(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy, yes... talking to baby make sense. We talk to ours also - all the time, since 1st trimester and forseeable future (aft birth).

Mom2nat,
I've been giving my boy Friso 1 Gold. So far so good, no constipation problem and he's taking the formula quite well.

Re: Confinement Food
Counting down...this sat is last day of confinement...damn sick of the food liao. But at least my mum allow me to drink cold orange juice and ribena (to prevent constipation due to all the heaty food) and I can also eat ice-cream...hehe. Finally can start to eat "normal" food after my boy's full month celebration this Sun.

jacelyn,
confinement can take garlic meh? my mom says can't take garlic leh cos it'll cos bad breath.. so my food strictly no garlic. why don't u tell ur cook to b more creative? like suggest somedays
<font color="aa00aa">1)mee sua wif kidney meat,
2)western dishes like pork chop wif potato,
3)fried mee tai bak wif confinement ingredients,
4)sesame oil fried rice wif lotsa eggs/ meat/pork,
5)dnr dishes wif diff varieties like diff veg (broccoli, kailan, four seasons beans),
6)diff styles of soup (pig intestine pepper soup, fish/papaya soup/ chix soup, etc)
7)kway tiao/ mee hoon soup for lunch
8)buy chee cheong fun but only add little bit of soy sauce n sesame oil for breakfast
9)buy Sara Lee All purpose pound cake for teabreaks etc etc...
10)porridge wif minced meat/gnor fish</font>

superbee
my breasts stopped bleeding but sore cos of the healing wound n i still latch on cos the pd said bb's saliva/bm got healing properties and after each latch, i do feel betta...

itok
i got the keep wanting to go toilet and lotsa pee.. it's like every half hr pee once... dunno why pee extremely lots... at least now u r 3cm dilated, u r only 7cm away... JIA YOU!!! at least i tink u won't suffer so much labour pain when it comes. jus like QQ, v fast process... don't b impatient cos ur endless nites r approaching soon. esp 1st wk, i find it a big change n quite tough to adapt, esp if u gonna bf. must take care of ur breasts, let ur bb suckle properly... if not, like me sore/bleed nipples - it's v painful... i don't mean to scare u lah...

To those who are bullied by their CL or MIL who gave them same confinement food... ask yr hubby to borrow these two books from our national library and ask the CL/MIL to cook them:
1. The only Confinement Food Recipe,
2. The essence of Confinement Cooking, http://www.famouscuisine.com/mag_sp_0506.htm

For those planning to hire CL in the future, ask them before hand if they can and are willing to cook those dishes in the book, if no. Move on to the next one.

Yvonne,
can also eat ice-cream, cold orange juice and ribena? yummy! I'm craving for all the sinful food - coke, kfc, mos burger....

icy,
when we were using the phototheraphy machine, we forgo the blindfold and stuff the "holes" in the machine with lots of towel and i let her wear her bib to cover the holes from the neck.

Anyone of you did massage and v good? I can't find the list of massage ladies tel numbers you all posted. Anyone can post again or recommend? MUst sign package?

Cathy,

to stop breast feeding, u simply dun pump out the milk. If u feel engorged, use hot towel or cold cabbage to soothe. The milk will go off itself!

mom2nat, me too stay Pasir Ris

Luvv, i read that you (n some other mummies) can rent the phototherapy machine home. Where did u rent from? The hospital where you delivered?

My hospital (Eastshore) doesn't have this rental option. In the end, baby had to be hospitalised. I asked, they said the machine costs a lot and they do not allow rental.

icy, me and my dh talk to baby countless time :'( till i cry..asking her why she so naughty making me go thru all this..
in the end notin happen except lots of kicks and suffering for me..Ppls say she is stubborn like me..

Re: Hardial

Icy,
She really so unrealiable??? She gave me a call that day to arrange and I told her I want to start on Monday. Now starting to have second thoughts. :eek:p
How much is sassy's massage lady charging?

talking about massage ladies, I think they tend to be very yaya papaya. Especially the one I'm using now.

Confirmed with her sometime ago and told her where I was staying. Then when I was due, I told her I preferred the morning timeslot but she say she cannot make it. Idiot. In the first place when I "booked" her, why never tell me? Nevermind, after much negotiation and her telling me not to use her (sibei angry with her... where am I going to find one last minute?!), she finally have a morning time slot for me after I talked to her "nicely" in my nicest, kindest voice. PUIZ!

Today, I had to go to the hospital with my baby and turns out, baby had to stay in hospital for phototherapy for jaundice. So I called massage lady half an hour in advance to tell her that I cannot make it. She asked me, "NOW THEN YOU TELL ME?" WTF... if i know I cannot make it, I would have told you! How would I know how long the checkup and admission of baby would take?! Super pek chek.

Later, she called me back to tell me that today's session still counted as one. Meaning, I'll be paying her this session for nothing. SUPER PISSED OFF WITH HER! ARGGHHHH....

Decided not to extend any massages with her and I WILL NOT RECOMMEND HER to others TOO.

BLAH.

prata queen,
i rented the machine through my PD at Mt A, the company is

South-Asia Biomedical Engineering Pte Ltd
Tel: 65636228 email: [email protected]

I paid $250 for 3 days rental, they deliver the same day that we call.

icy,
the machine not really that hot, the towels won't burn la! no the light didn't shine but got to constantly check whether baby out struggle the restraints.

btw, ignorant mummy here.

1) Can we pour newly expressed BM into refrigerated ones?

2) Can put refrigerated EBM into the freezer if not used within 24hours?

My baby in hospital now, so I have this refrigerated EBM from last night. Wonder if I can put it into the freezer like that?

MomMe,
Yes, i was so surprise, including my friends too. She called me and asked me what happened becops she always thought she was good.
She is so bad to play me out so last minute (9pm the night before, just sms me) My appt was 2pm the next day.

*sigh* She should have check my address when I booked then tell me the price and not untl the night before then realised that it is too far and she need to charge $80 more!! Take taxi also dun need to much bah.

prata_queen
I called my PD at MT E, and her nurse arrange the phototherapy machine. $160.50 for 3 days rental. $60 for tpt.

Sassy's massage lady charging $60 per single sessions or $550 for 10 sessions.

mcfluffy,
Who is ur massage lady?

mcfluffy,

1) you can only mix EBM at the same temperature, so you can't pour newly expressed on into the refrigerated one.

2) Yes you can put refrigerated EBM into the freezer if not use within 48 hrs.

mcfluffy
whoa! crap! which new mother wants to handle this kind of crap. better publish her name and tel BIG BIG

anyway if u all last min need massage &amp; can't find a recommended one, u can always turn to Straits Times Classifieds, almost everyday there'll be at least one advertisement regarding post natal massage service.

luvv,
I rent from the same company.. mmm, how come my price cheaper? is 25 per day + 60 for tpt and $15 for the eye mask for me.

oic.. i have to tape my bb face and then later remove the tape with baby oil.. he super itchy hands.

RE: Doc fee
Just wonder, what is ur doctor fee during delivery. Mine was 2.6K which I thought was pretty high.

icy,
they charge me $43/day for rental..wonder why the difference..hmm..

my gynae charged me $1800 for c-sect with epi delivery + $100/day for daily visit.

wendyg,
yah lor... that's why very pissed off but i will REN......

Luvv,
I've not paid anything yet but forget it la. See her pattern, like gangster type.. I think better not to mess with her. I will just consider it as I'm suay and I should have chosen others.

wendy,
ya lor, i think sometimes less then 5 mins. The PD also charged the same, and one of the day, he didn't even come to my room.

yday was so zombied. Dunno why Rylee is like this same time of the day from about 4-5am onwards all the way to 9-10am. She will wan to latch on all the time. Latch her on, she feed about 10mins, fall asleep, try all methods to wake up to no avail. Put her back to cot to sleep, 3-5mins later, wake up wailing again. Refrained from feeding her, trying to decipher her cries, carry, coax, rock, change diaper, everything, still crying and doing the rooting and sucking motion. So bo pian got to latch her on. Afraid of giving her pacifier cos ss not firmly established, scared miss a "feed on demand" session. Wah piang. Strangely after 10am, she'll be back to the 2hourly interval again. *scratch head* Cannot imagine doing this for 1more month! Problem is after the 5-10am, i totally cant sleep liao. WIDE awake while she sleeps! Really feel so miserable.

mcfluffy
if u havent pay anything, then jus cancel her lah! Find another one!

sassy
yup, hubby will be flying back to "fetch" us and fly back together..cos also got to "ship" my doggie over on same day.

yvonne
ru bf-ing? can eat ice cream meh? tot it'll cause diarrhoea to the little one?

TG
thanks for the link

MOmmies
Anyone knows wat other chinese herbs besides Dang Gui dat can affect milk ss? My mom wans to boil more "bu" stuffs even after my confinement ends, cos during confinement i told her i scared too much chinese herbs can cause jaundice to escalate (according to PD, cordyceps is one of them) so i refrained from drinking too much...so mom said after ocnfinement and jaundice cleared, i shud drink more but i scared will affect milk ss to drop...only heard of Dang Gui so far...anything else? What about our diet? Anything to avoid when BF-ing or not?

wow icy .... like tat ... the massage lady like so irresponsible leh .....

today i very happy my mum cook for me .... it tasted so much better then my mil's cooking .... yeah i am so happy

Luvv/mylife,
I'm not bf...my mum was the one who asked my husband to buy orange juice for me to drink. She said all the confinement food will cause constipation so need to drink fruit juice. As for ribena, she say a lot of vitamin c and "bu xue" so can drink....hehe. Ice-cream is dairy product so shouldn't be a problem, anyway my mum say can eat in moderation lah...she also know everyday confinement food very xian and "un-appetising" so also need to give us some "tibits" to snack on.

Hi Luv,

I rent the photo light from the same company also.
think the charges different based on the type of light u rent. I paid $298 for 1 top light and 1 bed light, transportation and the eye mask. rental is 3 days.

prata queen,
The Cons on renting the light is that I can't get my boy to stay still when he is lying on the bed light. Somehow, the nurses in the hospital can let those babies settle down peacefully under the light. Hence, the 3 days of the rental of the light in my case is not that effective though is is much more cheaper to let my bb stay in the hospital.

mylife...u sure cannot take dang gui, thot is dong cong cao? my boy like urs...started 3 am till 7am...keep latching... headache ah...dunno wat's wrong...

mei
try those neighbourhood shops which sells pails, household accessories eg good morning towels. I think the minimart at Blk 199 may have.

sassy,
I'm taking care of my baby on my own. No CL and mum only comes during noon for 3 hrs to cook for me. Hubby helps after work but I'm the one who wakes up at night to feed baby. I'm getting about 5-6 hrs of sleep everyday.

Try to sleep when baby is sleeping during the day. But I also don't do that becos can't really sleep during the day so I can only pray that my baby sleeps better at night lor.

mylife,
Try get someone to carry for u, it works for me at times.. cos BB smell us = food. My mil or my hb carry and sometimes they would prefer to sleep.

BreastMilk Jaundice
No one knows what the cause of breast milk jaundice is. In order to make this diagnosis, the baby should be at least a week old, though interestingly, many of the babies with breast milk jaundice also have had physiologic jaundice, sometimes to levels higher than usual.

The baby should be gaining weight well, with breastfeeding alone, having lots of bowel movements, passing plenty of clear urine and be generally well . In such a case, the baby has what some call breast milk jaundice, though, on occasion, infections of the urine or an under functioning of the baby's thyroid gland may present the same picture.

Breast milk jaundice peaks at 10-21 days, but may last for 2-3 months. Breast milk jaundice is normal. Rarely, if ever, does breastfeeding need to be discontinued even for a short time.

There is evidence to suggest that this jaundice causes any problem at all for the baby. Breastfeeding should be continued "in order to make a diagnosis". If, however, your doctor feels that discontinuing breastfeeding is appropriate, it would be worth trying a lactation aid with formula rather than taking the baby off the breastfeeding completely, since this may result in difficulties with breastfeeding later.

If the baby is truly doing well on breast milk only, there is no reason, to stop breastfeeding or supplement with a lactation aid, for that matter.

The notion that there is something wrong with the baby being jaundiced comes from the assumption that the formula feeding baby is the standard by which we should determine how the breastfed baby should be. This manner of thinking, almost universal amongst health professionals, truly turns logic upside down. Thus, the formula feeding baby is rarely jaundiced after the first week of life, and when he is, there is usually something wrong. Therefore, the baby with breast milk jaundice is a concern and "something must be done". However, in our experience, most exclusively breastfed babies who are perfectly healthy and gaining weight well are still jaundiced at 5-6 weeks of life and even later. The question, in fact, should be whether it is normal not to be jaundiced and whether this absence of jaundice is something we should worry about? Do not stop breastfeeding for jaundice.

mylife,

That evening my baby also like yours! I almost went crazy. In the end, I think she finally gave up and went to sleep.

Anway, why don't you try FM at night but BM in the day? It works (more or less for me). I'll give FM at night but my gal is rather active and alert from 2-5am (like she was in my tummy) but give her enough FM, and she'll soon settle down. After giving FM, I express BM so that still got cycle.

Does your baby have jaundice? PD told me that jaundiced baby tend to have erratic schedules because they're so sleepy. Have to keep waking them up during BF. For my case, I don't have enough BM for my gal yet so she keeps wanting more. Nipples sore liao..

Yvonne,
your mum is so liberal, my mum everything also say cannot.

Verene,
I think different needs different charges, mine came with the clothes for baby to wear and secure on the bed, only has bottom lights though.

mylife,
during bfg we can't eat ice cream ah? what else we can't eat? i thought everything in moderation can already.

for chinese herbs, i only heard that we can't take dong cong cao if bfging.

sassy
damn xiong hor? I am like Yvonne, altho no sleep at night, day also cant really sleep. i am VERY tired too.

babe
yours also no interval from 3am to 7am? Mine is from 4-5am to 9-10am. So-called interval is jus for 3-5mins, then gotta latch again...really unnerving.

mcfluffy
my ss is already on the low side (i think)...i read for the 1st 6 weeks, if i wan my ss to establish, better to consistent and feed on demand. If i intro FM at night, it'll cause my ss to drop and spiral downwards more. My baby jaundice almost clear liao. She's turning one month soon.

luvv
i dunno leh...jus heard ice-cream MAY cause diarrhoea only..may not be true, prob jus myth?

Icy
My hubby not around ma...and my mom sleeps in the next room, i'm trying to minimise bothering my mom during the night feedings cos u all know she fainted at the market last time...so dont wish to stress her further cos she's a very light sleeper. So left only CL, who sleeps in my room...ask her to carry Rylee screams even louder. She dunno wat kind of CL, dunno how to pacify baby one. Somemore when i am up and feeding bb, she will either stand there and stare at me or she will go back to sleep and snore so loudly i cant even sleep when i have a tad weeny little bit of time when rylee sleeps.