(2008/03) March 2008

babypink: hainanese is like tat de. both hb & I r hainanese. we muz use the same middle name for the particular generation. cannot anyhow. otherwise when we go back china, our relatives cannot record our names in the book.
for gals is diff. any name can. as female names not in family book.

blue skies: i presume u not hainanese? tats y not particular on names?

The reason y i looking for my hb village ppl is because my mil gave birth to my hb away frm my hb's dad family. so mil gave name to hb. *no offense - but so hokkien* broke hb family tradition.
then at young age, mil took hb away frm fil family. 30yrs down the road, all links r lost already...
The only option is tat all hainanese ppl have villages in china. so though not exact relatives, same village share same middle name. eg: same surnames plus same middle name plus diff last name. (wong teck ***) so tat they noe which generation they belong to frm the look of the name.

Reena: i m still puking. happy to join the puking club... 17-18wks now...

babypink: think i will ask my gynae on mon. so painful till now.

any idea nov issue mother & baby out le ma?

Adeline
me too wan to eat healthy..
i intend to buy like raisin n nut bread then drink with milk....for breakfast....then lunch mebe go for fish soup....dinner , hme cook food...

but end up no...
somehow too bland...

must try harder ....but then will tell myself...now dun eat..when eat...hee...

Petrina,

Yah, my hubby is hainanese, but i'm hokkien
I guess best way is to try to find a relative or even a distant relative from your hb side, otherwise might be quite hard to trace back... unless your MIL can tell you who to contact (but might be sensitive matter)

calamari: nope. i dun have nose bleeds. juz blocked nose.

mummy norman08: maybe eat healthy n tasty cereal? eg: i eat post strawberries & cornflakes cereal...

Reena: i think lots MTB have eating probs. puking n all... me quite fat de, gained 2kg in 1st tri, also lost 3kg in 2nd tri...

Petrina
i wanted to eat delifrance during lunch. but too rush so in the end ate mcdonalds. I miss the cheese burger there.

mummynorman
that sounds healthy! but i can never do that! I have been wanting to drink milk for weeks! but till now i haven started hahaha.. my milk is still rotting in my office cabinet.

Kea
wah really ordering mac ah! haha.. i like the cheese burger with tomato sauce many many! Yummy..

adeline

hee..yup...but nw me like having a bit of stomache and bloated..still nt hungry, hope ltr hungry .....me cant order cheese burger back hm coz is beef...at hm gt buddist god..so maybe i order fish fillet..miss the cheese burger though..but cheese burger no meal de leh....

cheesycake: i missed ur post. i occasionally have tat pain. either u slept on tat hand whole nite or is feng shi pain. it'll go away in a day or two w/o any help.
if too painful, go c chinese physician n do instant accupunture on ur hand. will get rid of wind immed. no med needed. if they give u, dun take also.

No need to hold breath. but if u hold breath, shld be fine also. no diff. mainly is holding ur bladder/anus exercise.

It's not a must to drink milk as long as you are taking your calcium supplements from your gynae. I can't take any diary products while expecting #1, not even soya bean milk.

yes kea: my mil though no pray in hse, but she dun eat beef.
i always order then eat in bedroom. sneakily lah. hb help cover up also... though he dun eat. cause bedroom no altar can liao.
meaning - beef no open in front of god, god no c beef. can sneak bah.

petrina

is it..hee...my mom place , they don allow me to bring in oso....hmm...but cant leh..ltr i order, my ah ma sure curious and ask n c...coz she nv order be4...=/.....dangerous..lolx....maybe i will stick to my fillet mah..but nw still bloated not hungry..haaaa...diao diao

Petrina
can ar?..
i cant...
cant bring into hse...
n hubby wun n never will cover for me...
so if i wan eat i will eat outside....and if i no preg he wun allow me eat...

Reena
i dunno read fr where..that if preggie son, then better to not drink too much soya milk...

and beef too...

i forgot abt the reason of soya milk...

i rem the beef...will cause the boy when grow up to man to have fertility prob....

mummy

mine oso cant bring it to hse at all...=/...then when young, my mom say if eat beef outside, must rinse mouth be4 enter hse...so we alway keep quiet ..hee....

my hubby alway say can bring in la..coz he luv beef...lolx..then i say cant..then he say i scare..=/

mummy_norman

very healthy schedule if we can follow

==
my fav hobby lately is looking at recipe book, then ask mum to translate into malay for maid to cook

this month tried some new recipes

tonite is mango prawns
looking forward

mummy_norman,
i don't believe the facts about beef. if beef causes infertility, then malay guys won't be having so many children liao. besides they can only take beef/mutton/white meat. no pork.

me no pantang on food. cold water i take. liang i take. 'cos i mentioned before, i took care of food, i got miscarriage, never take care, also miscarriage. so i don't give a hoot about the do's and don'ts of food already.

Reena: oh dear i love beef beehoon soup... ate few times coz my fren said its gd for bb (bu).

Petrina: oic... but i nv slp on my hand thou, dunno y. haiz just hope the pain will go away soon~

Gee... the post is making me so dizzy, so many to read. Tok abt food, I feel like eating steak now.

babypink,
Can update my profile? Heehee.. I am having a boy.

mummy norman: u poor thing... i heck care... cause i order lots. not only cheeseburger. so when mil ask, i always say mac lor. nuggets etc... she will believe de. cause not much beef in mac. only big mac/cheeseburger. the others all chicken...

Kea: its up to u. if u dun wan offend ur ma, then dun bah. cheeseburger very fast finish de. so small, few mouth finish liao... or u can order then sneak the burger out n eat along the corridor? hehe. i very bad hor... teach u all the bad things...

Oh.. any Malay or Indians here? I believe you ladies still take mutton right? Chinese has this belief, cannot take mutton... so I question, then what about the other races, they also eat what...

petrina

haha....is ok...c ltr i rch hm , bath liao, then feel lyk order wad then order..keke..e biggest prob is , i am NOT hungry.....lolx.......haiz......ate too much during lunch lioa...lolx

chessycake:
thanx for the info...

petrina:
gal, my hubby and mi both hainanese. but wat happen is my family line do follow this "ZU PU" thingy but his family does not.. kakax.. even my FIL and uncle in law they have diff middle name.. and i m carrying a BB boi.. we had discussed about this issue before but decided to drop this sequence thingy as his family does not follow.. so i din say anything even my own family does follow duly. =)
From wat i noe from my dad and mum is that every surname and is different even if surname but different line of origin in hainan island.. guess u may reali need to crack ur head tis time round...

reena:
no worries, i m still puking.. 20th week lo.. Dr Ann tan was saying some woman got to endure all these symptoms till the end of pregnancy... haiz.. guess i m one of those.

babypink:
oh yah gal, i do not haveur contacts oh.. would it be in the email that u are sending us... =)

(=^o^=)

mummy norman and melissa

I also dun believe cannot eat beef and soya bean. In fact preggie no matter having girl or boys is a must to drink more soya bean to get the calcium and protein. my MIL still ask my maid to cook beef bone soup cause last time she carried my hubby drink a lot, that's why my hubby's bone is big. Moderation is important, too much of red meat also not vr good but doesn't mean u can't eat at all.

Macdonalds have double cheese burger meal!! I ate that hahaha.. but now the double cheese burger is only $2!! Thats why i grab one and share another meal with col! keke..

Reena,
good question. then there's the other question about bathing during confinement. why only chinese cannot bathe? but malays and indians and other races can bathe? does it actually give them more "wind". no leh. so that's why i am not traditional and i don't believe in something that's not scientifically proven. but we can't stop our mothers or mils or other seasoned mothers from mentioning these "pantangs" but we can just be cautious and be polite in front of them. why torture ourselves man.

katechow,
agree, soya bean is good especially to lactose intolerant people like me. kekekee. low cholesterol too, doesn't add fat.

Melissa,

ya lor, i also nv pantang on food unless my hubby really dun allowed. In my 1st trimester i aet kambing soup, eat BBQ baby lamb...and i aet a few demonte banana till my mum stop me, hehehehe, i just wonder western country dun have small banana, there all selling like demonte banana how? they also eat all the way...

kate, my mum also said i can't take mutton because of yang2 tian1 feng1 (epilepsy) but i dun believe at all. there's no basis to this.

reena, i am at wk 16+ and also still puking. I haven't gained any weight... but i am big size to begin with.

annie: thks. but dun u think is wasted if ur bb boy dun follow? it's because of my mil giving my hb hokkien name therefore i cannot trace back... i think also headache manz...

clover/melissa/kate: i also no pantang. only those gynae say no eat then i dun eat. otherwise old wives tales, i dun really care.

kea: hehs, i nv order mac today cause mil cook soup n claypot chicken n fry veg today...
sumptous dinner. so keep mac for another day... haa

my tummy suddenly feel like needles poking poking. below belly button slightly to the left... then suddenly no more liao... is it bb kicking? hehe.. gan jiong lah...

<font color="aa00aa">this few days i felt throat v dry n wana cough and also keep sneezing...do u all hv the same prob?
dun dare to eat too much...trying to control my blood sugar level.

kate,
r we still going for swimming this sat? babedude in HK now.</font>

petrina & blue skies,
My hb is also hainanese. I'm not sure if it's the same for every hainanese household. My hb middle name is "re" and my boy's will be "fang". Not too sure abt which "fang" coz my hb never bother to ask his dad properly. I'll most probably let my boy take that middle name coz I feel it's a family tradition.

calamari,
Dun worry abt the nosebleed. It's usually cause by dryness and when too dry, the tiny tiny capilaries in ur nose just breaks. A humidifier will help.

katechow,
I also dun believe that soya milk is bad. It's a good source for calcium & protein. The only thing I've religiously avoid so far has been pineapple but since I'm not a fan to start with, it's not too much of a chore.

liewb: u lucky. FIL gave u the name. so if u happen to go back china, ur boy name will be on the register. very proud de... Most hainanese family in spore will follow de. only hainanese families do tat. I'm not putting down other dialects... but its our tradition.

Clover,
hehehehe, i also heard before. some said cannot eat frogs also. if really yang tian feng,most of the indian and Mangolian will kena lio...

baby_dude

if u want, i dun mind. u prefer friday or saturday? for those who interested in swimming can PM me.

i just drank soya bean by marigold after dinner, latest red packaging , wth promegade, smell & taste really GOOD!

i ate frog for #1

mutton, beef, i dun like all along.. so have not touch them ;p

bananas are good leh
<font color="0000ff">kate</font>, i saw in the pregnancy mag it can prevent Water retention in preggioes, excellent

<font color="0000ff">cat_tail</font>

congrats !
will update when home..is tat detailed scan ? or routine scan

as in this scan did inside scanning room ?

i m dying to find out mine too :p

<font color="0000ff">Annie</font>

yupz, waiting for all emails to come in then can compile all and send via email to teh gals coming including my contacts

Petrina,
Yes that's your baby poking you to say hi! Congrats on the poke-poke! Heehee..

babypink,
yeah bananas are good. that's why the ang moh recommend them in the BRAT diet (banana, rice, apple, toast). if too pantang then take it everyday lah.

liewb,
me same same as you about pineapples. my mom also suggest i don't take pineapples but i've never been a fan anyway. but those hawker centre pineapple juice look really yummy. i'll take some if the cravings kick-in.

Soy,
if you love soy, go for soy milk over tau huay. and go for Nutrisoy or Sobe or Marigold b'cos they have added calcium. those hawker centre one not so nutritious.

anyone drive to work? is it dangerous for pregnant women to drive? would u put a pregnant-woman driver bumper stickers or signage of that sort in your car??

Kea, ur gynae responds email?? i don't have my gynae's email.. anyway, oxy and BP is ok for usage during pregnancy. Anyway, she had prescribed some acne cream for me.

guess wat, my gynae herself had rebonded her hair during her own 2 pregnancies!! SO I WILL REBOND TOO AFTER DETAILED SCANS! GOOD NEWS FOR ME. :D

Melissa, my fren drives until she's 8.5 mths! U must learn to go into ur car 'safely' that's the important thing. I remember seeing some videos on how to get into ur car/ use safety belt correctly during pregnancy on some website. Mabbe u can google it. Actually it's cute to have those bumper stickers. Usually there's 'Baby in the Car'.. mabbe we can have 'Unborn baby in the car'

btw, my scan shows that i'm 95% expecting a baby girl.

Babypink, pls update my bb gender.

Pertina, if baby movement will give you the feeling of having bubbles at this stage - i haven't experience it so far. The pain/cramps is actually our ligament stretching.

i had mac for breakfast today, looks like a lot of preggies are queueing up at macs. :D

we are starting our kids early to be their ' mac happy meals'

melissa, speaking about driving and pineapple... i got my license last mth and am an occasional weekend driver. i find driving is not that stressful for me, though my husband is... AND people on the road are not patience to P plate drivers. Plus Singapore drivers are an impatient bunch. Hence to play safe, I will only drive occasionally.

the gynae that i had seen earlier on, actually suggests that i stay away from pineapple!

kate... what is it about frog?? jump a lot? haha.

babypink,
Heehee.. I am working in SGH so my colleague helped me to arrange a 3D scan with the sonographer.

Melissa,
Sometimes I drive. I think it's still ok for now & we should stop when our tummy is hitting the steerling wheel.

I am so happy to find a kaki now that dun follow all the pantang. Whenever I tell my frds what I have done, they look at me in shock. So normally I zipped my mouth.
Well, I still continue drink my coffee everyday. And during my last confinement, I drank plain water, bath & wash my hair everyday. Of cos all these are without the presence of my MIL & mother.