(2008/03) March 2008

Hi Melissa,

Thanks for yr help.

Hi Babypink,

Here's the pic of the saltine cracker.
920648.jpg

hey all,

need to ask if this is normal...

I was smoking before i found out that i am pregnant. Now of course i quit liao, but the thing is that i have been having flu and coughing out phlegm during the time i am pregnant.

Is it because I quit smoking or becasue i am now pregnant I am more prone to such symptoms?? And i have also been having stuffy nose... anybody having it?

abc actually for assurance?? if u gonna keep ur bb no matter wat happen den i dun think theres a need?? hmmm.... i m oso worried abt my result.. NT fail. so hope blood test is fine....

i think the lab person who take my blood at TMC is kind of rough leh... cos my hand is having blue black from it.... 2 week ago when my gynae take blood oso nvr blur black loh

actually is not the hospital u are in...i feel is our individual luck....when i had my second gal...after my delivery, i felt really diff...i felt like blood seems to gush out non stop....not normal....then i call the nurse....then cos so many pple giving birth, originally i am in 2 bedder, had to stay in a 8 bedder....then told the nurse....not rite...somthing is not rite....guess what?...she barked at me...."u first time give birth meh?"....i no first time tt y i no is diff mar...so after been scolded i then went to sleep....then that nurse after a while want me to cme down n walk....so i walked...all the blood that i felt gushed down my leg....as i walked, blood dripped down my lef to floor and very scary...whole trail.....she got madder...but no choice...i did tell her....so i feel is who u met...n the luck of individual....

MTB March 08 Outing

Date: 25 August (Sat)
Time: Lunch - 1pm
Venue: (open to suggestion)
If you are interested, please include your name in the list.

1. eniale
2. Linda Chan
3. dernemi
4. Adeline/Kimberly
5. abcdisney n gal
6. Shalom

Norman
such a bad experience which you have there. Hopefully for my 2nd one i wont experience such a problem but hard to say hor.
When i just deliver in Mt A, the missy ask my try go toilet though my blood was everywhere but she clean up and wash my legs for me and clear my blood even at my V area also. And then slowly hold me when i walk back to my bed. Quite a good experience. Then when i was going home, they are all quite friendly. one of the missy help us carry baby while my HB carry the tub then hold me till we reach downstairs, flag a cab for us and ask me to becareful etc.. Quite a good experience lor.. Maybe cause i haven met the worse *touch wood*
But one good thing is that in KKH, they are well equiped so if there are any complications, we dun have to wait and they can attend to it immediately.

adeline
yeah u rite...
they are fully equipped...
urs is such a good experience...
my first was good too...too bad the second like tt...

mummy
dun sob...can join the next rd...

<font color="0000ff">jerejoy</font>

thanks so much 4 the trouble
with a pic, easier to source for it

how does it taste like & how does it differ from Jacob cream crackers ?

dun noe y recently i m dreaming of transparent crackers, as in whitish kind, never ate this in my life

<font color="0000ff">cheryl</font>

yupz, i agree with wat u say..if u intend to keep ur b no matter what, there is no need for the Oscar test

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>

hehe, i oso have a hard time finding the crackers

<font color="0000ff">mummy_norman</font>

exactly, i agree..really it is our luck lor..

but this KKH reputation really no good i think, but my sil's 2 births are fine

<font color="0000ff">down syndrome babies</font>

just wondering, how many of u ladies will not terminate even if the bb is down syndrome ?

Isabel,
Congrats for taking the right decision to quit smoking. I've never smoked my whole life but i'm guessing yours is probably pregnancy symptom + withdrawal symptom. I don't think there's a cure, just let nature take its course and the body will regulate itself in time.

babypink

that wat i m confuse now, cos bb is a life, i dun wanna go thru another abortion... haiz... plus this 1 is not easy to abortion since it is over 12weeks.

I chanced upon this thread.

1 mummy has an elder son liao , so the doc din ask her to go the NT & Oscar test for her 2nd one.

End up 2nd one turns out ds, and she was less than 30 when she conceive

so i think it is crucial to go for the test, but again, a pal's colleague went for all the test, everything is fine, but also end up ds

guess it is really fate

yupz

now i am going to take fate into my hand and go hunting for my crackers during lunchtime , see whether i am fated to eat them or not ;)

regarding the question which babypink ask. I will abort. Although i knw that cruel but i would not want my child to be born in this world and suffer the fate of being despise. It will hurt me more and make my kid suffer.

My HB ask me to go ahead with the oscar test though my doc say there is no need to.

babedude
ya i agree it's fate as well..

Cheryl
relax see hw ur blood test turns out to be. We will be waiting for your good news =)

Isabel
i quitted smoking when i had my 1st one also and i quitted very smoothly. Gz on quitting! I am a non-smoker now!!!
I had a friend whom smoke thruout the pregnancy. she tried quitting but failed. her baby came out during 9 mths and weigh only 2.2kg.. should be glad that we quitted smoking early!

babypink
hahaha! seems like you really craving for the crackers?

Last week i ate crabs for 3 days!! crab should be ok right? *Hopefully*

is a hard decision to make...
i guess for pple who is not in the kind of situation...logically will abort....but for gals who is having the situation is betting on the chance....and usu not as logical....but i guess the hubby support and stand shpuld be firm and supportive....console as they could while logically asking the wife to abort....if the hubby comes down hard....abort!...and this will make the matter worst for the wife...i felt....

Isabel
hoped u would be like adeline.....we shall give u moral support.....not easy to quit...mother's instinct in u will give u the extra strength.....

bbpink
hoped u are fated with ur crackers....

cheryl
go ahead with the test....
and who knws......
u may be pleasantly surprised...
knw is better then dunno....

bbpink says if no matter what wan to keep...i feel to knw is better....y would i say tat?....at least u knw n u decided to keep, by time bb is born, u are super well prepared with every info for the special needs child...and more able to take care of the bb well.......also emotionally u have already had the 10 mths to prepared urself readily for the child....by then u would already had accepted the fact....and all to come would not be too heavy since emotionally u are sorted.....tts my feel.....of cos there are pple who coped better by not knwing....so that the preg will be worry free....to knw or not to knw....also is a big decision...got to weight properly....

fr the day we have the foetus...to the kid...to when they grow up....is already a feat....no easy...

What myth?
Cause i know that things like sharkfin, cod fish cannot eat too much cause of high mecury level which might cause foetus distress or something like this. So i not sure if we can eat alot crab..

Hey all who replied my post..

thanks for the encouragment..yes yes i will carry on and not let myslef fall back to smoking again..
Hopefully the times when i was smoking and not aware that i was preganant, my bb not affected

i was thinking if we go for this oscar test and then wont we be torturing ourselves wif the results... And if really the results are not favourable, wat would we should do? Not keep the bb? And if the test is negative results, the time till our EDD wont we be torturing ourselves with negative thoughts.

my appetitie sudden change for the better yday.. i felt hungry so often yday, ate the most since i'm pregnant.. feel really weird...i'm in my 11th wks not even 2nd trimester yet lei..

<font color="0000ff">jerejoy</font>

i sunddenly realise y i keep dreaming of the whitish crackers !

when i see the word saltine, my brain think of salt, link the crackers to having the same texture as salt, whitish transparent

<font color="0000ff">mummy_norman08</font>

hehe, no fate with the saltine crackers

bot 2 packets of CARR's Table Water bite instead, 1 with cracked pepper..most attractive packaging among all biscuits available in teh supermarket to me

i oso bot 2 vita 3 in 1 cereals..berries favour & chocolate favour to put in office during hungry moments..now if hungry, confirm nausea also

hehe, heard of the crab myth and pals who were with me tat day keeps reminding me not to eat crab, but greediness took over & i consume my chilli crabs some weeks back

it is true tat it is good to do the test, so u r mentally prepared

but i guess if one din do the test, must prepare for the worst, so at least is mentally prepared

<font color="0000ff">Isabel</font>

u have my moral support, jia you

it is never late to quit

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font>

there is no right & wrong in the decision i personally feel

i think every mother know best whether they can cope with one, and every family's situation differ too

personally, my decision is the same as urs

<font color="0000ff">Lynn</font>

lucky gal, maybe ur MS disappear after 11th week

Isabel, dun recommend the pouch for infants.. coz from the pic, i fear that the pouch will curl the baby's leg and not ideal for development since the baby's joints etc are so delicate.. i would go for the kind without the pouch to allow more free space for their legs to move ard..

MTB March 08 Outing

Date: 25 August
Time: Lunch? 12pm?
Venue: coca steamboat/ soup resturant/ globetrotter
If you are interested, please include your name in the list.

1. eniale
2. Linda Chan / soup restaurant
3. dernemi
4. Adeline/Kimberly
5. abcdisney n gal
6. Shalom

ladies,maybe u want to indicate ur venue preferred.

cheryl,
dont worry too much.
that time my gynae offered me two test to test for DS. In the end, i choose Oscar even though she told me that probability is low.

cheesycake,
u saw ur bb heartbeat. congrats

Linda: thnks ya loh very happy... DS test is to be done at when? ard 3mths? me into 6wks 5 days today... tat time cant detect becoz only ard 5wks+

I'm new to this thread...can I join?

My EDD is 20th March, and this is my first baby.

I am interested in the pre-natal yoga class, is it still available?

baby pouch
actually initially i am also worried that baby might be bow legged when sitting in those pouches (i have 1 myself) but it prove to be wrong. hehee and baby tend to sleep better in those pouch! cause it is like sarong. When she is young i only let her sleep in it and not sit.

Lynn
congratz! Hopefully ur Ms is gone and u can eat more!!

bbpink
ya i every mom knows what is best. For those that chose to give birth though knowing their baby has DS i really think that they are very brave. I read that one mommy, though her baby has ds, instead of deciding if she wanna abort the baby, she went to read up more details on special care babies. Thats how brave some of them are. They have the courage but not me i guess.

Gratz babymouse!
Welcome to the club =)

gatherings,
glodetrotters is fine with me too =))

My EDD is 31st Mar, heart beat seen on 8th aug... hehe that time the scan pic shown bb size is 0.32cm

EDD,
hey, the edd when will be msotly cfmed har? or the first time we see gynae the date they inform us will be mostly the date ler?...

<font color="0000ff">Cheesycake</font>

hehe, very happy for u tat baby hb seen
congrats
will update when i m back home cos excel inside my home pc

Welcome & Congratulations to <font color="0000ff">babymouse</font>

hehe i like ur nick, cos all of us are expecting babies mouse
sound nicer than babies rats =p

<font color="0000ff">eniale</font>

congrats

hehe, our bb's heartbeat seen on same day 8 aug

EDD keeps changing one leh
u never noe..my last birth was au natural but almost 4 weeks earlier!

unless we choose c-section

<font color="0000ff">cheryl</font>

be strong and stay positive...
things may not be as bad as wat you imagined to be..and sometimes, fear of the unknown is greater than anything else...

<font color="0000ff">chessycake, eniale</font>
<font color="0000ff">cheesycake</font>
i think i've the same gynae as ya..dr ch koh from toa payoh right? hehe ...

babypink: thankie... yup so happy to hear the amazing HB sound... am very happy

thanks for the update...

Linda: oic thanks

twinklestars: yup same... how u find him? keke~ everytime when seeing him no stress de...

<font color="aa00aa">hey ladies,

so sorry cant make it on 25 aug. my frenz babe 1mth she invited me. next time ok? u ladies enjoy.

For the carrying of baby hmm..

it's good for preggy ladies to carry other baby on 1st month and 1st month ONLY! then the baby will behave guai guai. I carried my cousin's baby when i was with my 1st girl.

But it depends on how the baby's mommy see it. I also not sure myself.. hehehe..

Hi Babypink,

The saltine cracker is smaller and much crispier than Jacob crackers. It's a little bit salty and that's why I find it tasty. Hehe! I'm sorry that u are not able to find it in Spore anymore. I only remembered buying from Liberty supermkt when I was in my uni days. If nt, u can subst with Jacob crackers. It shld taste pretty nice as well.

Hi Mummnyboy,

It does help me to ease my nausea. If not, I will hv a sour plum to ease my nausea as well. But it seems that it's no longer available in Spore anymore.

Can I know if it's alright to apply mask when I'm pregnant? I told my mum that I applied mask and she forbided me to do so. She said same logic as painting of house.