(2008/03) March 2008

Hi Adeline

If I were in your shoes, I would let the children be free thinker till they are independent and able to decide for themselves. It is also more practical this way - while young they are dependent on the caretakers and will sometimes have to follow what the caretaker is doing out of convenience e.g. go to temple, saying grace at family dinner, Christmas celebration, etc. Hopefully the families and caretakers will be flexible and understanding about this and will not take it personally as an offence. Besides, exposing the child to different religions and cultures is beneficial too as he learns and observes more.

thks poshies, got your mail.

melissa/clover,
ya lor so scary, imagine we will experience the same situation in later stage.

Petrina, can post the address of the King factory sale cos tink of getting some .thks

Adeline,

I will not let my children to be free thinker, cause i think from young to let them learn about religion is good for their nature growth. If they grow up they might not want any religion anymore. Every religion will teach us beeing a good nature human. maybe i will just start telling them about the teaching of Budhist using story book or let them watch cartoon, not neccessary must go temple. U might have wrong thinking about Budhism, is not just going temple and pray.

kais: hehs... good... i also catholic... i attend the church of blessed sacrament in commonwealth area.
Hb is not catholic. but my kid will be a born catholic. cause during the pre-nup agreement, we already agreed to baptise our kid immed after birth... So our child have to be brought up the catholic faith. Otherwise i'll be condemned for not doing my duty as a catholic daughter.

Strawberry:
51 Quality Road
Jurong
3rd bus stop frm boon lay interchange via bus 246/79
2-3th nov
11am-6pm
4th nov
11am-4pm

Dry Ice is provided.

Yup the forum is finally up!..

Kate/joelle/kais
thanks for the input. i was just wondering hw many parents would do it in such a way and is it a better choice.

Kate
What i meant was my aunty usually go temple take amulet and pray etc.. as a christian, it's not appropriate for my daughter to enter.. thats part of my concern why i did not baptise her. what u said is correct also.. teach them their religion since young to allow them to understand more HmmM!

MRT
====
just now i was in train and it was bloody hell pack. people just keep bumping my tummy like nobody's biz. Till there was this lady standing in front of me and keep moving back and hit my tummy!!! This indian young lady sort of shouted at her twice "This lady behind you is pregnant can you please be more careful!" I was shock leh.. never expect someone to do that.. then she told me to go get a seat.. very dangerous like this.
After that someone give the seat to me and this indian lady quickly "chop" for me and get me to sit down.
I'm amazed that such people do realli exist leh.. usually those who give up seats to me are really malays or indians! Chinese?!?!?! NEH! u wait long long..

I just got home and had a fright. Normally, niwa my cat will be waiting at the door when I reach home. Today I don't see him, I thought my worst fear - he jumped out of the window or what. Then I 'run' with my 34" belly, literally at home to find him... and I kept hearing faint meow meow, but didn't know where he was. After a few more moments, I realised that he was locked in the store room aka bomb shelter! Since this morning, cos when I left home, he was at the living room suntanning himself. My hubby shut him in the store room without realising it!! more than 12 hrs! Heng nothing happen to him, and he din wee wee or poo poo in the store room.

Multiply
Adeline i've added in some time back, i'm still going thru everyone's multiply.. hee so many pics to see.. mine is yenimak.multiply.com if you've nt realise.

MRT
adeline, if only everyday we meet such kind soul. this morning, i met one as well, a CHINESE lady (to your surprise) asked very politely to an indian lady to offer her to seat to me after having boarded and stood in front of her for 1-2 stops. The funny thing is after she asked for me, two people stood up to offer me. I'm like what happened? I was standing in front of themn all the time, but they didn't offer. Anyway, I took a seat, and said thank you to this Chinese lady and the one whose seat i've taken. Then this CHinese lady smiled at me and said 50cents please... :| Then she said she's just joking. :| anyway, she said just ask for seats nexyt time, and I told her i'm used to people turning a blind eyes to preggy.

I don't know if I will be so thick skin to do request people to offer seat. My sis's colleague will do that.

melissa, isn't it quite an experience that t ur bb kicked anda ur husband could feel it when you're spooning.. hee I hope to be able to try that. the video.. haha.. so funny, last wkend my BIL was just saying mabbe can see bb's nose/face .. u know it's not only the hands and legs moving right, the face may be next to the belly as well..

i'm 19th wk now, but haven't feel any kicks yet, mabbe princess is more 'shi wen'.. hee

but i did feel some pain usually on my left side.

and also a faint line is starting to form vertically on my belly...

Kate, haircut exp leh.. mabbe cos director.. else not cheap not cheap. Reds cheaper.

kais, i literally 'jaw dropped' to know that there's such horror stories abt selling house to foot the hospital bills.

anyway, KK is also a good hospital as well. Hope you get a good gynae.

Found some CONFINEMENT RECIPES. http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/confinementrecipes.html

anyone has confinement recipes to share? my mum doing confinement for me - and it is her first time wonder if she can make it. LOL.

Sheryl
ya some people will actually ask for seats but i wont do that also. My ex boss did tell me before that she will ask for seats if really too tiring. I find it very embarrassing to do so. that chinese lady is nice also! but i always meet indian and malays doing that hahaa.. Chinese i'll nv know when -_-

Petrina
ya lor.. i also shock leh.. but she's nice anyway :p She still tell me to go find seats.. i was like "everyone fall aslp suddenly how to find seat.. and all taken up.. + people standing at entrance i cant even walk in"..
But i appreciate her kind gesture lor! Singaporean spirit!! hahaa..

Melissa
spooning comfortable meh? hahahaaa.. ok i very straight forward hor.. think the last time we BD is 2 mths back =/
Hopefully he still can control.. lol.. now tummy big like so difficult leh.. make both of us moodless.. lol

Talking about sharp pain, recently i keep having this pain at my right side of tummy.. Like needles poking. i am sure it's not stretching. This sat gotta check with my gynae. VEry uncomfortable.

Sheryl
have confidence in her ma!! U know my HB dont know how to cook one but he cooked confinement meals for me leh.. for 1 week.. everyday same dish.. eat until want to puke hahaha.. but appreciate him for that.. My aunty see already cannot tahan then come over cook for me daily hehehee..

Kais
i think triplets the expenses is definitely much higher lor. Go KKH is a good choice as they hv all equips there but i've heard that in KKH B+ ward or something it is mid wife that deliver for you.. not ur gyne.. So i think u better choose good ones ok? if not very dangerous.

Adeline, how HB know what to cook? I tot there's special food we need to eat during confinement. my mum only kept saying ginger and seasame oil - i think she knows nothing / no dish to cook for me.

anyway, i don't take pork, so lagi jialet ah.

Yes, if people request seats for you, it seems less paiseh for you.
hopefully very soon, we will comment that singaporeans jump up from their seats when they see preggies/eldery/kids boarding the train.

confinement food,

my hubby saw got cook book special for confinement. hmm, i think better ask him to buy if not later i eat the same thing everyday..i will puke too

thks all! will chk out. ya, can't eat same thing everyday.

just shared fries and hot fudge sundae for supper wif hub - he has craving.

time for bed. gdnite zzzz

<font color="0000ff">Hi Shalom,
Had you received the list? I send it over yesterday

Hi Bellebeins,
had u received? need me to resend again?

Hi Kais,
I think it might be better for u to go to KKH, due to the chance of complication is higher....
book the lowest the better... coz ur is triplet... they sure give u a gyn one..... i don think u will get mid-wife....

Hi Jerejoy,
will be sending u the list shortly.... pls check...</font>

seats in mrt...just to share an incident

wat will u do if there's two pregnant ladies standing in front of u?..last evening, the train is damm packed ....i am standing near the door and the ah ma is sleeping in the elderly seat...another preg lady came in with hubby at raffles place station..no 1 notices the two of us...finally a "china" lady saw me and let me have her seat..After 3 stops,finally the indian guy who is happily talking on his hp saw the other pregnant woman and let her have his seat...

i told my hubby..
1st qn he asked me: "whose tummy is bigger?" *faint*

my answer : about the same size...IMO,taking the mrt after office hours can be quite tiring esp pple ignores pregnant lady..

venus
at least there're pple who gave up their seats !
think that's quite an achievement already.... 2 preggies at the same time?? hmmm.... who closer to the seat take first..hehe...

but yah you're right, it can be quite nightmarish taking train after office hours...

Adeline
No worries about KKH. Dr SF LOH is very experienced with multiple births.

In KKH, Class A and B1, you get to choose your gynae. Only when u r in B2 and Class C then you don't have a choice. In my case, due to my work i go automatically to B1. So no worries there.

The good thing then in KKH is that if there is a need after delivery, one can downgrade in order to cut cost. Only restructured hospitals have that practice, i believe.

/blue{hi kais,
had send you the baby list already... please check

hi mummyboy,
can not PM u... can u give me your email address or PM me...

hi }

Kais
great to hear that!! are u worried huh? If it's me i sure will worry thruout my pregnancy. it's like so tough on u leh.. Expenses.. everything..

Sheryl
he cook very standard one.. "Vege, fish and sometimes egg".. Imagine i gotta eat that for 1 week?!?!?! Cause my MIL went back work after doing for me for 1 week.. Sighz.. so HB hafta take over. Anyway my MIL also everyday cook same thing for me lah.. but luckily my aunty will come by now and then for 1st 2 weeks and cook better food for me like 'ma yu ji' and pig trotters. My aunty is a very good cook! her confinement food is super yummy! I eat alot and under her care during 2 weeks of confinement i gain 2 kg.. hehee.. for 1st 2 weeks of confinement i lost close to 3kg wor..

<font color="0000ff">hi bellebeins,
luckily this round u can received...

hi mummyboy,
had also send to u... please check...</font>

It's quite tough if u did not have anyone to help you in your confinement. i tried and tasted that.. not easy..
So this time round i wont let the mistake repeat. My grandma will be doing for me. She has a maid that knows hw to look after baby as well so i can rest and my grandma is more then willing to help me.. cause among all grand child she dote on my family most..

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font>

the indian gal is a very nice lady, hope there are more of such people ard when we take public transport

so nice
ur grandma must be quite young too, since ur mum in her 40s ..

haiz, my grandma never get to see her great grandchild, not to talk abt confinement

<font color="0000ff">kate</font>
post to u during lunchtime yesterday
should receive today..

u usu go jb fr when to when ?

<font color="0000ff">bellebelle</font>

men are like tat one..i can't imagine a hb happy tat pregnant wife going jb too

<font color="0000ff">venus</font>
will give up to the nearest one

<font color="0000ff">confinement food</font>
love the vinegar trotters
actually i dun usu take pork ( pri sch teacher last time gave us this story book abt a pig , last page is it ends up being at butcher with its tears streaming down..now still left me with an impression)

The vinegar soup is very very nice and mum will throw in some lean meat ..bad thing is the sauce always make me wan to eat a lot of rice to go with it

<font color="0000ff">childcare centres</font>
should choose one near hse or near office, still contemplating

<font color="0000ff">yesterday</font>
#1 experience the neither in nor out situation y'day afternoon, mum said she was crying badly and I hear it when mum call me at my office..heart really pain..

she was brought to the doc whom mom said looks disgusted and dun dare to touch bb's down there ..#1 only 13th month

babypink
My gal childcare is near my office.

Confinement food
Where did u get the confinement recipe? Anyone has recipe for increasing breastmilk supply? Can share?

I HATE vinegar trotters!

<font color="0000ff">niwa</font>

ur cat is amazing, can tahan 12 hrs without wee or poo..glad it is fine

last year was my mum's 1st time doing confinement and cooking the food too
she did a great job

we borrow books fr library =) u can try looking ard first

<font color="0000ff">abc</font>

cook unripe papaya with fish bone = increase milk supply

the website niwa shared is very useful..inside got details
i copy and paste here

PAPAYA SOUP

1 white fish tail or fish bones or fish meat ~ about 1kg
100g raw peanuts ~ 1 handful?
(I use black beans now because the pediatrician advised me to avoid peanuts due to my baby's mild eczema)
1 raw or half-ripe papaya, about 1kg - cut into cubes/wedges
1 piece tangerine peel
4 slices old ginger
1.5litres boiling water
2 Tablespoons oil

Heat oil & fry ginger slices, then fry fish in oil until brown.

Then put all ingredients into the slow cooker and simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs - generally until the soup smells really fragrant.

Then enjoy the drink!

Grrr finally the forum is up again. So frustrated the whole afternoon yesterday!

babypink,
What happened to your #1? Bad nappy rash? As for childcare centres, i think it's better to be near to the office. Lunchtime u can rush down to check her out.

Adeline,
you should've placed the nice indian lady's picture on Stomp! too many ugly singaporeans on stomp, think we should introduce polite singaporeans on board too!

Kais,
Good move to KKH. Triplets have higher chances of complications. Not to make you nervous but you're in the best care now. Congrats!

venus,
if i'm the one sitting on the train and not pregnant, i will give the nearer pregnant lady my seat or give them the option, who amongst them want to take my seat, hehe. but i will surely give up. if i'm pregnant, i dun dare to ask for seat liao. very paiseh. but i think for the first two seats near the door, it's YOUR entitlement.

mummyboy,
do you have a lot of heartburn/gastric problems? i had that in my first pregnancy, now very heng ah, never happened but yes i think they're both related. i dunno how to cure it i'm sorry. i just take antacid to relieve the pain.

sheryl,
oh your cat so poor thing!! luckily never poo or pee there! i love cats but my hubby is terrified of them so we will never keep a cat at home

Mabe we shall hv a blog to put in all recipe to share? hahaha... shall i start one n give everyone the password? If nt by the time we need it duno where liao. hahahaa...

Btw black bean is bean.. not peanut. nothing to do with ecezma. Black bean is gd for bones... i always let my gal drink black bean soup.

Hi Melissa, i have gastric pain again. Actually 1-2 months din have already. Now come back. Guess i have to be guai and eat more light food.

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>

her shit jammed, neither in nor out
cried very bitterly can hear over phone

the childcare near my office is PCF one, but my lunchtime, is the kids' sleeping time at the centre..the window all closed and lights off ..this one is cheap at 270 after subsidy and teachers r locals

near my hse is 340 after subsidy .. all teachers indian PR ..

will u be putting #1 in childcare ?

<font color="0000ff">to share my 20th week tummy</font>

1051494.jpg

abc, how to post? i got a recipe from my friend to increase milk supply.

confinement food, the only confinement food i am looking forward to is my mom's black vinegar trotter!

oh yah , ladies, where can i get a belly band, those kind tat allow unzip bottoms . I want those black ones

local shops selling at how much ?

abc
ya the papaya soup with fish head works very well for me!! U can try that.. I opp from you. i love vinegar trotters!!!
My aunty tend to boil the papaya and fish head soup 1st then she use the soup to cook meals for me. Including rice. She say too filling to actually drink like this. so she use the fish soup to cook liver, kidney.. but got put ginger also.. dunno how she cook but it taste fantastic!

babypink
my grandma in her late 80s already.

abc

thanks for creating the blog for sharing recipes!

babypink
think you're still quite slim lor... i think i look like 7 mths' preg at night.... and feel so clumsy , sometimes cant even get out from sofa or bed properly....

anyone can recommend a good infant care in the east? somewhere in the bedok/east coast area?

ok i hv jus completed it. Those who has given yr email to adeline should receive an email to join the blog. U can then paste any info on it..

For those who havent pls email me directly for me to invite u. My email is [email protected]

niwa,
I have 2 cats too & I am very used to my black cat being locked up in the storeroom overnite. Heehee...

twinklestars,
Babies Inc at Tanjong Katong is very gd but it's exp.