(2008/03) March 2008

reena
i am learning...
i love gals...just that after having 2....the third to have opp gender would be great....but like u say....it doesnt matter as long all are healthy...and grow up healthyly....still i m sad...sorry to those ttc moms who may be reading n fuming....i dun wan to hide what i m feeling...i just somehow cant bring myself out of the sad in me...sigh....mebbe i am closing shop n in this life my family will not be complete....n the tot is the reason....

bbpink
me too an addict to tea...mine is milk tea....everyday must drink tea....very bad....max one day....i try to not drink....i read that too much caffeine can affect the bb...

and i share the tot of prefering all gals to all boys....if i were to have 3 boys i think i would be even sadder then now....

most dreams seems to cme fr the quantity of our tot on the topic when we are awake...so most likely is wun happen one...so dun worry....relax...and the dreams will be more pleasant...relax is the key...happy mom happy bb...

<font color="0000ff">Reena</font>

haha, tat did cross my mind..

but scared wat if i fall sick, can't breastfeed and it is late at nite , all shops closed and no milk for bb

PS: 3 years is fantastic! if i can total bf for more than 6 months , as in my supply good enough, i will be jumping for joy

reena

wow...u can BF for 3yrs!!! *Salute* to you...i am tinking hw long i can man...one of my fren, 2days cant liao...

Mummy Norman08
Don't worry, I'm not saying you shouldn't be thinking the way you are thinking now. I'm guilty of thinking like this too, except that was years ago before I met these wonderful moms! It's perfectly normal to feel the way you are feeling now.

I'm just sharing what I've seen and heard so that the mommies here won't feel so sore about having the same gender again.

I apologise if I've been harsh in my words.

Talking about tea, when I was expecting #2, I drank alot of bubbletea... almost 1 cup daily in addition to my usual dosage in the morning :p

Reena

wow...bubble tea.. during wkend, me went out with hubby, saw pple drink bubble tea, i oso want..then stop my him immediately...then he told me, basically i can only drink plain water....ribena still ok...=/....i oso hv been graving for ice cream...those uncle selling by the street at orchard de.....=(

adeline,
Probably. I try to keep a very happy disposition coz ppl told me if I dun, bb might end up grouchy as well.

reena,
I grew up with 3 boys. When I went away to college and staying with my relatives, they have 3 young boys too. Hahaha.. so literally, I spent the first 1/2 of my life around little boys. Apart from being naughty and rough, they're not all that bad..

mummy norman,
Caffeine can make bb hyper. Think it's recommended not to have too much.

reena
confinement lady and older gen like to say that....i used to hear it...u are very determined....i bf till dd 2 years old...and i wean her to ttc.....but sooner most folks will get so used to bf....n wun say that sentence...

babypink, there's such a thing call breastpump and such a thing call expressed breastmilk ;-) you pump out and keep in fridge, then you can leave the house and let the caregiver feed your bb, totally no restrictions at all =)

kea, yes, I'm persistent. I could have bf longer if not for the early contractions that I'm having. You see, I was expecting #2 while still nursing #1. I bf till the 3rd trimester but getting intense contractions and was worried I may go into early labour (pre-mature labour) so I stopped.

Reena
u have not been harsh...dun worry...
anyone would have say that to me....if i were to tell them how i m feeling...regardless i will be sore....but i m sure she will be as dear to me as if she were to be a boy...

so caffeine is will make bb hyper...so i try to moderate...

bbpink
petrol stations do sell milk powder....

Reena

wow....u look aft #1 with preggie #2...wow.....guess i don have tt kind of energy....me actualli v scare of delivering....i told my DH , this will be our one n only precious heir....

Kea,
Is this your first? My dh also quite protective when having #1 but now #3 leow.. he trusts that I will take care of myself so he leaves it all to my own discretion ;-)

And btw, I ate lots of ice cream during preg too :p

liewb,
My family has more boys than girls too, which is the reason why I prefer girls to boys :p

Oops, now I now why both my kids are so hyper... they are high on caffeine..hahaha

Mummy Norman08,
Yes, older generation tend to be less pro-breastfeeding friendly. When I hit the 6 months mark, MIL kept asking, "when are you going to stop?" (she breastfed till 4 months) I just smile and walk away. After ignoring her for the next few months, she kinda got used to my ignorance and stopped making negative comments =)

Kea,
Yes, was preg with #2, no maid and looking after #1 plus breastfeeding during pregnancy ;-) Now, 2 in tow, preg with #3 and still maidless =)

i drink bubble tea and eat ice cream alot oso... hb nvr stop me, cos he believe eating in moderation... but if too much will scold...

Reena

yup, tis is my first...... hmmm, guess my DH stop me fr tking cold stuff is becoz he tinks my body is weak....even i drink tea in morning, i will cramp at nite liao..so he v scare....sometimes i v bad, still throw temper at him , say everything oso cannot eat n drink....might as well starve me to death..=/

Kea,
Then it's your fault lor... hehehe... preg woman tends to get mood swings ;-)

Since you know your body system, it's better to refrain then.

do u all exp dry lip aft preggie? my lip super dry and jus it dry till bleed.....=/...any gd lip balm to recom?

I feel that there are like alot conflicts ard here.. but i guess all mom will have their own thinking..

I will be disappointed if i have 3 boys but if i have 3 girls, i would be happy. Guess my HB will be the one crying hehee..

Reena
all of us know that there is breastpump and EBM.
Anyway u are great to BF for 3 years.
Not all will have the patience.

Kea
your HB is good ma! at least this shows that he care about both you and baby hehe.. though u will feel bad about not giving in to ur craving but on the other hand, he cares for you both!

babypink
during my 1st week of confinement i had high fever, i dare not BF my daughter but they say that it is safe. Then that whole day i didnt pump. cause of that my milk supply dropped terribly.. Sighz.. Initially i tot i will hv determination to BF but i listen to the old folks and gave in the formula milk. This time round we'll have to encourage each other ok!.

Not all knows about breastpump and EBM. I suppose you know because you have breastfed before.

Before I became a mother myself, I don't even know breastpumps existed! :p

kea
mebbe u take without ur hubby knw..like tt at least u wun be frustrated..cos u have not been stopped...hee....
cos take to at least qunch the desire...moderate shld be gd...

adeline
to be sick n breastfeed is not easy...and the fear that will trf to bb scared u as a first time mom...ur next rd of trying will def be better....not easy...esp the nagging fr outsiders...the discouragement...jia you...

<font color="0000ff">Reena</font>

i actually invested in 2 pumps, avent and medela

my prob is using the pump i can't express much milk , i tried until my nipple bleed and i persisted still

latch on directly somehow the flow is better

keep pumping but fridge has a constant low supply

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font>

okok
we must cheer each other on

<font color="0000ff">mummy_norman</font>

hehe, frankly i have to check this out..

as in petrol station, dun rem seeing it at caltex opp my hse

perhaps cos i was not looking for it specifically

bbpink
u can go there n look look see see in case u may need it....if have...then u can no need buy FM first...in case touch wood u fell sick during we hrs...u still can grab a tin....

during first few mths, first time breastfeeding mums, pumps will heard....can try hand express...i rem it hurts so badly for me....fortunate my gal sucks and ease the engorgement...and by sucking will up supply...breast pump do the effect but painful at first...got to have a hang of it...

Mummy Norman08,
You bad.. teach Kea to do "illegal" stuff.. hehehe

Yes, when you are breastfeeding the 2nd time, it'll be such a breeze ;-)

babypink,
Try tandem pumping, I did that while nursing #2 and I get lots of milk easily. But of course, you must master the "balancing act" ie to balance bb on one side and pump the other.

reena and mummy norman

hee...i don dare wor..coz i oso scare cramp cramp..then i will say out to my hubby de..then he will go o-be-good...=/..haha

reena
no lar...
must not total abstain mar...
sometimes spoil urself...
like my mil will complain me frink cold water n then say my gals cough is cos i drink alot cold water....so i dun drink in front of her lor...hee...then she cant complain is me mar....

kea
if wan secret drink then cannot tell....must keep secret....but if u scared then avoid...if really cant ctrl then take mebe a gulp?...

If you are sick and still breastfeeding, the recommendation is to nurse your bb more.. so that he/she gets the immunity from your breastmilk, thus lesser chance of falling sick ;-)

mummy_norman

hee...tt day i drink tea lo..then go hm cramp, hubby c me xin ku, then he ask, morning drink tea is it....opps!...hee....ganna catch liao....lolx....

my hubby oso don let me paint my nails...then recently i jus persuade him and then i start painting again..hee..use those no harmful chemical one..keke..then my mom saw, she like, aiyo y cant u jus tahan for a while....=/...i told her me don wan become aunty..then she say gt kids mean aunty liao..then i say i am only 22...=/.......

<font color="0000ff">Kea</font>

ur hubby is caring lah

-------

hehe, talking abt icecream, i have been craving for it since 1st few weeks

so far only consume 1 big tub of choc mint and 3 cups of choc & raspberry

and last nite after dinner i had a raspberry one and a choco one

Mummy Norman08,
Quite true also.. one of my ex-collg, she was craving for sweet corn but didn't get a chance to eat it during her preg... now her son LOVES sweet corn so much, can indulge in them!

babypink,
I always believe in this... when there's a will, there's a way. Positive thinking is winning half the battle. Ganbate!

But then again, if you really cnt breastfeed, there's no need to feel guilty about it. Tell yourself you have already done your best.

babypink....

i wan ice cream!!!!!!!!!!!!!!=(...me tell hubby if i buy those small tub one, then i put in bread, he oso don allow.....will try to persuade him again...lolx...

my hb dun let me paint my hand nail & toe nail, dun let me do anything to my hair except cutting...

u all make me tonight wanna eat ice-cream liao

Kea,
From your description, you seems quite weak.. think you need to really take good care of yourself. My mom always say, eat well during confinement to "adjust" back to good health.

Yes, breastmilk is full of anti-bodies and is best for your bb. Of course, if you are not suffering from any serious illness, if it's just normal flu, cough or fever, all the more you should nurse your bb. However, it'll be very tiring on the mother because you're half-dead and yet still need to breastfeed.

Breastfeeding is not an easy journey, I've BTDT so I know. But like I said, it's all in your mind. I almost gave up breastfeeding with #1 but due to my strong character, I want to prove my CL wrong, thus I persisted and have no regrets.

I've encouraged alot of my friends/collgs to try breastfeeding and most of them are not first time mom. They kept telling me, "but I don't have milk leh..." They got inspired by me and did very well when they had their #2.

heng i got eat crab.. all say cannot eat, but craving for it... hehe... they say wait bb itchy hand or maybe "heng xing ba dao"

Linda,
I'm fortunate my MIL is not like that... when I say didn't have crabs for dinner for a long time, she will go buy some and cook for me. I guess I ate so much while having #2, thus he's so cheeky and "lots of hands" hahaha

Cheryl,
Don't know coincidence or what... mine very "touchy"

Reena

me v prone to flu....then young gt asthma...i cant even eat bird nest....scare will casue my asthma attack...i rem once i asthma till so serious, walk 1 step oso cant breath..then my mom piggyback me to clinic..that time me arady primary 3-4..quite heavy liao..i tink liao, i v heartache for my mom...

Kea,
I used to take my mom for granted until I became a mother myself. Now, besides my family, my mom is my next dearest =)

You better take good care of yourself and not eat those "forbidden" food. Probably a mouthful or so won't hurt but not too much. Instead of drinking 1 cup of tea, how about 1/3 cup, just to satisfy your craving?

reena

den i think my boy going to be like that oso le lah. >.< but i only ate once....

kea

u better take care of urself.. since young i oso have asthma. quite jialat oso. plus nose bleeding... my grandmother take care of me wor... but when reach 15yr old, everything stopped.. no more asthma n nose bleed... but quite prone to breathing problem if coughing. cos cough alway at least 3-4mth den can cure

reena

i don drink everyday ...maybe drink once per week only...then drink only half, throw liao..=/...guess is gd enough?? hee...

ya lo..aft i marry, my mom is the 1st in my heart...

<font color="0000ff">Kea</font>

22 is very young lah, aunties are kpo people like myself who is going to ask u how old is ur hb =p

u really must take good care of urself

<font color="0000ff">Bfeeding</font>

Will try my very best this time round, thanks for the encouragement

<font color="0000ff">bathing</font>

this time round, i hope to bathe everyday with herbs
hehe, hope hubby can bring a bottle of concentrated herb water and a big tub to hosp for me, then mix warm water with herb, and there I can feel clean fr day 1

the last round, i refrain 3 days from bathing when i was in hosp and bathe on alt days initially, was so uncomfortable

2nd time mummies, who bathe and shampoo everyday last time round ?

yes. cos if cough can be very jialat... cough till cannot sleep oso ah... like going to cough my lungs out liao...

so everything just take in moderation. not sure dun take.. hehe

babypink

lolx..u r so funny...my hubby is 28...

ya, am trying hard to tk gd care of myself..thx all..=)..so nice with you all ard....=)

kea..
Are u 84 or 85? ur HB 80 or 79?

hehe i am 84 and HB 79. Seems like similar from your age!!
Family is also my 1st piority. They will always be by ur side but friends will leave you one day and wont support u thruout ur life.

babypink
alamak i think i worse. i really didnt wash my hair thruout my confinement hahaha.. so dirty right! i use dry shampoo.. 1st 12 days i just wipe my body with herbs! after 12 days then i just shower once per day.
So i feel very dirty to BF my girl also. i express thruout without her latching. kekkee..

Cheryl
i heard myths that hor when eating crab dun go think about those pantang things then baby wont behave like this. Dunno true or not.