(2008/03) March 2008

when my hubby tries to listen to the bb heartbeat, he also kanna kick by the bb. so cute leh ...

morning all..
me MIA for quite sometime due to busy work schedule. How every mummies??

BB Kicks
getting stronger wk by wk, hubby can now feel the kicks too. so shen qi right

BB heartbeat
hubby can only hear bubble or water sound

Bb hankies
i'm interested in only 1 pack, anyone interested to share the other pack?

Faith, tt's good. Be positive. We will be here to support u.
I saw ur blog you are v pretty. Im sure you bb wil be like u. good. Nxt time I will my bb to court ur gal. ;p

poshies!
i'm in a very good mood today!! today i'm on half day and later go see gynae for my 24 weeks checkup at GlenE! then we're taking a stroll through the park with my toddler at Botanic Gardens! Looking forward for a few hours to come!

faith,
glad you didn't leave us.

faith: glad to noe u decide to keep ur gal... pls think twice b4 deciding to do anything u may regret in future.

twinkle: ya... seems tat our bbs very naughty... hehe, dun let our hbs feel their kicks...
Now i ask hb put hand he dun put liao. he say no point... haha. he so sad n sian...

Its Friday.. yeah!!! Good Morning ladies

I need some advice.. we were havin an discussion with my inlaw yty
Then I come to know.. my mil wana put my bb inside her room

Then I was wondering.. how is the successful rate like for first time mother on breastfeeding??? I was telling them not very convenient for me if I wana bf bb esp at nite rite but they seem like not very supportive with my idea of bf lol

I dun wana argue with them n fight to squeeze my bb into my small room n ends up I cant bf him is like fight for nothing in the end rite

Wat do u gals thk???

cladi
dun buy milk powder first....
let them put in room..
when bb cry for food, they will bring bb to u...
they will soon get tired of the bringing bb for food...in this case, ur breastfeeding will not fail and at same time has ur sleep when bb doenst need milk...and like tt u wun need to argue with them.....

cladi
i will want my bb to sleep with me..not juz for bf purpose in the initial months but i would want to bond with my bb...despite that it maybe tiring to keep on waking up to feed and change her. I want my bb to recognise me as her mummy- the one always around for her...

i think i would be jealous if my bb closer to her ah ma than me...what if she don't want me to carry her next time?? aahhhh...i think i would go crazy....

cladi
One suggestion is you must get ur hubby to stand on ur side whatever ur decision is.

The older folks hv their way of thinking which to us sometimes may be outdated BUT they also doing it out of goodwill lah.

So whatever u & ur hb decide let them know then. Now also too early to come to a decision. When baby comes then decide still not too late.

Don't worry about it now. In first week of BF, the milk will not be a lot n baby weight might drop.BUT it is natural. However, this is when old folks start to panic n can become very discouraging. However, if u hv decided to BF, u must perservere

Kais: Yup. =)

Maybe sometimes there are certain blows which I'm too weak to take thats y thought that I'd be better alone than with a baby. =) Thanks.

Will be strong again.

Faith, if you don't mind I can pass you some hand me downs bb clothing and socks. Awaiting for the hand me down stock.

Twinklestars and Cladi,
if you are gng back to work aft mat leave, then should spend day n nite with bb. :p else later start work liao quite difficult to work the night shift le.

Cladi:
I agree with twinklestars, I had seen some of the worst fights between mil & mum for bb (ending up with huge family meetings from both sides). But as a mother, u have the bb for 9 months before giving birth then someone else wana "take over" its a very horrible feeling. I will turn siao also if my bb don wan me and wan granny... Room small is never a good reason. If in the olden days, my granny can have 9 children in a 3-room flat. 1 baby in a small room is nothing.

Cladi,

I am not sure if this is correct, but I understand that it is good for the mother to breastfeed the baby at night when the baby needs milk because it will stimulate the mother to produce milk for the baby. i.e. If there's demand, there will be supply. If you stop breastfeeding at night, your milk supply will also decrease.

Any particular reason why your MIL not keen on you to bf?

Maybe can tell her something like - you attended HOSPITAL CHILDBIRTH EDUCATION CLASSES and the DOCTORS encourage mothers to breastfeed so that children will be HEALTHIER and won't fall sick so easily. Plus breastfed children also don't suffer from as much constipation problems.

Sometimes older generation can only be convinced IF the DOCTORS say so

cladi/liyun/twinkle: i agree wif u all... bonding is very impt in the initial mths...
I also very protective over my possession... BB is I 9mths carry de... cannot be closer to others compared to me n hb...

But 1 point by mummynorman is also true... If u argue wif them so much, u'll be stressed up... then u cannot concentrate on BF...
And also if bb slp wif them, then they'll be tired of knocking on ur room door every few hrs for bb's feeds... Then they'll either volunteer to buy FM or suggest u take bb back...
If they suggest to buy FM, u have to be firm n not give in lor... I think they also bobian...

blue skies: i told my MIL tat gynae say bb cannot drink FM... hehe, no good 4 health.. only BM then good. I insist.. She say my hb also no BF... also grow until so big... Then i told her tats y he so fat n unhealthy lor... hehe
I told her, we no $$ buy FM. So I'll BF until bb stop drinking milk... She bo bian, so she zip her mouth...

actually, my mum dont really supportive me to breastfeed also. But i die die want to bf hehee
i even tell my sch mgmt i intend to take no pay leave for 3 mths, so that i can bf my bb for at least 6mths w/o disruptions.

bb must sleep with parents in the same at the initial mths for safety reasons too. any wakes and cries will wake parents up. my initial plan is let my bb to sleep in another room but after i ask around, it is definitely not a wise choice to make.

cladi, hopefully u will be able to fight to get your bb into ur room.

pet, in the 70s, the doctors advocate new mothers to use FM over BM. but now we should know better, bf is better. no matter what i will bf my bb.

hahaha linda same here. If i manage to bf successfully i will take NPL for another 3 mth... I think inital stage is to perserve.. i intend to let bb slp beside me for the first mth so tat i can rest while bf.. oso.. a must to buy - COLIC DROP! For my #1,, i din hv any colic drop, she keep crying and wan suck for comfort.. i got so stressed up and hence gave up...

hi cladi,

what?? bb sleep with grandma??? For me, i will definitely wan my baby to sleep with me even though i'm tired or not bf... like what twinklestars mentioned, i wan to bond with my baby too, to let her recognise me as her mummy and not ah ma...

my mom and sil were also dissuading me from having the bb sleep wif me in the 1st month. They say tt i need the rest. Let the confinement lady n maid take care.

Oh well,i juz listen to them n keep in mind for consideration. Whatever i do finally, it's still my perogative

clover: i think because FM no biz? haha... so they force new mummies to buy milk instead of BF...

happyface: they think grandchildren is their property... so they very insist on slping wif bb as they think we r stupid, dunno how to care 4 our own babies... That they got experience, so they shld be the caregiver...

Thks ladies.. for all the feedback..

I understand the bonds u all mention.. I oso wan bb to b with me no matter I can breastfeed or not but my room is reali small til.. even I put a small playpen.. I need to climb over my bed to leave the room de lol but I reali dun mind tat

My hubby havin hard time telling them I wan bf bb directly he pai say to say.. yet my fil still dun get wat we meantkeep telling us bb cannot put in livin room etc etc I scare end up I got no milk ah.. ppl will say I act clever lol..

But I thk like all of u say I will insist to have bb with me be it ppl gossip behind me.. I sld not bother so much

cladi,
i have a huge bedroom but i still put baby beside me on my bed. easiest to BF that way. my mom didn't support BF but didn't insist that i don't BF. more like indifferent. so i follow my heart and keep her on TBF till she's 6 months old. BF is very good for her IQ development. she's able to speak very fast. can say mommy at 7 months.

hmm IMHO
if bb sleep w grandparents,high risk of bb being feed fm...

another arrangement if u dun wan to clash hard w inlaws,express ur milk out so they can feed bb at night.. or an lame excuse is that bb cannot drink fm cos tummy still young and bm is easier for digestion plus all other benefits..

My maid is coming tomorrow.

my house is a total disaster zone!! hahaha.. she will see it for what it is. I've not cleaned my house for a week ... :0P

Excited yet a bit concern with stranger at home.

<font color="0000ff">Strawberry,
where u stay.... if nearby then it is easier.... i don mind getting 1 more... though i'm getting 2 now

Hi meissa,
u must have left when u read this.... all the best hor....

Hi cladi,
do discuss with your hubby.... do let know them u intend to bf... easier is directly latch on type... then it will be easier for the baby to follow u... unless u want to pump out and let ur mil to feed the baby then it is better... although most of us will prefer the baby to with us... tell them..... it is advise from doc then baby need to be bf.... also if u afraid no milk... there are tons and tons of advise... like drink more soup.... i think there are a few... can search.... do note once gave birth... continue to latch on... regardless how tired..... it take about 3 week for the milk to establish..... so for the 1st 3week direct latch on is the best...

Hi Faith,
glad u are keeping the baby... if u need help to voice out...

Hi Venus,
still coughing... how how... i got 1 more paper to go... haiz....</font>

cladi
dun worry....no one will say u act clever...those who think tat most likely are relatives who are not educated...n u can dun need bother...u will feel sad nevertheless...but ignore...those educated will knw u are trying ur best.....since bb not out yet...dun bother too much...if hubby pai seh to say..then leave it first...i knw how hard is to leave it when it is nagging at u...but once bb out...and u are latching bb on...all will be known with not much been told....grandparents if wan to volunteer buy FM will seek ur thinking...they will not dare to ownself buy n feed when u are latching to bb once bb born....somehow i feel...i hoped ur in laws are not those forceful kind...those conservative generation who feel you can be control n manipulated......the only thing u will need to be firm is just the no FM part....n that already is super stress...so relax now...

is true that bb near to us stimulate milk supply....but as long as u latched each feeds...no pacifier..no express feed...no intro to milk bottle....no FM...no supplements...ur supply is as strong....

i been thru what u are feeling...n i knw how u felt..as a first time mom...u wan to gice ur best...be with bb more....n have bb near to u....but to have arguments over bb now make u depress....plus bb out, the hardship of breastfeeding will add on n make u depress even more....

Just went for detail scanning. confirm that it's a girl cause the 3 lines are sooo clear! .. i rush here and there w/o taking leave.
My boss sms me and ask me to collect time chit and if need, next week need to make up the hrs by doing OT. What the hell man! I always help out at event and yet i nv claim off days. Now i go away 2 hrs she down there not happy. but anyway i wont get angry over this!.

when scanning, the baby keep kicking the sonographer's hand wherever she put. 1st time exp power kicks from her. The sonographer was like 'i can really feel her kicks. She kicking and kicking' hahaha.. Can see all her fingers, kidneys everything heee.. Everything is oki.!

Faith
glad that you are back with us.. kekee.. I think i have some items which i can provide also.. lemme check.. certain things if got ppl give u can save $$ by not buying. anyway my 1st is a girl.. so i believe ur daughter can wear also! They say wear old clothes is better then new.

cladi,

i agree with mummynorman, u both still under one room, just put in ur room when ever u BF and when u awake, when u need to rest tat time u just put in ur MIL room. My aunty employ a baby sitter to look after her BB when their born but funny her BB bonding with her BB is better than BB with baby sitter. in fact her older daughter who used to care by the same baby sitter now only close to her daddy and i notice her younger one who r only 1 yr mostly want her mummy too if she around and she nv sleep at her parent's room. The most important is spending time with ur baby when BB is awake, if BB sleep just let BB sleep lah at their room. It's even better cause while u rest u no need to worry to change ur BB diaper or others problem. if not sure vr tiring. imagine u need to BF her every 2hr and need to change diapers somemore.

Cladi,

i agree with mummynorman, u both still under one room, just put in ur room when ever u BF and when u awake, when u need to rest tat time u just put in ur MIL room. My aunty employ a baby sitter to look after her BB when their born but funny her BB bonding with her BB is better than BB with baby sitter. in fact her older daughter who used to care by the same baby sitter now only close to her daddy and i notice her younger one who r only 1 yr mostly want her mummy too if she around and she nv sleep at her parent's room. The most important is spending time with ur baby when BB is awake, if BB sleep just let BB sleep lah at their room. It's even better cause while u rest u no need to worry to change ur BB diaper or others problem. if not sure vr tiring. imagine u need to BF her every 2hr and need to change diapers somemore.

Faith,

vr glad u make the decision, dun be too stress up urself just tell ur self u can do it. Fortunately u r in Spore, imagine those poor mummy who live in poor country, u r much luckier lio...no matter what's problem sure can be solve one as long as u speak up. more brains help u to solve r better than one brain. Mean while u need to change ur spending habbit, when ever u do u must think of ur baby first. Like me, i used to buy branded bag and love travelling, now i told myself these r only luxuries stuffs, not neccessary now. have or dun have our life also goes on and most important the joy now is not from the luxury items but it's from my BB.

Poshies,
u staying at jurong west right? i dont mind collecting from you cos i will be back to Jurong every wkends.

can order 1 pack for me? thanks

Just bought these from Causeway Point Metrol (outdoor), giving to friends as gift, its so cute. I still yet to buy for myself cos really hard to make up my mind!
1086872.jpg

Hi ,
I am from the Nov thread Mummies. I have a brand new Ameda Lactaline bought from Mothercare to let go at $300.

Seal was opened to check items. Warranty left another 20 months from now.
This is longer than the usual 1-year warranty period if u get from other places.
I didn't manage to use it cos family is not supportive of BF-ing.

I also have a pair of Mumsfairy Supershield to go along with it, at $320 together.
Self collect from Jln Jurong Kecil.
Interested, please PM me.

headache...who to share with???

Liyun,
ok, we took the 2packs offer & share. U place order??

sorry Poshies,i will share with liyun so you don have to order 1 extra pack which might be too many. Thanks for your offer!