(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mee suah very easy leh ...

i cook for adult de lah ... I will put onion in BAO XIANG (fragrant it) then with prawn, meat, egg fried liao then add water in .... after water boil add mee sua .... remember to wash the mee suah first cos will be salty. Then add in some soya sauce for taste can liew

Angelsky, QQ
Thanks! Err, what's the diff between this thermal pot and the shutter chef? Why so big diff in price? Isn't it the same "cook on the go"? Is the price $79 on promotion or permanently? If promo, when does promo ends ah? Me back only 3apr onwards leh, can someone help me buy? :p

Mei
Night safari only? Zoo have or not?

pixiepixel, i totally agree with you lo. last time got this lady push her 4 year old in the stroller in taka, the boy scream and kicked, she just ignore, mother to mother point of view, i understand how she feels and its good she is ignoring, but there are alot of other pple who dont, some even commented why bring the boy out etc.

the last time my girl cried on our shopping trip, even the cashier commented, wa so good at fake crying. I used to bring her out more often, now with #2 coming and her unpredictable behavior, i dont really dare to do that so often.

QQ one day cook for me can.. i'm good at eating, not so good at cooking...

angelsky
Isetan sale price huh.. wonder if saturday still have sale...

luca
i believe it's a side effect of the medicine that they take for the thyroid problem

mylife
IF i'm there this Sat & IF there's still promo.. i may be able to buy for u if my husband dun make noise! But hor, i think Isetan cardmembers get better deal?

wendyg, still cant get thru AJC leh. ;) dun know why..

Kam, where is your dr's clinic? You still not yet sent me the photo of the Mandarin DVD for kids.. ;) am still waiting, when you got time, please send me to huh.. ;) TIA.
Confirmed Johanna is teething.. how about Haore? is his eating back to normal?

Mei: u have discount for zoo also ah?? ;) I will check with hubby and re-confirm with you again tom. ;)

blessbaby,
nope. zoo boh. sorry.

<font color="ff0000">ZOO Discounted Tix</font>
but i know a mummy selling discounted sg attraction tixs. let me ask her.

got 2 types of thyroid.
hyper and hypo
hyper=weight loss
hypo=weight gain

my mom got Hypothyroidism, my ex-colleague got Hyperthyroidism. my ex-colleague keep complaining 'very hot! very hot! eat how much oso very thin...

i remember when i was young, my mom drank iodine to combat her hypothyroidism...
hey it runs in the family one leh...

angelsky
harnor, at the metro cashier counter...the cashier laff laff and say 'aiyoh...why cry until so ke lian?" i just shrugged lor...wat to do...
i think thick skin a bit, dont care ppl's coments bah...

blessedbaby
hi, i just called them &amp; i spoke to someone

ACJ Women’s Clinic Pte Ltd
339 Thomson Road #03-03
Thomson Medical Centre
Singapore 307677

Tel: 6353 2033
Fax: 6250 5168

mylife to be frank I am not very good at comparing heheheh .... my frd say good and she have it so she use i see good means good hahahah

Wendy no problem .... i go ur hse cook can heehee

pixie
sometimes before sleep they also hv to cry cry cry hor. even tho i'm carrying him, soothing him, latch him on etc, he will still struggle and cry VERY LOUD, then soon he will sing songs and zzzzzzz

wendy
hahaha!!
sing songs?? really ah
paiseh, mine slow in speech, dunno how to sing song leh....
mine will roll and twist and pinch my face and zzzzzzzz
sometimes wake up suddenly and cry VERY LOUD. as tho nightmare liddat?

aiyo, poor thing..empathy to those with thyroid problem, which woman wants to be fat.

wendy, pixie,
at least ur boys can still fall asleep after crying but problem with my boy is that when he starts to cry he will get fiercer and will not stop until he gets what he wants. faint!!

<font color="ff0000">Discount Tickets to Singapore Attractions!!</font>

mylife\blessedbaby,
yap. the seller still sell discounted tix.

eg. zoo with tram rider = S$19 A, $9 C
eg. night safari with tram rider = S$28A, $13.50 C
eg. zoo + night safari + tram ride = S$39 A, S$20.30 C

She also sells tix to other sg places of attractions too.

As parents, we have to be thick-skinned! No matter how many dirty looks, stares or even comments we get from other people, just have to ignore and discipline our kids in the same way as we would at home. If we choose to ignore their tantrums and let them cry, just have to grin and bear with it. If other people get irritated then too bad…they have to get over it! One of these days, they will become parents themselves and go through exactly what we went through….hoho!

Anyway, I think most people are just like me - We look becos we want to see how other parents handle such situations and learn a few tricks from them

luca
i just let him CIO leh...i aimed to be like yvonnelim haha...
jokes aside...i really try to CIO cum reassure lor...it works for me leh, to a certain extend...

i ever went for anger management therapy before. my therapist told me human beings, young or old; once they pass their anger threshold, nothing will make them listen/simmer down...only can bring it down slowly. it is a combo of your adrenalin and your anger levels at work. once adrenalin is pumped through your body, you need some time to cool down. like after a jog, you are always full of adrenalin. you need to jog on the spot, do some stretching to cool down right? same theory lah

we adults can have the common sense (brain power) to know that we have to stop ourselves from hitting that limit (take deep breaths, count from 1 to 100 etc etc), in order not to go to "the point of no return". but kids dont know mah...so, a time out aka quiet time is the next best solution lor. that's what super nanny show is all about mah haha...

sorlie, too lor soh, just my 2cts worth

This reminds me - we (hubby and me) used to be one of those people who would get irritated with noisy kids screaming and banging tables in restaurants. We always comment how come the parents don't do anything about it. See what happened…my boy is the one who's happily screaming and banging tables in restuarants now…hahaha…and there's nothing I can do to stop him!!

but sometimes i wonder if we ignore them too much, will they grow up to be a frustrated and bad tempered person?

i rem tat day, vernon pooed. so i went to diaper changing room, guess wat? he cried all the way when i m changing his diaper... his butt is full of poo loh... and he cry like i m beating him or torturing him loh... i think ppl outside might think i m abusing him

my son fakes crying if he sits in the pram for too long, i think he wants to be carried/crawl outside. i'll usually give in and carry him out. He's also beginning to beat me when i say "cannot touch the fan, no no". I think he learns the "beating" from his bigger cousins who always bully him.

Hi mei,
I'm interested in the discounted zoo tickets. How can i contact the seller ?

Luca,
Me and QQ lor…thyroid problem! Mine also giving me problem recently, keep getting giddy spells…arrgh!

Pixiepixel,
Agree with you. Actually when our kiddos are having a tantrum, it's best to bring them to a quiet corner and just let them cry it out. After they have released all the frustrations, then we explain and talk to them about what happened and why mummy/daddy did what they did. More effective then trying to make them stop crying when their "crying buttons" have already been pressed. I remember when I was young and if I was crying, my mum will tell me to stop crying at the count of 3…it's not possible lor when you're at the peak of it, the more I tried to suppress the cries, the louder the cries became….hahaha

joeey,
u pm me, i email u her contact. not sure if ok to show her email address here or not.

if so many people wan zoo, may want to consider to ask for more discount. hahaaa. just a thot.

hmm, if my son screams or fake crying, should i ignore or tell him "no, cannot like that" ??
how to discipline a 14 month old ?

luca
its a delicate balance hor
after i ignored my boy, after he stopped his fake crying liao, i will explain to him why cannot give him this or let him touch that. he dunno nevermind. i keep "ngiam keng" to him, hope one day he will get it lor. our kids all very clever one lah

then after that, big hug to him, and tell him "mommy loves you very much" hurhur

last time in tmc during delivery, mrs wong say everyday must say 3 good sentences to him (e.g mummy loves you, daddy loves you, you are very special, good job for xxx!). up to you to believe lar

wendyg, i called the same number you listed here.. always reach voice mail system.. aiyah, i call again now.

mei: will let u know if my hubby wants to go.

yvonne
harnor
when i was young, my mom say "you shou (keep) sheng now hah!" i always struggle to make that happen. coz crying so much liao, the sniffing is non stop one leh...and the body is racking with the sobs...how to keep now! then keep? seow leh

i think after the point of no return, do nothing else but time out. i think best solution. i tell xandall "no!" very firmly, he laff at me one...puiz

Luca,
As long as you're showering your kid with love, it doesn't do any harm to ignore them when they're having a tantrum
They throw a tantrum becos they get frustrated from not being able to express themselves. Let them vent their frustrations first then give them a hug and explain why you're angry with what they did. It's not complete abandonment or totally ignoring them so it's ok.

Cheryl,
Happened to me before, my boy hates diaper changing especially if he has to lie down in some strange looking nursing room….everyone thought I was abusing him as well. I was really upset after the incident but come to think of it, who likes to lie down on a cold and dirty plastic changing table anyway?

^5 yvonne
sometimes i really can see my boy struggling to express what he wants. he wants to say something but dunno how to say - limited vocab/speech anyway. so yes, most times, tantrums is coz of that.

also an insightful tip:
our kid displays their worst behavior infront of us, but not infront of strangers is because they are learning social skills now (mind your p's and q's etc etc). since they hold no barred feelings from their parents, they'll always show their worst and best emotions to us; while they show good behavior infront of relatives/strangers. it is just a learning phase for them to know where they stand socially

blessedbaby,

My gynae is Dr WK Tan. She only sees patients at TMC.

Yup, got the photos ready for you, just haven't e-mailed you. Will definitely do it today or tomorrow, ok?

My boy rarely cried when we are out. Guess we are the lucky parents :) But if he cries/throws tantrum, we quickily distract his attention by showing him something else, that works for my boy. If at home, he throws tantrum, depending on what causes that, I will either ignore him and let him cry or soothing him immediately.

for me, if my girl is shouting loud to get what she wants either at home or outside, both me and hubby will talk to her and explain what is happening. If she still not calm down, hubby will bring her around and show her other things... we don't ignore her.
We also sheldom say no to her without a reason. We will say "you cant do this and that" but will explain to her, if she does this, this will happen. Like windyg says, teach her cause and effect. we see it works. Dun just say no to them at this young age. Out paths is to provide a good learning environment for them to discovery and learn.
at this age, I believe, we need to show them alot of love... ;)

Yvonne, pixie,
wow im impressed with the way u know how to deal with ur kids, so knowledgeable unlike me hehe
where u all learn all this har?

Luca,
I buy lots of books and magazines to read
A good book is "What to Expect - The Toddler Years"…very informative and gives practical examples. Reading up on all these helps me to understand my boy's development and behaviour and how to deal with it.

wendyg, just spoke to one of the staff there after 3 calls just now. Very hard to get them. managed to make appointment too. ;) But very far away.. on 20th April.. ;(

Yvonne, pixie,
thanks, now i must start reading up liao hehe hope still not too late.
I'm ashamed that being mother of 2 kids, m still so ignorant on these things.. sheesh!

blessedbaby
hmm, would u like to call up other gynaes to see if they hv earlier appt? u can chk whole list of TMC gynaes from the "Find A Doctor" page. Or just go to one near your home?

pixie,
hehe like wat? :p thanks anyway.

Probably coz i dont have much problems with my #1, but #2 really gets on my nerves and im totally lost, hoping that he will get better when he gets older.. *cross fingers*

luca,
So what people say is true - If 1st child is easy, 2nd child will be difficult? I see this in quite a no. of my friends/relatives.

Yvonne,
yes i must admit that its true, as far as im concerned. My mum told me before no matter how many kids u have, sure got 1 will give u problems.

Its for u to find out lor hehe

blessedbaby,

Last time I called the ACJ clinic, they also can't give me an early appointment. You want to try my gynae, Dr WK Tan, if you can get an earlier appointment? She is at WC Cheng &amp; Associates (WC Cheng is the founder of TMC). Tel: 62534122. Usually they take down your query and the Sister will call you back in 30-60min time, depending on how busy the clinic is. With my gynae, you must prepare questions to ask her, if not she won't automatically speak out. She is VERY experience.

Yvonne/Luca,

I hope it won't be for my #2. But having said that, I must prepare for a difficult #2. Cos my nephews also like that. #2 super duper to handle, totally opposite than #1.