(2008/03) March 2008

Petrina
hahaha.. cause i bought a pair of Dr brown's bottle then nanny keep 1 and i keep 1.. same goes to avent. if u looking after baby urself, u can actually keep them and when the old bottle wear out u can use another bottle. actually not really waste $$ lah! can keep one.

Morning Girls,

Raining day..Felling hungry already..Waiting for my boss to go meeting so that i can go get my breakfast....

Petrina
u not looking after ur baby urself ah? since u not working? i think for milk bottles it's quite important. hafta choose the right brand if not later baby have colic wor.. it'll be harder for u to look after.

Petrina, i think you can still travel. seek for your gynae's advice and get a letter from him. if your gynae says fine, then you can persuade your hubby.
we should travel now, after give birth think we have no time for travelling.... sob sob...

adeline: i noe... tats y i gonna buy my own... avent.. but quietly...
then when mil take the bottles back, if not avent, i'll put 1side... if she ask, i juz say the avent bottles r gifts lor...
I very niao de... my own bb wor... how can anyhow...

I'm going back to work after bb turns 1.

bobian... MIL insist on looking after bb... i cannot let go... i think she dunno how to care for my bb... but i cant tell her tat...
she can't cook... i dunno my confinement how... haiz...

:p babedude... aiyah... i really cannot tahan... i ren n ren le...
nxt wk i gonna take over the cooking... cause i cannot tahan le...

hahahaha... understandable! but maybe u also emotional now lah..hormones mah..

u know.. some pple dun have MIL to help out.. have to leave kids 100% to maids or even nanny.. heard so many horror stories..
No matter how bad ur MIL is, ur child is still her grandchild, so.. she will never harm the baby one .. of coz, old pple have their own theories.. but if they dun make sense. .. we voice out is ok lah..

U mentioned u going back to work after bb turn 1, by then u can perhaps have a maid and ur MIL can still supervise ur bibi! otherwise maid.. not as trustworthy..of coz, i have seen good maids ard lah.. but.. still, u understand right...

babedude: i noe... i wanna go back to work cause i dun wan to stay at home n fight wif my MIL...
so after finish BF, i'll leave bb wif her after teaching her wat to n wat not to feed bb wif...

As my job, i perhaps only work half a day... so i'll be back when my bb wakes up frm his/her afternoon nap... i'll take over frm there...

Petrina,
You going to be a SAHM when baby is born? I envy you leh!!!! Truly envy! Actually if i have a choice, I wish to take care of my baby myself. Now my mom is taking care of her. Which is good lah b'cos she's not working and she prays a lot, so it's a good influence for my daughter. babe_dude is right, no matter what MIL will love her own grandchild. If you scared of colic, u must go for total breastfeeding, like what I did. It's better than the best anti-colic bottles out there and best of all, it's FREE. My girl never have colic all her baby life. Now that she's over 1 year old, I can downgrade her to cheapo milk bottle or better still I'm training her to drink from cup! Please take the advantage to TBF your baby okies?!

Anyway now even the cheapest brand of bottle oso have anti-colic features. Don't forget to burp baby after feed, should have no colic problem.

Petrina:
No worries.... everyone have some tiny problem with MIL... =P and MIL usually wana get their hands on the bb... My own mother is excited as it is her first grandchild too~

Mummy
Are u all mtg for lunch later? i would like to join.

Expressing
Y dun do latching first? Nd to express meh? thot is go back work then express? So fair i use avent manual before. I would say is gd for me as compared to medela single pump i tried is totally useless. I borrow a amenda from a fren which she has gladly lend me.. of cos havent used before la.. haha...

Petrina,

I understand when u say u cant stand your MIL cooking... I think thats why u have no "wei ko" to eat...

When i stayed with my MIL last year.. And becoz she sometimes just want to cut down on cooking, will start using can food as dishes... Even cooking luncheon meat soup! I stayed there for 3 mths.. I already felt sick and taken more mc then usual..Food places a big part in our lifes if we are not used to the food. So when i ask my MIL to do my confinment, i already told her wat i want to eat and given her some receipes..

But if it comes to taking care of the baby..at least u are around for a year... So not so bad rite...

melissa: ya. tats y i not intending to buy the bottles too soon. i gonna racky the brands then put on my confinement wishlist... haha

i gonna BF till i can't... then i'll do EBM whenever i m tired... so hb can take over...

belle: at least u understand how it feels to eat canned foods... yong tau foo foods...
at my mom's place, the most often canned food i eat is the pickled lettuce... *cheaper than AAA brand*
for my porridge... n occasional fried luncheon meat... otherwise all fresh mkt foods...

Ladies, I ask a gf who is breast feeding, she says pumping each time (she's not working) takes her about an hour or more. IF we use manual pump.... err... can we tahan pumping that long or isit the manual pumps are "stronger" than electic ones? I have some fears about going a pump NOW as I have seen at least 2 girlfriends who give up breast feeding within a week of trying (as heard we may need up to a month to get the flow moving). It is like wasting afew hundred dollars buying the pump with the risk of end up not using it.

pinniet, bf is something to persevere coz in the long run it helps bb to build up immunity and also saves money.

i heard electric pump pumps more milk than manual. correct me if i am wrong.

i think it is how u express. My fren can do it within 10 min. I would say dun buy first. Latch on. Wait till u r able to then go buy... if not waste ley

clover
i think it depends. For me tat time my manual work better. My fren pass me the amenda cos she feel her avent manual works better than amenda

hum.... but sales is really temping.... I will still go see the sales how... seems good. I am temp even by the toys!

i agree try latching first, not going to buy any breast pump cause my aunty will hand me down her manual avent breast pump, one of my nipple is inverted tat means i need to use breast pump? maybe i will get one or two bottles to standby incase my tat nipple cannot latch.

Adeline,

must inform me to go seiyu with u....

for me very jialet... my gal is now toilet trainign herself for the night. last night alone i woke up 3-4 times to brign her to toilet... imagine i will hv 2 who wake up thru the night?? hahahaha

I'm back from my Melbourne trip! It was a good break from home and the kids enjoyed themselves very much

Will find some time to read up here, after I'm done with all the unpacking.

Kate
Sure sure!
Ill definitely inform. I so pai she that time didnt manage to go also!

Abc
At what age do they toilet train ah? My mom keep asking me to toilet train my girl but she only 1 year. Lucky now u not working. If not more tired ah..

Reena
Welcome back! Hope that u enjoyed yourself! Heheee..

Petrina
Checkup boy or girl must update hor.. I very kpo leh.. :p

Tomorrow onwards will MIA from forum for 4 days! 1st time bringing my girl out for short trip + I preggy hafta sit so long to genting. Abit worried also .. haha..

Adeline
enjoyed ur trip...
i enjoyed mine early this year...
very relax trip...cos no rush here n there...

my gal started day toilet training at 2...and now at 3 to 4YO, started nite...depends on how ready ur gal is....

Adeline,

It's ok...hehehehe...oh ya, Seiyu got carry dr brown's bottle? if use avent breast pump tat means must pour over to dr brown's bottle rite?

heard my frens tell me before don't buy so many milk bottles at one go first cos sometimes babies have their own preference for diff types of teats... in the end..this particular fren has brands from avent, pigeon before the bb finally settles on nuk.....

My gf pass me teats from NUK cos her baby doesnt like it, and I also bought afew milk bottles from NUK during a sale.... Hope~~~

Melb's weather is still very cold although it's coming Summer... It went as low as 11 degrees in the day. Thank goodness I brought enough warm clothings for the kids. And I'm glad I didn't puke throughout the whole journey! Only puke once on flight back to Sgp yday! Heng ah! Eat and eat.. today went for my FA scan... already put on almost 6kg now and I'm only in week 22! Faint! Must be those burgers and fries!

I was told and also from what I read up that the TOTAL gain is best if between 10-12/13kg... I still have around 4 months to go, BUT already gain 6.2kg just 2 weeks back. **faint**

frm 20th wk onwards, we gain ~1pound == 450g PER WEEK! 20x450g = 9kg more to go from 20th wk!!!

just met up my dad, he hasn't seen me for 1.5 wk - he said i put on a lot of weight liao.. coming from my dad.. :|

btw, i'm taking EPAX fish oil, what's wrong with it? I don't understand the thread about EPAX fish oil leh.

Wa siao liao... I aso gaining too much... But I keep feelg hungry. Cant stop my mouth. mayb we can eat more fruits instead.