(2008/03) March 2008

joelle

most of my pals gave the cakes on the day of first month buffet leh including myself

my hubby's cousin din give buffet ,but distribute cakes on the day of 1st month, as in the nearest weekend..

the hubby goes to distribute, while the wife and bb stay at home

jeangal

hehe, easier said than done, unless u r not as greedy as me

i can't imagine losing 18kg (if i dun exceed last round) within a month!

babypink, Im v vain. Nvr eat unnecessary other than 3 meals & teabreak unless Im hungry. Selfish mum hor... Really cannt make it. Btw did u manage to lose the 18kg of gains?

I'll be paying my mum to be my CL. Going to faint when I think of the cost for those 2 months as my due date is just after Chinese New Year.. Ang Bao $ + goodies + CL + birth + 1st Month!!!
kao_dizzy.gif

And I gain another 1kg within 2 weeks... siao liao. now 65.5kg liao.

Re: eating, weight gain and baby size

My girlfriend's baby boy is about 3 months now. She told me she put on 15 kg during the whole pregnancy. Her boy weighed around 2.9kg at birth - not very heavy by average standards. But he is amazingly chubby, from day 1 to now! Thighs like drumstick, really Michellin Man standard chubby. @_@ So I've had to reconsider the "eat more = plump baby" theory LOL. Maybe chubbiness is in the genes, or depends how much of the nutrients goes to you vs baby!

<font color="0000ff">JB TRIP</font>

clover

of cos lah
unless i end up the only one, then i wun go..

if Kate confirm go, maybe i go to bishan and lonbang the car, since my hubby's workplace nearby, can get a lift that day

<font color="0000ff">Jeangal</font>

i vain but still greedy leh

no lah, u not selfish,just not greedy..good to stick to 3 healthy meals, ( again easier said than done for me )

oh, Of Cos i din lose > 18 kg, i have 7 kg left over as on june 2007, and now continue gaining for #2

scarli rite, 7 kg from first child, then dun noe how much for #2 and since i wan #3..can estimate at least a 20 kg gain fr pre-preggie day after i become a mum of 3

poor hubby ;p a totally dif deal when he marries me

and my post massage lady for #1 khatijah was still saying i dun look slim in my pre-preggie times fr my pics

PS: sigh* altought i engage 2 massage ladies (sadiah and khatijah) for 2 weeks , still could not savage the "damage" of greediness

clover

29 nov is thur, u mean 30 nov ?

29 nov i have an event

then, my sis 23rd birthday that day on 30 nov , so cannot make it too

babypink
Haha! The economical method would be to lose it all in one shot after the 3rd child *grin*

Dang now I regret the ah balling dessert I had last night T___T

babypink, frankly from ur preg pics I saw, u really dun look fat but look slim instead.
Or mayb ur hb a v good photographer. Takes at a v good angle to make u look slim. kekeke ;p

Chubby baby

I agree Joelle, i think chubby baby it's depend on the gene and also breast feeding will also lead to healthier and chubby baby. we must eat healthyly not fattyly in order to get a chubby and healty baby. Yest i went to ikea in tampines saw a vr fat lady carry her baby, her baby so small size like premature baby. I have read an article tat most of the oversized or underweight mummies will lead to a premature baby.Correct me if i am wrong

sigh~ my hubby have issue with CL cost is becos his boss has had bad experience with her CL and the CL jus left after a week. so he scared he paid so much and then the cL no good.

Kevjul, urs twin lei.. that why u got to pay much more for ur CL.. think of it.. CL very siong taking care of 2 bbs.. :p

i will try to brainwashed my hubby from today onward.. sigh~ yesterday he hurt his toes and was very gruncy.. hope today his mood is better

hehe, jeangal, cos i delete all the fats one..wahahaha

but his photo skills not bad =p

my maid is picking up on the skills.. ;)

she is learning to be a good photograher cos her employer loves to take pics

baby weight and weight gain
==============================

I seems to gain less this time as compare to my first boy. but too early to tell lar. i gained about 18 kg from my last pregnancy but most of the weight was gained in the last trimester. My boy was born quite big 3.475kg as compared to my size. I am 156cm and before preggy only 40kg. haha was scolded by gynae for eating too much durian in the last trimester.

I managed to loose 16kg within the first 3 months. Not sure if breastfeeding helps but i didnt engage CL and my mum didnt stay overnight to help. It could be the taking care of the baby causes me to loose weight pretty fast. If u gals want to loose weight in economical method, try mine. save money on confinement lady too!

Pet
yea i am better and luckily my daughter is recovering also.. heheee..

shirley
u also eat alot durian one ah? ahhaha.. i gain about 14kg for 1st preggy kekee...

Share this info with all of u here....

Checklist for first-time mums

Checklist of Purchases
Babys Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or White Tree Oil)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodwards Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash babys face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mums drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mums confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pigs trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mums bathing and face cleansing.

When we marry that time got that red bathtub....

I will end up with extra if NUH give. So every hospital gives a different thing I guess~

Oic, i received baby's hamper when i discharged from KKH. U r right! Liyun, diff hospital gives different type of 'pressies'.
So the extra bath tub can bring over to the bb's caregiver place e.g. nanny's place for usage.

Thanks for the consolation.. I hope my baby gal will be a good companion for my 2YO gal next time. I have to accept the fact that I wont be able to raise boys and experience the gender difference.

Hi Faith,
I agree with the other mummies that you're really brave to go through it alone without family support. It's going to be very tough and I hope you can find strength from support groups, be it at this thread or other support lines. Do source for whatever govt financial support schemes available to you. And yes, bonding with your baby is really important. I hope you can find a good job that allows you to be back home in the evening to bond with your baby.

Hello Mummies: I'm here. =)

Trying to create a blog now for myself n baby. hehe.

Cheesycake: Thanks for d advice. Will eat more healthy food.

Jeangal & Cattail: Actually its not a brave act. I'm also scared to be alone throughout d pregnancy and thinking that when labour, no one is going to stand beside me and hold my hand, I sure will be sad as well! Haha...

Erm, how many of you going for C-section and how many natural wor?

raisintan,
Hey i'm going to be a mummy to another girl as well. But I don't feel bad at all. B'cos God knows that I took care of my girl very well and she's very happy to have me, that's why God gave me another girl, for her to enjoy my love as well! Ha! Don't ever put all your hope for another boy. My aunt and uncle did just that and end up they have four children, ALL girls some more! My uncle was very disappointed and ended up neglected his family. We all got very angry with him and boycotted him but the real damage is the family itself, especially my aunt. In no way can she control what happened to her. Baby gender comes from the man himself, not the mother. Anyway this is the result of people who refuse to believe in God's plan. Self-pity and guilt for NOTHING. I don't think they gain anything positive from that at all. That's why I am always prepared for life's unexpected twists and outcome and be more appreciative that I can even have children at all. Try losing your babies a few times before, you'll see life in a completely different perspective. It's easy for us human to forget and astray when we keep looking up on other's advantages. That we forgot to look down and see that others may not be as lucky as we are. How about couples who tried for years with no luck to conceive even one child?

Think about it. It's easy to take life for granted. I'm going to let my baby girl know, how lucky am I to have her and I'm going to pray to God how thankful I am for another girl and that I promise Him that I'll take the best care of her.

oiii Mt A so good ah can get free bath tub? anyone dowan bath tub can donate to me or not, mine is the old big hand-me down leh hehehe. in the end, i bathe my baby standing up in my sink.

shirley,
u and me same height! i only put on 9kg on my pregnancy last year but baby born at 3.2kg.

adeline,
eating a lot of durian can make a big baby? is that true? durian is my favorite fruit leh. but now not in season so still holding my breath!

kais,
so excited for you! 3 princesses! oh my God! you're three time blessed! will you be trying for another one? i'm not saying boy hor! kekekee. girl you're really very lucky. like mummy_norman said, most lucky normal woman will have to try 3 years and give birth 3 times to get 3 kids. you one shot all 3! wow!

Faith,

I want to go natural but also afraid..I very scared of pain so dont know if can tahan... but like wat mummy_norman said ...when the time comes i will know..

U doing blog for u & bb..so sweet..i also want to do but dont know wat to put in..i not very creative person at all...i jealous to see some ppl's blog very nice

bellebeins: Very easy one. Hehe... I going to do one for my girl so dat i can post all her pictures online and give her as a present when she is 18 yrs old! haha...

faith: do update us ur blog for u & ur baby... do u have multiply ac? im going for natural birth~

Melissa: i heard eat more durians will have big baby. i love durians but hubby dont let me eat leh...

Cheesycake: Sure! not a problem... But i think need some time cuz need to like design for her leh... Haha... Now using dreamweaver to create. A little time consuming lor... I dont have multiply wor...

Natural is good hor? haha. I scared also. Like so pain. Some more will cut. Yeeks.

faith

can sense ur positiveness and optimisim fr ur posts , i am sure u can do it

if i am ur child, i will be really happy tat my mum din choose the easy way out

liyun

hehe, she can..next time if she is free on our gatehring, she can help to take group pics for us :p

joelle

hehe, dun dare to wait till my mission is done ..better do something abt it after each birth

jeangal

i was telling my sis wat u commented..she said becos all my excess wt is put on at my hips and no one takes photo fr the back !

faith: i heard natural birth usually recover faster than c sec... coz c sec need to cut 10cm on ur belly, isnt it more painful? i scare also~ my fren told me when u are in labour pain this kind of pain is nothing liao. esp u dont really feel the pain when gynae is stitching and cutting ur v part...

bellebeins: erm its true... but sometimes i think it depend on the skill of ur gynae. my sil manage to deliver her bb (almost 4kg) by natural birth.... i hope to i can go for natural birth also~

cheesycake,
err i beg to differ. not the skills of the gynae, but more like how our body can take it. my aunt gave birth to four children, all four is about 4kg each. all natural and she doesn't even tear! some gynae prefer c-sect b'cos higher doctor fees for them!

but i believe that one shouldn't consider c-sect as an option. do consider natural with epidural if you're scared of pain. doctors warn that elective c-sect do come with side effect and risks. and true, can recover faster. a lot faster. i promise you.

Melissa: oic... my gynae also encourage natural birth... ya loh c sect more ex loh... from starting i nv consider c sect. but saw lots of people going for c sect now.

So happy, jst went for my 19weeks scan, Dr. said she vry sure is a ger ger.
My ger even waived to me when gynae scan, so cute

personal opinion is - opt for natural if can

B'cos healing is slow too (if u wanna go for post-natal massage) and it also delay in supplying the breastmilk as well as the amt too.

cheesycake,
yeah hollywood celebrities going for elective c-sect. can't imagine the healing process. my mom said she hates c-sect. imagine they make u cough and everytime u do, it felt like her stomach is going to burst! so scary! but that was donkey years ago. i'm sure medical technologies has improved but what doesn't change is the fact that our body is self-healing so do consider natural on top of any other invasive options. and like u said, save money too!

qoosan,
congrats on girl! seems like our march mommies producing too many boys liao hahaha.

melissa, i hv a red bath tub (also recv'd during my wedding). if u want, i can let u have it. coz i will be going to mt A, and will recv a green tub anyway.

bbpink, yeah.. paiseh for the wrong date. aiyah, if not we can eat briyani in jb also. walking a lot will make me hungry faster. hehe.