(2008/03) March 2008

went to baby hypermart yesterday and bought a quinny Zapp + an maxicos infant car seat.. sigh~ haven't really do much research and bought it on the spot cos it's much smaller when folder up and abit lighter then the Preprego P3. abit regretted..

petrina,
grad to hear that ur bb is active again.. i have had the same kind of experience like u 1week ago.. and i was oso paranoid and worried tat my bb is not active when he normally is during the day..

redtea
actually dun hv to get such a gd stroller. I swear by combi - light and useful!

Durian
I oso bought durian yesterday from cold storage united sq. Yummy... one box $10. Very nice too.

Stroller
I intend to buy when my son hits abt 3mths...
The maclaren quest mod model... easy to fold n cheap... $339 @ JL. Wait for sale then buy.

RedTea: bb kicking lots today... haha, i think due to yesterday's midnite durian treat..

i hv a maclaren at home too. Easy to manuvoer but heavy. But if u knw the technique u can go up and down the stairs with maclaren without lifting it up! But $339 is not cheap. I got it at sales at $259 only...

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Breastmilk storage tray</font>

Anyone interested to get this? http://www.teething-teeth.com/Breastmilkstoragetray.html
Can be used to store expressed breast milk as well as food when baby is older.

So Easy Breast Milk/Baby Food Storage Trays

--Freeze baby food or breast milk into single serving cubes
--Simplifies feedings: one cube equals one serving
--Reduce waste: defrost only what you need
--No mess: spill-proof, stackable, and dishwasher-safe
--Each package include 2 trays and 2 lids

Fresh Baby Food Trays are specially designed to simplify feedings and reduce waste of baby food or breast milk. All you do is pour expressed breast milk or pureed baby food in the food safe trays, put them in the freezer and use what you need when you need it. The neat thing about the trays is they have covers, so there are no spills, no mess, and no odors. Each So Easy Tray makes 12 pre-portioned servings which measure about one ounce (30ml), which is a single serving of baby food or breast milk for a baby.

Breast Milk cubes are the perfect answer to many situations. Since cubes defrost quickly, they are great for topping-off bottles, thinning baby food, or just adding a little extra nutrition to your babys cereal. Youll only thaw what you need - convenience for Mom, Dad, or any caregiver.

See why parents say So Easy Trays are the best. They wont spill, and are an easy stackable way to safely store breast milk and pureed baby food. Cover, stack, and freeze its that easy. The heavy duty construction allows quick release of the frozen food cubes. And they are dishwasher-safe, so clean up is a breeze.

Each So Easy Breast Milk/Baby Food Storage Tray:

--Includes a cover to eliminate freezer burn and odors
--Contains 12 one-ounce serving compartments
--FDA-approved food-safe plastic
--Easy to clean

These Breast Milk Storage Trays are simple to use:

--Pour expressed breast milk into the trays, cover and place in the freezer.
--When breast milk is frozen solid, the cubes can be popped out of the trays and placed in a plastic freezer storage bag (labeled with the date)
--Place the bag of cubes immediately back into the freezer.
--When it comes time for a feeding, simply, select the number of cubes (or ounces) needed and thaw.

Each set comes with 2 tray and 2 lids.

1 set = usd$7.28
3 sets or more: $7.21
6 sets or more: $7.14
12 sets or more: $6.99

All prices in USD and exclude shipping.

Interested:
1. abcdisney - 2 sets</font>

abc,
sigh~ already bought liao.. no choice.. first bb tend to spend alot. :p

Petrina,
hee.. ur boy must like durian very much.. i anti durian one.. so my bb have no chance to taste durian.
i saw the maclaren one too.. easy to close lor.. but hor when close dunno the back or front wheels will touch the troller canopy area.. so i don't really like this design..

Petrina

hehe, yupz, agree tat frozen durina taste like icecream..for myself, i put in lower fridge oso taste very nice

linda

lucky saw ur msg b4 i left..so din make an empty trip to orchard..cos i was in toa payoh..tot if good lobang can drop by town

==

talking abt toa payoh, i went carona again..they have 2 3/4long skirts not bad

Hi MTBs,
I think i got to shop for bb stuffs next week liao, any sales gg on now? I heard from my colleagues that milk bottle steriliser are quite ex, any recommendations for the brands?

melody,
you just missed a great sale at metro yesterday as it's all 20% storewide.
i bought all avent products. avent milk bottle steriliser cost $171. perhaps you could consider about it ?

crystal
FYI nt all childen like avent cos the teats is very hard. Esp when they r teething. Eg my gal she use avent until she started teething... then hates it. Thus change to pigeon teats.. heard a lot of eg where children reject avent teats too.

today's ST... 2nd last page - Inbox section...
Report on Milk Bottle Plastic Material...
They say chemical will release in milk when stored in bottles.
Not sure how true though...

abc
thanks for the information. i am a FTM so there's quite a lot to learn from. i did not any extra milk bottles yet because the steriliser set and the breastpump set all comes with the bottles already. so i am like having 4bottles now.

Actually if really wan to buy milk bottles i suggest get the boggest size one. Cos they outgrow the 4oz very fast. I recommend Nuk or pigeon persaltic nipple

crystal
Try to get the silicon teat rather than latex. latex hv to change very often n when sterilise will produce a smell. Though latex is softer...

Adeline.. wow, i like the mani color!!! The pedi is also done well.. but i am more of a pinky than a red.. hee hee :p

So, how long will the colors last??

<font color="0000ff">morning all.....

how is your weekend shopping....

hmm... my boy down with flu again... so no shopping at the least not for this 2 week... will be missing all the fun...</font>

babe dude
it's actually both pink color. maybe one darker pink. i also like pink then red. hahah.. i ask my mom not to do lasting ones for me cause i need to look after daughter so now after my D&D i removing them already hehee.. for mine can only last about 1 to 2 weeks.

Havent been here for a long time, been extremely busy at work. There are so many things I have to clear before I go on maternity and I'm getting a bit stress due to the tight deadline. I've miss coming here and reading everyone's post.

But it's good to see that all the mummies are doing well. I'm in my 27.5wks now and still feeling great. By the way, is 27wks consider 2nd or 3rd trimester??

Has anyone decided on baby name already?? I get ask that question everytime I go to the gyne..hahaha. To the point that I'm getting a bit embarrassed that I still don't have a name. HB and me have decided to go with something that starts with A for our boy. But it's really not that easy.. seems to be easier to source for girl name than boy name.

adeline, no wonder.. i am wondering.. how to look after kim with such fanciful nails.. :p

usually these nice to look at nails dun last that long one hor.. i went for express pedi last wkend, got to know a SAHM there.. she was telling me actually preggie cannot do nails coz got chemicals.. then, i ganna shock, dunno how, coz i already did halfway liao.. shld be ok one right?? scare me manzz.. dun wanna harm my princess due to my own vanity.. :-(

babedude
when i am carrying kim, i did quite a number of times also. i dunno leh i think that nail polish is only mild mild one ma.. i also did rebonding everything.. Hmm.. i think such things hard to say one bah.. Dont worry ah! think nothing will happen. I only know that while doing, we will inhale the nail polish smell which is not good.

yah loh.. i also tot pedi and mani is ok.. but of coz there are various school of thoughts.. hmm.. i think shld be ok..

Liyun, i also do pedi only leh.. coz i playing piano..so my nails are kept short! :p

babe dude
dont worry oki? my mommy say alot preggy mommy go do pedi, medi, facial and trim eyebrow also hehee..

crystal
eh i think not necessary wor. that is xtra one. personally i dont find it a must to have. get other more impt stuff 1st.

Jus some food for thought:
Yesterday at yoga class, we were talking about how expensive these baby washing detergents and stuff are. The yoga instructor commented that at our time when we were babies, we used what our parents were using and we turned out fine.

So are we suckers for all these things? or is it due to better knowledge & technology we are giving the best to our babies? Then if our babies were brought up like us, wouldn't they be fine too?

food for thought after lunch

kais
i did not use baby washing detergents except for 1st time wash for pass down clothes. I use normal dynamo only. bottles i use normal water wash as well then sterilize 1 time per day. I wouldnt let my child be too clean if not nxt time abit bacteria only then they fall sick.

Crystal
ya i am using the way pet mentioned.
just use hot water =)

Adeline
Thanks for sharing. I'm thinking along same line as what you did.
Firstly to save $$ and also not to over protect the girls.

Crystal
That's also what my mom does for my nephews to heat up their milk. Soak the bottle in hotwater. Convenient.

Kais
ya.. last time kids can play ard with mud this and that.. nowadays kids fall sick sooo easily.. even chicken pox also need vaccination. last time where got such things? Raising a kid now is not cheap! so need to save on those stuff and at the same time, gotta get them used to it. Moreover u have 3!!! All we have to do is to ensure that they practice hygiene and cleaniness.

Kais
ya.. last time kids can play ard with mud this and that.. nowadays kids fall sick sooo easily.. even chicken pox also need vaccination. last time where got such things? Raising a kid now is not cheap! so need to save on those stuff and at the same time, gotta get them used to it. Moreover u have 3!!! All we have to do is to ensure that they practice hygiene and cleaniness.

ya... tats y though i confirmed my eyes on Pigeon Multi Steriliser, if in the end i no $$, i wun buy... Will buy pot to sterilise n use pot to warm milk.

If my frens getting me 1 set, i'll wan tat set. If not, i wun get.

Pram also.. I already aimed the maclaren pram.. State in my wishlist liao. If anyone give, i take. If not, i may not buy. cause too ex for me.. i rather let my son walk.. or hb carry...

I still considering pump.. These 3 costly items... Haiz... If no $$, i wun buy any.
If i can afford, then i'll buy. Otherwise wait 4 ppl give.

Pram - Cousin gave
Sterilizer - Neighbour gave
Walker - Pass down
Home clothes - Pass down
Powder, shampoo etc - buy using voucher
Sarong - pass down
Breast pump - For hygiene purpose, i getting new ones and i feel that it's a must if i really wanna breast feed.

Things i bought are
===================
baby sling
milk bottles for both #1 and #2
Outside clothes

Think other then that i did not buy anything much. Not even toys.

I also tempted to get better stroller but in the end i dont see the need to. Cause now #1 walking, she dont even want to stay in stroller for long. Last time ppl also live w/o good stroller. So no point buying.

Baby cot also pass down one. More spacious then bought one :p

petrina
u can actually tell your friends & relatives what u want for bb full mth, so they wont spend on things which u dont need. thats what i did.

jamie: difficult. cause the 3 items r costly... Unless they share bah...
Anywayz, i'm happy enuff if they give me disposable diapers..
Can tide me over for some mths...

Kais: thks. I've been searching yahoo quite faithfully liao... I shortlisted some auctions. C first bah..
I also intend to be like adeline..

So far:

Things i bought or thinking
===================
baby sling *Gonna buy soon* *frm yahoo*
milk bottles *Brand New hand downs*
Outside clothes *Bot*
Pram *Waiting for Gift*
Sterilizer *Waiting for Gift*
Walker *Not getting at all* *Not even as gift*
Home clothes *Pass down* *Bot Some*
Powder, shampoo etc *Bot during sale*
Sarong *No Need*
Breast pump *Thinking Pigeon brand new or Avent 2nd hand frm yahoo auction*

petrina
i agree, bb items are quite costly unless they share lor.
diapers: if u do go jb jalan, can get diapers there, its cheaper compare to here.