or not. cause i kept complaining tat i can't finish peeing. have to sit at toilet abt 5mins to feel tat bladder is empty.
i go once, then when finish rite, i went out. 5mins ltr bladder feel heavy again. go again. 20mins ltr heavy again, go again.
so i rather sit there n wait till totally empty feeling then i go out. try to force everything out..

so tiring to get off bed n go toilet every few minutes/hrs... very heavy stomach. need to carry** while walking..

crystal

i scared engorgement so i feel liek bringing pump, just headache abt teh sterilising

i very scared of centipide ! oh my

abc: i own 2 pairs of crocs. one is slip ins, one is mary jane type.
the dots at bottom of shoe press liao, after whole day of walking, abit painful. juz tot i let u noe. though comfy initially..
maybe because i too heavy. the balling of my feet hurts very badly. though i put silicone support, also pain.

babypink
but i think i still not bringing pump over. abit mafan esp like what you mentioned, the sterlising part. just get bb to latch on ba.

i just hope that centipede will leave the house itself. haha

thanks abc..

dun drool now..cos kids will gao xiao in 1 way or other...now he is 26mths old ...so expected to be copycat lor

hello...

anyone here care to share in detail what they've bought for their babies so far and how much for the items?

Then at least we can have a rough gauge on whether we have spent adequately or overspent...

hehe going toilet now is like a chore. really till super high tide then i willingly to go. but not good for the bladder lei so hb always nag for holding back urine. haha

venus

hehe, urs is very cute indeed

my 15 months old will point to my tummy and said Didi, esp when hb is touching my tummy.. at 1st we tot she so intelligient...

until when we bathe her, she will point to her own tummy and said Didi

Oh My!

babypink
aiyo tat day at kais house duno who was telling her kais tummy got 3 babies. Up till nw she stil telling me her tummy got 3 babies... OMG *faint*

For me so far I've bought

-Clothings for baby (estimated $100 or so)
-Blanket, pillow, bolster for baby cot (estimated $130)
-Steriliser that comes with some feeding tubberware ($49)
-One box of Avent milk bottles for infant (estimated $15)

Aiyo! I think I only bought all these so far...
What else should I be getting?

For me so far I've bought

-Clothings for baby (estimated $100 or so)
-Blanket, pillow, bolster for baby cot (estimated $130)
-Steriliser that comes with some feeding tubberware ($149)
-One box of Avent milk bottles for infant (estimated $15)

Aiyo! I think I only bought all these so far...
What else should I be getting?

babypink & crystal
Try not to hold back ur pee as it might lead to incontinence. As it is, as preggies we are very prone to incontinence already. The other risk is bladder infection.

haha babypink...dun worry cos my son give me such answers too...i ask him where is didi..he points to my tummy..when in gd mood..else he point to his tummy..

abc..33 mths is big liao..also can gao xiao...

A Sample Hospital Bag Checklist. (Packing Deadline: 28 Feb 2008).

For Delivery:
1. NRIC, Appointment Book, Admission Letter
2. Lip Balm, Lotions and/or Medicated Oil
3. Tissues
4. Hair band, Hair Clip
5. Socks
6. Sweater
7. Sponge
8. 2 Bottles of Chicken Essence
9. Cell phone and Charger
10. Snacks e.g. Crackers
11. Sweets e.g. Vicks
12. Relaxation materials: magazines, music
13. Eyeglasses
14. Watch with a second hand to time contractions
15. Camera
16. Small Change for vending machines
17. Daddy's Change of Clothes and Slippers

For Ward Stay
1 Set of Front Opening Pajamas
2 Sets of Undergarments (Disposable Undies and Nursing Bra)
1 Pack of Sanitary Napkins
1 Pack of Breast pads
Face and Bath Towels
Toiletries (toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, soap, shampoo) (Toiletry bag provided)
1 Pair of Slippers/Sandals
1 Set of Dress (Going Home Clothes)
Any Medications

For Baby
10 Newborn Diapers (Nepia or Petpet or Fitti) (Newborn bag provided)
1 Pack Wet Tissues (Newborn bag provided)
1 Receiving Blanket
2 Pairs of Mittens and Booties
1 Set of Going Home Clothes with Hat
1 Baby Vest or Cardigan
Infant/Baby car seat

For me, I read that KKH provides a toiletries bag for mums and a newborn pack for babies.

What to bring to the hospital

When to pack -- You should start packing at about the 35th week of your gestation just in case your baby decides to come to the world earlier. Full term is 40 weeks.

For Mom

2-3 pairs of warm socks (to wear in the delivery room)
1 extra pack of pads (most hospital provide only one pack and will charge you if you get more. It is not necessary to get maternity pads; just get pads used for heavy flow. If you want to get maternity pads, buy them from the Hospital pharmacy, Cold storage or the bigger NUTC FairPrice outlets might have them but quite hard to find. The Hospital Pharmacy is your best place to look for these items.
Disposable underwear. (4-5 sets)
Discman with your favorite CD (of course music that will help you relax)
One presentable robe (For you to look presentable to your visitors or when checking on your baby in the nursery)
Massage oil (recommended in most childbirth classes)
Two sets of nightgown (one that opens in the front if you are planning on breastfeeding and preferable thick enough because you are not likely to be wearing bras. Have seen some nice ones at Robinsons (Karmy brand) and Metro. If you don’t mind spending, more, Victoria’s Secret has nice nightwear too)
One set of clothing for happy trip home (clothing with plenty of room will be the most comfortable, breastfeeding dresses will be good for moms who have gone through natural or caesarian birth)
Cosmetics
Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
No Deodorant. Preferably not, as you will musk your natural scent from your baby. Studies have shown that traces of deodorants can be found in the breast tissues.
Slippers
Handphone and charger
Breastfeeding pillow to assist you during breastfeeding, but I find it rather unnecessary as newborn are pretty light.
Breast pump to help stimulate milk production ASAP as babies tend to be sleepy during the first few days after birth.
Inflatable ring or Boppy pillow to ease episiotomy wound.
Nursing pillow to make positioning of babies easier especially if you have a c-section.

For Dad

Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Books or CD's to help Mom relax.
Camera and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore)
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your baby’s name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.Visit the ICA's website for more information on how to register your baby.
Admission form (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation as you might deliver anytime).
In the meantime, think of a good name.

For Baby

Newborn clothing (1 set for going home as hospitals will provide clothing only during the stay, see shopping list for baby)
One Receiving blanket (for going home. Metro Orchard have a good selection of affordable and nice receiving blankets)
Extra diapers (hospitals will provide one pack of diaper, so you can bring yours if you want)
One set of anti scratch mittens (for going home as they will be tightly swaddled during the hospital)
Cans or bottles of infant formula if you intend to bottle-feed so your baby can start with the brand you prefer as soon as possible.

For Siblings
If siblings are going to be present before or after the baby’s arrives, here are some helpful things to have available for them:

Favorite books and toys
Drawing paper and crayons or markers
Snacks
A gift from Mom and Baby (to help ease jealousies after Baby arrives)
A camera just for big brother or sister to take pictures of what the stock has just brought – that tiny bundle of joy.

abc: ya. prima quite painful. i feel... MJs, comfy. but the front strap due to our piggy feet, becomes tight. need to keep stretching it. then when i remove the shoe, i cannot juz pull my feet out. i need to flip down the back strap. which i find is troublesome.

i told hb, i can't wait to c my son... but on the other hand, i wan him to stay in the uterus hotel as long as possible to finish developing all necessary organs..

incontinence
i cannot care less liao. so mafun to go toilet n pee... cannot squat... outside go shopping i dare not drink much liquids. i rather carry my stomach n hope i can make it to the next avail clean toilet in time when my bladder burst...

Extracted from Mount Alvernia Hospital Website for those staying in Mt Alvernia:

What To Bring - Original Documents • Identity Card or Birth Certificate (if under 15 years old) or Passport (for foreigners), Spouse's / Parent Identity Card
• Doctor's Admission Letter
• Previous medical health report eg. X-Ray, Laboratory Reports, Blood Results Form etc
• Letter of guarantee from your employer / insurance company if part or all of your medical expenses are to be borne by your company / insurance company.
• A listing of medication, which you are presently taking, and the dosage.

Personal Items • Pyjamas or night dress
• Non-slip slippers
• Toiletries

For the Mother-To-Be: (It is advisable to pack what you need 1 month before your expected delivery)
• Night dress with front opening for breastfeeding
• Bras (Larger than normal size)
• Socks (to be used in delivery suite)

For New Born
• 2 pairs of mittens
• A set of baby's clothing to be used during discharge

For Father-To-Be
Bring along a sweater, as the Delivery Suite may be too cold for some

Diapers are provided for so dun nd to bring..

Hehe... Maybe some items are not so essential.
I also looked through some websites on what to buy for baby... But find that some items not a must and some will not be that necessary...

Erm, seems like all the daddies are quite anticipated about the arrival of their babies! hehe...

faith
yeah, my hb like so excited lor. especially in the participation in the delivery room. that day i watched the video on natural delivery, and it turns me off quite alot. then i told him, can i go for c-section under GA. he says i siao and he says he want participate in the process.

faith
whether or nt the daddy anticipate doesnt matter. So long mummy look forward to it..
Some things nt essential but it is up to individual lor. a lot of these things last time older generation oso dun use mah

i shld have stepped out of the room, not to watch the video. then hb says he is going to bring me to watch a horror movie so i can forget abt the video, replaced by the horror show. ahaha.

crystal: ur hb so onz de... mine say he only wan to c *end product*. not the process of production... haha... typical project manager thinking... i also think ya lah. better c my face then the private part filled wif blood.
otherwise nxt time ML he will keep thinking abt the scene... fear of delivery. then i cham lor..

pet
wahaha. i think men has a high treshold for disgusting things, and i tink when he wants ML with you, he is alrdy very high liao, no time to think of the bloody scene anymore. wahaha

crystal,
i think men are more squeamish leh! only certain guys are brave enough to see the gore going on underneath. even i don't dare to see hehehe. didn't know so much blood is produced. i tot only slime and water and maybe a bit of blood. but better for them to not see if they can't take it. else they will be traumatic to ML with you again. hehe.

crystal: haha... hopefully bah... my hb particularly scared of bloody things. like *SAW I/II/III/IV*, he dare not watch. he say too disgusting.. but he enjoyed the movie *300*. weird... hmm

mel
haha. i will pull my hb back to me during the delivery process then. haha. but he wasnt even abit horrified by the video he watched with me lei.

hey i am clearning space. anyone wan the whole set of Mac hello kitty (2000 series)? All in plastic... willing to give it away.