(2008/03) March 2008

babypink
i've yet to receive your pm leh...could the system be down?? can email me at [email protected] thanks

petrina
emailed ya my hp no. liao

any one interested in baby boy's body suits? new unwashed,bougth from mothercare, i think i have a few similar one so i want to let it go. only 3 pcs at $6 each pcs. if interested i will bring it when gathering.

babypink: kenny's mainly have most meats...

Kell/cheryl: beowulf the creature is scary face... i dun wan bb c... so i try to look away frm screen whenever closeup to creature... bloody too. i saw IV online also. watched 10mins, off liao... way too disgusting...

Allowances
I dun have any allowances. When i request, hb will give some.. ranging $20-$50 *pocket $$*
He pays for all stuffs... so i dun need allowances...
If i buy stuff 4 bb, he'll reimburse me in another form, treat dinner, buy titbits 4 me, buy clothes 4 me...
He dun like the idea of splitting costs... So whoever pay also nvm.

Tony Romas nv do reservations. Tats y they always have queue.

Liyun: i do have joint a/c wif hb... but i seldom contribute... so hb contribute double of wat i put in. so we no fixed amt every mth de...
I intend to BF 4 a yr, then EBM for bb's next 2yrs... I strongly resist against buying FM cause of my financial woes...
I intend to go the Loreal Sale as i purely Loreal supporter. My face cannot handle other brands... haha.

Ok, gg home now. Will be on tmr morn...

Belle: My stylist is home stylist... Located at her home @ kallang mrt... Cheap n good. I usually do treatment at her plc every mth if i have e time... After preggy seldom go liao though...

twinkle: i'll check n sms u tonite...

<font color="aa00aa">clover,
i hvnt call up yet. coz my hubby not keen joining leh....

kais,
kkh is the cheapest....u can call n book for jan one lah....or else all taken up.

2nd Gathering for March 2008 Mummies
Proposed November Gathering

date : Friday, 23 November 2007
time : 6pm-630pm or 630pm - 7pm ?
venue: Suntec City

1) babypink (kenny rogers - sudden craving for cheesy macroroni :p)
2) kais & hubby (kenny rogers)
3) Kate (tony roma's)
4) Jeangal (any)
5) twinklestars (any)
6) Adeline (any)
7) Petrina (any)
8) babyde (tony roma coz i like their ribs....yummy...keke...)

btw i can meet at 630pm.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hey MTBs,

i going for my detail scan tomolo...anyone keen to make a guess im hving boy or gal babe? base on my tummy posted earlier...hehehe...
(Posted on Tuesday, November 20, 2007 - 8:49 pm)
feel so excited
can know my babe gender liao. then i can start thinking of names...</font>

time : 6pm-630pm or 630pm - 7pm ?

1) babypink (kenny rogers - sudden craving for cheesy macroroni :p)
3) Kate (tony roma's)
4) Jeangal (any)
5) twinklestars (any)
6) Adeline (any)
7) Petrina (any)
8) babyde (tony roma coz i like their ribs....yummy...keke...)
9) Liyun (Tony Roma's, I also like the ribs BUT I will sms Petrina if I cant make it due to my office timing & location, gotta see if I can sneak off earlier)

Liyun,

we will wait for u, no need to rush. me and hubby love their ribs too...normally we order one big set to share...vr big plate

abt the blog i got nothing to say.. similiar situation except mine got no third party (though used to hv), n i hv 2 kids now... so zip my mouth!

Outing
Cannot join. Going bintan for holiday and yes not with hb... with my frens and their kids....

Anyone opt for cordblood banking? My frd told me that cordblood is gd cos it saves the baby 100%. I was nt very convinced by her. Any advice from anyone?

Update on gathering

time : 6pm - 7pm (Incl Queue Time)

1) babypink (kenny rogers )
3) Kate (tony roma's)
4) Jeangal (any)
5) twinklestars (any)
6) Adeline (any)
7) Petrina (any)
8) babyde (tony roma)
9) Liyun (Tony Roma's)

Majority gg for Tony's? Those who can arrive early, pls queue first... thks... I suspect queue will take approx 1hr. Based on past experience...

Babyde: baby gender - u love sweet stuff or sour stuff? If u ask me guess, sweet is boy, sour is gal.

jerejoy: hb n i discuss liao. if cordlife got promo, we may bank it. otherwise cannot afford, we wun. All depends.. Needs based wise, if i can afford, i'll definately bank it due to it's usefulness. 1 cordblood can save 1 family member's life... Not necessary bb's. If bb already kenna frm birth, cordblood will be tainted liao. Only pure CB is useful.
CB is kept so tat in case any family member requires a organ transplant, the CB can be mutated to fit tat missing organ. Other than tat, no other uses le. CB is only sufficient to save 1 person's life. Not expandable...

Hi Kais

Thanks for asking

cya ladies then..

if my hp dies on me, i see u gals there directly

Hi Twinklestar

i got ur sms yday , replied liao

Hi Jerejoy

i think got controversy view, i have not done my reserach yet though ...

#1's cord i donate to Public Cord Bank

Hi BabyDe

hehe, i was looking thru archives..and ur tummy is a nice size..

i can't guess leh..cos i realise the shape does not define the gender

all the best for ur preferred gender

i not joining for the gathering...going for mickey mouse show...

melissa
i meant life burden..not kids...as in frustration at work...earning nt enuff to see them thru ....such will make us easily furstrated and this give the unfaithful daddy a chance....makes the kids love him more...while we suffered...even more....with kids not liking us...n like that unfaithful man....my tots....but woman who took custody are really admirable n brave....but i seen a number the kids take to the parent who is not custody better....sad...

bbpink
1 k alot?....mil says 1 k not enuff for buying the market stuffs for our 5 days dinner a mth....and so dunno how much more to give....i wonder should i give 500/kid caretaking * number of kids plus 1000 marketing.....that adds up to 2000 abt 2k every mth for two kids n marketing...qute a toll on me...but she has voiced out...n i in dillemma....that is almost like putting them in childcare...and yet childcare can deduct fr CDA account....if put in childcare....500 per kid...then only give mil 1000 for marketing....better on finance....but the kids will get sick often....this is what happen when i put my 1st child in childcare...and withdraw after a year....eating medi almost half a mth...sigh....dun give like so not fillial...give then we have no savings....very insecure....

Petrina
i love sweets stuff...carrying gals....

abt the 5 or 7 yr itch...very sad.,...but i guess this is inevitable...is like eating the same food over n over again...n is really very exciting to have something new....hurts but moving on is what most shld do...to treat oneself better...is to move on....my tots....i doubt i will be able to move on if such happen to me....

jerejoy

i signed up with cordlife already, that time they were having a $400 discount promo... me and hubby decided that cordblood banking is like getting medical insurance, when you need it and can use it, it'll be useful..otherwise... guess for us, it's a form of assurance in case of *touchwood* unfortunate circumstances....

adeline
tony romas at basement, you know the escalator opp watson's(also next to fountain money changer) go down, you can see the restaurant liao.....

<font color="0000ff">mummy_norman</font>

initially i tot the 1k is purely for looking after kids

did my research liao after "interviewing" my mum last nite, this is a month's expenses, based on 1 set of old parents, 1 set of young parents, 1 baby and a maid. My sis is overseas so not counted. This is only my mum's household's, not mine

1) Groceries and essentials- $600
2) Marketing - $600
3) Utilites and TC & phone bill - $200

This a based on a very unextravagant spending.
We dine at parents' place almost daily and i bathe there too, if i knock off earlier than hubby

Adds up to $1200

===============

My household
1. Utilites and TC & phone bill - $200
2. Baby's item : $ 200 ( including cereals, milk and diapers)
3. Maid : $500 (not incluidng $ of bringing her out)
3. Groceries & essentials : i din monitor, cos i use credit cards at shop and save

So, If we were to stay tog, it will cost more than 2 k liao on these alone, Excluding other things like car , insurances and childcare for #1 etc etc

Petrina,

I like sweet stuffs during pregnancy (didn't really enjoy chocolates and icecream before) and I am expecting a baby gal.

bbpink
mil stay with us...
all expense bear by us....except marketing....n she is keeping rental fr her hse..

so did ur mum says hw much to give a mth for 3 kids and marketing plus allowance?...

aly
simlar to u...

Hi mummy_norman

my mum is never the kind to make these monetary demands, even if she din get a single cent, she wun complain..

but of cos i must be reasonable too

people nice to me , i must be nicer to them

PS: ur mil only 5 days meals a week, my mum is 7 days a week (unless hubby and me gone out) ..somemore due to my working hrs, sometimes she look after my child fr 7am to 10 plus pm! weekends too if i am working

gals
last evening i was sitting in starbucks having coffee....then reading a book..to chill out...is it not very right?...like monopolising the seat?...i was thinking of realxing over a cup of coffee....i tot not wrong...

then a grp of gals came in...look at me...then loudly says....isnt there a library below...i tot is just a comment...then another was trying to cover for her...says....oh a cafe in library ar...then a third gal says....who care lar...why care...wan to say then say lar....i was like shock...is a cafe someplace we drink coffee...read a book...or chit chat...some more the seat i sitting on can only sit a second person..cant accomodate three gals....m i wrong to sit in cafe and read over a nice cup of coffee....just wonder...

Mummy norman
nowadays the teenagers are getting from bad to worse. i hope our kids wont follow suit. Yday in train 2 couples (apparently one couple is les).. She stepped on my leg while i was sitting down and didnt say sorry. Just stare at me and stand there. Then fine.. it's ok! After that in the train, they on their MP3 very loudly and talk loudly. I was sitting next to them and was like.. kaoz.. can u put on headset.
I dun understand what are the youngster thinking about.

I like sour stuff but i xpecting bb girl :p

yeah...i agree...
must reasonable
so if mil says not enuff then i must give more...but how much...i really dun knw....mebe u ask ur mom...what is reasonable for 3 kids, hsehold marketing....no utilities etc....cos all paid for..

Sooo sad.. cannot meet up with the yummy mummies!! Bet u will miss my nonsense!! hahahaha :p coz i got an event to attend loh.. ahhh MUST DO another one leh.. PLsssss ...

BabyDe: Let me guess Let me guess ... i think is a girl girl .. opps why.. coz from the look of ur tummy.. abit roundish hor.. but hard to say.. co petrina's also round round..and small!! also a boy boy..hahahhaha.. :p

mummynorman: my MIL only ask 4 $500 for her own expenditure... We'll share on marketing supplies as she also eating mah... BB stuffs all hb n I buy ourselves. She is not required to spend a single cent on bb.
Personally, my mom lives on $500-$600 for 7days/wk cooking for 4ppl. I dun think $1k is necessary... If she buy frm wet market, it'll only cost tat much. Unless she is shopping frm upmarket places like cold storage.

Seats...
Dun care abt them... It's not like u monopolise the sofa area... i've seen ppl seating at sofa area wif i stupid half-empty cold cuppa n lappy lor...

Gender...
Paiseh... i predict wrongly liao... All mummies love sweets perhaps... I predicted based on my hb collys' wifeys... All having gal, eat *suan meis* like nobody's biz... So i tot...

Mummy_norman

really depends on u leh and the kind of food she buys

mum buys big chunks of good quality fish for me, hubby and baby and the veg for my kid is organic..for pregnant me also..poulty also the freshest kind (cos i went mkting with her soemtimes ..kampung chicken more ex)

i noe she dun scrimps on food and the oil and seasoning also good quality ones..no canned food too

there is always a good variety of dishes for the week and ample fruits

oh yah, she also spent all her time on my kid and love her whole heartedly, the maid did purely household chores

mum never show me face colour too

wow... happen to have "family meeting" with my younger brothers last night as well regarding how much we could afford for my young mother if she was to quit. "Young" as I still have the youngest brother who is only taking 'N' Levels this year. Thus if my mum decides to take care of my bb as a full-time, I will end up feeding 3 pax (mother, brother & bb). Oh dear... its not just an allowances anymore. *STRESS*

Petrina
she bought fr wet market also...so if she says market already 1k not enuff...then how much more do u think i shld give?...or i should ask her directly?....er...dunno...$$ really very diff topic to talk ...

Liyun
You might be better off putting your child under care of a day-time nanny. You, hb and mom can help out during nights. JMO.

liyun
initially i wanted mom to look after but she still fooling ard and playing alot.. She only 41 yrs.. so refuse to look after for me. but i guess if she really do, i'll be like you lor! Worry $$ $$$$$$$..

Hi, just to share, when I was staying at home with my parents before I got married, 4 adults eating at home (dinner everyday (Mon-Sun), plus lunch for 2 adults everyday), the marketing every month comes up to about $600. This is food & fruits (fish, prawns etc, meat, veggies, fruits). Nowadays, my parents still do the same marketing every month and they give me fruits & meat to take back home whenever I see them on weekends since there is some 'extras'.

My mum would normally cook large pots of stew & curries on weekends so that whoever needs to eat lunch on weekdays would just need to heat up the food.

And my parents also often buy fruits in cases so that it's cheaper. i.e. one case of 24 mangoes for $30, or rice is bought by the sack (25kg). We don't eat much processed food or canned food (all these can add up in costs plus it's less healthy). My mum feels that marketing at Sheng Shiong and the wet market is also generally cheaper.

I know some people do not believe in eating overnight food but we have been doing this for many years already to save time so that we can all eat home food even when everyone's working and comes home late. If the food is not contaminated by saliva, it can be kept in the fridge for at least 3 days without any problems. But the fridge temp must be cold and only certain foods are ok to keep overnight. Not for veggies coz they end up soggy. This way, we cut down costs by not having to eat out so often plus it's also healthier to eat home food rather than outside food.

adeline,
wah 41 is still quite young leh.

how come so many people worry so much about $$$$? i don't make much but i'm not worried leh kekekee. as long as we have enough, i'm happy. i guess my expectation is not that high. b'cos when it comes to family, quantity time is more important that quality time.

bbpink
i just hoped i wun need to give rates like outside...500 per kid on child caring...on top of grocery n plus an allowance....cos she is hubby mother...shld have discount mar...hee...but i knw...when cme to $$, relative will turn face....

the saddest thing is....how much she ask for i never refute...but i can oni give my mum 200....n what can 200 do now....then my mil says....no choice,...cos earn little now mar...next time then give more....here she asking me to give more to her....faint...then her own daughter hsehold incme lesser then mine....give her 500...n she think is a should...so herself as a mother take $$ fr kids is normal...DIL give $$ to own mum is give yi shi yi shi....mil is also a mother mar...

Melissa
I bet my pay is definitely alot alot lower then u! hahaha.. i work to pay for my daughter expenses. Insufficient for myself one. Thats why gotta calculate carefully.

mummy norman

ignore those kids, they're juz plain rude and self-centred....

yah..money issues always very touchy esp when she's ur mil... $2k per mth for your mil seems alot to me juz for taking care of kidz and marketing.. plus you've a maid...

can get your hubby to talk to her abt her expectations? or you and hubby can help her with marketing on sundays and buy whole week supply at one shot (say you xin tong her carry so much heavy things.. :p)

Adeline: What is your msn address ah?

Mummies: It's good that you all can show roughly how much it costs to support a baby. At least I've a rough idea on how much I should set aside for my baby girl in future~

twinklestars
hubby n mil cant talk....will go to war....

mil says the things we buy she cannot stomach too unfresh...same fr the market...she is conservative kind..that y...

the kids really surprise me...mebbe they wan to chase me away....

Melissa : i agree with u, actually i dun worry too much abt $$ aso though i doesnt earn much..cos i will think if bb comes, we just be thrifty a bit....of course must cut dw on my own spending then spend more on my bb...keekeeee...

blueskies: ya. my mom also like u... all fresh foods. Lunch usually is yesterday's dinner... Soup + rice + 1 dish...
All nutritious foods... cost abt same as u..

Mummynorman: perhaps u give her wkly $$? she may not noe how to bargain... Or she may have overspent occasionally... Mthly maybe she cannot handle? By mth end she'll be dried up liao...

I think $1k is super too much... really... not tat i not filial.. But *tiger open big mouth* lah...

Regardless of kids, i think tat u already have maid, how difficult is it to care for 2kids?
$1k - $1.5K is more than enuff...

bbpink
our gen due to late having kids will be like this...to make up...we try to look younger then 41....so must rem to bao yang now....n then u will look like 35 when ur kid is 14...

nt looking after others...

Adeline : i envy u so much cos u are mummmy of second child liao...heheee..though im onli one yr older than u..It has always been my dream to be young mummy...