(2008/03) March 2008

Kate
epi cost about $650 or so.
i agree with u now epi has alot improvement already. Side effect varies from one another and the person who is injecting for u, the skill must be good lah. It's always good to keep your options open to epi. My gynae always advise me that. He say we shouldnt suffer the pain of delivery and if epi can make one happy why not? hahaa..

Turtle... hurt my hand while sleep yesterday, didnt go office today, stuck at home with surrounding speakers of house renovation (hacking & drilling). Ah yo~~~

Petrina:
I am like you, taste buds like gone dead, hard to find food and I don really puk, just that I will feel horrible after afew bites as well, my hubby also very scare of me when it comes to food these days.

for those 2nd mummies, apart from the hospital fees, what else do we need to take into account?

baby hospital fees? doc fees? what else? around how much??

<font color="0000ff">Wow... talking about experience in hospital...

haha i opt for 4 bedded since mine was planned for c-section... need to save more since i need to stay 3 day there and the operation cost is higher than natural... but luckily i got free upgrade to 2 bedded... so no problem for me....

For those scared of natural delivery,
Don't be scared lah. If you want to use epidural, that's your choice too. Don't fool yourself and don't be pressured by what other people say, even if it's your own family. It's your delivery, your OWN options. Personally I think birth is one of life's greatest phenomenon, so I think it's only natural to go through it naturally. Although I feel like I cheated a bit and used the injection. But I was told that the injection is to make me dilate faster, not really ease the pain. But I'm glad I go through those 8 hours of pain and feel victorious at the end b'cos I did it all by myself. Besides it's only a couple of hours leh. Recovery is super fast after that. I am already able to walk to the toilet myself and poop without feeling giddy and my appetite resumed immediately. I can even walk at my normal speed when I got out (i'm a brisk walker). Relatives were impressed but I think it can be done if you believe in yourselves. I jia you myself lor kekeke. I will opt for natural without epi again. So what, another 8 hours of pain for faster recovery!

KateChow,
I got reminded of Pegsfur (glad u remember her nickname) when i read that article too. Yes miracle can happen. Just be strong and have faith. We also pray for her well-being. Hopefully she's still able to lurk and read our messages. I still think about her now and then.

clover,
Thanks for the feedback on room size! My gynae practices in Mt A too but don't think we're going there b'cos too far. Is TMC bigger than GlenE?

Adeline,
Yeah I think it's the same thing. My gynae also burst my waterbag and then I start having contractions. But before I had my induction, I was already 3cm dilated and 75% effaced. So even if I didn't induce on that day, I figure that labor will be coming around the corner. I have already lost my mucus plug (bloody show). Envy u leh, eat, sit and sleep still can have shorter labor than me! hahaa. But I was told that 2nd child delivery is usually faster. I am already excited and ready to go!

Cheesycake,
Talk about This Fashion, I just got one maternity top from there. Not that I was looking for one. The shop lady actually pick up the top for me in L size and let me considered. It looked really nice. I bought it for $8 bucks and it's worth every penny! I think it looks great on me! Really worth my money hehe. Tot This Fashion only carry petite sizes but if u really look, u can find bigger ones.

bellebeins,
i understand your anxiety as a first time mom. All i can advice if follow your own heart. You can't stop people from talking but you have a choice to follow or not. No harm taking epi but you probably have to tahan the back pain that a lot of people are talking about. However, from my previous Sep mommy group, no one is complaining about Epi, most said it saves their life! Still, I won't even think about using it as long as I can endure the pain. I think my excitement and eagerness to meet my baby overcomes all the pain.

mummyboy,
if i cannot tahan too sleepy, i will go to the toilet and take a super short nap or go down to the shops and buy drink or go to my kakilang and talk cock. or go online and harass any friends who're boh cho kang! LOL.

Petrina,
just to add salt to your wound, your mom is right! hahahaa.

cheryl,
i'm like you eversince i'm preggy, i pass my bags and baby to hubby to carry hehehee. he didn't mind at all. some hubbies really appreciate that you carry their baby after all!

melissa, i think tmc's 2 bedder are slightly bigger than glenE. but i also observed that glenE has older equipments n tmc is understaffed for nursery (tmc has the highest delivery rate for the private hospitals).

hi happyface,

i just signed up the antenatal class this morning....my class will commence in dec...1st session on fri, subsequently, on sat...

melissa
me also still think of pegsfur now and then....no updates from her... i hope she's well..

err... it seems like I am the only one here going to NUH for delivery. Hope that its ok there as it is also my first pregnancy. But I was told I can only choose between 1-bedder & 4-bedder as the 2 bedder is under renovation (even untill March next year? no idea how they come about the renovation date). I might be going for a 1-bedder, hubby seems happy when he heard he get to stay and there's a bed there for him....

Melissa
My contraction started at home. My vagina started aching for 1 week. I didnt even know that I was going to give birth till I visit my gynae and he says that I am dilated for 2cm and luckily for me no pain. He advise me to admit hospital but I refuse. So I made appt with him in the morning 7am. After that I pull my HB to bring me go eat chicken cutlet and cold desert hahhaa.. immediately midnight I had contractions! So he accelerated my labour but before that, I didnt have any show wor.. purely mild contractions and I still hang ard at home for 1 hr.. took my time to bath and blow my hair before heading to hosp. Am also glad that my gynae came down hosp immediately and stayed with me throughout the whole labour.
2nd child I heard a lot easier also. Hopefully!

I was told by the nurse everything is included, meaning for hubby to stay also. The nurse says the meal also special etc... Just hope everything will be fine as there is always last minute stuff coming up and now is still a long way to go~

pinniet, must get a price breakdown from the hospital lah. i must say nuh service not good lah, so dun get pek check. (i m particular abt service)

anyway it's the nearest hospital for u lah.

Girls,

thanks for the encouragement..i will pray hard to be able to endure the pain of labour but wont blame myself too if i going for the epi...sometimes u never know wat's going to happen

pinniet,
hehe some mothers have no appetite after delivery so special meal oso no use lah. maybe can get hubby to eat the meal for u. how did u get to deliver in NUH? i have no idea how pple get to that hospital for delivery.

clover,
think first class restructured hospital should be ok. avoid those subsidised wards, while you're in delivery suddenly u see a pool of medical students witnessing your birth. so malu! restructured hospitals are notorious for these. in KKH, one can opt for private ward and private suite and the price is competitive to the private hospitals.

oh funny thing u mentioned about equipments. my gynae said TMC's equipment is old. so the info that i got contradicts yours. maybe delivery in glenE is more convenient for her that's why she said that. i agree that TMC has performed more deliveries than GlenE that's why i'm still keeping my options open.

Hi Melissa,

I was at first going to a gynae at gleaeagle, then the package was abit expensive to me. So I decided to change and found out that NUH do have their gynae at the Jurong Medical Center once a week (different gynae different day). Which is walking distance from my home, after which detail scan and delivery is at NUH itself. So I choose it, I am a pretty lazy person, so less traffic and nearer distance is what I look for. The package is normal, $500 from 22nd week (exclude GST) with 22nd & 32nd detail scan and a post checkup...

Hi Clover:
ya loh.. I've been to afew hospital due to accidents so hahaha... been to the worst ones before, hopefully a 1-bedder is not that bad. Cos I was worry of noise so wanted a 2-bedder but don have then I have to take 1-bedder, still got time... No idea how is the hospital renovation by Feb...

adeline: i gained 5kg 1st - 2nd mth. lost 3kg at 3rd/4thmth. gained 1kg between 4-5th mth.
total 3kg gain...

debbie/liyun: my fren is a nurse at nuh, she is gonna deliver at glens as she dun wan nuh.

so many delivering at Mt A....yes Mt A most spacious.

i'm gg to opt for single bedder, and have hubby sleep wif me. i think he will be my maid, and nurse for that day.

my fren had contraction at 6pm, tahan until 2345 then her hubby drove her to Mt A, and they wait until 0000 then walked into Mt A - just to save one night's stay... kekeke. .quite funny, but it works.

it's v encouraging to hear so many of u had gone all natural. i'm like why torture myself, i will go in and if i can't 'take it, i will say 1 epidural please (like order a cocktail drink ).. b4 it's too late. i can't imagine hours and hours of pain. :p

bellebin, can u ask ur hubby to try himself to deliver...wah he's nt v sensitive. at least he's realised that. hummp.

clover, thanks for your book, actually, i switched with kate, cos my mum reads chinese, next wk i will switch back.
where did u get ur bb's clothe? ican't find that shop at suntec.

sheryl, yeah i know the book is with kate/mummyboy.
the black tee i got it from flava mama, few shops down from spring maternity.

I went for my detailed scan last week. It's a baby boy. So happy to see him being so active. (",)

Hi babypink,

Can u update my details? Thanks!

clover, thanks, i will chk it out.. so u have been shopping alot of your boy already!

jerejoy, congrats
i'll have my detailed scan next wk. looking forward.

today start work early.. haha.. i hope my bb.
will be used to this.

bedder
back to the topic of how many bedders. don't u think that it's quite disturbing if u r not staying in single bedder? say 2-beddersm the other bed is occupied, then nt only u dun have privacy, u have to listen to the other's relatives and friends, want to sleep also cannot.

i c my fren who stayed in 2-bedders, she wanted to sleep, but the other side was watching tv v loudly. :|

heard from a friend that Mt A having some reno work now. any idea when the reno completed? i hope not so long till next year march coz it might be quite noisy while the reno being carry out.

jerejoy:
congrads... well i alwiz thank god each visit when i noe that this little spirit is growing well and healthy within mi... =)

sheryl:
yah bb will de.. they follow our schedule anyway (without choice) lolx...

lee hong:
mount A having reno too.. woh.. sounds like alot of hospital doing reno ard this period of time yah...

mummyboy: this morn i flared at my hb over my sickening BIL... i had pain in my tummy... considered mild contractions?

Tmr is my detailed scan... last nite i had 3 different scenario dreams on discovery of the gender... i think i really wan a boy, deep down in my heart... though i feel tat gal is cuter...

lee hong

think the reno in mt a will be completed by end nov/ dec period...and it's becoz they're upgrading the rooms... think they're going to have more single bedders if i remember correctly... definitely by march next year the reno work will be completed...

mummyboy
how does having contractions feel like?

petrina:
hmmm.. u must take good care oh.. especially our own emotions.. jus to share with you.. jus a few weeks ago i oso had a very bad session with my hb.. bb was kicking very hard and followed by some very tense hardening sensation in my tummy which is uncomfortable.. guess our little ones jus feel for us too...
its logical that thoughts are jus streaming cos tmr is the scan.. dun be overwhelmed by all these gender thoughts.. utmost important bb develop healthy and strong.. =)

Adeline
ur in law is supportive...so gald for u...mebe mine is third, not so...mil give me a black face like very sian another gal again for her to take care....she not xin ku to go thru preg again n she looks sianer then me 100 times...no choice...cant help it but to take in her black face...sometimes i can see she purposely ignore my 2 gals...like vent unhappiness on them...

i plan to gain little weight this round...but so far i gained 6 kgs...now 53kg...i hoped to be at 55kg at birth...now not poss, i think the least i will be is at 60kg..for the first 2 birth i m at 66kg when i give birth....

mummy
JKT is jakata?...is the program exp?

when i give birth to my second...no more rooms except 1 bedder...and so i stay in a day surgery room...not much noise...is 8 bedders....

this rd i decided to give 1 bedder a try....pamper myself....then hubby can company me...else each time i cant really sleep well in the hospital...no body company...scared...

yesterday i was on leave and bought a pair of shoes at 5 bucks...bugis village there...n comfy....the shoes all quite cheap, trendy n comfy....

bellebeins
u will knw when u wan epidural...when u birth, the moment u knw ur threshold hit...u will knw...

when i have my second...the pain was so trememdous that i knw i cant take it anymore beyond...n i was abt to ask when the bb came out....

sheryl
the way u order ur epidural makes me smile...makes delivery sounds relaxing... ;)

hahahah adeline..u so bad!! :p but i truly understand! wahahhahaa...

aiyoh.. petrina..u like me.. i also wanted a baby boy even more badly than u k! but hor.. dun worry lah.. whatever will be will be.. and see, now i can take it sooo well..surprisingly.. and so excited to see my baby now.. i think, god make use such one lah! dun worry abt it..

JAP VIDEO ON STOPPING BABY CRYING
dear all.. remember watching the video on the jappy use water sipping sound to stop babies' cry?? anyone still have the link??

SWIMMING
Sat swimming... Kate, Babyde?? onzzz???

SHOPPING
Wednesday Afternoon shopping.. any keen takers?? hahahaha..

Morning Girls,

Wat do the contractions feel like?

any of you girls feeling the chest kinda stuffy these days.... have a lot difficulty breathing after meals these days.

Mummy Norman.. be strong k.. i know it is gonna be hard on u, for being pregnant is already very tough and gotta endure all these SHIT from these pple!! ... Hope ur hubby be supportive.

I am not very sure abt the cost of the program.. but according to the lady i talked to..she said not exp! BUT..she is rich mah..so abit diff. Hmm, r u willing to splurge?? i think the program shld be cheaper than IVF.. (i.e 10s K)

<font color="0000ff">poshies</font>

hehe, i met shylyn yesterday
and she was telling me she brot ivec to ur hse..

<font color="0000ff">bellebelle</font>

i din

<font color="0000ff">Epidural</font>

i went natural without epidural
hb keeps nagging and chanting to me to use epidural..like asking me to take drugs like tat

i was very annoyed with him, somemore i had to bear with the pain and I DUN WAN epidural , personal perference

i no strength to talk, just signal to him not to say anymore, but the pissed off look was written all over my face =p and the nurse was suporting him abt the epidural

at that moment i really wish i am the hubby taking video and him teh wife..HMPH

<font color="0000ff">beds</font>

i think 1 bedded is bettter, cos hubby can stay with us leh

i took 1 bed the last round and it really felt like hotel ;p

<font color="0000ff">Kate</font>

i remember pegsfur..sigh* babedude and me were talking abt her the last gathering..i just hope she is on bedrest so not surfing forum

6 month is abt 24 weeks, so chances of survival r there ... heard at least neeed 24 weeks

<font color="0000ff">leave</font>

hehe, i am taking leave tmr , may extend till fri..

<font color="0000ff">Petrina & Liyun</font>

hope the puking stop soon for u ladies

<font color="0000ff">jerejoy</font>

congrats
will update when i am back

<font color="0000ff">niwa</font>

hehe, like the way u describe bb

Petrina
prob u small talk urself..tell urself..this is only ur first child doesnt matter..then u feel better...then if u feel moody n unhappy think of the bb growing in u....

Mummy_Norman08,

Thanks for the infor on when i know if i should use epi or not...

I think i can imagine how u feel when kanna faced like tat from your MIL. But nevertheless at least she is helping to look after the kids..just have to ignore the black face... My SIL also havings girls and all 4 of them are girls. Think she faces quite abit of pressure too..

Pet..i know how to make u feel better..
u come out more often with me..and i will make u laugh till u drop and forgotten abt ur Bluezzz and puke or whatever... hahahahah :p

<font color="0000ff">mummy_norman08</font>

ur MIL very mean leh, r u all staying tog..

sigh* but if she is the only avail caretaker, boh bian

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>

which branch of this fashion did u get that top, sounds interesting

Mummy Norman,
Dun let their remarks affect u. My mum had 4 daughters. When she had me, the last one. My dad didn even go to the hospital to fetch her home. She told me its a v terrible feelg. But she always tells herself so long her bb r healthy she's happy. Now she always tells me she's happy w daughters. We always take turns to go shoppg w her & keep her company.

I was stress when I knew my mil wanted grandson, she's the kind who doesnt hid her feelings. So... I hid my pregnancy from her untill I found out my sil is having a boy.... *destress myself* kekeke, but of cos she's unhappy that we hid the pregnancy from her for so long. (only told her around 4.5 months)

jeangal
ur dad must have made ur mum very sad....i m glad my hubby no unhappy...he say he is genuinely ok with all gals...all are his kids...n in fact he say even not trying again he is fine...

bbpink/bellebeins
boh bian...mebbe my body kills all his male sperms...no good environ...i hoped she will not total ignore my third gal...u knw resentment...ur sil has 4 daughters..i hoped her in laws accepted n no give her unhappy remarks etc...SIL is ur hubby sis?...

mummy
not that i thinking of the program..just knw more in case i feel like having another kid....then i will sure go for it...dun wan to leave it to fate....wan to be in ctrl....dun wan to go thru shit again...actually number of kids are always better to be even....hee...if i still have energy...n $$....4 is better then 3....so that no one is odd one out...is it oni see what diet to eat?...or will have injection kind..i heard msia has liao..no need go jkt...

bellebeins:
yah.. mi too.. have these chesty and unable to breath properly feelings.. guess its pretty normal.. esp recently i get v v uncomfortable after each meal nohx.. but my gynae jus commented.. pls have even smaller and more frequent meals.. making sounds like pretty silly when i asked her.. hahaz..

babypink,
I went to the This Fashion Budget outlet that's why I can get it cheap at $8. It's at Braddel MRT. I think there's a few Budget outlet around singapore.

All-girls family,
I feel very sorry for you girls who has to go through very bad experience with this. I am joining the league as well but thank God my family is the kind who believes that children are blessings and therefore there's no gender preferences. In fact now, girls excel better than boys and are able to take care of us better in future, though I wouldn't bank on it. Right now my 1st girl is learning a lot faster than my 3yr old nephew in terms of milestones at their age. So I don't give a hoot over people who look down on girls, it's like looking down on us! Such double standards!

Mummy Norman,
Yap mum was v sad. She even wana give me away for adoption to test on my dad. She was tellg me if he agrees, she wil divorce w him. Luckily he's nt so bad. The good thg is he has been faithful & pays for all our educatn. Wat can I say? He has done his part as a father.

Thats the reason y I wana a daughter so badly. To sayang her more. I really dislike those traditional thkg. They dun like nvm. I like can liao.