(2008/03) March 2008

baby DE,

i am fine lio, dun worry. sometimes a bit back pain only. u take care also, rest earlier. headache maybe not enaough rest.

horror movie

dun watch too much...will release bad hormone for baby. later nite mare again...hehehehhe

i need some advice...

this evening i had developed a fever. i was at a friend's house and she let me have 2 baby panadol. now my fever has subsided, but i am feeling a bit achy, heaty. i also had diarrohea today.

i am wondering i shld see a GP tomorrow or go straight to the gynae? My appt with the gynae is next monday. my hubby is overseas so naturally he cant bring me to see any doctors.

clover,

If u can make app to c ur gynea is better if not normal GP also fine i think. last time i heard the nurse from my gynea ever told me i can go and c family doctor if unwell. dun delay, go n c asap. take care...

kate,

i have decided to see lawrence ang too. do u know when he will be at sunshine plaza? if its evening time, then i rather see the GP near my house.

<font color="0000ff">clover</font>

can see GP first bah, cos i went to GP when i have throat infection and fever some weeks back
my diarhoea i see whether it is more than twice

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>

this morning realise we are in the same boat, my hb's reservist in march !

GOOD NEWS: this morning in Today, there was a letter from Director of Public Affairs, Mindef

<font color="0000ff">"an NS man whose wife is expected to give birth during or within 4 weeks before or after his NS activity may apply for deferment"</font>

<font color="0000ff">mummyboy</font>

hehe, then it is out for me

Good Morning Mummies.

Hope all of you are well. Haven't been posting lately coz just posted to new dept and lots of things to learn and follow up.

Saw this article in the Straits Times today and want to share with you..

Oct 12, 2007

Lipsticks contain lead, US consumer group says

ATLANTA - LIPSTICKS tested by a United States consumer rights group found that more than half contained lead and some popular brands including Cover Girl, L'Oreal and Christian Dior had more lead than others, the group said.

The Campaign for Safe Cosmetics said on Thursday tests on 33 brand-name red lipsticks by the Bodycote Testing Group in Santa Fe Spring, California, found that 61 per cent had detectable lead levels of 0.03 to 0.65 parts per million (ppm).

Lipstick, like candy, is ingested. The Campaign for Safe Cosmetics, a coalition of public health, environmental and women's groups, said the FDA has not set a limit for lead in lipstick.

One-third of the lipsticks tested contained an amount of lead that exceeded the US Food and Drug Administration's 0.1 ppm limit for lead in candy - a standard established to protect children from ingesting lead, the group said.

Thirty-nine per cent of the lipsticks tested had no discernible lead, it said.

'It's critical that manufacturers reformulate their product,' said Ms Stacy Malkan, a co-founder of the coalition.

'It's possible to make lipsticks without lead, and all companies should be doing that.'

Lead can cause learning, language and behavioural problems such as reduced school performance and increased aggression.

Pregnant women and young children are particularly vulnerable to lead exposure, the group said in its statement. Lead has also been linked to infertility and miscarriage, it said.

Procter & Gamble's makes Cover Girl brand and France's L'Oreal is one of the largest cosmetic companies in the world.

Over the last three months, more than 20 million toys made in China have been recalled, mostly due to the use of lead paint.

The coalition said that some less expensive brands it had tested, such as Revlon, had no detectable levels of lead, while the more expensive Dior Addict brand had higher levels than some other brands.

The Cosmetic, Toiletry and Fragrance Association trade group said in a statement that lead was a naturally occurring element that was not intentionally added to cosmetics.

The FDA has 'set strict limits for lead levels allowed in the colours used in lipsticks, and actually analyse most of these to ensure they are followed', the association's statement said. 'The products identified in the (CSC) report meet these standards.'

L'Oreal's US arm said its products are reviewed and tested by a safety team that includes toxicologists, pharmacists and doctors.

'All the brands of the L'Oreal Group are in full compliance with FDA regulations' as well as safety requirements in international markets, L'Oreal USA said in a statement.

P&G said in a statement that the quantity of lead a consumer might be exposed to from its lip product 'is hundreds of times less than the amount that she would get from eating, breathing and drinking water'.

'Lead builds up in the body over time and lead-containing lipstick applied several times a day, every day, can add up to significant exposure levels. The latest studies show there is no safe level of lead exposure,' said Dr Mark Mitchell, president of the Connecticut Coalition for Environmental Justice. -- REUTERS

cat_tail

yupz, after this detailed scan most probably

coincidentally, my triple blood test was analysed by him, saw his chop & signature on the paper ;)

cjx

thanks for sharing

hehe, have not been applying makeup regularly, so nausea already make me too lazy to put on makeup at work

clover,

I am not sure when he will be free. why not u call his clinic at 67535228 but his appt always fully book and even have appt also must wait till an hour.

<font color="0000ff">Gathering on 27 Oct at The Heeren at noon

so far , have recieved the contacts of

1) babyDe
2) Linda
3) alynn

mummyboy (mummygirl),

Kate, Linda and myself will be going for both sessions of the talk.. $10 bucks and inclusive of buffet lunch and high tea! + Goodies .. very worth it.. come join us lah!

Scary incident reported on The NewPaper Yesterday:

Following is the article that some mummies shared pertaining to the couple whose's baby had brain development out of the skull and have to abort the baby during their 6th month! Apparently.. it is quite scary if our gynae dun have up-to date equipments to do a good detailed scan!! Gosh.. it scare the shit out of me manzzz.. i felt like goin for second opinion !

--------------------------------------------

FROM ANTICIPATION Unborn baby scan 1: It's healthy girl
TO DEVASTATION
Baby scan 2 (1 month later): It's sick boy who must be aborted
By Ng Wan Ching

October 12, 2007

THEY were looking forward to having their first child, and were delighted when their doctor told them that everything was going well.

-- Picture: KUA CHEE SIONG
But barely a month later, they got the shock of their lives when another doctor told them that their unborn child was growing with the brain protruding from the skull, and had to be aborted.

Mr Terence Tang and his wife, Mrs Uemura Tang, were devastated.

Mrs Tang, 23, was nearly into her sixth month of pregnancy when she had the abortion.

WANTS TO WARN OTHERS

Mr Tang, a 26-year-old Singaporean, shared his story with The New Paper to warn others that not all scans are accurate.

He even went so far as to say that the first scan should be done by an expert with a machine which can accurately tell the condition of the baby.

Said Mr Tang: 'In my wife's third and fourth month of pregnancy, the first obstetrician and gynaecologist we saw scanned her using an ultrasound scanning machine. He said that our baby was in perfect condition.'

They were very happy to hear that.

'At that point, we were expecting a healthy baby girl,' he added.

The doctor had been recommended to them by a friend.

In the fifth month of Mrs Tang's pregnancy, she was sent by the same doctor to another obstetrician and gynaecologist for a detailed scan.

According to the couple, he had told them that it was routine for him to send his patients to another specialist in the fifth month.

However, the second doctor, at Camden Medical Centre, found something very wrong with the baby.

Said Mr Tang, a mechanical engineer: 'He told us that the baby's skull was not properly developed. The brain was protruding from the skull.

'The size of the protruding brain is about the size of the skull, making the circumference of the head much smaller compared with other five-month old foetuses.'

And at this clinic, they were also told that it was a boy.

'He told us that the baby would not have any chance of surviving until the due date. He recommended that we abort as soon as possible to avoid the danger to my wife, should the baby get bigger,' said Mr Tang.

Reeling from the news, he and his wife sought an explanation from their first doctor.

'He also recommended that we abort immediately,' said Mr Tang.

The scan at Camden was on 7 Aug, less than a month after the fourth-month scan on 16 Jul.

He had to pay $250 for the scan done at Camden Medical Centre.

'How could my perfect baby become a baby with his brains outside his head in that time?'

By that time, his wife had had four scans done by the first doctor.

They had signed up for a maternity package, costing $500, which did not include delivery charges, during Mrs Tang's second month of pregnancy.

When the couple pressed the doctor for an explanation, they claim his reply was that his machine was not so good, and he could not see the foetus clearly.

'He said the view of his scanning machine was so small that he could not differentiate the protruding brain from the skull, and his machine doesn't have the zoom function, thus he couldn't see the defect,' Mr Tang said.

The obstetrician and gynaecologist, who has his practice in the Eastern part of Singapore, declined to reply to queries from The New Paper.

Other doctors The New Paper spoke to said that while it was possible to detect such a defect earlier, it depends on the individual case.

In some babies, the abnormality gets more visible as the baby grows bigger.

The impact on the couple could have been much less traumatic if the defect had been picked up earlier, during the first 14 weeks of pregnancy.

Mrs Tang could have had a simpler procedure to take the foetus out, say doctors. It would have involved using a scraping or suction instrument to remove tissue from the lining of the uterus.

It takes only a few hours of the patient's time and would have cost less than $1,000.

But an abortion during the second trimester is more complicated.

Mrs Tang, a Thai, returned to Bangkok to abort her child.

Said Mr Tang: 'She did not want to do it in Singapore because she had lost confidence and also because of cost.'

He said their first obstetrician and gynaecologist had told them that it would cost $3,500 if he were to do it for them.

Other doctors quoted $2,000 to $3,000, including doctor's and hospital fees.

Mr and Mrs Tang flew to Bangkok and went to the King Chulalongkorn Memorial Hospital on 9 Aug.

Said Mrs Tang: 'I also wanted to confirm the diagnosis. I wanted to know if there was a chance I could have kept the baby.'

After about two weeks of more scans and tests, the hospital confirmed that the baby would not have any chance of survival.

SIX MONTHS INTO PREGNANCY

But she could not do the abortion at that hospital as it would have required a two-week wait.

'By then, she was almost six months into her pregnancy. We felt such a late abortion would have been dangerous,' said Mr Tang.

So Mrs Tang went to the private Kluay Nam Thai Hospital, on 22 Aug to get it done.

The doctor gave her medication to cause her to go into labour.

'She took the medication around 9am. Then she went into labour. It was very difficult for her to be in so much pain, knowing that she wouldn't be able to keep the baby later,' said Mr Tang.

The labour lasted more than 12 hours.

Mrs Tang gave birth to her baby past 10pm that night.

'Only her mother saw the baby. My wife didn't want to see it. My mother-in-law said it was very small and it was dead,' said Mr Tang.

She stayed overnight at the hospital and was discharged the next day.

The couple spent more than $2,000, including budget airfares and medical fees for the tests and abortion in Bangkok.

Since then, Mrs Tang has been crying almost every night, said Mr Tang. 'If our first doctor had picked up the baby's condition earlier, say in the third month, she wouldn't have been so traumatised. From the fourth month, she could feel the baby kick,' said Mr Tang.

'She wouldn't have been pregnant for so long and she would not have needed to give birth.'

take care
and hope u recover fast

<font color="0000ff">babydude</font>
thanks for sharing, my goodness, din noe singapore gynae still have not so good machines for ultasound scan

<font color="0000ff">Avent gathering</font>
hehe,the talk sound good , we can make it into a gathering leh

Hi Baby_dude

received with thanks

will check my mail

btw, r u gals meeting at raffles place first ?

did u register by phone. i called and they din pick up

yup..i called on wed and sent the cheque loh..

hmm probably the lady went out for breakfast ??

hee hee.. try later ..

we are goin for 2 sessions.. kiasu!

Logistic wise.. dunno yet woh, have not discussed.. i am driving and not sure if there are parking ard there..will check it out soon!

Hi MTB: anyone dont feel preggie while u're actually preggie? as in no MS and sore boobs?
so far i feel the same as before except missing my menses and sometimes backache nia.

Cannot call thru ... nobody picking up the phone, always get the answering machine
I'll just send out the cheque tomorrow and keep fingers crossed!

cheesycake

since ur scan is alrite and ur gyane said all is fine , u r a blessed mom

my pal deliver smoothly with no MS. The best part is on a company cruise, all her colleagues feel nausea ( and they are not pregnant)

BUT she is fine

babypink: tat y im abit worried how come boobs nv increase in size and no MS. yup since gyane said bb growing very well and active. i then more fang xin

mine oso din increase in size lah

if my baby is doing fine , i dun wan MS leh
dun worry, u r the kind of ladies who are blessed =)

i just came back from the doc. think my GP is quite good. he checked my stomach, bb's heart beat and let me only have lateol forte. he think its not necessary to go on antibiotics since my gastric flu has not worsened. hopefully i will be fine soon!

I've typed a long reply but wasn't updated... sigh... now got to retype...

Liyun,
You'll have to weigh the pros and cons of breastfeeding vs physical appearance then. For me, breastfeeding outweighs my physical, taken into consideration the PROs of breastfeeding.

Shirley,
You're so fortunate to have a close gf guide you along =)

pegsfur,
How are you doing? Didn't see your posting... hope things are well with you.

Fei,
EDD is just an estimation of your due date. Based on the ultra scan, it's a measurement done by gynae physically so the measurements may be slightly different. For me, I calculate based on last menses date

Also, regarding breastfeeding, tell your dh, if not for the baby, you are doing this for yourself as lactating moms has lesser chance of contracting ovary cancer ;-)

Only breastmilk has anti-bodies in them. No FM manufacturer is able to re-produce anti-bodies. So yes, it's definitely ok to continue to breastfeed if you are down with common illness. In fact, you're encouraged to nurse your bb even more often so as to give him/her the anti-bodies to prevent catching the virus from mummy.

Kea,
Yes, it's definitely not an easy route to breastfeeding but it's definitely very satisfying. Give it a try before you say no. Who knows, you may be successful ;-)

poshies,
When you mentioned the small boobs mom breastfed for 3 years, I thought you were referring to me hehehe... I've a gf, she's a D cup but she only tried breastfeeding for 1 day and gave up. Reason is, no milk... To me, it doesn't matter if you are big or small up there. Most important is, you must be determine to breastfeed and that is winning half the battle. I always like to think positive ;-) And yes, size does not matter as far as breastfeeding is concern. I breastfed #1 for 3 yrs and #2 for 2 years. I wish I can nurse #3 for as long as she wants me =)

Venus,
Your FM calculation is very interesting. In fact, even if you invest in an expensive breastpump, it's worth every single cent spent taking into consideration the GOOD HEALTH that you're providing your child!

Cheesycake,
My tummy's soft most of the time unless I'm having Braxton Hicks.

cheryl,
When you're urinationg, try to stop urinating intermittantly. That's the way tone up your pelvic muscle. But of course, you don't do it in the toilet lah... it's just to let you know HOW to do it. Once you know how to tighten the muscles, you can do it anywhere.

babypink,
You are one fortunate woman. When I first delivered #1, it's also around DH's reservice period. He did ask for deferment but was rejected. I delivered on his first day of reservice.

cheesycake,
When I was expecting #2, I only had MS on the 1st trimester. After that, I don't feel preg at home, just like normal days. I've got another gf, she doesn't even know she's pregnant until week 17. She merely thought she was just putting on weight.

As far as breastfeeding is concern, like I've always said... it's all in your mind. Just tell yourself you can do it ;-)

mummyboy,
I think it's sinus/stuffy nose. I never have this before preg. I got it when I was expecting #1 and pple tell me it'll go away. However, it stayed with me for 5 years and I'm still having it now :-(

coz me alway feel naueous aft meals and aft taking pills, i will eat lotsa of swts...is tt ok?? scare will be too swt in my body....

Kea,
Try to limit your sweet intake. I used to pop alot of sweets after I puked but end up with high sugar in my urine and had to go for glucose test (yucks!). So now, I only suck the sweet for a few seconds, just to clear the bad after-smell and spit out the sweet.

Reena

wad is glucose test?? hmmm...everytime we go check up, we pee on the strip test is to test for sugar one rite?

mummies, heard that we shouldn't eat sweets that contain aspartame. Seems like a lot of sweets contain this. Better check the ingredients before eating. now i seldom eat sweets. Missed my favourite mentos.

Kea,
It's actually for gestational diabetes screening. If your sugar content is high in your urine (ie the strip test you do on your routine check up), your gynae will refer you to do this glucose tolerance test.

It's a blood test basically... upon arrival at the clinic, they will take a blood sample for testing. Then they will give you this glucose fluid to drink and will take a blood sample again 1 hour later. Another blood sample taken another 2 hours later. This is to check on your blood sugar level. The idea is to see how efficiently your body processes sugar. If the reading is too high, you probably have gestational diabetes.

yupz, <font color="0000ff">Kea</font>, i ate sweets too, but not everyday. Just a lot on the days i got cravings =p

recird is a packet of skittles and 1 tube of fruit tella in a day

but i admit this is quite "stressful" when I am taking my urine test

in moderation like less than 3 a day is fine bah, unless u drank a lot of sweet drinks as well

<font color="0000ff">cheesycake</font>

yupz, i remember a lady mention tat a pal with big breasts oso kenna little milk, and vice versa

so A cups gals like myself got hope lah ..hehe

and <font color="0000ff">mummyboy</font>

i got a super big ulcer in my gum.size as big as my tooth! the smaller sized tooth 5th place fr the front

serves me right for consuming my 7th box of nutella since sun =p , not forgetting all the malay & indian snacks fr my colleagues..so tasty !

ur GP sounds good, glad taht all is fine