(2008/03) March 2008

bellebeins,
it's normal to have a need to snack and feeling hungry all the time. you just need to substitute your food items into healthy snacks like fruit or dried fruit. you won't pile up the pounds. me if i'm hungry i drink milo. it's filling already.

petrina,
true delivery sure can feel contractions one but then again to some, they don't feel that much contraction, only very painful when trying to pangsai. then suddenly baby crowning already! i'm very scared about it too especially for 2nd babies. i always hear horror stories about not being able to make it to the hospital. some more my hubby is on reservist leh.

babypink,
i got that a few nights ago. just need to flex your calf the other way can oredi.

<font color="0000ff">linda</font>

wow, 27 days only ! hehe, usu will be even earlier one :p

========================

i just feel very high leh
very excited ..wonder how my boy looks like , very curious..

i have never handled a little boy b4..cos no bros oso ..hehe

Yeast Infection
I was diagnosed with yeast infection when gynae did a swab test on me at Wk 32. I did not feel any itching or any unusual discharge. No pain when peeing either. But the lab test results from the swab showed that I had a yeast infection.

Suspected cause was taking of antibiotics (due to a throat infection) one week earlier - and the antibiotics messed up the natural bacteria in there.

Anyway, the gynae said yeast infection is common in pregnant women but should be treated otherwise baby will also get it when they are delivered naturally through the birth canal. This will cause the baby to get thrush (commonly seen as white patches seen inside the baby's mouth).

Bellebeins,
What about snacking on fruits instead? Maybe get a variety of easy to eat fruits e.g. small pears, strawberries, mandarin oranges, apples etc. So if you are hungry, you can eat those instead of snacking on sweet stuff? Plus fruits will also help prevent constipation and won't cause you to have outbreaks.

Don't feel depressed la
All of us mothers to be sacrifice for our dear babies in one way or another. We can always look pretty again after giving bith, but most importantly now is the health of the baby

melissa: aiyo, cham lor.. ltr i pangsai halfway then feel contractions how? but will have show first rite? how's the sequence like?
i also flex my leg the upwards then it'll stop after awhile... though the aftermath hurts like shit while walking...

Melissa : Mi too mi too..My hb is on reservist on the last week of Feb..I scared scared cos i dunno what are the symptoms of labour, if is water bag burst or got bleeding maybe i know, but if is stomach pain..how am i supposed to know is gg into labour...Now i tell my bb to come out after my hb come back from reservist.

Thanks girls for the advise..

I try to snack on fruits also... but its my meals that I cant get enueff off... have double portions... if i have only one helping then i will feel hungry later..

anyway i trying my best to choose healthier choices...really worried about losing the pounds later on but mostly, I must watch coz my blodd pressure quite unstable.. and I'm snoring loudly at nite coz i cant breathe properly..affecting my hubby...

i hope to get over this mth quickly but at the same time so anxious towards the day I give birth..

Bb is growing well... and i guess that is wat matters most..

maybe its the hormones also...

Dear Cladi,

I have loads of discharge too.. told the gynae cos it smells abit. so she did the test. painless. then conclusion i got the group B something. so have to do the test again just before full term. so as to decide if antibat is needed.

Bellebeins : I think as long as bb is growing healthily in your tummy is good enough le, maybe u can cut down on oily &amp; fried food, then try to have more fruits...

Melody,
symptoms of labor.. hmmm crampy and contractions feeling for regular interval and it doesn't go away. first timer, always longer one. u might feel uncomfortable every 10 minutes or so. u must time it. the interval is going to get shorter too. before that yes i will lost my mucus plug too. it's like snot and brown and look different from normal discharge. sometimes yeah, for some, it's waterbag burst. but my waterbag was still intact when i went through labor. by the time u feel like die die u have to pangsai, a bit late oredi lor, probably means u have fully dilated.

Melissa : I duno lei, i really hope i have obvious symptoms to let me know im into labour..heeheee..Cos i still need to bath before gg to hospital mah...I scared by the time i know, i already have no time liao. And also from my hse to hospital is ard 10-15mins...Hmmm..I hope i have time to prepare..

melody,
you will know one lah. don't be afraid. i started out with zero knowledge too just like u did last time. anyway gynae will check your cervix weekly during your checkup. he can access if u're dilated oredi. if dilated, better be prepared. at least now can prepare hospital bag already. (speaking of which, i still haven't. not a thing. haha) ur distance is a plus point. i live in woodlands, everywhere i go is 30-40 minutes leh!

Liyun,
The dog belongs to him but I've been doing all the "dirty" job until I delivered #1. Even when I was preg with #1, I was still squatting and mopping the house.

abc'smummy
No need to peifu me lah.. Like I always say, when you are given a situation and you have no help, you will still survive ;-)

Sheryl,
Yes, due to our dog, we have to mop the house daily. He's a JRT, so he sheds 365 days a year :-( Hub only started the twice daily mopping in Jan 08, but he had been very consistent since. He's a clean freak!

Cloth
Talking about cloth.. my #2 will "help" me to clean the table using the table cloth and after that, clean his face with the same table cloth!!

3rd tri
Who's puking again now? I don't know if I'm the only one but I've started to vomit out the food I've consumed since 1.5 wks ago...

Harshbrown
I finally tried the harshbrown using toaster oven! It's such fuss-free and less sinful since there's no deep frying! hehehe

Eating
From my past 2 experiences, I ate alot during confinement. I think it's because I was breastfeeding then. Always feel hungry. People always say if you breastfeed, you save alot of $$ on milk powder but to me, it's not true as I eat like 5 - 6 proper meals a day to keep me going. So after working out the expenses, its not exactly cheap for my case.

Culture test
Just did my culture test last Fri and the clinic called today. I'm clear of GBS but got another infection which they do not know how will it affect bb :-( Was told to go down immediately to buy antibiotics to treat the infection, else have to wait till next Monday as the clinic will be closed for CNY :'-(

Yasmin
No need to buy nipple cream, just use your own breastmilk, it's the most effective "drug" hehehe

Nursing bras
Can try ERO too, think it's $19.90, very comfy.

Yu Tong
When's the gathering and where's your place? I was thinking if any moms want to meetup on 11 Feb (Mon) for coffee/tea?

BB's weight
I see most of the week 34 bb's weight are 2.2kg and above. When I went for my checkup last Fri, gynae commented that my bb is big at 2.2kg....

Cane
I don't like to use cane and I don't own one. I want the child to respect what I say, not scare of what I'll do to him/her. I have this book, title is something like "How to discipline without screaming/spanking". I'm adopting some of the methods and they are working fine for me.

Kell,
No worries, I'm expecting #3 and I have no helper ;-)

dreamlife,
Don't worry about GBS, your gynae will treat it before your delivery. I had it when I was expecting #2. I was given IV drip, oral antibiotics and vaginal wash prior to delivery. After delivery, I was given some vaginal inserts to clear the virus.

bellebeins: i eat lots of watermelons n fruits... get full very easily cause all water... if i get in the mood, i also can eat alot. but it's more of myself eating non stop. i realised tat I no longer get growling tummy - gastric... so i think i already have enuff food in my tummy. juz tat i greedy.

eg - i ordered kfc couple's meal, i wipe everything out all by myself.. hehe

at times, when i no mood, i can't even finish a bowl of congee..

weird...

melody/melissa/babypink: so far, 4 of our hbs gg reservist in feb... anymore? so coincidental... govt ask them go reservist in feb...
we shld have support grp in case our hbs not wif us...

BBpink,
Not your gal la. She was outside most of the time too. Its more of like dunno if I can cope taking care of a little being... :x Now getting cold feet. A lot of "what ifs" in my head.

Crampy and contractions feeling... On D-day, or maybe plus the day before, have to tahan stronger and stronger feelings for around 12 hrs... OMG.

Now I can't tell when I am full or hungry. But got acidic feeling in my stomach. I just took Annum too.

ermm, i dun have BH leh... or maybe i have n i dun noe the difference?

melissa: i really scared i wun noe if bb is coming out?
i think i super blur mummy... i think i'll ask gynae if there is any obvious symptoms... in case my waterbag dun break? n bb is engaged? possible?

petrina,
haha don't worry lah! you will know. just wait for the "show" to come and you know you're getting warm for labor soon! waterbag break, u still have hours before delivery ok. bb engaged, can check on routine scan. haiyah your hubby oso going reservist ah? no worries lah, we'll just keep each other in check online. must jia you each other.

<font color="0000ff">Petrina</font>

my hb's reservist is in march leh, until 11 march in fact :p

i hope to attend his step down ceremony

so hope my boy can come out on 12 march :p

Kell

hehe, yupz, my gal was feeling very cold...my hb said we r all reg, so we feel warm ? ;)

anyway, it is really fun to have a kid :p do enjoy it

talking abt delivery, it just seem yesterday when i recorded this after my 1st delivery :p

to share an old experience

http://davluvjo.multiply.com/journal/item/5/Diary_of_the_DELIVERY_for_Kelicia

=========

and this is what i wrote on 17 sep 2006, 5 days before the arrival of #1 on 22 Sep 2006
( her EDD was supposed to be 17 Oct 2006)

so a woman's instinct can be pretty accurate at times :p

<font color="0000ff">Dearest baby

your movement have been getting more intense

wonder whether you are getting bored of the womb

if I am you, I will be bored too

consuming the same stuff everyday

being curled up in an enclosed area

which thanks to ur greedy mummy

has been getting bigger lah ; )

Your daddy prefered you to stay till full term

and arrive after mid October

cos he is involved in IMF

and he wants you to be properly developed

inside the womb

As for your mummy

she prefers that you come out after Hari Raya, 25 October would be perfect

so that she can go on a few more JB trips

and enjoy her Public holidays

without them eating into her maternity leave =p

September 17, 2006</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hi Reena</font>

i think i go to library to look for this book
thanks for sharing

<font color="0000ff">Hi Pet</font>

my hb has 2 very good pals with him for this reservist..somemore after this is step down ceremony leh :p

so hopefully #2 can stay inside longer than #1

Hi all, wow- u gals are really active on this thread...

Babypink, my Dr is Paul Tseng from TMC. I live in Katong area. Not sure if there's anything else I missed out...

Ive been feeling very greedy too- only that I can't seem to eat alot cos of heartburn. Never had such experience with my #1. Feeling alot better lately- my sciatic nerve pains seem to have cleared. Only discomfort is inability to breathe deeply and heartburn. Apart from that have been super restless. Really want to play alot of mj before I pop. Not easy to coordinate though cos of #1 and usual mj kakis are mostly out of town. Wonder whether is there any other mj fanatics on this thread. =)

Really cannot wait for baby to come out so that I can get on with my life. =)

sandra: here here... MJ fanatic... i already opened my hse to MJ fans here... but i have trouble getting 3 other kahkis... i stay in HV.

Reena,

you have 2 kids plus one more coming and a DOG!!!!! Amazing. Finally understand how you are coping with everything. you super efficient. thanks for your advise. good to know that GBS will clear away.

My thinking about food and breastfeeding is at least you spend money on food which is for yourself and kid. more economic. and also the child more healthy = save on doctor's fee.

Melissa : Oh my parents' hse also in woodlands lor, if my hb go for reservist, i will go home cos nobody at my own hse..That means i same same with u..That y i tell my princess to come out after my hb come out from reservist.

hi babypink,

i read your story of ur 1st delivery.. so cute of u lei.. ur delivery seems like a breeze to me

Linda, i also feel gan chiong, anxious &amp; scare as i'm reaching 37th wks soon.. I also hope tht the symptoms are obvious enough for me to know tht i'm in labour soon. I wan to BATHE b4 going to hospital too!!!

this is a long post abt parenthood that i saw on a blog site and somebody had mentioned about the pacifier yesterday during the gathering. i think i am adopting the 2nd child syndrome!

from karencheng's blog at http://www.karencheng.com.au/
The Evolution of Parenthood

Your Clothes -

1st baby: You begin wearing maternity clothes as soon as your OB/GYN confirms your pregnancy.

2nd baby: You wear your regular clothes for as long as possible.

3rd baby: Your maternity clothes are your regular clothes.

The Baby’s Name -

1st baby: You pore over baby-name books and practice pronouncing and writing combinations of all your favourites.

2nd baby: Someone has to name their kid after your great-aunt Mavis, right? It might as well be you.

3rd baby: You open a name book, close your eyes, and see where your finger falls. Bimaldo? Perfect!

Preparing for the Birth -

1st baby: You practice your breathing religiously.

2nd baby: You don’t bother practicing because you remember that last time, breathing didn’t do a thing.

3rd baby: You ask for an epidural in your 8th month.

The Layette -

1st baby: You pre-wash your newborn’s clothes, color-coordinate them, and fold them neatly in the baby’s little bureau.

2nd baby: You check to make sure that the clothes are clean and discard only the ones with the darkest stains.

3rd baby: Boys can wear pink, can’t they?

Pacifier -

1st baby: If the pacifier falls on the floor, you put it away until you can go home and wash and boil it.

2nd baby: When the pacifier falls on the floor, you squirt it off with some juice from the baby’s bottle.

3rd baby: You wipe it off on your shirt and pop it back in.

Diapering -

1st baby: You change your baby’s diapers every hour, whether they need it or not.

2nd baby: You change their diaper every 2 to 3 hours, if needed.

3rd baby: You try to change their diaper before others start to complain about the smell or you see it sagging to their knees.

Worries -

1st baby: At the first sign of distress - a whimper, a frown - you pick up the baby.

2nd baby: You pick the baby up when her wails threaten to wake your firstborn.

3rd baby: You teach your 3-year-old how to rewind the mechanical swing.

Activities -

1st baby: You take your infant to Baby Gymnastics, Baby Swing, and Baby Story Hour.

2nd baby: You take your infant to Baby Gymnastics.

3rd baby: You take your infant to the supermarket and the dry cleaner.

Going Out -

1st baby: The first time you leave your baby with a sitter, you call home 5 times.

2nd baby: Just before you walk out the door, you remember to leave a number where you can be reached.

3rd baby: You leave instructions for the sitter to call only if she sees blood.

At Home -

1st baby: You spend a good bit of every day just gazing at the baby.

2nd baby: You spend a bit of every day watching to be sure your older child isn’t squeezing, poking, or hitting the baby.

3rd baby: You spend a little bit of every day hiding from the children.

clover,
i read this somewhere to in this forum. find it to be very true! i am laughing at myself now! wonder if it's true for Reena and MummyNorman but i think it is lor! kekekekekee...

in fact, gynae said most likely will not be preterm bb... hehee but i expect 38th week ..

my colleague who is due in mid feb, given birth le... i m the next in row.. my sch has 10 preggie women ths yr, all the way till sep.

babylush,
if that's my maid, i will her a good thrashing and kungfu kick without any external visible injury before i send her to police! such an inhumane act! i will curse her children hopefully will get the same kind of fate as that poor little baby! that's the reason why i just can't have a maid. trust issue! really make my blood boil after seeing that video!

Hehe Petrina, you and I in the same boat lah...I stay in the east, you stay in the west- far out places. =) Well, hopefully we can arrange something one day soon.

melissa: ya lor.. when i saw the video i also so angry. i feel like strangling her... she needs the taste the same treatment given to the bb.
Use tel book is good. or kick her ass down the stairs. so can say she accidentally fell. thrashing her will leave marks de...

linda: i've been dreaming my bb coming out early.. i hope not manz... after each thought/dream, i always ask my boy to be guai n sit till EDD...

melissa
the baby is so helpless! hope the baby is fine without any injuries. must ensure this maid is jailed and deported back to her own country.

STUPID IDOIT BUFFALO MAID!!! MAY SHE BE CURSED AND CAST TO HELL and NEVER EVER BE HUMAN AGAIN!!

She should reincarnate to become shit!!! damn.. she shld just OMG.. i am really sooo angry with that stupid damn ass maid!

NEVER TRUST MAID!!! I WILL NEVER TRUST MINE!!

AHhhhhh my blooding is boiling liao.. gosh!! Damn it.. GOD PLEASE PUNISH THAT IDOIT PLEASE .... Poor baby!!

crystal, i was kidding about how many teachers are preg concurrently in linda's and lush's schools.

babe_dude, dun be so mad... u already have the security camera implemented and wont leave yr bb alone with yr maid.

i have only seen part of the first video, which i think its enough. coz can guess wat happ next and its just v sad to continue watching. hope the maid will be jailed for a long time~~

I dunno manzzz.. i really feel so angry.. how can a reasonable treat a little baby like that.. HOW CAN?? Gosh.. is she a human?? Is she??

gosh.. goodness!!! I am speechless

guess thatz whatz happen when people snap... or cannot handle stress... they take it out on the defenceless..